HDTV FAQ, Discussion relating to gaming on a HDTV

ronaldjoe
post Sep 30 2008, 06:28 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 30 2008, 05:52 PM)
What is your current resolution? The Samsung 32" A550 i was talking about has full HD though the pixel are still bigger than Monitors it should be at least twice as cheap as a 30" Monitor.
Resolution is maxed at 1920 X 1080...
I tell you it's very weird when you sit near to it as a monitor
As a HDTV, it's good for watching HD content
I regret selling my 2407wfp sweat.gif
I should have run dual display
ronaldjoe
post Nov 3 2008, 10:53 PM

3,569 posts

how cheap is cheap to you? 1k? Can look for display set... huh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 4 2008, 02:31 PM

3,569 posts

Anyone bought sharp A65? It seems alrite with the price...
ronaldjoe
post Nov 4 2008, 03:15 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 4 2008, 03:03 PM)
But I notice those gfx cards only have DVI output. How is that possible to connect to 32" HDTV when it don't have HDMI? unsure.gif
Use DVI to HDMI convertor.
ronaldjoe
post Nov 5 2008, 09:57 AM

3,569 posts

ATI is better as there is an scaling option for HDTV
ronaldjoe
post Nov 5 2008, 03:50 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Nov 5 2008, 03:15 PM)
How much you selling your Monster HDMI cable?  thumbup.gif Good stuff you got there.

What's the different between 1000HD & Ultra 600?
1000HD for AVR. Ultra 600 for PS3.
Price refer to thread. PM me if you r interested. No sales thingy here. TS will kill me sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 16 2008, 11:19 PM

3,569 posts

IMO 32" is small for a TV...
40", 42", 46" is better for TV watching, especially bluray smile.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 17 2008, 10:53 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Nov 17 2008, 10:27 AM)
32" is equivalent to watching a 25" on a 4:3, it isn't small, but you need to sit close enough
Using 32" to watch bluray is small, especially those wide screenies with upper and lower blank.
1080p crumbles in small space...
40" is good for that.
ronaldjoe
post Nov 17 2008, 06:39 PM

3,569 posts

LZ800 or LZ80? which one r you referring to?
LZ800 thumbup.gif but price is rolleyes.gif like not worth.
LZ80 okie only but it's worth the price. There is a forumer selling this very cheap. laugh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 19 2008, 06:56 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(Beast-Slayer @ Nov 19 2008, 06:32 AM)
well i dun recommend u to buy plasma tv if u are a hardcore gamer/hardcore movies watcher.. i believe the lifespan of plasma is way shorter than lcd.. i remember i read somewhere (u can google it later) saying that plasma lifespan is about 20k hours while lcd 50k hours

Added on November 19, 2008, 6:37 amfinally i bought this one philips 42PFL3403S/97.. hope it wont fail me!
can ask welwitchia on plasma's performance.
Ur perception could be wrong tho icon_rolleyes.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 19 2008, 10:25 AM

3,569 posts

I dun think I can stand that long too.
2 - 3 years. It's time to change TV again laugh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 19 2008, 10:02 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Nov 19 2008, 11:02 AM)
^ Good point. I watch my movies exclusively at night (gotta work during the day) and I usually turn the lights off and add a backlight to the TV. That's why I chose a Plasma.

As for gaming issues, I thought Plasma's low refresh rates (or was it high??) makes it suitable as tend to ghost less?

Watched Heroes Ep 8 and 9 yesterday in 720p..ah, absolutely heaven.. :-)
No ghosting from plasma 0.01ms response time. LCD cant match it.

Added on November 19, 2008, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(Zaryl @ Nov 19 2008, 10:01 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm planning to buy a 32" LCD TV. So far what I had in mind is:

Samsung L32A450 - RM1999 at SenQ Sunway Carnival, Penang
vs
Samsung L32A550 Full HD - RM2799

The SenQ guy said no difference if I buy the full HD 32" coz in order to see the Full HD, better to get 40" or bigger. Might as well get the HD-Ready only is enough for a 32 incher. Is he talking the truth here?

I plan to hookup a PS3 to the Samsung 32" L32A450 + some normal Astro viewing & DVD.
LA32A550 is RM2.3k in Penang icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Nov 19 2008, 10:04 PM
ronaldjoe
post Nov 20 2008, 09:05 AM

3,569 posts

Zaryl u got pm. thx
ronaldjoe
post Nov 29 2008, 07:42 AM

3,569 posts

It's not me who did the bracket on DIY...
I subcon it to my contractor... sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 30 2008, 11:32 PM

3,569 posts

There r many types of TV bracket.
Those with fixed one with only up and down adjustment is very much cheaper smile.gif
ronaldjoe
post Dec 5 2008, 10:45 PM

3,569 posts

samsung LA40A550 3.55k
ronaldjoe
post Dec 7 2008, 07:58 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Dec 6 2008, 08:49 PM)
review not good la bro.  sweat.gif
Want nice lcd... go for A950 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Dec 7 2008, 07:58 PM
ronaldjoe
post Dec 8 2008, 09:31 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Dec 8 2008, 02:59 PM)
what price for A950 for 40".....also is this model available in malaysia....???
Only got LA46A950 (7.8k) n LA52A950 (11.4k) drool.gif
ronaldjoe
post Dec 9 2008, 08:51 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 9 2008, 05:54 PM)
Bro, A950 only has 55", tarak 52"
Korek Korek LA55A950 rclxms.gif

Added on December 9, 2008, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(squall_12 @ Dec 9 2008, 04:26 PM)
out of budget lol so which lcd tv for 40" full hd is the best using on console and computer??

How bout LA40A650/ A750 around RM5k??

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Dec 9 2008, 08:51 PM
ronaldjoe
post Dec 13 2008, 12:29 PM

3,569 posts

Edit...

Added on December 13, 2008, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(honoreric @ Dec 10 2008, 11:50 AM)
HI guys, just a question here. If budget isn't any issue,

1. What's the best Model for the moment?
2. Is there any upcoming model soon, looking like 5-6 months time? I heard Z series from Sony is gonna be a bomb?

Can anyone give me some guidance.

P.S. Looking for a 52 inch LCD
LA52A750/ A850?

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Dec 13 2008, 12:31 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0372sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:15 PM