They are not recommended to be given any fruits because of the high level sugar content of the said fruits.
For me i only fed fruits to tropical species chelonians.
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...
Mar 13 2008, 03:48 AM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
They are not recommended to be given any fruits because of the high level sugar content of the said fruits.
For me i only fed fruits to tropical species chelonians. |
Mar 13 2008, 01:16 PM
Pumpkin is a good dewormer, i feed them once a month. About hibiscus flower and leaves they get to eat it when i go back to my hometown or i find any of those beside of the road
Mar 14 2008, 01:10 AM
Mar 15 2008, 03:35 AM
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 14 2008, 06:14 AM) Not really my friend !!! Depends on what you want out of them for your animals - one has a higher protein , calcium content when compared to the other ie. Alfafa Hay - the other has a higher fiber content but lower of the other 2 when compared ie Timothy Hay Refer to above pic for more details Added on March 14, 2008, 6:21 am Timothy can be kept short to be laid as lawn in people's house !!! While Alfafa will grow very tall and deep rooted and only good to be harvested as fresh fodder for grazing animals or dried to become hay But both are good source of fiber no doubt !!!! QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 14 2008, 05:17 PM) as i remember...TTT also need other source of vitamin that can be found on meat for example...... Some people do give dog/cat biscuit to give the other vitamin trace but like 2 weeks once or monthly. This is because the biscuit contains high level of protein which is not good for ST especially. can anyone eloborate on that n what type of food that has that kind of vitamin we can feed them...example star tortoise..... sumone in here said that they feed their TTT with dog biscuit to get that kind of vitamin.... To get the best vitamin and minerals we are advised to alternate the food and have more variety of vege to balance the pro and cons of each vege. Apart from that, do sprinkle some multivitamins on to their food to help give minerals and vitamins which cannot be taken from the vege. One thing to take note, from my exp it is best to alternate the use of the calcium supplement and multivitamins from different make to balance out the minerals and vitamin intake. My 0.05 cents This post has been edited by uzairi: Mar 15 2008, 12:10 PM |
Mar 16 2008, 02:44 AM
QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 15 2008, 04:58 PM) Yes, they are different. Because for example, some calcium are from calcium citrate or calcium carbonate. Some vitamins are also from diff sources so best if you have at least 2 of each supplement to work best. |
Mar 17 2008, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 16 2008, 02:08 PM) Thx uzairi for answering my doubts. Another question: Can i give my tort hibiscus leaves as staple? Coz it refuses the mustard green until the point he uses the front leg and pushes it all away..=.= How about mixing the mustard greed with the hibiscus leaves ? And do try the starving method.QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 16 2008, 06:54 PM) want to ask u guys bout tis new law...what will happen if we bring our Star Tortoise to a vets ? they can take any action or report us ? They should help us. QUOTE(White Palace @ Mar 16 2008, 07:12 PM) The new law applicable to BOTH owner & seller? How about those who already own one before the law implemented? what do you think ? QUOTE(snowhite @ Mar 17 2008, 03:51 AM) hi! this is my star turtle! should be star "tortoise". but i only have one, anyone know where got sell star turtle? my star turtle very lonely! pls help! thx^^ QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 17 2008, 10:07 AM) for an ST so young, i would personally disagree to sunbath it for more than half an hour. around 20-30 minutes will be sufficient. When sunbathing, please put some water inside the same container so that it can get the necessary UVB and wont get dehydrated that fast coz they can drink the water if they wish to do so.i had experienced putting my STs (when they were small) out for an hour, and they were seriously dehydrated. when i bring then back in, they stayed in the plate of water for a very long time. if you're sunbathing your STs in a place where they can find shades, then i guess it'll be sufficient... |
Mar 17 2008, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 17 2008, 05:23 PM) I did the starving method already..he rather starves than eat it..even when he does eat, its juz a few munches and thats it..Thats wat i'm doing now.. Chop the hibiscus and mustard green 2gether but doesn't eat as much as when given the hibiscus itself. So i'll keep trying until theres a change i guess.. It takes some time and patience so dont worry bro. QUOTE(slackerz @ Mar 17 2008, 06:12 PM) one of my ST eat the wood bedding.what should i do?i already use da XXL one.but he/she just simply telan that kayu bedding.ade bad effect ke?i dont know kow he will 'buang' later.. Put your st in a diff container to stop it eating the wood bedding. Bad impaction might occur if too many swallowed. Added on March 17, 2008, 6:23 pmhe already telan 4 pieces of that kayu..waa!!! Added on March 17, 2008, 6:27 pm sihat x 2?what size?in da picture it seems 3 inch. QUOTE(liette` @ Mar 17 2008, 06:37 PM) Anybody knows of any shop that sells Alligator snapping or common snapping turtles? around PJ/KL preferably. Read few pages back, the forumer did mentioned about it. QUOTE(mamba @ Mar 17 2008, 07:15 PM) No problem bro! I understand your situation.QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 17 2008, 07:53 PM) I suggest you change your ST bedding from kayu to Recyle Paper. If your ST termakan this recycle paper also, its will be no problem for them. Some more, this type of bedding can help you to low down your Humidity which needs for ST. It would be a problem if the ST swallowed quite amount of it. ![]() We actually had discuss about this Topic in Malaysia Fauna forum ( MF ) You can check it out through this link : http://www.malaysiafauna.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=119 Good Luck ! |
