126 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

Fat^Cat
post Mar 24 2008, 05:14 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(slackerz @ Mar 23 2008, 07:36 PM)
i have 4 ST,i had mention before that all of my star got flu/RNS.2 week passed,they still have RNS.i try to treat them many ways,give them sunbath,multivitamin and so forth,but still have hingus at hidung diorg especially when they wake up from sleep.what should i do now?should i take them to the vet?dah berkira2 nak pi taman megah..but they really have appetite to eat,very gud eater except one..hope sifu2 will help me.. icon_question.gif
I had similar case like you before. My ST got RNS & dont want to eat.
Normally, when ST got sick, they will prefer not to eat.
What i done?
I just gave them sun bath every morning... then i turn on my basking light from 12pm to 12am everyday & UVB light too. Then from 1am to 11pm i'll be using the Heat Wave Lamp to maintain the Heat & Humidity levels. As i mentioned before, Thermometer & Hygrometer are VERY important !You MUST always check your Humidity levels. Make sure reach the suitable level. ST are originally from very dry grassland. So, they cannot tolerate with cold temperatures and they enjoy with dry & arid enclosures. You will see your ST will sit under the basking lamp for the wholeday to heal them self. Now my ST are recovered & healthy smile.gif

Added on March 24, 2008, 5:22 am
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 24 2008, 05:03 AM)
Mine ?? No lah

Even thou I am sam too but those not mine !!

Could it be Sam the Radiated LOL

That SAM are hiding liao wor...

I also not sure lah... But for sure its not mine & i took either from MF or from some other website. Posted here to share some knowledge with friends here.

SAM... Im still no luck to find the 6 inches Male ST lah... Help me lor...

This post has been edited by Fat^Cat: Mar 24 2008, 05:22 AM
Skatila
post Mar 24 2008, 07:51 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 24 2008, 05:14 AM)
What i done?
I just gave them sun bath every morning... then i turn on my basking light from 12pm to 12am everyday & UVB light too. Then from 1am to 11pm i'll be using the Heat Wave Lamp to maintain the Heat & Humidity levels. As i mentioned before, Thermometer & Hygrometer are VERY important !You MUST always check your Humidity levels. Make sure  reach the suitable level. ST are originally from very dry grassland. So, they cannot tolerate with cold temperatures and they enjoy with dry & arid enclosures. You will see your ST will sit under the basking lamp for the wholeday to heal them self. Now my ST are recovered & healthy smile.gif
so... ur Star just recovered with dat? and not taking any med or special supplement? one of my ST did have RNS and it did sit under tha basking lamp...for now just giving him Sera Bronchipur ...hopes it help...the star size is just 4cm sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Skatila: Mar 24 2008, 07:54 AM
Fat^Cat
post Mar 24 2008, 01:57 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 24 2008, 07:51 AM)
so... ur Star just recovered with dat? and not taking any med or special supplement? one of my ST did have RNS and it did sit under tha basking lamp...for now just giving him Sera Bronchipur ...hopes it help...the star size is just 4cm  sweat.gif
NO. Just feed them with Vitamins on every 2 days times. They wont eat or less eat when they sick. So, give them the vitamins frequetly lor... Im also using SERA, Azoo, Reptical & JBL. Last time my ST also similar size like yours when then 'kena' RNS. 3, 3.5 & 4 inches. Just give them long time for basking. Whats is your Hygrometer output? Daytime? Nite time?
Anyway, its will take some time for them to recover. Be patient.
Skatila
post Mar 24 2008, 04:14 PM

130 posts

so what is the best for Hygrometer output during the Daytime n Nite time?
inexsis
post Mar 24 2008, 05:21 PM

646 posts

sumone in garage sale is selling ALDABRA tortoise.....
never heard of it before doh.gif

is it easy to take care ? sure expensive one~~~~ doh.gif
pisang
post Mar 24 2008, 05:24 PM

