HDTV FAQ, Discussion relating to gaming on a HDTV

lapaq
post Apr 1 2008, 02:10 PM

255 posts

Sudah laa..rx....

you elite...but say other people elite....

Jokes aside,
I'm so in love with my 32D300a...Last night play non stop from 08:45pm till 2pm....no eyes fatigue...And the PQ...oh my...priceless

p/s: My wife also 'merajuk' since I 'ignore' her for the whole night. By the time I go to bed...she's sound asleep already.
lapaq
post Apr 2 2008, 12:02 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 1 2008, 04:28 PM)
good luck bro, hope noting gonna happen to u muahahha tongue.gif
Just to update you....it looks like everything is fine...nothing bad happened....yet

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 1 2008, 06:57 PM)
I got my iRobot Blu-ray today..to bad I don't have a 400A to play it on now.. Arghh..

I've never really seen a Sony D series..most shopping centers don't carry it right?
Yeah...when I was searching for it...only big outlets have it on display. When I asked Harvey Norman in Damansara...they said they don't carry it.

QUOTE(re330 @ Apr 1 2008, 11:55 AM)
lapaq, to be frank, i really cant afford 8.4k on a tv, SUMPAH

my fren bought a ps3 (due to my poison) and later on a 40 V300a (also me  ) really neglected the wife liao....
Muahahahah...guess boys will be boys....

Well guys, tonight is my second session....wish me luck...
lapaq
post Apr 4 2008, 06:53 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Apr 4 2008, 11:50 AM)
hahahha...boleh..datang lah dan ko tgk sendiri D series tu...mmg best...sekarang aku buat as dual display tuk PC aku....puas aku calibrate...tgk mkv movies mmg cun giler....
Tot bagi calibration ko yang latest...

pastu...PC tv ni pakai DVI ke normal VGA port tuh? aku tak paham DSub tuh apa?
lapaq
post Apr 5 2008, 08:57 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:42 AM)
lapaq, d-sub pakai vga will do
if ur pc ada dvi, pakai dvi to hdmi lor
My pc gfx card is a very old one laa....no dvi....

Okeh..tomolo I go buy ga cable..then can watch all my hd anime collection in mkv with subs...woooohoooo
lapaq
post Apr 8 2008, 09:01 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 7 2008, 09:59 AM)
ur current setup no vga cable meh bro?
Nah...my monitor have a the cable hooked up from behind it...together with the power cable...the ones that kenot take out...as I said...It's an old PC....well the rest are all new except for the vga card and the monitor....
lapaq
post Apr 8 2008, 04:21 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Apr 8 2008, 09:38 AM)
old pc can watch mkv? emmm....
All new except vga card and my monitor....too lazy to upgrade my vga card...thinking better spend the money to buy games

but my CPU is a dual core intel laa...I'm into encoding stuff (anime and etc) hence the need for a good cpu...
lapaq
post Apr 9 2008, 01:28 PM

255 posts

Nice price...but IINM...this model of the tv....one cannot switch off the 100hz functionality...so pls make sure first...but if you don't mind then it's okay...
lapaq
post Apr 10 2008, 10:24 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(LordSparda @ Apr 9 2008, 08:17 PM)
Well, I'm still going to shop around for Bravia 32D300 since almost everyone says it's superior, but it's really hard too find  sad.gif

Or maybe I'll wait a few weeks for the Bravia 32V400 to launch... argh... so many decisions  rclxub.gif

Man, wasn't expecting to take THIS long just to buy a TV  blink.gif
When I was searching for my 32D300a, Legend informed me that new sony model will be arriving either in late April or early May...maybe you can wait till that time...

As for me I'm happy with my 32D300a. thumbup.gif

I'm not sure about the specs though...
lapaq
post Apr 12 2008, 10:23 AM

255 posts

Big HDTV + PC Connection + PC running MAME + Arcade stick = Heaven
lapaq
post Apr 14 2008, 11:26 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 14 2008, 11:16 AM)
Like u said, at 40" its pretty difficult to tell between 1080i and 1080p. If I told u otherwise, I would be lying right?  tongue.gif

I did however tried the PSN game FLOW on 1080p and I dunno if its just my imagination but it does look pretty sharp even when compared to what I used to play on 1080i on my 32" R8 Samsung.

Next stop..(if I starve enough and eat more grass) would be to upgrade my amp.. which brings me to this question.

Lets say I just have a 5.1 speaker setup, do u think I will be able to "hear" a difference between Dolby D 5.1 and Dolby TrueHD?
Why don't you try to load The Digi Yellow Duck game (forgot the name). It supposed to be pure 1080p and not upscaled like most game (eg GT5p During Gameplay 960*1080 and not really 1920*1080.

