Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

sayasebuk
post Jan 28 2008, 07:32 PM

677 posts

sayasebuk reporting in

meet my first turtles for 2008. bought them last thursday

sayasebuk
post Jan 28 2008, 10:57 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 28 2008, 09:44 PM)

nice contribution camillenoir!! finally get to see almost all of the species that you have..(but im pretty sure thats not even 50% of the type of species that you have, and not even 20% of the total number that you have LOL)
sayasebuk
post Jan 29 2008, 02:34 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jan 29 2008, 12:21 PM)
Wah. I didn't know butt up means that. It didn't even open its mouth, so I thought its "opening" the wrong end.

I put it in a large glass tank. It has lots of space to swim unlike the little plastic tank I saw them in when I bought. Its more interested in hiding under the  driftwood though.

The tank is put outside, currently it's bare bottomed with only 1 driftwood and several little fishes. Anything else I need? When it grows up a little more, I'm planning to shift it to a slightly larger tank with filter.

I think the small Alligator Snapping Turtle is still available although the aunty mentioned that someone spoke of his interest to purchase the little fella. No deposit has been placed on the small one yet so it is still available. You can ask for RM 330, I think the aunty will sell lar.
herm still available? im looking for an ally snapper but rm350 is maximum market value....
when you say broken tail do you mean, tail biten off or the tail crooked?

QUOTE(lessilly @ Jan 29 2008, 02:22 PM)
diamondback terrapin....under uzairi care....
[attachmentid=389750]
[attachmentid=389754]
why not under your care ah? they are your's right?
sayasebuk
post Jan 30 2008, 01:22 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(kaseinogen @ Jan 29 2008, 06:07 PM)
hello all there....very love to join this forum...i have been here about 2-3weeks ago n i finished my timeto read the ttt v2.so that i know the member of this forum a little bit..n i really love to read this forum.hehehehe..

FYI, i have just stated this hobby(collecting ttt) around 1years ago.i am intersted in ttt since i was a boy.but only 1 years ago i started to collect them.hehehe.emm i am a student,so my budget is not that big.so i collect them slowly.but now i have about 11 spp of them..still not enough for me.huhuhu.

anyway,hope to get more info n friend ...

long life ttt!!!!!!!!!!!!
11 spp in a year.... student some more?? that's quite an achievement. please share
sayasebuk
post Jan 31 2008, 11:12 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jan 30 2008, 05:56 PM)
mine are given ikan belanak and kembung... those monsters are eating machines, if i give feeder fish i'll bankrupt fast LOL!
so they take dead fish too?
sayasebuk
post Feb 4 2008, 11:37 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 1 2008, 03:37 PM)
You sure about chelonia.net as they are up for sale now LOL

Anyway most of those website are western country or northern based ( almost non are tropical based ) thus their recomanded species are mostly low humidity tolerance one ie Sulcata , Leopard , Herman , Russian ...etc as their country has a lower average humidity than ours ( Malayisa) 

Better to hear from ex-keeper speaking from experience who are locally based ( kept that species here in Malaysia ) !!!

a simple yet very important (life & death important) advice

QUOTE(inexsis @ Feb 2 2008, 11:24 AM)
u sell ka this brand ? kinda hard to find....mostly old stock.....
i bought 1 n forgot to check the date....bought in january.....expired in march  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
dah la tors aku xsampai2 lg dry.gif
mine's untill october 2008. but still i dont think i can finish it by then... unless i buy more tortoises by then LOL....anyone want to "pow" sikit no prob...

p.s: feel sorry for inexsis... so desperate to find stars for so long... but other members seem to be able to buy them without not much effort LOL

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Feb 4 2008, 12:54 AM)
i just came back from ikano yesterday... i mean today... errr... it's yesterday as it's over 12am d now... hahaaa!

well... got an adult alligator snapper... 2 hatchling common snapper... a few leopard tortoises... 2 big head turtles... and NO star tortoises!! isK!!  shakehead.gif 

now... where can i find any of it? wah... it's being grab up or being hidden up? hmm...

wink.gif
wow big-headed turtles? have never been able to seen them up close
sayasebuk
post Feb 4 2008, 12:05 PM

