post Jan 28 2008, 04:37 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jan 28 2008, 04:28 PM)
Reporting in for duty cool2.gif
haha...reporting in without the complete 'equipment' yet tongue.gif
anyway...i oso reportin in for duty la whistling.gif

edit:
aiseh...that bro already have his DK P35...didnt notice that...so, u can start post ur oc result la bro vearn...the floor is totally urs notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Jan 28 2008, 05:03 PM
remysix
post Jan 29 2008, 04:20 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Jan 29 2008, 02:17 PM)
hey guys..got anyone out there dat oredi use this mobo try with long gfx such as 79series or 8series gfx and using ocz xtc ram cooler?wanna know the cooler stuck or not..coz when using long gfx,the space between gfx pcb quite narrow to the dimm slot sweat.gif afraid if using this cooler will crash on gfx doh.gif icon_question.gif
i have to say that it will crash...i don have the xtc one but i do have the AllnGap ram cooler...and on my P35-DQ6 which i think the space between the gfx and the dimm is almost similar, u'll have trouble putting the xtc...mine is made of pvc, so still ok...the xtc is what, alu?but ofcourse, u could slightly, slightly bend or push the gfx so the xtc can firmly grab the dimm
but wait a minute, didnt notice that there's a thumbscrew fitted at the side...with this thumbscrew, u r 100% cannot use it la i think. sorry
remysix
post Feb 4 2008, 02:10 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

wahh...everyone is fired up on with their DK...i prolly setup mine during this CNY...tomorrow (today actually) gonna get the mobo from john...but don think gonna straight away pasang...kinda busy with work right now. anyway, i think i can use that time to scout around for the best setting...

@gsan, come on - post ur setting la so others can use it as a reference.
remysix
post Feb 5 2008, 11:11 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

errrr...a n00b's question: How come my SmartGuardian didnt show the temp or voltage...temp just shown '000' and no value at all for the voltage.
dunno why la...already run it as admin, still got no reading.
remysix
post Feb 6 2008, 06:07 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 6 2008, 02:32 AM)
just got the HR-05 SLI/IFX from cschun86, but then it is not belong to me, just helping friend to test, will install on DK tomorrow and  compare with the U6, hope can fit it nicely.

thanks to pokok86 who are willing  to let me try this cooler  notworthy.gif
how's the chipset temp with the sli/ifx. i got one but yet to install it...maybe during this weekend...my chipset temp is too hi during load la
remysix
post Feb 10 2008, 02:18 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

my mobo has a really serious vcore issue...i've set the vcore in bios as 1.40v (1.25V + 150mV)...vdrop to 1.37v...then vdroop to 1.32v...really hope there will be a volt-mod or some work around on this...this really shock me coz last time wif my DQ6, the vdroop as good as zero.

btw...do you guys plug in the floppy power molex to the FDP?
remysix
post Feb 10 2008, 02:29 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Feb 10 2008, 02:22 PM)
wow bro..its bigger vdrop..i've set mine 1.312v in bios n load 1.296v..not dat much vdrop compare to u  sweat.gif bout floppy i didnt use floppy..myb others can tell blush.gif
yup...it's a big diff and really not gonna help me in ocing...i need to 'inteligently calculate' the vcore that i'd need to set in bios to achieve my target... doh.gif

not that floppy disk drive la bro tongue.gif ...there's a power connector on the box itself called 'FDP'...u can use ur floppy power molex to supply extra power to the mobo...according to the manual, it is meant to supply extra power to stabilize the system when u go for dual gfx. this DK is my second mobo from DFI...last time used the LP UT nF4 Ultra-D...got the same thing. and most people would recommend to plug the power in to help stabilize ur oc.
so, just wanna check whether u guys plug it or not?

This post has been edited by remysix: Feb 10 2008, 02:30 PM
remysix
post Feb 10 2008, 03:53 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 10 2008, 03:47 PM)
Donkey Kong doh.gif laugh.gif

@remysix, mfcm
i plugged in the Floppy Power, like i used to with SLI-DR icon_idea.gif, no harm done what... brows.gif
for oc purpose, i'd plug in everything i could into the board...just to make sure that u have a nice and stable juice running throughout ur system...

anyway, about the vdroop issue...mine is really bad. but maybe u guys are luckier...just like mfcm said that his only a few mV which is acceptable...
btw, just realize that my Core1 (the second core) is kinda weak...just prime at 3.45G, others ok, but Core2 spitted out error as early as the 2nd minute...mmm...wonder why coz last time ok jek
remysix
post Feb 10 2008, 03:55 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Feb 10 2008, 03:51 PM)
Its highly recommended to plug in the Floppy power connector. It'll give the mobo additional stability when the GC draws some power from the mobo especially if ur GC is the high-end wan.
good and stable running juice == good mobo stability == better for oc...so, for oc, i'd plug it in...
remysix
post Feb 11 2008, 02:49 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Feb 11 2008, 12:56 PM)
is anyone using this board wit Window Vista as the OS ?
is it okie ? got any problems ? cause mobo got problem wit Vista.
Duno why.
what seems to be the problem? mine working a-ok...can u be specific?
even oc'ed my quad to 3.4G also got no problem...still pushing for higher speed thou icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Feb 11 2008, 01:16 PM)
here are mine with gtl setting in bios all 3 setting set to 0.67X