854 posts

[quote=Fat^Cat,Mar 24 2008, 05:14 AM]
What i done?
I just gave them sun bath every morning... then i turn on my basking light from 12pm to 12am everyday & UVB light too. Then from 1am to 11pm i'll be using the Heat Wave Lamp to maintain the Heat & Humidity levels. As i mentioned before, Thermometer & Hygrometer are VERY important !You MUST always check your Humidity levels. Make sure reach the suitable level. ST are originally from very dry grassland. So, they cannot tolerate with cold temperatures and they enjoy with dry & arid enclosures. You will see your ST will sit under the basking lamp for the wholeday to heal them self. Now my ST are recovered & healthy smile.gif

to summarize, u use baksing light, UVB and heat wave lamp. may i ask if UVA is necessary?

btw, What UVB light do you recommend? and the cost.

*sorry if i'm asking old questions*

This post has been edited by pisang: Mar 24 2008, 05:54 PM
slackerz
post Mar 24 2008, 07:01 PM

107 posts

@Fat^Cat: for this case also i have a problem.only da smallest one of my ST like to stay under basking light.the others will run away and digging the bedding to hide themselve even in cold night. i think that the main point why they got RNS so easy la..for sunbath,i force them to have it,but just moreless 1 hour per day..coz the really want to run..i heard someone in dis forum said my ST is vampire ST,aha3. blush.gif

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 24 2008, 07:08 PM
Skatila
post Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Mar 24 2008, 05:24 PM)
to summarize, u use baksing light, UVB and heat wave lamp. may i ask if UVA is necessary?
btw, What UVB light do you recommend? and the cost.
UVB already comes wif UVA sweat.gif ....
QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 24 2008, 05:21 PM)
sumone in garage sale is selling ALDABRA tortoise.....
is it easy to take care ? sure expensive one~~~~ doh.gif
Aldabra Tortoise = Geochelone Gigantea
photo from and courtesy of http://www.life.uiuc.edu
for general info - wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aldabra_Giant_Tortoise smile.gif

This post has been edited by Skatila: Mar 25 2008, 12:37 PM
pisang
post Mar 24 2008, 09:46 PM

854 posts

[quote=Skatila,Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM]

what brand and how much? smile.gif
TSuzairi
post Mar 24 2008, 10:58 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

[quote=blazin_fir3,Mar 23 2008, 10:58 PM]
Apparently stated all over net that its safe to feed them but Uzairi mentioned that sawi would be better for staple..i asked the same thing few pages back too..haha..

edit: try this..feed after sun basking..i realise my tort's appetite is much better after sunning..

[/quote]
Sawi is easier to get in big quantity compared to those hibiscus leaves and flowers. So giving them the hibiscus leaves and flowers as treat would be better imho. My 0.5 cents

[quote=Skatila,Mar 23 2008, 11:00 PM]
.....just want to ask u guys, planning to buy night glow... it is the exo terra night glow is a good lamp for heating at night? ....

[/quote]
What Fat Catz say is true, better use those heat wave lamp to avoid the stress at night time caused by the light.

[quote=Skatila,Mar 24 2008, 04:14 PM]
so what is the best for Hygrometer output during the Daytime n Nite time?

[/quote]
It would be best to keep it on 60%~ plus minus.

[quote=pisang,Mar 24 2008, 09:46 PM]
[quote=Skatila,Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM]

what brand and how much? smile.gif

[/quote]
Exo Terra would do. About the price i cant remember so you need to check it yourself. Pets Safari in Ikano, Damansara keep them in stock.

This post has been edited by uzairi: Mar 24 2008, 10:58 PM
inexsis
post Mar 24 2008, 11:27 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM)
UVB already comes wif UVA  sweat.gif ....

photo from and courtesy of www.life.uiuc.edu
for general info - wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aldabra_Giant_Tortoise  smile.gif
that bro offer me rm8k for 4 inch aldabra.......
any one here want to lend me sum money ? brows.gif brows.gif
Fat^Cat
post Mar 25 2008, 07:14 AM

268 posts

[quote=Skatila,Mar 24 2008, 04:14 PM]so what is the best for Hygrometer output during the Daytime n Nite time?