677 posts

double post

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Feb 4 2008, 09:21 PM
sayasebuk
post Feb 4 2008, 12:15 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(dai86 @ Feb 2 2008, 05:30 PM)
just rm100 plus. haha.... have to bargain with that shop person. haha...
nice bargaining

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 3 2008, 08:29 PM)
My stars bought from Malacca. Kindly give comments and advise smile.gif I'm seriously noob.
Here is my humble rig

QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 4 2008, 07:42 AM)
Like I said right now hard to find. Most of the places i went to sold out already. The store i bought mine left the last 2 both 3.5 inch at RM 100. Store owner also don't entertain bargaining cause he say now hard to find. The other place is the aquarium near Bukit Baru traffic junction. They have a pair for sale but less than 3 inch for RM100.
i think for that low of a price, the petshop wanted to sell off his stock quickly and wash off his hands..

so i guess there is a possiblity that some petshop will sell stars below market price
sayasebuk
post Feb 4 2008, 09:29 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Feb 4 2008, 11:59 AM)
TT was a so so only lol.  laugh.gif
im not selling them. tongue.gif
because i wasn't there LOL

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Feb 4 2008, 12:13 PM)
sayasebuk,

Wow, I just checked our pets album and was amazed how your tortoises shell recovered

Good job man smile.gif
tx. actually those are old pictures, i seldom update them now lol. got put off because cannot link to the pictures in multiply because of "dynamic tags"

QUOTE(inexsis @ Feb 4 2008, 06:09 PM)
waaaaaaaaaaaa.............. i juz came back from Selayang baru....... Juz bought my new pair of Stair Tortoise !!!!!!!!!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
i bought it from the petshop that dai86 also bought from....... toooo far.........but worthy brows.gif  brows.gif
can sumone translate the vege name that gud for Torts....only 1 i know...sawi....others...never heard it before tongue.gif
if RNS...whats the medicine i should use to cure them ?
waaaaaaaa...........soooo excited  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
finnally !!!!!!!!! doh.gif
congratz.. i went there too

btw, anyone knows any place else selling ally snappers? the ones at selayang are actually common snappers. the last specimen at kin fatt is already booked by someone, apparently just before my arrival. (that someone was very lucky since i was planning to cash and carry)

selayang and kepong are unknown territories for me. sesat for more than 2 hours LOL (tak berkat sebab lari time ofis hours brows.gif ).

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Feb 4 2008, 09:29 PM
sayasebuk
post Feb 4 2008, 09:44 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Feb 4 2008, 09:40 PM)
not so bad la..

they got free entrance into the exhibition at 1U (where uzairi flirted with you-know-who's spouse LOL!)

plus, there were a quartet of long-legged, hot brunettes and half-blondes joining them.

well... your loss.. kekeke.
hey.. no one mentioned there was an after tea thingy mad.gif
sayasebuk
post Feb 5 2008, 10:46 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Feb 5 2008, 03:45 AM)
wakakakakakak......i didnt open it.....already put sayur in it.... laugh.gif
is it safe for the torts if my room fan is at max speed and i live in 7th floor...soo constant cold air coming from window....kinda sejuk in my room....
is it ok for the torts ? or i need to cover the tank with sumthing so the cold air doesnt enter the tank ?
just measure the humidity and temperature at different ends of your enclosure, at different times of the day. as long as the readings are within accepted range, you dont have to worry about anything.

having your first tortoise(s) you'll practically worry about everything.. just take the readings and you'll be fine. else you'll go bonkers worrying about every minor detail LOL

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Feb 5 2008, 09:36 AM)
Yesterday, I have thoughts of getting a Star to befriend my lonely Sam. Wanted to go to the selayang aquarium to sapu. But unfortunately I didn't know the exact location, so didn't go a buy

If I really go inexsis will be disappointed  tongue.gif  Anyway, good for him to get them

Ya, so inexsis how many left? Any more nice tortoise/turtle there?
yesterday i went they have one baby star, some common snappers, and some baby snake necks. however, they didn't bother of removing the dead specimens. not a good sign if you ask me.