*sorry some problem with uploading the picture. wonder why? blink.gif
yeah...about this 0.67x, 0.63x blabla...what does it mean actually...saw the UT bios for this gtl...dunno how to translate this 0.67x thingy to the 110 or 111 setting like the UT rclxub.gif

btw, i've replaced the stock NB cooler with the HR-05 SLI/IFX...by slightly bend the heatsink, it perfectly snug in between the gfx and the cpu fan. even placed a 80mm fan on it...the temp dropped about 7-10c...idle right now around 43-44c...ok la considering my ambient temp

This post has been edited by remysix: Feb 11 2008, 02:55 PM
remysix
post Feb 11 2008, 07:07 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 11 2008, 05:57 PM)
they are the same
just that software base different
and with vista easier to find stable
since vista on some application stressed both cores to 75-80 percent..
those ppl who were unhappy cause they just found out their system is not stable..
most of the time it was their NB/PLL and rams was the culprit..

show of hands how many ppl here run memtest86 for 1 to 2 days??

Added on February 11, 2008, 6:13 pmhmm and how many of u this that the DA before will show up again??
ran memtest for 24 hrs during my BH-6 days...for burn-in...other than that onli 8 hours...

hmm i got an example for u guys.. on y that gtl thingy so important..

u'd be suprise.

and y i am envious of u guys who has this board.. with the ability to control both gtl's..
and i'm currently envy you coz u know why that gtl is so important tongue.gif
i know it is important especially for quaddie but i just dont know how to benefit from it...if using the UT or the RDxx based mobo, u can change the GTL Ref Voltage from say 100 to 110 and other setting, this DK only has 4 setting...0.67x (67%), 0.61x (61%) and another 2 (I think)...i'm totally lost bro...anyway, i'm gonna do the old skool style lah...trial and error...and it will be a lot of errors tongue.gif
remysix
post Feb 12 2008, 08:27 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Feb 12 2008, 04:10 AM)
@gsan,

the vdroop for this mobo+Q6600 GO, about 45mv.

setting 333X3 to 3ghz, 1.26V, ram at 5-5-5-15 1000mhz 2V,
idle 1.26v load 1.215v.
i test the q6600 up to 3.2Ghz , p95 for 30minutes, even the vcore drop till 1.215v, still no errors.

so, any others with quad core come share your vdroop issue.

rgds,
albert
mine is also like urs...vdroop around 45 - 50 mV...need to get the exact figure later. btw, how's ur vdrop? mine like another 35-40mV...so basically once the quaddie is on load, the vcore dropped around 80 - 90mV compared to what i've set in BIOS...really not good. shakehead.gif
remysix
post Feb 12 2008, 01:33 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 12 2008, 12:25 PM)
dude ure vcore is worrying..
get a voltmeter..
and find a vdroop mod.
r u referring to me?
well...i'm gonna try to plug in the extra power into the mobo...the FDP one and see how.
btw...havent found any mod yet...maybe the model is too 'young'...
remysix
post Feb 12 2008, 02:04 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Feb 12 2008, 01:38 PM)
hey help me to oc my E2160 hehe
im a very noob on ocing
last time use asus quite easy now use dfi all the setting seems to be on manual
even the ram oc T_T
a lot of people is noob...some are intermediate...and very few considered has master the Dark Art of OC! tongue.gif

btw, gonna get me-self a penryn and see how well it oc tonite... ***i smell a quaddy gonna be on sale whistling.gif ***
remysix
post Feb 12 2008, 04:25 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Feb 12 2008, 02:26 PM)
whose quaddies was that?  cool2.gif
letting urs ka?  whistling.gif

ps: mebi can lend to me b4 selling  tongue.gif
mmm...sorry la bro;change of plan...all the sudden, the stock got rembat by some other supplier, so my seller could not get any stock...so, sleeping with my quaddy la tonite yawn.gif
remysix
post Feb 12 2008, 07:35 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Feb 12 2008, 07:16 PM)
what proc cooling do u all recon ? i found on xigmatek pretty good tongue.gif !
and so is thermalright ultra 120 XD !
both are good hsf...but for xigmatek, try to replace the push-pin (really hate it! vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif ) with the spring loaded bolts like the one used with Ultra 120.
remysix
post Feb 12 2008, 09:01 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Feb 12 2008, 08:44 PM)
Picture tells it all. wub.gif

biggrin.gif ... nice pic and it really tells it all. rclxms.gif
love that one...but i think i'm gonna put one 20cents coin between the bracket and the heatsink...just to make it tighter...experimenting!!!
remysix
post Feb 13 2008, 08:41 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 13 2008, 07:22 AM)
You mean the DK P35-T2RS also has such a bad vdrop/vdroop for the quad? Same like my P35-DS3 leh..... don't you have other settings that you can set in BIOS e.g. Loadline calibration, etc.....

