What type of stock trader are you?

TSGRex
post Jan 25 2008, 10:05 PM, updated 18y ago

31 posts

I wonder how active you guys are in the market.
Intrigue
post Jan 26 2008, 01:15 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

i'm just a side lurker tongue.gif
Jordy
post Jan 26 2008, 01:24 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I used to be short-term speculative trader, but I realised it is not a good practice.
So, now I am a waiting for the time to be fundamental long-term holder.
Si|enCer
post Jan 26 2008, 08:32 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 26 2008, 01:24 AM)
I used to be short-term speculative trader, but I realised it is not a good practice.
So, now I am a waiting for the time to be fundamental long-term holder.
Same here, but now side lurking and learn more before i am wise enough to enter market again.
TSGRex
post Jan 26 2008, 10:02 AM

31 posts

Realistically, do you aspire to be a short-term trader, if given the skills?
mofonyx
post Jan 26 2008, 10:05 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Being a day-trader or short-term trader is quite similiar to gambling.

I'm glad to see that the poll is leading with long term share holders, where the benefits come in from proper analysis.

low yat 82
post Jan 26 2008, 12:10 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

seriuosly, y long term investor so love to bash trader... we were jus doin business wat...
Jordy
post Jan 26 2008, 12:23 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(GRex @ Jan 26 2008, 10:02 AM)
I will never be back to be a short-term trader anymore, because of the charges involved going in and out.
If the fundamentals are right, I would hold for maybe 10-20 years, if the money invested is extra.
If I have more money, I would not just hope to own a few shares there, but I hope I could at least be a substantial holder in the company. If the business has growth potential, I would also probably consider to make the company my associate. Wow, so many 'IFs' tongue.gif

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Jan 26 2008, 12:10 PM)
seriuosly, y long term investor so love to bash trader... we were jus doin business wat...
No one's bashing, traders have the right to be traders, but for me, the stock market is not the right place to do trading business laugh.gif
The risks are simple too high, so if I wanted to do business, I will take it in the form of conventional trading business.

low yat 82
post Jan 26 2008, 07:55 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(GRex @ Jan 26 2008, 10:02 AM)
wat skill?? tongue.gif trader in malaysian stock market vry susah cari makan o... a lot of them will sooner or later move away though... im 1 of them tongue.gif

No one's bashing, traders have the right to be traders, but for me, the stock market is not the right place to do trading business laugh.gif
The risks are simple too high, so if I wanted to do business, I will take it in the form of conventional trading business.
ok... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
dreamer101
post Jan 26 2008, 08:43 PM

15,855 posts

All,

1) There are MANY people gambling in the world. But, how many are capable of making a living from Gambling?? Very few.

2) You could choose to gamble or you could own the casino. Which one is more likely to make you money??

Ditto, there are VERY FEW people could CONSISTENTLY make money from trading stock. You might be the LUCKY FEW. But, most people are not capable of doing that.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Jan 26 2008, 08:44 PM
jack7155
post Jan 26 2008, 08:56 PM

1,215 posts

i'm a medium term holder. once earn enough, i'll let go tongue.gif
TSGRex
post Jan 27 2008, 12:06 AM

31 posts

Seems like some of you believe short-term trading is purely gambling.

Anyone beg to differ?
Jordy
post Jan 27 2008, 12:50 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(GRex @ Jan 27 2008, 12:06 AM)
Seems like some of you believe short-term trading is purely gambling.

Anyone beg to differ?
I can see that you have been asking so many questions in this forum to gather others' opinion.
What about if you just share your views as well, or are you up to something?
Your words and your actions are suspicious enough in the first place.
This is just a suggestion, you may/may not take it into consideration.

Regards.
hexen7
post Jan 27 2008, 09:54 AM

618 posts

short / medium term here depends on situation.
TSGRex
post Jan 27 2008, 11:13 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 27 2008, 12:50 AM)
What about if you just share your views as well...
We know different type of investor/traders make very different beasts. So the game would very different between long-term investor and short-term trader.

Not better, just different.

Me and my friends are mulling on the idea of forming an investor club focused particularly on global bourses. The kind of club where members form a support group for each other in their analysis of the market (but not pulling funds together definitely). Essentially a band of brothers who share the same value system when it comes to trading.

But to achieve that, it very much depends on the quality of the members. The club can only be as good as the worst member.

Though we are still not entirely sure this is a good idea to go with, I'd like to at least find out what LYN members here value the most.
Gonzalesgirl
post Apr 12 2009, 09:51 PM

If its a number and it blinks green or red, i would most probably think of trading it. Day trading is an intelligent art that takes years to learn and mastered only by few but criticized by many. Its easy when it comes to the market, if you're smart you will make money in what ever market, if you're average then run on high chances of loosing money. People these days confused over casino, gambling with day trading.
Pennywise
post Apr 12 2009, 10:32 PM

5,796 posts

I follow what others buy. One of them is a good business man (friend's dad) and another is a powerful lady (another friend's mom). Am I considered side-lurker? Heh! smile.gif
Soulsareworthless
post Apr 13 2009, 05:53 AM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(jack7155 @ Jan 26 2008, 08:56 PM)
i'm a medium term holder. once earn enough, i'll let go tongue.gif
Same here, I try to hold my stocks for not longer than 6 months.
SUSwankongyew
post Apr 13 2009, 11:31 AM

1,177 posts

Very interesting poll results. As a lurker in this forum, my initial impression was that a lot of people did day trading, based on their comments. I was skeptical about this because historically very few people can consistently make money from day trading. Now the poll results show that most actually hold medium to long term positions.

The terms could do with some defining, however. Perhaps:

Short Term - Less than one quarter
Medium Term - More than one quarter, less than one year
Long Term - More than one year

For those who previously did day trading but have posted that they have stopped doing it or plan to stop doing it, can you please post your experiences and reasons?
debbieyss
post Apr 13 2009, 03:28 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

definitely a long term holder

0.0469sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:44 AM