Singapore, Canon S3IS

TSkelvinyam
post Feb 5 2008, 07:47 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 5 2008, 06:20 PM)
a monopod is helpful smile.gif
Monopod is usually used with a huge lens. It will look funny on S3 biggrin.gif
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 5 2008, 08:27 PM

1,766 posts

These are the rest of the photos:

Exposure: 5.0 sec
Aperture: f/8.0

Exposure: 8.0 sec

Exposure: 10.0 sec

Exposure: 4.0 sec

#22 Going Home

C and C are welcome.
mindkiller6610
post Feb 5 2008, 08:33 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 5 2008, 07:47 PM)
Monopod is usually used with a huge lens. It will look funny on S3 biggrin.gif
oh no lah.. i mean if you really buy the 170-500mm.. biggrin.gif

saw a professional photog using monopod at bird park.
He even with kneecaps on. And a bag full with accessories.

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 5 2008, 08:34 PM
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 5 2008, 08:49 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 5 2008, 08:33 PM)
oh no lah.. i mean if you really buy the 170-500mm.. biggrin.gif

Just curious, how do you know he's professional? Because of the white lens and vest? Hehe

Anyway, if I get to purchase that Bigma, I'll surely buy a monopod.
mindkiller6610
post Feb 5 2008, 08:53 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 5 2008, 08:49 PM)
Just curious, how do you know he's professional? Because of the white lens and vest? Hehe

Anyway, if I get to purchase that Bigma, I'll surely buy a monopod.
ya from his physical out look..at least he looks professonal laugh.gif .
he got knee caps on, a bag with many lens, filters, around 10 filters i think.

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Feb 5 2008, 08:53 PM
cjtune
post Feb 6 2008, 11:05 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 5 2008, 08:33 PM)
Hmm, I'm considering to get kneecaps. Even after using DSLRs with Live View for the past couple of years, I now find that I prefer to compose with the optical viewfinder and only use Live View as the last resort, and as a result, I do go on my knees quite often to take lower vantage-point shots. Must be that huge viewfinder coverage on the E-3 that tipped the balance of preference...

navilink
post Feb 7 2008, 05:32 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

great night shots!!! i would like to ask a question about night shot...what if use aperture f/2.8 for night shot? any difference to the shots using f/8.0 or any other?

my F31fd seem can adjust the exposure time only but i cannot adjust aperture simultaneously...its either exposure OR aperture cannot set both yawn.gif

This post has been edited by navilink: Feb 7 2008, 05:33 PM
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 7 2008, 10:00 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Feb 7 2008, 05:32 PM)
great night shots!!! i would like to ask a question about night shot...what if use aperture f/2.8 for night shot? any difference to the shots using f/8.0 or any other?

my F31fd seem can adjust the exposure time only but i cannot adjust aperture simultaneously...its either exposure OR aperture cannot set both yawn.gif
There are two reason I use F8 rather than F3.5 on my S3IS:
1) F8 gives a sharper photo, although this is only noticeable at 100% crop.
2) F8 creates star effects on light spots which I think is beautiful.
albnok
post Feb 8 2008, 03:39 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

TheVoIP: Uh the 85mm F1.4, 135mm F1.8 and 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 DT are Carl Zeiss AF lenses.

Not Leica. Don't confuse them yo!

The original 1988 Minolta AF lenses were made as a marriage with Leica - Minolta made some Leica bodies, Leica shared their lens design expertise with Minolta. That's why the old Minolta lenses (70-210mm F4 beercan, 28-135mm F4-4.5 etc.) all have that Leica image look - creamy bokeh, good object/background separation, with liquid colors.

Later Minolta lenses were also designed with BOKEH in mind, not insane sharpness. They also made circular aperture blades mandatory. Other brand lenses may be sharp but they render near backgrounds as 'sharp' or 'blocky' or 'double-lined'. In other words, distracting. Minolta would not have any of that.

