TSConvael
post Jan 28 2008, 02:54 PM, updated 18y ago

1,109 posts

I have found a kinda cheap Benq LCD monitor witn built in speakers
And wondering if it supports PS3?

http://www.ericsoo.com/thread-96991-1-1.html

Can anyone who has the Monitor share their thoughts with me ?

ferricide
post Jan 28 2008, 02:57 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

IINM, to use LCD monitor with your PS3, u need a HDCP-compliant monitor?
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 03:41 PM

11,811 posts

yes, must be a hdcp-ed dvi
slickz
post Jan 28 2008, 07:46 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

HDCP is a must. It will never work without the standard.
TSConvael
post Jan 28 2008, 07:53 PM

1,109 posts

thanks guys for the quick reply, what about this one

Samsung 940 BW ?

It says it supports HDCP on the site, but when i check on hardware.com the spec is different?

the reso on hardwarezone.com is 1440x900 but on the samsung site it is 1680 x 1050

http://www.samsung.com/my/products/monitor...erlcd/940bw.asp
http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/priceguide/...id=321&id=17609

thanks again

slickz
post Jan 28 2008, 08:08 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

you'd rather trust the official site or some third party site?

heheh.

Maybe there's two types of 940BW. 19 inch monitor has 1440X900 maybe, 20 inch monitor has 1680X1050 resolution I think.

I run my ps3 on 20 inch samsung 206BW @ 720p resolution. 1080p gives a not optimum pic message and I get erratic behavior with the monitor. Makes sense, since 1080p is 1920X1200 resolution.

qwen234
post Jan 28 2008, 08:12 PM

365 posts

the samsung 1 probably will work.. but u need to buy the dvi-hdmi cable
and u also need a speaker.. as dvi will not provide sound...
then u need to but the converter for the audio to ur pc speaker...
oh god.. long story
CHR15
post Jan 29 2008, 03:29 PM

141 posts

how bout this BENQ fp94vw
http://www.benq.com.my/products/LCD/?product=1009
got HDMI and build in speaker
SSJBen
post Jan 29 2008, 03:30 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ Jan 29 2008, 03:29 PM)
how bout this  BENQ fp94vw
Yes, works perfectly. Cheap also, only RM650 now.

CHR15
post Jan 29 2008, 03:37 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 29 2008, 03:30 PM)
Yes, works perfectly. Cheap also, only RM650 now.
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
u sure is only rm 650 then is a must buy item loh
vyeo
post Jan 29 2008, 10:52 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ Jan 29 2008, 03:29 PM)
how bout this  BENQ fp94vw
r u sure tat fp94vw built in speakers?
SSJBen
post Jan 30 2008, 12:33 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

FP94VW doesn't have built in speakers. It has auxilary out however, so you can connect it to a set of headphones or a speaker with aux input.

Yea, FP94VW only RM650. Great deal, got it from Viewnet at LYP. Superb LCD.
CHR15
post Jan 30 2008, 02:33 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(vyeo @ Jan 29 2008, 10:52 PM)
r u sure tat fp94vw built in speakers?
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 30 2008, 12:33 AM)
FP94VW doesn't have built in speakers. It has auxilary out however, so you can connect it to a set of headphones or a speaker with aux input.

Yea, FP94VW only RM650. Great deal, got it from Viewnet at LYP. Superb LCD.
i saw the Specifications listed there re speaker

http://www.benq.com.my/products/LCD/?produ...=specifications
sirnevio
post Jan 30 2008, 03:14 PM

81 posts

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/nz/en/ho/WF...3-80714018.html

how bout this
SSJBen
post Jan 30 2008, 04:38 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ Jan 30 2008, 02:33 PM)
i saw the Specifications listed there re speaker

http://www.benq.com.my/products/LCD/?produ...=specifications
FP94VW I comfirm you that theres no speaker, because I'm using it right now itself laugh.gif

There is auxilary output as I said. So you will need to connect it to a speaker which has auxilary input to use them as speakers. Additionally, you can also use any headphones as well.

I'm not sure whats the price of the HP w2207h, last I saw is over RM1.2k. Now, not sure.

CHR15
post Jan 30 2008, 09:53 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 30 2008, 04:38 PM)
FP94VW I comfirm you that theres no speaker, because I'm using it right now itself laugh.gif

There is auxilary output as I said. So you will need to connect it to a speaker which has auxilary input to use them as speakers. Additionally, you can also use any headphones as well.

I'm not sure whats the price of the HP w2207h, last I saw is over RM1.2k. Now, not sure.
oic then i might as well get the 22" X2200W 1 loh if got no speaker
any1 know how much it cost
SSJBen
post Jan 31 2008, 06:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(CHR15 @ Jan 30 2008, 09:53 PM)
oic then i might as well get the 22" X2200W 1 loh if got no speaker
any1 know how much it cost
AFAIK, X2200W isn't sold in Malaysia. Very, very hard to find. I only saw it once in PC Fair a year ago. Besides, X2200W is a pretty dated monitor too.

Don't worry about speakers, just connect your PS3 up to your PC speakers and you're done.
CHR15
post Feb 1 2008, 10:00 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 31 2008, 06:15 AM)
AFAIK, X2200W isn't sold in Malaysia. Very, very hard to find. I only saw it once in PC Fair a year ago. Besides, X2200W is a pretty dated monitor too.

Don't worry about speakers, just connect your PS3 up to your PC speakers and you're done.
oic well then FP94VW is the best choice
anyway thank's for the info
TSConvael
post Feb 4 2008, 08:05 PM

1,109 posts

Does anyone know if Is there any shops that still sells BenQ FP94VW LCD monitors?
I have been walking through almost whole Lowyat building, and unable to locate 1 at all.

Also does this model Samsung 931BW can be used with PS3 too?
http://www.samsung.com/my/products/monitor...erlcd/931bw.asp

Anyone that is using it can share their thoughts?

Thanks for all the helpful answers

This post has been edited by Convael: Feb 4 2008, 08:10 PM
CHR15
post Feb 12 2008, 04:06 PM

141 posts

FP94VW now sell for rm 799 at low yat
damm expensive liao rclxub.gif shocking.gif doh.gif

0.0208sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled