iPod classic [Advices needed], Comparison between 160gb and 80gb

TSkalley
post Jan 27 2008, 02:42 AM, updated 18y ago

13 posts

I used to consider getting a zune, however my brother totally stopped me from buying when he told me zune does not support Chinese language. So now I am back with iPod. *sigh*

I am a music craze lover, my laptop now runs as slow as a turtle due to my overflooded music files. So no choice, I had to go for iPod classic.

The thing is.. I want to know their differences other than pricing and storage.
Are there any significant differences? For example the design or whatsoever. Please do help, I'm living my days without a mp3 player for some time already.

Greatly appreciated for those kindly-hearted people who will reply. For those who doesn't....... icon_idea.gif
jensen_tidus
post Jan 27 2008, 10:15 AM

360 posts

http://www.apple.com/ipodclassic/specs.html

u can scroll down a bit for a Comparison Chart

80gb rm1099, 160gb rm1499

try make good use of apple.com

This post has been edited by jensen_tidus: Jan 27 2008, 10:16 AM
TSkalley
post Jan 27 2008, 11:05 PM

13 posts

I'm looking for advices from the iPod Classic owners actually. The ones having iPod Classic will of course know more about them as time passes.

PS: I've already referred to that chart before. Thanks for the reply anyway.
Shawnzz
post Jan 29 2008, 06:19 PM

1,911 posts

classic 80 gb is slimmer than 160 gb
other than that , no changes,

edit: btw i am a classic 80 gb user, i recomend you buy in singapore , as its cheaper by 300 ringgit

This post has been edited by Shawnzz: Jan 29 2008, 06:23 PM
kwekeugene
post Jan 29 2008, 07:51 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(kalley @ Jan 27 2008, 02:42 AM)
I used to consider getting a zune, however my brother totally stopped me from buying when he told me zune does not support Chinese language. So now I am back with iPod. *sigh*

I am a music craze lover, my laptop now runs as slow as a turtle due to my overflooded music files. So no choice, I had to go for iPod classic.

The thing is.. I want to know their differences other than pricing and storage.
Are there any significant differences? For example the design or whatsoever. Please do help, I'm living my days without a mp3 player for some time already.

Go to the Apple store at ask them for 80GB and 160GB demo unit. As someone said earlier, the 80GB version is slimmer while the 160GB is slighty bigger. Here are the dimensions as per Apple.com

80GB model
Height: 4.1 inches (103.5 mm)
Width: 2.4 inches (61.8 mm)
Depth: 0.41 inch (10.5 mm)
Weight: 4.9 ounces (140 grams)

160GB model
Height: 4.1 inches (103.5 mm)
Width: 2.4 inches (61.8 mm)
Depth: 0.53 inch (13.5 mm)
Weight: 5.7 ounces (162 grams)

Since you said you love music, get the larger capacity unit if you have a huge collection of music.

Greatly appreciated for those kindly-hearted people who will reply. For those who doesn't.......  icon_idea.gif
We don't owe you anything. We'll try to help if you play nice. Try a simple Thank you the next time.

allvin
post Jan 29 2008, 08:28 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(kalley @ Jan 27 2008, 02:42 AM)

Btw, you get the wrong info la. Zune can support chinese language with hacks. wink.gif Next time try google it up first
yawhong
post Jan 29 2008, 08:40 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 29 2008, 08:28 PM)
Btw, you get the wrong info la. Zune can support chinese language with hacks. wink.gif Next time try google it up first
r u sure? i am the guy who told ts not to buy zune.. by reading thru some review, it state it didn support chinese and other asian language.. and besides that. if you hacks the zune, i think you will void the warranty. So at the end i suggest her to get an Ipod.
ezinger
post Jan 29 2008, 11:14 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

the only significant difference is storage and size, also probably weight. other than that, nothing. speaking as a 160gb ipod classic owner.

i watch movies, podcast, tv series, music videos and listen to music on my ipod. i call that almost full utilization. i also randomly play games on my ipod lol.
allvin
post Jan 29 2008, 11:27 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Jan 29 2008, 08:40 PM)
r u sure? i am the guy who told ts not to buy zune.. by reading thru some review, it state it didn support chinese and other asian language.. and besides that. if you hacks the zune, i think you will void the warranty. So at the end i suggest her to get an Ipod.

not sure about void or not. But it is just software hack. So? Just restore the damn thing la. It is not like you going to open it up or what. Just my opinion btw. The truth is it can support chinese language or others via hacking. That's my point wink.gif
SpongeY
post Jan 29 2008, 11:27 PM

105 posts

hi guys, is the nano or the classic better? other than the obvious difference on their size, wats the pros and cons? thx!
Voxe
post Jan 30 2008, 01:45 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

160GB is much slower compared to 80GB.
LaskarCinta
post Jan 30 2008, 03:06 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(SpongeY @ Jan 29 2008, 11:27 PM)
hi guys, is the nano or the classic better? other than the obvious difference on their size, wats the pros and cons? thx!
if u want to sync your superduper large library of movies and tv shows, and rarely syncs then (maybe a lot of outstation and not having frequent access to computer) you need a Classic. Otherwise just get a Nano.

Performance-wise, Nano is faster (not much) as it is flash drive based.

