126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

camillenoir
post Oct 3 2008, 09:51 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(duhknight @ Oct 3 2008, 04:20 PM)
Wow hey...nice to see you guys who are so passionate towards shelled reptiles...anyway...i'm new here...have been keeping turtle for years...have you guys ever noticed that you can never finish collecting all species?
even collection of local species are impossible to complete, since their status on CITES (LOL) prevent them from being reared. play safe smile.gif

QUOTE(King83 @ Oct 3 2008, 10:26 AM)
what's mutated about pastel?
only the shell markings?
maybe they should call it the red head slider laugh.gif
pastel (although the term is vague and contains many many strains of colour variations) differs from normal res in terms of overall coloration, markings, and of course their price. those two in the picture are genetic pastel, which means that they would pass their genes to their offspring.

the thing with pricey morph is, people won't easily throw them away when they're bored, unlike their rm5 counterpart. the state of florida, for instance, had banned the sales of RES except for morphs, knowing that expensive things won't be easily disposed off (malaysia should do the same!!!)

duhknight
post Oct 4 2008, 10:59 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 3 2008, 09:51 PM)
even collection of local species are impossible to complete, since their status on CITES (LOL) prevent them from being reared. play safe  smile.gif
Not really...if im not mistaken there are some people keeping yni...man...i admire these people... rolleyes.gif

SAMPERTH
post Oct 4 2008, 12:22 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(duhknight @ Oct 4 2008, 11:59 AM)
Not really...if im not mistaken there are some people keeping yni...man...i admire these people... rolleyes.gif
What camillenoir meant is to keep them legally !!

As for the Yni part they are kept in closet bah LOL
duhknight
post Oct 4 2008, 01:52 PM

40 posts

Does it make any difference? I mean...some sellers are selling legally and some are not...the buyers are just the buying without the knowledge...most of the buyers dont even know whether it is illegal to keep certain types of tortoises...

Speaking of which...I really hate those sellers who sell the TTTs for the sake of selling...for the sake of profit...without paying attention to the environment and the conditions of the TTTs...bloody unethical at all...

Imagine that turtles are being kept in a pale without water...tortoises being kept in a captivity without any appropriate tools...

Its very heartbreaking when I see these scenarios sad.gif
SAMPERTH
post Oct 4 2008, 02:54 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(duhknight @ Oct 4 2008, 02:52 PM)
Does it make any difference? I mean...some sellers are selling legally and some are not...the buyers are just the buying without the knowledge...most of the buyers dont even know whether it is illegal to keep certain types of tortoises...

Speaking of which...I really hate those sellers who sell the TTTs for the sake of selling...for the sake of profit...without paying attention to the environment and the conditions of the TTTs...bloody unethical at all...

Imagine that turtles are being kept in a pale without water...tortoises being kept in a captivity without any appropriate tools...

Its very heartbreaking when I see these scenarios sad.gif

Agree 100 % and all too common !!

The most classic case being Indian Star being termed / sold as desert tortoise and the seller / shop keeper telling buyer that they dont need to drink water !!!

camillenoir
post Oct 4 2008, 03:21 PM

373 posts

not half as bad as this one seller who keeps his star in aquatic setup with RES!!!

(duyong aquarium in malacca, address: jln seri duyong 1/2, tmn. sri duyong. near fauziah clinic there. malaccans are welcomed to check on whether that star had miraculously survived!!! oh yeah, i hate the seller, hence the publication of address.)

yup.. makes a whole lotta differences mate. if you are caught with illegal specimens, its all on your neck, not the seller's. you'll be facing fines, confiscation, kopi money extor... oops.. in other words, let's just play safe laugh.gif

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Oct 4 2008, 03:33 PM
SAMPERTH
post Oct 4 2008, 09:11 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 4 2008, 04:21 PM)
not half as bad as this one seller who keeps his star in aquatic setup with RES!!!
(duyong aquarium in malacca, address: jln seri duyong 1/2, tmn. sri duyong. near fauziah clinic there. malaccans are welcomed to check on whether that star had miraculously survived!!! oh yeah, i hate the seller, hence the publication of address.)
yup.. makes a whole lotta differences mate. if you are caught with illegal specimens, its all on your neck, not the seller's. you'll be facing fines, confiscation, kopi money extor... oops.. in other words, let's just play safe  laugh.gif
Would "love" to see that !!

