Wanna get electric guitar, need guide

TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 1 2008, 02:32 AM, updated 18y ago

しごと~
3,500 posts

I know how to play acoustic but not electric so after I got my salary, I gonna get one tongue.gif hungered it for a long time.

But I know nothing about it, so where can I get good deal. My budget is rm1k, including all the amp and stuffs (i know nothing about electric rclxub.gif )

and what are the others things that i need to take note of?

Thanks for helping notworthy.gif
freakfingers12
post Feb 1 2008, 05:51 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

Roland microcube and SX stratocaster!

I like the microcube a lot,but the SX strat neck abit too fat for me.Maybe you'll like it tho.
oxalato
post Feb 1 2008, 11:11 AM

609 posts

first and foremost with your budget, you gotta identify which shape you want.

strat? tele? lespaul? explorer?
blacktrix
post Feb 1 2008, 07:28 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

TS already stated that the budget is at RM1000.
A Roland Microcube amplifier will set you back around RM350-400 and a SX Stratocaster guitar will be around RM500 mark. If you want a better brand, I highly recommend the Yamaha Pacifica guitar. Maybe about RM650 range. Throw in a tuner, cables, strap and an extra pair of strings, that should be below the RM1000 range.

Good luck and welcome to the club.
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 2 2008, 02:10 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

I see. Just asking, why Roland Microcube and SX Stratocaster? hmm.gif

Where can I get them with the best price? And hopefully that its genuine sweat.gif Scare people bully me for being noob.
blacktrix
post Feb 2 2008, 05:47 PM

13,063 posts

Roland Microcube can get at Bentleys or Chambers music in Sungai Wang.
We recommend both because for their cost, they provide the best performance among the other similarly priced brands.
SweetTooth
post Feb 2 2008, 07:16 PM

2,650 posts

we recommend sx strat and microcube because of their relatively good performance at a budget cost. if you play some harder material however, you might want to consider getting a guitar with a humbucker..
asura_86
post Feb 2 2008, 07:45 PM

**blank**
1,217 posts

or you can always go for a second hand guitar + microcube
limjix
post Feb 2 2008, 09:17 PM

224 posts

Instead of a micro cube, u can also take a Vox Pathfinder 10 watt amp at RM300 instead of the Cube (Rm400)
the difference between the microcube and the Vox is that the Vox(10 watt) is much bigger compared to the Cube (2watt). But the cube has more effects.
If you are planning to get a multi fx in the future, maybe you should consider the Vox.
Pacifica (RM650) + Vox 10 watt (RM300) = RM950, u should try to bargain the best you can to get free stuff. The other stuff would amount to about less than RM100 so it shouldnt be much of a problem.
You can get the Vox at CK Music. Last i checked it was RM300.
SweetTooth
post Feb 2 2008, 10:02 PM

2,650 posts

but dont look down on the microcube because it is only 2w. it's pretty damn loud for its size laugh.gif
liew90kw
post Feb 2 2008, 10:35 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(asura_86 @ Feb 2 2008, 07:45 PM)
or you can always go for a second hand guitar + microcube
i kinda agree with this. instead of going for a real beginner guitar, try scrounge arnd on LYN for some good deals.
theres a washburn x10 going for 500-600 somewhere in there. i got my guitar from a LYN deal laugh.gif

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Feb 2 2008, 10:02 PM)
but dont look down on the microcube because it is only 2w. it's pretty damn loud for its size laugh.gif
the mircocube screams so loud for something that small rclxms.gif
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 3 2008, 01:38 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

oh ya, to update my information, i would prefer my guitar to be black in color, and as long as the shape looks cool can already tongue.gif

If possible, I will prefer not to get ''newbie-use-only'' guitar, if not later might have to change again.

About that SX stereo, I dont feel like getting it, since I saw them like almost everywhere sweat.gif (and it doesnt really look nice to me xD)

Erm, is the guitar shop in midvalley's top floor ok? I dont know about the price, but the guitars there look quite costy blush.gif

Oh ya and one more thing, so which is better, between vox and microcube?

This post has been edited by akira de aimbuster: Feb 3 2008, 02:45 AM
limjix
post Feb 3 2008, 04:52 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Feb 3 2008, 01:38 AM)
Erm, is the guitar shop in midvalley's top floor ok? I dont know about the price, but the guitars there look quite costy blush.gif

Oh ya and one more thing, so which is better, between vox and microcube?
well i think the midvalley top floor is abit pricey, maybe you could try Woh Fatt KL if you dont mind travelling, cause the prices there are cheaper and can be negociated. Btw, Vox you should get it at CK Music.