[/quote]

For mine, day time output will be 45-55% while night time 55-65%

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:18 am[quote=inexsis,Mar 24 2008, 05:21 PM]sumone in garage sale is selling ALDABRA tortoise.....

[/quote]

You wanna buy? Size 3.5 inch RM8.5k tongue.gif

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:29 am[/quote]btw, What UVB light do you recommend? and the cost.

[/quote]

Im using Exo-Terra Repti Glo 10.0 ( Desert Terrarium Lamp )
http://www.exo-terra.com/en/products/linea...scent_bulbs.php
You can ask Nonono ( Chris ) at Garage Sales. He selling cheaper than shop price.

Added on March 25, 2008, 7:39 am[quote=slackerz,Mar 24 2008, 07:01 PM]
@Fat^Cat: for this case also i have a problem.only da smallest one of my ST like to stay under basking light.the others will run away and digging the bedding to hide themselve even in cold night. i think that the main point why they got RNS so easy la..for sunbath,i force them to have it,but just moreless 1 hour per day..coz the really want to run..i heard someone in dis forum said my ST is vampire ST,aha3. blush.gif

[/quote]

Actually i heard the same case before but i think its should be ok if your tank tempreture & humidity levels at what its suppose to be. Its also will help to prevent from RNS. What i suggest you do, change your basking lamp possition at the centre of your tank. Let them use with it for awhile.... then you can put back the basking lamp at one side like what your are doing now. The previous owner of your ST might didnt provide any basking lamp to them before, so that why they didnt use with it. Just try like i suggested you 1st then see how....

This post has been edited by Fat^Cat: Mar 25 2008, 07:43 AM
slackerz
post Mar 25 2008, 10:01 AM

107 posts

Actually i heard the same case before but i think its should be ok if your tank tempreture & humidity levels at what its suppose to be. Its also will help to prevent from RNS. What i suggest you do, change your basking lamp possition at the centre of your tank. Let them use with it for awhile.... then you can put back the basking lamp at one side like what your are doing now. The previous owner of your ST might didnt provide any basking lamp to them before, so that why they didnt use with it. Just try like i suggested you 1st then see how....

[/quote]

ok,thanx... icon_rolleyes.gif
Chinchillas
post Mar 25 2008, 01:55 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM)
UVB already comes wif UVA  sweat.gif ....

photo from and courtesy of http://www.life.uiuc.edu
for general info - wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aldabra_Giant_Tortoise  smile.gif
Wow... big tortoise.... can sit on top man.... sweat.gif
Skatila
post Mar 25 2008, 02:09 PM

130 posts

yup.... i want to ride it someday, hehe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Skatila: Mar 25 2008, 02:10 PM
Fat^Cat
post Mar 25 2008, 04:34 PM

268 posts

I prefer YNI compare than Aldabra smile.gif
slackerz
post Mar 25 2008, 06:04 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 25 2008, 04:34 PM)
I prefer YNI compare than Aldabra smile.gif
me too.but dont have money..aha3 laugh.gif
inexsis
post Mar 25 2008, 06:41 PM

646 posts

y most people prefer yni rather than aldabra ? cheaper or easier to take care ? unsure.gif

do TTT need toys to play with ? 2 of my largest ST doesnt sleep much at daytime...only sleep at night...
the look bored every day when daylight come.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by inexsis: Mar 25 2008, 06:42 PM
Skatila
post Mar 25 2008, 08:16 PM

130 posts

maybe coz yni looks more attractive ~ but aldabra is bigger , hehe biggrin.gif
mamba
post Mar 25 2008, 08:43 PM

338 posts

yni = real beauty