My P35-DS3, BIOS 1.400v, CPUz idle @ 1.36v, CPUz load @ 1.312v..... vdrop/vdroop of 0.088v.....  sad.gif
yeah...pretty bad. coz previously i was using the P35-DQ6; and i must say that that board is really stable in terms of voltage. Completed OCCT and the vcore graph shown 0% ripple...idle=load, so when switched to this DK (maybe mine, other seems quite ok), 80-90mV diff between is really frustrating and troublesome for my oc. e.g. last nite, tried to prime my q6600 425x8=3.4G...with DQ6, set the vcore to 1.35 and no problem doing with priming for hours (normally i did > 8 hours)...with DK, i need to set +125mV (vid=1.25v) ==> 1.375v set, vdrop to 1.34v, primed and vdroop to 1.31v...less than half an hour, got error with one of the core. so, back to bios, re-set the vcore...one step higher than +125mV (didnt remember)...this time vdroop to 1.32v...stable for 2 hours testing...this is really dissapointing for me...i gues the others is luckier than i am. cry.gif

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Feb 13 2008, 08:17 AM)
guys my chipset temp this morning is 53 degrees
last nite oni 40 something
just wanna ask u guys temp
is it normal o not normal?
my cpu fan die
i change to my gemini2
the temp almost same 36-40
naik turun
b4 is 38-40
53c is with ur system on load or idle? what about ur ambient temp?probably it got to do with ur ventilation? not sure thou...

Added on February 13, 2008, 8:46 am
QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 12 2008, 10:54 PM)
A little outta topic here... thou still related to the same board anyhow (cause I'm using it tongue.gif)

I just bought a 500GB Seagate 7200.11 32MB SATA II HDD and currently running on UDMA Mode-5 (ATA-100) as showed by my system device properties. I running WinXP and BIOS SATA mode: IDE. Someone told me I could run it at UDMA Mode-6 (ATA-133) if I select BIOS SATA mode: ACHI. However, doing so will need to reformat the Windows and also installing a SATA driver before installing the OS. My Floppy Disk Drive "kaputed" and taken out sweat.gif. Any recommendation? Or just continue with UDMA Mode-5? unsure.gif

My first time playing with SATA II. Sorry for my noobness sweat.gif...
bro...with XP u have no option but 2:
1. using the normal floppy disk...kaputed edi -- no go
2. using USB Floppy disk -- if u have a notebook one, can use la
3. slipstream the driver into the XP installation...the only way since #1 cannot.

btw, i think even thou u r using the same mobo, this question should go under Technical Support la...follow the link
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/501772

This post has been edited by remysix: Feb 13 2008, 08:46 AM
remysix
post Feb 13 2008, 09:34 AM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 13 2008, 09:10 AM)
Did you check your temperature according to the SmartGuardian? I can quite confident tell you that the SmartGuardian programmed wrongly. Erm... rather to say just the wrong description for the "CHIPSET" and "SYSTEM" temperature showed. The "CHIPSET" should be labeled as "PWM AREA" and the "SYSTEM" should be labeled as "CHIPSET". So the true temperature for your chipset is the one showed by "SYSTEM" by your SmartGuardian smile.gif.
Icic. Thanks a lot for the direction smile.gif.

Anyway, will there be noticeable performance gain in using ACHI mode than IDE? unsure.gif
performance gain...in real life; not sure but i do think it might not be noticeable.
remysix
post Feb 15 2008, 07:48 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 15 2008, 07:36 PM)
no, according remysix & overclockalbert, this mobo have the serious vdroop with Quad core. you should go for UT/LT which have the vdroop control in the bios  brows.gif
not sure generally, but for my case...very not good one...and due to that (possibly), i have been having a hard time to even getting similar result like the one with my DQ6...so far, not very pleased sad.gif

Added on February 15, 2008, 7:50 pm
QUOTE(kmarc @ Feb 15 2008, 07:47 PM)
I see...... Thx for the info....

Huhu.... would have bought this mobo if not for the ETA......

I think I will just get a normal replacement la...... Gonna decide and get one tomorrow!!!  rclxms.gif
actually i also gonna rma my giga mobo...but due to diff reason; all the sudden having problem running dual channel - got BSOD and errors when ran the memtest...

ps: sorry for the OT posting notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Feb 15 2008, 07:50 PM

0.0338sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:21 AM