I am using the Microcube now, i agree its loud, but i guess it depends on personal preference.
but i guess, if you want a good guitar you go for the Pacifica (RM650) + the Vox amp (300) will be around your budget.
Then you can get a good guitar + a good amp
Cause microcube+pacifica will be a little above your budget.
I think the Vox distortions should be quite good anyway and it is bigger tongue.gif
Also, if you want to get multi fx in the future, 100% go for the Vox, cause i mean, with a multi fx you wont bother using the effects on the microcube so why waste your money.

Heres some info to help you,
http://www.rolandap.com/index.php?p=ProductPage&id=395
http://www.voxamps.co.uk/pathfinder/10.asp

This post has been edited by limjix: Feb 3 2008, 04:53 PM
edvpc
post Feb 3 2008, 09:00 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

Ephiphone SG Special Edition below than RM1k i think... sweat.gif
IpohBoY
post Feb 3 2008, 10:50 PM

722 posts

Sorry, for tumpang thread. I am a newbie in guitar too. But wanna ask why SX strat/tele is recommended instead of Squire? And btw, where is woh fatt? The collection of guitar there is as much as Bently too? SOrry for this noob question
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 4 2008, 12:47 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

I see, I wont mind travel to get a suitable guitar tongue.gif

Erm so i need to buy them separately, why not buy vox from Woh Fatt too?
Everdying
post Feb 4 2008, 12:58 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

cos woh fatt doesnt sell vox.

TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 4 2008, 01:02 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

oh i see xD
Today i visited a guitar shop, that guy recommended me to buy those guitar which come in a packet(inside boxes) if my budget is 1k, is it a good idea?

Btw I dont might if the price exceed my budget abit, which make it around 1.3-1.4k.
SweetTooth
post Feb 4 2008, 01:13 AM

2,650 posts

generally those guitar packages aren't that good... you're better off buying them seperately smile.gif
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 4 2008, 01:15 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

ok i see, can someone please give me the location of Woh Fatt and CKmusic?
oxalato
post Feb 4 2008, 01:19 AM

609 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Feb 4 2008, 01:15 AM)
ok i see, can someone please give me the location of Woh Fatt and CKmusic?
there's a pinned thread with addresses of the two shops in this subforum smile.gif
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 4 2008, 01:21 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

Thanks a lot, I will try to search and see if there are any black in color's guitar or not xD cause i really love it lol.

The replies here are really surprisingly fast lol smile.gif
liew90kw
post Feb 4 2008, 03:43 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Feb 3 2008, 09:00 PM)
Ephiphone SG Special Edition below than RM1k i think... sweat.gif
i can vouch for that. i got mine second hand at 500 tongue.gif it plays really good too for a stock.

to the TS ==> if you're going to try at CK or woh fatt, drop me a line.
jamesterlua
post Feb 4 2008, 09:52 PM

50 posts

liew yo epi korean one izzit ?????? so hard to find korean made one nowadays, all china mali one........sian
liew90kw
post Feb 4 2008, 10:00 PM

239 posts

china made, sadly. but it was part of the earlier china productions, so the quality is better than the current ones.
there's an EPI LP special going in the sales area. it's MIK, but made in the 90s.

This post has been edited by liew90kw: Feb 4 2008, 10:00 PM
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 5 2008, 12:37 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ Feb 4 2008, 03:43 PM)
i can vouch for that. i got mine second hand at 500 tongue.gif it plays really good too for a stock.
to the TS ==> if you're going to try at CK or woh fatt, drop me a line.
Sure no problem, but not so soon cause i am quite busy recently smile.gif
Cyclone1
post Mar 4 2008, 04:20 PM

408 posts

wat is the diff btwn pacifica 012 and 112 model?
Is 112 hav better tone or?? wat is the advantage of 112 over 012?

I went to a music shop and i tested the 012 model... i think it's okok loh... then the promoter told me that pacifica is not famous among this range ... then he suggested a RM599 ibanez.. forgot the model..he said the bass is better then pacifica..
so.. wat do u all think? pacifica or ibanez?
jikolo
post Mar 4 2008, 04:56 PM

124 posts

what price range are you looking at? im using a gsa60 by ibanez. happy with it. i buy it at rm630. mayb can get cheaper at kl.
blacktrix
post Mar 4 2008, 06:05 PM

13,063 posts

I tried out the GSA60 and it sounds decent for that price. Large range of tones and got it to rock out quite a bit.
But if playing pure power metal, Would suggest something heavier.
jamesterlua
post Mar 4 2008, 06:35 PM

50 posts

ya, buying a guitar is like finding a GF...... so hard to find the perfection.
blacktrix
post Mar 4 2008, 06:40 PM

13,063 posts

Eh, if buying guitar like finding girlfriend, I would have been married already.
My perfect guitar is and always will be a 1959 Les Paul. Perfect tones, looks absolutely gorgeous and not everyone can own one.

