5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

blazin_fir3
post Apr 16 2008, 12:13 PM

108 posts

Heh..maybe chelonian section pet owners are like their pets? Slow and steady brothers..heh heh.. tongue.gif
blazin_fir3
post Apr 16 2008, 02:13 PM

108 posts

Haha..it was meant as a joke laaa..my tort actually can run very fast too o.O once out of enclosure..wah freedom..bukan main cepat lagi..lolz..

hrm..tat time my tort injection was RM38 per jab per session oni worh.. why now they change to 2 injections per session..really makes me wonder..
blazin_fir3
post Apr 16 2008, 02:18 PM

108 posts

hrm..ok..means they give cheaper for more injections..20.xx per jab.. cheaper by 18 bucks.. =0 dr.yeoh gives good discount..lol..

Actually,i think i know why edi..Skatila's torts must me small so the dosage is less than my previous tort..skatila's one were about 2-3 inch? mine was about 6 inches there..
blazin_fir3
post Apr 16 2008, 02:32 PM

108 posts

Aiyo..so small oni arh..Dr.Yeoh Senior or junior? haha..golek golek.. got use the cotton to wipe the stuff from the nose? I don't really support that action lo. coz after they do that arh..the cotton stuff (small strings) will like stuck at the nose de..go back must check..dun let it go inside nostril or worst the tort makan later..
blazin_fir3
post Apr 16 2008, 08:11 PM

108 posts

ooo..1st burmese ST if it is..haven't seen one before though..

Sam..last time..wasn't it mentioned that Sawi and choy sum is same thing?
Of course there are many types of sawi..i wrongly fed gai choi as sawi in the in beginning too.. >.<
blazin_fir3
post Apr 17 2008, 12:24 AM

108 posts

ooo..ok ok..another thing..does that mean all types of sawi would be alrite to be fed to STs? i don't think so rites?
blazin_fir3
post Apr 19 2008, 06:17 PM

108 posts

well, on the topic of anti-chlorine, it should be save even if given str8 away la i guess..coz anti-chlorine is used alot for fishes. The aquarium at my place, change water means add anti chlorine str8..so it should be save for animals.. unless the brand u using is special la..ask u to kolah all..

Air Kolah means like..not water str8 out from the tap..take out from tap.. put into bucket for a few days..den only use for changing of water etc. Well, if i'm not wrong =X
blazin_fir3
post May 2 2008, 02:18 PM

108 posts

i thought not advisable for specimens so small? You guys gonna vet out applicants hurh? btw, is it local bred? o.O
blazin_fir3
post May 18 2008, 01:30 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ May 17 2008, 05:40 PM)
if it extends his legs then can reach the surface...but i notice that if he's tired he just floats around...
Another solution would be to go buy a PVC pipe and join it to the current filter. Thats wat my dad does for his aquarium. Of course u would have to trial and error OR you can go to aquarium shops and ask if they have those extension hose/pipe which i'm sure most pet shops would have. Ask around, you don't have to chg the filter, juz extend oni. =)
blazin_fir3
post May 23 2008, 10:42 PM

108 posts

One point i'd like to ask with regards to those turtles you guys saying to be kept within facility be4 releasing. If they were to be kept few years be4 releasing to the wild, wouldn't if be difficult for them to assimilate to the wilderness? Unless the enclosure they are kept it is similar to wild. However, they would need to be able to recognize predators and wat not also. So how bout this point? opinions?
blazin_fir3
post May 23 2008, 11:26 PM

108 posts

Well, i'm not sure but its often the case with certain mammals. Of course being TTTs, their shells might have already grow to be sturdy n hard to be able to fend of attacks. However, food hunting instincts and other stuff like mating all might also make their kind dwindle after a while. Therefore the term 're-introduce' them to the wild for captured animals. Coz like, they get used to having food aplenty in enclosure. What happens if suddenly their area no more food den they dunno how to migrate and all? what happens den? Plus i nvr really understood those microchips they put on the shell but the batt dies off after a few years. They only get to track migratory routes but not characteristics and habitual stuff.
blazin_fir3
post May 29 2008, 11:48 PM

108 posts

At current times, i think u gotta hunt for them le..dun think much pet stores will keep stock..i juz saw 2 leopards and 2 cherry heads at Petaling Street.. 580 and 550..small shop..so ppl who are still hunting..and interested can go haf a look see..
blazin_fir3
post May 30 2008, 12:00 AM

108 posts

Yup,no problem..the ones i mentioned were tortoises so i hope u know which species yea..its the small pet shop wif monkeys >.< its at the area where they keep a small ball python..juz in case u dun see it coz they kinda like hiding it le..
blazin_fir3
post Jun 10 2008, 12:08 AM

108 posts

Nice skull head u got there..haha..can ask if its different enclosures? You use a water heater also..so wat tempt do you keep it at?
blazin_fir3
post Jun 14 2008, 05:56 PM

108 posts

@mike - tats cool..thx for additional info =)
blazin_fir3
post Jun 16 2008, 05:58 PM

108 posts

dai..u sure stars can't tolerate wet/water? mine runs to the water whenever i put water into enclosure..lolz
blazin_fir3
post Jun 17 2008, 04:06 PM

108 posts

If you're from ss2, u can alwiz try going 'pets family' (i think tats the name) at taman megah next to the food court. Many other places where u can buy stuff for ur enclosure, Mid valley, ikano, OU, Irene's aquarium (seapark) - not sure if they have a lot though..more on pets itself, and many other pets/aquarium shops.. correct guys? o.o
blazin_fir3
post Jun 28 2008, 12:59 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(max-oasism @ Jun 25 2008, 08:18 AM)
sorry to interupt, want to ask some thing about delivering. i am going to send a specimen to my friend in JB, so can i use poslaju?
i have never send life animal before, so please enlighten me, thanks.
or is it any company that would do so? please help.
I think this is a serious matter that no one has addressed yet. I personally do not think its suitable or safe to send a life specimen via pos laju. Think about the oxygen,space,food etc. Plus even though u state as fragile n this way up, during transportation, mishaps bound to happen. Box may overturn etc etc especially if u can trust pos malaysia to do their job right. The worst case scenario would be that your specimen ends up dead. So i strongly advice against it..unless u drive down to JB yourself but do keep in mind that any form of transportation can still cause stress to build up.

My opinion. >.<
blazin_fir3
post Aug 10 2008, 06:52 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Aug 9 2008, 05:14 PM)
One  of my Leo got RNS ago, sigh, i wonder whether it's gona heal by itself?  Or do i need to increase the duration of basking? It seems to have decreased activity n appetite.

I have read that worm infestation may also cause symptoms similar to RNS, any deworiming product available for the tortoise? Or any Vet that treat RNS ?

Btw, where can i get cuttlebone? Take from cuttlefish?
I'm not sure bout the increasing the basking duration but its better to leave them in the morning sun when its not too hot say 7-9am? was advised that last time. and pumpkin is said to be a natural dewormer. same for leos?
blazin_fir3
post Aug 10 2008, 10:12 PM

108 posts

guys..use the search function to check on the word 'pumpkin' den u would see what that has been mentioned before hand..

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0461sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:34 PM