duhknight
post Oct 4 2008, 11:00 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 4 2008, 03:21 PM)

yup.. makes a whole lotta differences mate. if you are caught with illegal specimens, its all on your neck, not the seller's. you'll be facing fines, confiscation, kopi money extor... oops.. in other words, let's just play safe  laugh.gif
ooo...fortunately all my turtles are not endangered or forbidden from being kept...i am safe mate thumbup.gif
peter pet
post Oct 5 2008, 09:48 AM

hello..i often read in most of the tortoise pages keep mentioning dat it is good to fed the star tort wif the hibiscus leaves n flowers..wut kind of hibiscus actually? is it d ordinary "bunga raya' planted along the municipal road?
SAMPERTH
post Oct 5 2008, 04:53 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(peter pet @ Oct 5 2008, 10:48 AM)
hello..i often read in most of the tortoise pages  keep mentioning dat it is good to fed the star tort wif the hibiscus leaves n flowers..wut kind of hibiscus actually? is it d ordinary "bunga raya' planted along the municipal road?
Ya !! Even the coloured flowered one !!
camillenoir
post Oct 5 2008, 08:41 PM

373 posts

hey.. let's play a game. no prizes for the right answer though biggrin.gif

those two are from the same clutch, hatched a day apart. they are now about two months old, both equally active and eating well.

the question: why is there such a huge size difference between those two?

max-oasism
post Oct 5 2008, 08:53 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 5 2008, 09:41 PM)

those two are from the same clutch, hatched a day apart. they are now about two months old, both equally active and eating well.

wait a minute, is that your and you gave someone? like your cousin or someone you know.
cause yesterday my house mate when he came back, he show me the same exactly two box turtle like that.
he gave me the big one.
his name is wan from sibu.
SAMPERTH
post Oct 5 2008, 08:56 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 5 2008, 09:41 PM)

Different diet feed maybe ?

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Oct 5 2008, 08:56 PM
max-oasism
post Oct 5 2008, 09:01 PM

417 posts

i think both were keep in separate and different amount of space.
camillenoir
post Oct 5 2008, 09:30 PM

373 posts

max-oasism: i gave away lots of boxies, but nope, those two are still with me.

------------------------------------

they are kept in the same place and given the same diet. the size difference occurs since the 1st day. the bigger one is currently 5.0cm SCL and the smaller one 3.9cm.

clue: the answer lies in numbers smile.gif

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Oct 5 2008, 09:31 PM
rafiqos
post Oct 5 2008, 09:51 PM

464 posts

Twins?
camillenoir
post Oct 5 2008, 10:11 PM

373 posts

chetz.. anti-climax.

i should've stated that rafiqos, uzairi and mamba are barred from answering because they knew beforehand doh.gif

3 babies came from that clutch.. one of the twins didn't make it. crossing my fingers for more twins from their parents (like i knew which, LOL!!!)
max-oasism
post Oct 5 2008, 10:11 PM

417 posts

what do you mean by lie in numbers?
as if one of them are from first clutches and the other from second clutches?
duhknight
post Oct 5 2008, 10:39 PM

40 posts

I have a same situation here...two of my RES are from the same batch where they were hatched at the same time...but the male one has grown way way way way bigger than the female one...they feed on the same diet as well as the same captivity...

what is going on anyway? anyone has any idea?
SAMPERTH
post Oct 6 2008, 06:33 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Oct 5 2008, 10:30 PM)
max-oasism: i gave away lots of boxies, but nope, those two are still with me.

------------------------------------

they are kept in the same place and given the same diet. the size difference occurs since the 1st day. the bigger one is currently 5.0cm SCL and the smaller one 3.9cm.

clue: the answer lies in numbers smile.gif
QUOTE(rafiqos @ Oct 5 2008, 10:51 PM)
Twins?
Wow twins !! the 3.9 cm must have hatched out tiny !! or only very little growth for the 2 months !!

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:39 AM