If you get into hardcore potraiture, Minolta also made a 135mm F2.8/T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus lens, which Sony also made. That is the undisputed bokeh king, Canon and Nikon have nothing that gives the same effect. Defocus Control/Soft Focus != Smooth Transition Focus.

http://www.ishizuka-takao.net/materials/mi...28t45/index.htm
http://www.dyxum.com/dforum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11302 (note how it renders tree leaves in the background)
http://www3.xitek.com/testreport/xitek/135stf.htm
http://www.dyxum.com/dforum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4488
http://photoxp.daifukuya.com/index/lens/135mm.html

Also, Minolta lenses are coated so that the colors match between all lenses. Canon lens color runs all over the place if you shoot with Kelvin WB and don't shoot RAW. Not consistent.

Finally if kelvinyam gets the Minolta/Sony 500mm F8 mirror lens, that's the only mirror lens in the world with Auto-Focus. It's damn light and short also at 662 grams/12cm.

So yes, a Sony gives you the expertise of:

1) Minolta when they married Leica. Plus auto-focus!
2) Sony when they married Carl Zeiss. Plus auto-focus!
3) Sony when they own some of Tamron. However Sony adds a circular aperture and faster focusing compared to the Tamron versions.

Sorry ah tumpang thread cerita datuk lens all.
navilink
post Feb 8 2008, 09:03 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 7 2008, 10:00 PM)
There are two reason I use F8 rather than F3.5 on my S3IS:
1) F8 gives a sharper photo, although this is only noticeable at 100% crop.
2) F8 creates star effects on light spots which I think is beautiful.
thanks for explain...guess i think it works same like our eyes, when we squint our eyes we can see the trail of lights as u mentioned icon_idea.gif
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 8 2008, 10:14 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Feb 8 2008, 09:03 AM)
thanks for explain...guess i think it works same like our eyes, when we squint our eyes we can see the trail of lights as u mentioned icon_idea.gif
Exactly. You are a fast learner smile.gif

albnok, there's nothing to be sorry about. The info given is very helpful smile.gif
navilink
post Feb 8 2008, 01:43 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ Feb 8 2008, 10:14 AM)
Exactly. You are a fast learner smile.gif

albnok, there's nothing to be sorry about. The info given is very helpful smile.gif
thanks, really noob with photography, therefore i really underutilized my f31fd!!! is it ur camera can set BOTH shutter speed and aperture at the same time kelvin? i don't think my camera can...
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 8 2008, 10:15 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Feb 8 2008, 01:43 PM)
thanks, really noob with photography, therefore i really underutilized my f31fd!!! is it ur camera can set BOTH shutter speed and aperture at the same time kelvin? i don't think my camera can...
Yes. S3IS has full manual control. If it's not because of the noise and jpeg artifacts, it's as good as my Alpha 200.
yumiex
post Feb 8 2008, 11:38 PM

72 posts

i love it much dude, especially photo #10. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by yumiex: Feb 8 2008, 11:39 PM
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 9 2008, 09:13 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(yumiex @ Feb 8 2008, 11:38 PM)
i love it much dude, especially photo #10.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
It's not really difficult to take. I got the SS and aperture listed, so you can just use those setting. Once you work out on the composition, you can take similar photo easily smile.gif
piscesguy
post Feb 10 2008, 09:17 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Nice pics drool.gif thumbup.gif ...I like #19 the most .. notworthy.gif

post Feb 10 2008, 09:23 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

all photos very nice.
sharp color especially #19.
wooooo.....the powah of S3IS

bu seems all night shots using tri-pod ?
due to the shutter speed ?
TSkelvinyam
post Feb 11 2008, 10:00 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Feb 10 2008, 09:23 AM)
all photos very nice.
sharp color especially #19.
wooooo.....the powah of S3IS

bu seems all night shots using tri-pod ?
due to the shutter speed ?
All tripod. You got to bring your tripod along if you plan to do night shooting.

0.0172sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:25 AM