And to cheat around, would have a new, younger guitar, like the Ibanez Egen. Versatile to play in any position, lots of new features and light as hell.
z3phyr
post Mar 4 2008, 07:05 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Mar 4 2008, 04:20 PM)
wat is the diff btwn pacifica 012 and 112 model?
Is 112 hav better tone or?? wat is the advantage of 112 over 012?

I went to a music shop and i tested the 012 model... i think it's okok loh... then the promoter told me that pacifica is not famous among this range ... then he suggested a RM599 ibanez.. forgot the model..he said the bass is better then pacifica..
so.. wat do u all think? pacifica or ibanez?
the difference is 112 using better wood(alder wood)the same wood used by the fender strats.

This post has been edited by z3phyr: Mar 4 2008, 07:10 PM
mingdynasty
post Mar 26 2008, 10:19 PM

656 posts

Ephiphone SG Special Edition where got sell ?? lol
blacktrix
post Mar 27 2008, 12:25 AM

13,063 posts

What kind of Special Edition are you talking about?
Or is it the Epiphone SG Special....... which is a trimmed down, cheaper model of the SG.
You can probably try Beatspot or Rhapsody Music in Midvalley.
SUSbman
post Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM

503 posts

When i started out, I wanted to get a yamaha.

Then I didn't, changed my mind and gotten a squier instead for much cheaper. Reason is the salesmen really is damn sure I wouldn't want a yamaha, even though THEY are employed by Yamaha. *LOL* He recommended me to take the cheaper under 600 squier california strat instead.

I'm glad I made the right choice because being a noob, I really couldn't tell the difference between the tones, and furthermore, humbuckers are not so good for clean sound, and the strat was wired in a way that at position 2 and 4, it cancels hums, works something like a humbucker already, not bad for SSS single coils.

Now, I find I really prefer the cleans of a typical strat. Everytime I turn on the amp, or the amp modeler software, I cannot resist using the clean settings, I like to hear my notes clearly.

But if I were to turn back time, I suggest giving the samick malibu mb1 a test too, because it is cheap, rm 410 and I saw a guy testing it, the guitar has crazy and incredible sustain, but he was testing the left-handed version of course. Not sure if it's because of his vibrato technique, but the fella was doing a simple vibrato after hitting a note and it went on like, for 10 seconds or more with his fingers doing the vibrato on one of the frets.

As for yamaha, I can vouch for this. I went to a yamaha music store that sells not just yamaha but also other brand guitars.

The sales assistant told me, he does not recommend getting a yamaha because their pickups sucks. I have no idea how true that is, but coming from someone who is employed by yamaha, but prefer to sell other cheaper guitars to customers (they carry ibanez and other brands besides inhouse yamaha (most need to be ordered because they're not popular, even the pacifica), I really wonder why.

If I wanted something better, they will usually move me to pick either the squier Standard series (rm 800 range), which has now possibly the same quality as standard fenders because fender is moving all their standard entry level strat to squier or they might recommend me ibanez for something more metal related if that's my style.

Btw, there's a new brand popping up recently, has anyone heard of Morrison ?

I couldn't find any information about this guitar, but for under 800, you can get a JEM steve vai clone (hole handle) with 24 frets.

Morrison seems to be ripping off steve vai signature series.

quarantined
post Mar 27 2008, 01:09 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM)
... squier Standard series (rm 800 range), which has now possibly the same quality as standard fenders because fender is moving all their standard entry level strat to squier...
shocking.gif shocking.gif

SUSbman
post Mar 27 2008, 01:11 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 27 2008, 01:09 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif
dont quote me on that, that's what one of the guy who tested it told me.

He said he rather get the new squier standard than an entry level fender strat.
quarantined
post Mar 27 2008, 01:19 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

It might be true, considering the price difference and all(but does the Squier Std only costs RM800 now?). Anyone care to bring the light on this?
SUSbman
post Mar 27 2008, 01:59 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 27 2008, 01:19 AM)
It might be true, considering the price difference and all(but does the Squier Std only costs RM800 now?). Anyone care to bring the light on this?
The price I saw at bentleys, and the price I saw in JB, are the 800 ringgit mark.