Mar 18 2008, 02:29 AM
Mar 18 2008, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 11:50 AM) hi, I bought this ST since jan2008. and i onli notice there is a good forum lowyat.net in malaysia discussing about this yesterday. IINM its an Indian Star Tortoise. here i attached a photo of my ST. it seems a bit different from other ST. mine is like many yellow/orange (dunno what it call officially) line on the shell. And it makes me think if it's a real ST? or sri langka or Burma (less likely)? QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 18 2008, 12:08 PM) well, the colour trait's definitely different, but no doubt they're all ST the same. when i bought mine last time, i picked one with more prominent bright lines, while the other with bigger black patches to differentiate the two. they have different preference on food though, one likes lady's fingers and the other eats mustard green. Those are individual characteristics so the patches wont influence the way they eat another thing, i'm not sure if it's common, but i find that bright STs' (smaller black patches) shells are not as 'round' or 'high' as the darker ones. but that's my observation lah, i don't know if it's true. QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 12:13 PM) QUOTE another thing, i'm not sure if it's common, but i find that bright STs' (smaller black patches) shells are not as 'round' or 'high' as the darker ones. but that's my observation lah, i don't know if it's true. within this photo, we can see there are different types of yellow stripes/lines among the ST. just wonder why? |
Mar 18 2008, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 03:21 PM) when i'm free, i will give her some bath or sunlight (in the morning). hmm.. dunno if this is ok or not. i plan to buy some vitamin& mineral , calcium . do you guys think it's very important to keep my ST healthy? Yes it is important to keep them healthy. Do get those supplements as they can help your ST to be healthy.QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 18 2008, 03:48 PM) Someone selling leopard here Seller and traders are like that, all they want it money! http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/653421 Kesian the tortoises... Tank so small QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 05:20 PM) Labi-labi is chinese softshelled turtle.QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 18 2008, 06:57 PM) in natural aquatic ss19 got...last time i've visit..... Depends on the species, tropical species is okay but not for desert and dry type. Oh ya, they are called animal protein. Uzairi....do we need to feed TTT mealworms sumtimes ? QUOTE(Jamien @ Mar 18 2008, 08:08 PM) Just watch their nose if there's any mucus like liquid or bubbles. QUOTE(beycont @ Mar 18 2008, 09:59 PM) Hey guys, ST and Leopard setup should be roughly the same, the only thing that differs between them is their diet.Interested in getting a new tort, (I have a RES now), but seeing as legislation has been pushed thru the ST is hard to find on the market, scouted a few places today but to no avail. Went to ikano pets wonderland and saw the leapord torts that they have, cost RM600 for one. Just some questions, whats the difference in setup for the ST and the leapord? And is the price of RM600 worth it? Where else can i see a wider selection of torts to choose from? Thanks! |
Mar 19 2008, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 19 2008, 11:04 AM) Their rays and under plastron. QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 19 2008, 11:55 AM) yes they can eat them no problem but only for treat not staple. QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 19 2008, 02:07 PM) Oyster Mushroom. |
Mar 19 2008, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 19 2008, 07:05 PM) have any of u guys here have been bitten by ur TTT ? especially Star Tortoise ?? That is normal bro, dont worry.i already bonded with my 2 biggest ST.....they're not afraid of me anymore.....but....whenever they walk near my hand...they try to bite me.... is this ok ? they're not hungry because they juz ate.....are they trying to taste their master hands ? or they juz want to know if its a food or not ? i sempat record a video when they tried to bite me....mayb later i post the video laa..... QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 19 2008, 07:09 PM) Not sure whether you guys had read this... quite a good article It is ok, no doubt about it. Just that we are stressing that it is not good for staple. Alternating them with other vege is okay. FEEDING TORTOISES AND TURTLES http://www.provet.co.uk/Petfacts/healthtip...oisefeeding.htm Added on March 19, 2008, 7:13 pmSeems like french beans and some other beans has been mistakenly marked as not good. The paper says it is Ok and seems good |
Mar 21 2008, 06:04 PM
Some might have natural pyramiding but its not that obvious. That was mainly because of the diet or genetic traits.
