HDTV FAQ, Discussion relating to gaming on a HDTV

TerryZeroX
post May 27 2008, 10:22 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(TheUndead @ May 27 2008, 09:50 PM)
Hello guys, can you help me? I just bought a new LCD TV 32" S400A. After connecting it to my ps3, it wont switch to 720p. Just 576p. I've done the reset display thing by holding the power button longer.

I suspect my HDMI cable la. Because it's a capalang RM30 one. Got this kind of problem or not for any of you s400a users?

Added on May 27, 2008, 9:55 pmAnyone from JB got extra HDMI cable for me to borrow for awhile?
did you head over to the display settings and tick the 720p? smile.gif
TerryZeroX
post May 27 2008, 10:44 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(TheUndead @ May 27 2008, 10:43 PM)
yes, i tried gta4. at the upper left corner, it says "480p" pulak! rclxub.gif
done that already  sad.gif

*sighs* now tomorrow must head back to the shop and ask them if they know what's wrong. is it possible the culprit is my el-cheapo hdmi cable? got kena mengena or not?
Don't think its the el-cheapo hdmi cables, 20bucks hdmi cable from play-asia works like charm too. You could always try other hdmi cable to confirm it
TerryZeroX
post May 28 2008, 11:43 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ May 28 2008, 11:05 AM)
Guys,
I might be wrong, but for a LCD TV to accept a 720p resolution from its VGA connector, u need Powestrip, which is a basically a utility than runs on your PC so that u can create a custom resolution for your VGA output
http://entechtaiwan.net/util/ps.shtm

There's a guide here
http://www.ramelectronics.net/powerstrip.ep

Edit : Oh wait, u're talking about HDMI, my bad..please ignore my post, I just woke up  tongue.gif
Its plug and play for my tv laugh.gif

0.0274sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:51 PM