But personally, if I get another strat, it would be a samick malibu mb1.

nerd
post Mar 27 2008, 09:22 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM)
I'm glad I made the right choice because being a noob, I really couldn't tell the difference between the tones, and furthermore, humbuckers are not so good for clean sound, and the strat was wired in a way that at position 2 and 4, it cancels hums, works something like a humbucker already, not bad for SSS single coils.

Now, I find I really prefer the cleans of a typical strat. Everytime I turn on the amp, or the amp modeler software, I cannot resist using the clean settings, I like to hear my notes clearly.
I beg to differ. Both single coils and humbuckers give out different sounds. There is no such thing as 'humbuckers are not so good for clean sound' .. as it is catered for a different type of sound, heavier and deeper on bass whereas single coils are brighter.

If humbuckers are not good for clean sound, why are so many professionals still using HH guitars for their clean songs? Look at Metallica, Led Zeppelin, GnR .. the list is just endless.

You just happen to PREFER the cleans of a standard strat. Good for you. But don't mislead people by saying humbuckers give out bad cleans, because that's just not true at all.

It's like saying all heavy metal guitars suck because you happen to like jazz.

I'm no fanboy of HH guitars btw. I just find your statement rather biased and inaccurate.

This post has been edited by nerd: Mar 27 2008, 09:23 AM
blacktrix
post Mar 27 2008, 09:29 AM

13,063 posts

Agree with Nerd.
Humbuckers can be very good for cleans too. When playing blues, I prefer humbuckers to the single coils as it produces a much fatter and warmer tone. Single coils often are too sharp for MY tastes, but that's just me. However, I do love the clean single coils when playing stuff like Country music because of that sharpness and twang that it can produce.

Different situations call for different pickups. That's all there is to it.

But then again, it all falls back on your backline as well. Even if you have a 15,000 dollar Fender or Gibson, regardless of Single coils or humbuckers, if you're playing through a crap amp, you'll sound like crap too. Sometimes it's also important to look at that aspect too.
nerd
post Mar 27 2008, 09:38 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

Yeah, to a certain extent, the amp and pickup combo is more important than the guitar's body itself. That's why I've changed both but still using my guitar's original body. No moolah for a new guitar yet, haha.

But seriously, change the pickups on an average sounding guitar and it'll sound awesome, provided you got the right combo. I've shocked quite a few people by saying my guitar's body is only RM500 brand new.. and tonally, it sounds better than most entry-level guitars out there. Note that I didn't mention playability smile.gif

This post has been edited by nerd: Mar 27 2008, 09:40 AM
Perfect-Stranger
post Mar 27 2008, 09:42 AM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

Can i know how much it cost for a good electric guitar ? Planning to get one thou.. Together with the amp.. how much will it cost in total ?
quarantined
post Mar 27 2008, 10:14 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

And by the way I don't think Yamaha pickups are that bad la. Even Wes Borland and Troy Van Leeuwn use them on their signature guitars. I see people changing Epis pickups more than Yamahas whistling.gif whistling.gif
blacktrix
post Mar 27 2008, 10:15 AM

13,063 posts

Well, because an Epi Les Paul is MADE to be customized tongue.gif
I'm still drooling over the Slash LP epi...... Proper Duncan pickups, thin neck profile...... perfect for my Blues/Rock addiction
zeroglyph
post Mar 27 2008, 11:20 AM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

one important point i see people here forgot to mentioned. TRY to AVOID termolo bridge if you're only beginning to play e.guitar. seriuosly. especially cheap non-locking tremolo. for beginners, try to get a fixed bridge guitar. it'll definitely last you longer. if you have no choice (strats are your baby), try blocking the trem bridge. it's easy to do and will provide better tuning stability.
FreakOnLeash
post Mar 27 2008, 03:15 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Mar 27 2008, 11:20 AM)
one important point i see people here forgot to mentioned. TRY to AVOID termolo bridge if you're only beginning to play e.guitar. seriuosly. especially cheap non-locking tremolo. for beginners, try to get a fixed bridge guitar. it'll definitely last you longer. if you have no choice (strats are your baby), try blocking the trem bridge. it's easy to do and will provide better tuning stability.
I'm currently using a RG370DX and I'm not really happy with the trem cry.gif
What should I do.. Sell and get a better one rclxms.gif
blacktrix
post Mar 27 2008, 04:23 PM

13,063 posts

You know what, I thought I wasn't going to be happy with my RR3 Trem, turns out, it has been withstanding so much of my punishment, I'll change it once it craps out...... which judging by the way I use it, anytime soon.

0.0236sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:46 PM