Proposal Ring and Wedding Band, How it is done?

TSWiNdGa|
post Jan 31 2008, 11:53 AM, updated 18y ago

21 posts

Hihi, been busy so havent been posting a lot in here. I am asking this for a friend who plans to propose to his girlfriend in the coming weeks.

To my understanding, the diamond ring will be the proposal ring used when the guy kneels down and propose to the girl. The wedding band is what you wear after you get married. Now, here's my question - how would you buy a diamond ring?

1. Would you bring your girlfriend to the goldsmith and ask her to choose?
2. Would you choose and buy a ring yourself without her knowledge

If your answer to the question above is 1. you brought her to the goldsmith and ask her to choose,
1. That will kill the suspense
2. There wont be any more surprise
3. She is already expecting it
4. She knows

If your answer to the question above is 2. you bought the ring yourself to give her a surprise proposal
1. What if size is wrong?
2. What if she dont like the design?

How many goldsmith allows exchange? Once you propose, she accept it but she dont like the design, go back to exchange - can?

Please discuss.
qse150
post Jan 31 2008, 12:01 PM

287 posts

the ring size can be readjusted .... dun worry ...!!
king_kong
post Jan 31 2008, 12:06 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(WiNdGa| @ Jan 31 2008, 11:53 AM)
Hihi, been busy so havent been posting a lot in here. I am asking this for a friend who plans to propose to his girlfriend in the coming weeks.

To my understanding, the diamond ring will be the proposal ring used when the guy kneels down and propose to the girl. The wedding band is what you wear after you get married. Now, here's my question - how would you buy a diamond ring?

1. Would you bring your girlfriend to the goldsmith and ask her to choose?
2. Would you choose and buy a ring yourself without her knowledge

If your answer to the question above is 1. you brought her to the goldsmith and ask her to choose,
1. That will kill the suspense
2. There wont be any more surprise
3. She is already expecting it
4. She knows

If your answer to the question above is 2. you bought the ring yourself to give her a surprise proposal
1. What if size is wrong?
2. What if she dont like the design?
How many goldsmith allows exchange? Once you propose, she accept it but she dont like the design, go back to exchange - can?

Please discuss.
1. = definitely no.
2. size can be adjusted, try to get a feel of her finger or try to swipe one of her rings. it's a diamond ring. if its big enough the design wont matter.
budakjahat
post Jan 31 2008, 12:39 PM

617 posts

trick the girl la.. take her to the shop.. get her to try the rings..
ask her which design that she likes..

or if got magazine got ring ad or something or if got catalogue, then ask laa.. which one she likes..

or, can ask her sister or mother or best friend what kind of design she likes..

size can pinjam one of her rings2 diam2.. get her sister/mum/best friend to help..
if not, like what others said, size can be adjusted later..
kenji1903
post Jan 31 2008, 03:00 PM

3,785 posts

buy the most basic solitaire design... every hold hands don't tell me the guy won't feel the gf's finger how big if planning to buy right right?

personal experience, i played with my gf's fingers... check the size of the ring finger then compare it with my last finger cos guys usually have bigger hands smile.gif
go to jewelery shop and try it myself tongue.gif
result was a pretty close fit smile.gif

keep the receipt, you can do alterations to the ring if really different size smile.gif

0.0120sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:00 PM