Mar 23 2008, 04:02 AM
QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 21 2008, 06:44 PM) my juvenile star tort...shell and CpC still soft...should i fed them with calcium and vit supplement each time i give them food or just once per day? Like what crazymouse_yyh said, go and see the vet to get the calcium injection.QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 21 2008, 09:00 PM) back form where? Great tag bro!cOscnium plus tu aper? Added on March 21, 2008, 9:09 pm wah...can feed and touch...can i keep him/her also ?? LoL Added on March 21, 2008, 10:30 pmheh...i create a new tag, a little big...hehe...draw n scan my self, just for fun !! heres the tag link : CODE [center][url=http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/620626] [img]http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a379/skatila/Kure2Skatiku.jpg[/img][/url][/center] QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 22 2008, 12:28 AM) QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 22 2008, 12:33 AM) Normal or Natural mean the pyramiding not look so obvious lah.. The pyramid not so high... just abit should be ok..... The smoothness of the pyramiding and the shape.QUOTE(rafiqos @ Mar 23 2008, 12:44 AM) Thanks bro! |
Mar 23 2008, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(sunmenghao @ Mar 23 2008, 02:31 AM) oi apek! QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 23 2008, 03:12 AM) Hopefully these pictures will help you all to diffrenciate your Star Tortoise either its Male or Female Check the tail and the cloaca openings.( Only can see when their size are 4 inches & above ) MALE » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « FEMALE » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(pisang @ Mar 23 2008, 07:59 AM) er.. where can i get a digital hygrometer ? i saw one in Ikano which is made in china. very cheaplak one. i shaked a bit then the meter move already. so i decided not to buy. In Pets Safari,ikano at Toby Pets. |
Mar 24 2008, 10:58 PM
[quote=blazin_fir3,Mar 23 2008, 10:58 PM]
Apparently stated all over net that its safe to feed them but Uzairi mentioned that sawi would be better for staple..i asked the same thing few pages back too..haha.. edit: try this..feed after sun basking..i realise my tort's appetite is much better after sunning.. [/quote] Sawi is easier to get in big quantity compared to those hibiscus leaves and flowers. So giving them the hibiscus leaves and flowers as treat would be better imho. My 0.5 cents [quote=Skatila,Mar 23 2008, 11:00 PM] .....just want to ask u guys, planning to buy night glow... it is the exo terra night glow is a good lamp for heating at night? .... [/quote] What Fat Catz say is true, better use those heat wave lamp to avoid the stress at night time caused by the light. [quote=Skatila,Mar 24 2008, 04:14 PM] so what is the best for Hygrometer output during the Daytime n Nite time? [/quote] It would be best to keep it on 60%~ plus minus. [quote=pisang,Mar 24 2008, 09:46 PM] [quote=Skatila,Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM] UVB already comes wif UVA what brand and how much? [/quote] Exo Terra would do. About the price i cant remember so you need to check it yourself. Pets Safari in Ikano, Damansara keep them in stock. This post has been edited by uzairi: Mar 24 2008, 10:58 PM |
Mar 26 2008, 02:30 AM
More and more ppl coming!
Mar 26 2008, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 26 2008, 02:35 AM) Dont la call me sifu QUOTE(rafiqos @ Mar 26 2008, 09:18 AM) Go with this guy's suggestion. Being cold blooded, they lack the ability to thermoregulate like us humans and other mammals. Most reptiles appreciate a temperature gradient in their enclosure. So that they have the choice to regulate their body temperature to that which is comfortable and healthy for them. Placing the basking lamp at one corner of the tank is the best way to provide a temperature gradience(hot|warm|cool) regions in a semi-closed environment like yours. About humidity, and UVB, Fat Cat pretty much covered it. Great point bro! Those tanks look like very nice enclosures to me!! Great effort, neat! QUOTE(ELM0 @ Mar 26 2008, 07:02 PM) here is my allg snapper tank Too small to be sexed they are about 2" and 3" size this is the bigger 1 kind hard get a steady pic small 1 in the water bottom 1 is my pig nose turtle hehe , the small 1 cant catch so no pics sorry |
Mar 27 2008, 12:07 AM
Mar 27 2008, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 27 2008, 12:12 AM) my babies 4cm is too small to be sexed, 4 inch is a good size to be sexed. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « they dun have name yet also their shell pattern are rilly diffrent though their size are the same 4cm and 4.3cm... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « does anyone know y? thanks ~ |
| Change to: | 0.0507sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:58 AM |