Wanna get electric guitar, need guide

oxalato
post Feb 4 2008, 01:19 AM

609 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Feb 4 2008, 01:15 AM)
ok i see, can someone please give me the location of Woh Fatt and CKmusic?
there's a pinned thread with addresses of the two shops in this subforum smile.gif
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 4 2008, 01:21 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

Thanks a lot, I will try to search and see if there are any black in color's guitar or not xD cause i really love it lol.

The replies here are really surprisingly fast lol smile.gif
liew90kw
post Feb 4 2008, 03:43 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Feb 3 2008, 09:00 PM)
Ephiphone SG Special Edition below than RM1k i think... sweat.gif
i can vouch for that. i got mine second hand at 500 tongue.gif it plays really good too for a stock.

to the TS ==> if you're going to try at CK or woh fatt, drop me a line.
jamesterlua
post Feb 4 2008, 09:52 PM

50 posts

liew yo epi korean one izzit ?????? so hard to find korean made one nowadays, all china mali one........sian
liew90kw
post Feb 4 2008, 10:00 PM

239 posts

china made, sadly. but it was part of the earlier china productions, so the quality is better than the current ones.
there's an EPI LP special going in the sales area. it's MIK, but made in the 90s.

This post has been edited by liew90kw: Feb 4 2008, 10:00 PM
TSakira de aimbuster
post Feb 5 2008, 12:37 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

QUOTE(liew90kw @ Feb 4 2008, 03:43 PM)
i can vouch for that. i got mine second hand at 500 tongue.gif it plays really good too for a stock.
to the TS ==> if you're going to try at CK or woh fatt, drop me a line.
Sure no problem, but not so soon cause i am quite busy recently smile.gif
Cyclone1
post Mar 4 2008, 04:20 PM

408 posts

wat is the diff btwn pacifica 012 and 112 model?
Is 112 hav better tone or?? wat is the advantage of 112 over 012?

I went to a music shop and i tested the 012 model... i think it's okok loh... then the promoter told me that pacifica is not famous among this range ... then he suggested a RM599 ibanez.. forgot the model..he said the bass is better then pacifica..
so.. wat do u all think? pacifica or ibanez?
jikolo
post Mar 4 2008, 04:56 PM

124 posts

what price range are you looking at? im using a gsa60 by ibanez. happy with it. i buy it at rm630. mayb can get cheaper at kl.
blacktrix
post Mar 4 2008, 06:05 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

I tried out the GSA60 and it sounds decent for that price. Large range of tones and got it to rock out quite a bit.
But if playing pure power metal, Would suggest something heavier.
jamesterlua
post Mar 4 2008, 06:35 PM

50 posts

ya, buying a guitar is like finding a GF...... so hard to find the perfection.
blacktrix
post Mar 4 2008, 06:40 PM

13,063 posts

Eh, if buying guitar like finding girlfriend, I would have been married already.
My perfect guitar is and always will be a 1959 Les Paul. Perfect tones, looks absolutely gorgeous and not everyone can own one.

And to cheat around, would have a new, younger guitar, like the Ibanez Egen. Versatile to play in any position, lots of new features and light as hell.
z3phyr
post Mar 4 2008, 07:05 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Mar 4 2008, 04:20 PM)
wat is the diff btwn pacifica 012 and 112 model?
Is 112 hav better tone or?? wat is the advantage of 112 over 012?

I went to a music shop and i tested the 012 model... i think it's okok loh... then the promoter told me that pacifica is not famous among this range ... then he suggested a RM599 ibanez.. forgot the model..he said the bass is better then pacifica..
so.. wat do u all think? pacifica or ibanez?
the difference is 112 using better wood(alder wood)the same wood used by the fender strats.

This post has been edited by z3phyr: Mar 4 2008, 07:10 PM
mingdynasty
post Mar 26 2008, 10:19 PM

656 posts

Ephiphone SG Special Edition where got sell ?? lol
blacktrix
post Mar 27 2008, 12:25 AM

13,063 posts

What kind of Special Edition are you talking about?
Or is it the Epiphone SG Special....... which is a trimmed down, cheaper model of the SG.
You can probably try Beatspot or Rhapsody Music in Midvalley.
SUSbman
post Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM

503 posts

When i started out, I wanted to get a yamaha.