If u can't decide, get a Touch 16GB instead. Snappy operating system with twice memory capacity of Nano. But yeah, if you're video freak, get a Classic.

Mmm...btw on my experience 5.5G is much faster than current Classic lineup.
ezinger
post Jan 30 2008, 03:28 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jan 30 2008, 01:45 AM)
i beg to differ.
Voxe
post Jan 30 2008, 07:06 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

QUOTE(ezinger @ Jan 30 2008, 03:28 AM)
i beg to differ.
I have to dissent.
LittleLinnet
post Jan 30 2008, 07:37 AM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 29 2008, 08:28 PM)
but too bad only with older version of firmware sad.gif
TSkalley
post Jan 30 2008, 05:33 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jan 29 2008, 07:51 PM)
We don't owe you anything. We'll try to help if you play nice. Try a simple Thank you the next time.
Uhh.. I was just saying that for those who 'doesn't', join the 'does'.. I was asking in a proper manner.. Not so sure why did you find the emoticon offending. Still, greatly appreciated for the reply.

Yep I'll get the iPod over Singapore, thanks for the tips smile.gif

but too bad only with older version of firmware

The 2nd. version can't be hacked, then?

allvin
post Jan 30 2008, 06:08 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jan 30 2008, 01:45 AM)
Btw, how you define your "slower"? Transfer speed slower? Interface slower or lags? hmm.gif Seriously, i don't think it is slower. If you put too much stuff in your ipod, of cos it will be slower la. wink.gif
yawhong
post Jan 30 2008, 10:49 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 29 2008, 11:27 PM)

not sure about void or not. But it is just software hack. So? Just restore the damn thing la. It is not like you going to open it up or what. Just my opinion btw. The truth is it can support chinese language or others via hacking. That's my point  wink.gif
yeah.. u r rite...
i just google the hack zune and guess what, i find out i can change the 30gb zune to 80gb zune... this is pretty amazing...

ezinger
post Jan 30 2008, 11:02 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jan 30 2008, 07:06 AM)
I have to dissent.
i have used ipod 60gb, 80gb and 160gb. all almost fully utilize. regarding your claim which is undefined is contradicting. disk speeds are all the same on hardware wise. the slow gui on the classic has been fixed with the new firmware, so are the older ipods. even if its slower in whatever instances, its too insignificant to justify. unless your looking in ms response time.
Shawnzz
post Jan 31 2008, 06:01 PM

1,911 posts

it acctualy depends on you on how many songs you have
if you have more than 6gb of song, better get a classic 80gb, if not buy a nano 8gb. dont have to waste another Rm 200 if you are going to use up like 4 gb ..
=Hanxz=
post Jan 31 2008, 06:10 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

for girls who are not that demanding nano is sufficient

me = male, me likes big ass gadgets with big ass features ahaha
last time when i bought mine it was just 30gb...now its 160...laugh.gif
Fyonne
post Feb 1 2008, 11:19 AM

904 posts

im using 160 gb. best thing is i can use it as media player as well as portable hdd in the same time. with 160 gb space, i wouldnt worry bout bring large file in it n still has space for my media playing (movie n song).

n between 160gb n 80 gb, wat i really like in 160gb beside the hdd space is it has better battery life (prox 33% longer base on apple info)
Samanoske Akechi
post Feb 3 2008, 01:12 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Feb 1 2008, 11:19 AM)
im using 160 gb. best thing is i can use it as media player as well as portable hdd in the same time. with 160 gb space, i wouldnt worry bout bring large file in it n still has space for my media playing (movie n song).

n between 160gb n 80 gb, wat i really like in 160gb beside the hdd space is it has better battery life (prox 33% longer base on apple info)
Right on! laugh.gif The only physical difference in a wee bit thicker than the latter. Should've got this as my portable drive instead..... *looks again at pricelist* Then again, maybe there WAS a reason not to tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Samanoske Akechi: Feb 3 2008, 01:12 PM
cereal1
post Feb 4 2008, 10:02 PM

82 posts

i think 160gb is thicker than the 80gb....
Samanoske Akechi
post Feb 7 2008, 11:41 AM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(cereal1 @ Feb 4 2008, 10:02 PM)
i think 160gb is thicker than the 80gb....
Think that'll be quite obvious. Larger hard drive = LARGER wink.gif
moniqee
post Feb 7 2008, 11:19 PM

7,864 posts

u love songs... then better buy the 160GB.. firmware always get updated over time... it's better to buy for the capacity than the weight... ^__^ i might plan to buy another soon... as my 30 GB ipod no longers support my storage of songs... but it's kinda cool since there's a few cracked games for ipod 5.5Gen 30GB available... ^__^
Samanoske Akechi
post Feb 8 2008, 01:48 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

If there's one thing I liked about the previous generation iPods prior to the current 6th gen, it's the menus WITHOUT artwork towards the right half of the screen..... Sure, it may look nice and all, but I still like a clean menu anyday smile.gif

This post has been edited by Samanoske Akechi: Feb 8 2008, 01:49 PM
bumz
post Feb 8 2008, 09:01 PM

98 posts

I myself was debating whether to get a 80gb or 160gb ipod. At last settled for 80gb, cos I think it will be more than enough for my music. Also got a good price for it, Rm900 band new sealed. thumbup.gif

0.0216sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:40 AM