QUOTE(ekiddie @ Feb 5 2008, 10:24 AM)
hahaa! i saw tat... but to me... i doesn't like it much... it's ugly! hahaaa!

wink.gif
pretty ugly is pretty what
sayasebuk
post Feb 5 2008, 10:56 AM

677 posts

just a reminder.

after the recent announcement of stricter trade laws of wildlife, seems that everyone is rushing to buy new tortoise/turtles.

just be sure that you are well prepared (mentally, financially, responsibility, socially, etc). too much pets at one go will be quite overwhelming.

cheers

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Feb 5 2008, 11:25 AM
sayasebuk
post Feb 5 2008, 11:10 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Feb 5 2008, 09:47 PM)
Pets Safari got 4 elongated tortoise and 1 big unknown species (looks like sulcata)

The elongated tortoise seems cheap. The price tag on the tank was RM500/each. Around 5 to 7 inch

Added on February 5, 2008, 9:48 pmThe big head turtle is RM650. Looks quite cute leh...
elongated as in Indotestudo Elongata?
sayasebuk
post Feb 16 2008, 12:10 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Feb 16 2008, 03:06 AM)
Agree with sam and camillenoir, some people think they should be left alone in the wild but its totally wrong. In fact in the wild their numbers are declining fast because of deforestation etc etc.

Something a friend made for the election fever.
once upon a time ago, leaving them alone in the wild does equate to their survival

but now, leaving them alone is no different than being completely ignorant

just an excuse to not do anything

my personal opinion

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Feb 16 2008, 12:14 PM
sayasebuk
post Feb 19 2008, 02:24 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Feb 19 2008, 01:11 AM)
want to ask.....are uvb light is for the torts to know its a day or night ?
because....i open my uva and uvb at nite only.......when i opened it.....
all my torts became active n starting moving around and eat everything on the food plate.
but when enough 8 hour...i off the light...they sleep till i open it back.......is tis natural or because of the light ?
it's because of the light. they become confused and think that it is daytime.

that's why it is best to imitate the actual photoperiod. use a timer. you can find cheap ones at carrefour. costs below RM15
sayasebuk
post Feb 20 2008, 10:14 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(anbusan @ Feb 19 2008, 10:07 PM)
I just got this one la can ka? ahaha belaan adik aku huhu

welcome!! frankly you ARE at home. most of us here nowadays only keep RES too.

RES are highly aquatic, so dont worry about the water being too deep. but as a precaution for hatchlings, make sure there is a basking spot for them to rest on.

Added on February 20, 2008, 10:19 am
QUOTE(inexsis @ Feb 19 2008, 03:04 AM)
xpaham.....what do u mean by that ?  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
you can just google the termla

basically photoperiod just means the length of time of exposure to light,
actual photoperiod means daytime la. so any 8 hours between dawn to dusk is ok.
i turn on mine from 9.30 to 5.30

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Feb 20 2008, 10:19 AM
sayasebuk
post Feb 20 2008, 11:21 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Feb 20 2008, 04:27 PM)
i just left irene and i must say i'm impressed with the collection they have for sale

Do u guys know that they have more tortoises upstairs?

I think they have 13 star tortoise around 3 inch for sale, few big star, few leopard, few redfoot, few radiata, 1 sulcata, 1 pancake, 1 elongated, 2 matamata, few other types of turtle that i dont know off

The stars they have upstairs looks healthty. They just polished then, so it all looked beautiful and clean
will definitely go for a visit then
sayasebuk
post Mar 7 2008, 10:26 AM

677 posts

dzi921: i can understand your initial intention was pure & good. But after too many posts/links on the subject, it seems that your action has done quite some "harm" too.

for example here

mods, i seriously think that the above thread should not be closed

1-his wrong was because he didnt post in garages sales - so just move it there
2-the law is not officially exercised yet (i doubt anytime soon)
3-if permit needed, than just let him get the permit la, no need to close the thread.

This post has been edited by sayasebuk: Mar 7 2008, 10:27 AM
sayasebuk
post Mar 10 2008, 07:31 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 10 2008, 05:04 PM)
vampire Star Tortoise mayb ? i'm melting~~~ i'm melting~~~~  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
doh.gif
anyone here know when will the supplement from the oversea sumone in garage sale selling  will arrive ? my reptivite juz expired last week......
aiyyyoooooo....................  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
you can pow some from me. i doubt that ill be able to finish it by it's expiry date in october

0.0414sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:22 AM