Then I didn't, changed my mind and gotten a squier instead for much cheaper. Reason is the salesmen really is damn sure I wouldn't want a yamaha, even though THEY are employed by Yamaha. *LOL* He recommended me to take the cheaper under 600 squier california strat instead.

I'm glad I made the right choice because being a noob, I really couldn't tell the difference between the tones, and furthermore, humbuckers are not so good for clean sound, and the strat was wired in a way that at position 2 and 4, it cancels hums, works something like a humbucker already, not bad for SSS single coils.

Now, I find I really prefer the cleans of a typical strat. Everytime I turn on the amp, or the amp modeler software, I cannot resist using the clean settings, I like to hear my notes clearly.

But if I were to turn back time, I suggest giving the samick malibu mb1 a test too, because it is cheap, rm 410 and I saw a guy testing it, the guitar has crazy and incredible sustain, but he was testing the left-handed version of course. Not sure if it's because of his vibrato technique, but the fella was doing a simple vibrato after hitting a note and it went on like, for 10 seconds or more with his fingers doing the vibrato on one of the frets.

As for yamaha, I can vouch for this. I went to a yamaha music store that sells not just yamaha but also other brand guitars.

The sales assistant told me, he does not recommend getting a yamaha because their pickups sucks. I have no idea how true that is, but coming from someone who is employed by yamaha, but prefer to sell other cheaper guitars to customers (they carry ibanez and other brands besides inhouse yamaha (most need to be ordered because they're not popular, even the pacifica), I really wonder why.

If I wanted something better, they will usually move me to pick either the squier Standard series (rm 800 range), which has now possibly the same quality as standard fenders because fender is moving all their standard entry level strat to squier or they might recommend me ibanez for something more metal related if that's my style.

Btw, there's a new brand popping up recently, has anyone heard of Morrison ?

I couldn't find any information about this guitar, but for under 800, you can get a JEM steve vai clone (hole handle) with 24 frets.

Morrison seems to be ripping off steve vai signature series.

quarantined
post Mar 27 2008, 01:09 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM)
... squier Standard series (rm 800 range), which has now possibly the same quality as standard fenders because fender is moving all their standard entry level strat to squier...
shocking.gif shocking.gif

SUSbman
post Mar 27 2008, 01:11 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 27 2008, 01:09 AM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif
dont quote me on that, that's what one of the guy who tested it told me.

He said he rather get the new squier standard than an entry level fender strat.
quarantined
post Mar 27 2008, 01:19 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

It might be true, considering the price difference and all(but does the Squier Std only costs RM800 now?). Anyone care to bring the light on this?
SUSbman
post Mar 27 2008, 01:59 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 27 2008, 01:19 AM)
It might be true, considering the price difference and all(but does the Squier Std only costs RM800 now?). Anyone care to bring the light on this?
The price I saw at bentleys, and the price I saw in JB, are the 800 ringgit mark.

But personally, if I get another strat, it would be a samick malibu mb1.

nerd
post Mar 27 2008, 09:22 AM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Mar 27 2008, 12:41 AM)
I'm glad I made the right choice because being a noob, I really couldn't tell the difference between the tones, and furthermore, humbuckers are not so good for clean sound, and the strat was wired in a way that at position 2 and 4, it cancels hums, works something like a humbucker already, not bad for SSS single coils.

Now, I find I really prefer the cleans of a typical strat. Everytime I turn on the amp, or the amp modeler software, I cannot resist using the clean settings, I like to hear my notes clearly.
I beg to differ. Both single coils and humbuckers give out different sounds. There is no such thing as 'humbuckers are not so good for clean sound' .. as it is catered for a different type of sound, heavier and deeper on bass whereas single coils are brighter.

If humbuckers are not good for clean sound, why are so many professionals still using HH guitars for their clean songs? Look at Metallica, Led Zeppelin, GnR .. the list is just endless.

You just happen to PREFER the cleans of a standard strat. Good for you. But don't mislead people by saying humbuckers give out bad cleans, because that's just not true at all.

It's like saying all heavy metal guitars suck because you happen to like jazz.

I'm no fanboy of HH guitars btw. I just find your statement rather biased and inaccurate.

This post has been edited by nerd: Mar 27 2008, 09:23 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0182sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:27 AM