There is always two ways of looking at this.
If we do come up with a more 'serious' kopitiam, it would work for some, but at the same time it would degrade the old kopitiam even more. You will then have jokers saying that everything should be allowed in the old kopitiam because its not the serious kopitiam. Moderators also end up having to do more to maintain the sanctity of the 'serious kopitiam', and have less time to oversee the old kopitiam.
We do at the moment practice selective suspension on members who flaunt the rules. Its just technically impossible for us to monitor each and every posting in the kopitiam and give out suspensions for every small rule violation. If you as a member choose to flaunt the rules, and escape with it lucky you, but if you get suspended, then tough luck.
Our moderation might be lax at the kopitiam at times, but we eventually do nail those who unnecessary spoil the topics in the kopitiam. Judging by how bad things have become, we might start to be a bit more trigger happy in handing out no-appeal suspensions.
Propose for a proper, special access Kopitiam, Deny access to idiots
Feb 1 2008, 07:01 PM
0.0175sec