Try it out and see if you can notice the diff...

and and ry to sit at least 2-4 feet from the tv to see the diff tongue.gif
lapaq
post Apr 14 2008, 02:15 PM

255 posts

PS3 can easily decode anything PCM....and coming with Firmware 2.30...the PS3 can practically decode anything on Bluray into PCM..and then the PCM signal will be passed to your AVR....and the AVR can pass the PCM signal (IINM almost all HDMI equipped can decode PCM to all it's speakers) straight to the speaker be it 5.1 of 7.1.

Prior to Firmware 2.2 PS3 can decode everything to PCM except DTS-MA.

RX Correct me if I'm wrong...

Of and yes there are some BD that comes with PCM 5.1 but I haven't seen 7.1 tho only compressed.

Although compressed it can be lossless...so don't confuse yourself... tongue.gif
lapaq
post Apr 15 2008, 11:13 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 15 2008, 11:10 AM)
Just realised this. I read somewhere that the 32" is only 8 bit panel unlike the other W models.
That's why you need to get the D series...it uses 10-bit panel...even for 32"
lapaq
post Apr 15 2008, 11:48 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 15 2008, 11:42 AM)
go go go  biggrin.gif
sweat.gif
lapaq
post Apr 15 2008, 03:12 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 15 2008, 02:02 PM)
Elite u'r head.
MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA laugh.gif laugh.gif

Rx kena one shot thru the head...

p/s: rx I think is like me...can sms and call is enuff already...no need all the mambo jumbo..

This post has been edited by lapaq: Apr 15 2008, 03:17 PM
lapaq
post Apr 15 2008, 05:12 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 15 2008, 03:23 PM)
lapaq , me not like u blush.gif
me wan all the mambo jambo , but only know how to use call and sms, but no money to buy mambo jambo phone sad.gif
Good laa....dun be like me...too old to learn about all the mambo jambo already...better use the time to play more games...
lapaq
post Apr 16 2008, 12:32 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 16 2008, 12:17 PM)
using al cheapo onky SR 605
oh ya, guys, my hd projector arrived yesterday, wish me luck biggrin.gif

Optoma?
lapaq
post Apr 16 2008, 12:42 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 16 2008, 12:40 PM)
yeah, beggars cant be choosers biggrin.gif
Which one? 65?
Your Madam is okay with it?!...then how much are you spending for the screen and installation (ceiling?)
lapaq
post Apr 21 2008, 02:23 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Apr 18 2008, 05:16 PM)
Does this mean that the 100Hz make the movie worse for 24p?
Here is my honest answer..I own a 32D series from sony.

Personall I liked the 100hz feature very much...

Movie wise...It makes the motions in the movie you play on the screen 'extra smooth.'....it basically doubles the frames per second...you will somehow look at it a bit smoother hence it'll look somewhat 'artificial'..Whether artificial is bad or not depends entirely on one's 'taste' or prefernce...I liked watching Pirates BD with Motion plus turned on (normal setting).

But there's certain movie I prefer watching it with the option off...

When it come to games....

Again Some games I prefer it to be switched on and some off. Example of a game that I liked it to be switched on is Motorstorm...The game is running at 30fps...add Motion Plus...it becomes 60fps...hence smoother...

Some games is not suited to be 'motion plus'ed...because motion plus will sometimes introduces 'noise' in the video...hence I'll switch it off...

Most of the time I'll leave it on at Normal setting.

Ypu have to see it your selves to decide....It's totally falls back to one's preference....
lapaq
post Apr 24 2008, 10:16 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Apr 23 2008, 08:18 PM)
Hmm, if this is the case.....welwitchia, and all owners of 40W400A, do you feel that when you watched fast paced movies such like anime, fast action movie, the movie seems not smooth ar?

Don't misunderstand me...I said the video is 'smoother'...not that if no motion plus it's not smooth at all.

If the original video is intended to be watch at 50/60 hz...the it is smooth enough...but imagine it is shown at 100/120 hz....

Somewhat the same like videogames, 30 fps is smooth enough but if it is shown at 60 fps..then that is smoother.

It really doesn't mean that LCD without moption plus is not smooth at all...

p/s: Oh and some video does benefit a lot from motion plus to reduce blurring that LCD tends to produce...refer to various Panasonic 700mk display set where they set half screen with 100hz and the other half without 100hz..the scrolling text is nit so blurred...and to think that game have a lot of text/pic running accross screen it would benefit a lot from it.

But bear in mind that game are built to be shown on HDTV screen so when they develope the game thsy will try to reduce the blurryness themselves so the improvement can be minimal...for games that is built that way at least
lapaq
post Apr 25 2008, 03:31 PM

255 posts

Yup...the sony is gud enough.....you won't miss the motion plus unless you watched a lot of TV rather than blu-ray and games.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0391sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:42 AM