126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! with**V10**, (NEW SAGA) Come to join the fun^_^

singchaii
post Feb 12 2008, 08:41 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(wkho555 @ Feb 12 2008, 08:23 PM)
so what tyre should use if wan to change 15 inch rim???
195/50/15
dopeisgood
post Feb 12 2008, 09:19 PM

Mr. Dopeisgood
1,487 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 12 2008, 06:48 PM)
Tomorrow wan go change rims... whahahaha.. go wangsa maju area ronda ronda.. If flyingteeku free, want ask me bring me go.. hehe.
wah so rich.. plan to change to wat brand of rims?? tyres??
singchaii
post Feb 12 2008, 09:21 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Feb 12 2008, 09:19 PM)
wah so rich.. plan to change to wat brand of rims?? tyres??
All cheap brand..

either expensive rims + normal tire or
cheap rims + performance tire.. hehe.
dopeisgood
post Feb 12 2008, 09:25 PM

Mr. Dopeisgood
1,487 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 12 2008, 09:21 PM)
All cheap brand..

either expensive rims + normal tire or
cheap rims + performance tire.. hehe.
if like tat betta go for betta rims.. tyres can be changed next time.. haha
singchaii
post Feb 12 2008, 09:31 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Feb 12 2008, 09:25 PM)
if like tat betta go for betta rims.. tyres can be changed next time.. haha
yeah.. tire I think will take cheap de like good year nct 5.. hehe.. wait until my dad friend's shop open, my dad will sponsor me other tire.. hehe,
PureGeek
post Feb 12 2008, 09:37 PM

433 posts

today made my 1000km service.. the mechanic gave em a V-style semi synthetic engine oil... is that brand good?
kevinlim001
post Feb 12 2008, 09:52 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

wat v-style? where d mechanic? u service outside?
neosaint99
post Feb 12 2008, 09:55 PM

^RedbluE^
1,216 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 12 2008, 01:30 PM)
beamer use 195? hahaha.. My uncle beamers also 215 series already.. hehe..

Most saga/iswara which use 195 already.. 185 not good enough.. Furthermore, some 195/50 series are even lighter that 185/60.
QUOTE(cheeann @ Feb 12 2008, 01:46 PM)
then wat size can u recommended for 15" tire for proton saga since u're like so pro in tire line than me do
i was using the beamer figuratively speaking to represent a bigger car
notice that i have since removed it as i too found it a bit inappropriate

furthermore, im not talking about rim or tire weight
that was never part of the discussion

so apart from the fact that i made a small mistake on the example,...and also i know that you are very well versed in tyres and and have the deepest of knowledge regarding rolling friction, i shall not address this to you

on the other hand,...if there are any others who are interested, heres a little explanation
the wider the tyre, the more the contact with the road
this has 2 main functions

1st is to bear the load of the car

the bigger the car, the heavier it will be most of the time
pressure is a function of load divided by area
so if small n narrow tires were to be used on a big car, then the pressure on the tire would have to be very high to counter act the weight of the car
this in turn will mean that the tire will have to be able to withstand much higher internal pressures...im not going to go into economics of production...
so the solution is to have a larger wider tire
this means that the contact surface of the tire on the road will be larger and so a lower internal pressure can be used to counter act the load of the car

2nd is to provide traction a.k.a. grip

the larger the car, generally, the more powerful it will be
more torque will need to be able to be transfered to the road without causing the tires to spin
once again,...there are 2 factors which play a major role
the 1st would be the weight of the car, and secondly, and more importantly, the surface area which is in contact with the road at any given time
ofcourse tire compound plays a role too but im not going to discuss that here as the compound of a tire is not under scrutiny here (im just putting this in here as im sure if i dont some people will point it out...so that it seems like i missed something thus reducing my credibility)
anywayz,...back to the case of more surface area in contact with the road
the minimum weight of the car would be a constant
and the compound of the tires being used on the car once it leaves the showroom will not be under the control of the company
so the one thing that they can do is to specify the advisable specs of the tires
this will ensure that the tires will have a minimum amount of grip regardless of the brand and type of tire installed
ofcourse this will provide the pickup and cornering that the car boasts...but most importantly, it will provide proper road handling and braking which translates into safety

now back to the question of why we shouldnt used overly wide tires on small cars
im not disputing that u will get better grip and that the larger tires wont fit and thus hit the fender and all that
that is beside the point
it is stated above that with wider tires comes more grip
this grip doesnt only act when you are braking or cornering
it acts every moment during which the wheel is rolling
this is called rolling friction
it adds to engine load

this is a necessary evil...without it, there would be no friction and we wouldnt be able to accelerate or stop for that matter
but is it necessary to have excessive friction where it is not needed?
by fixing on wide tires that are meant for a much heavier car...perhaps 2 tonnes,...onto a 1tonne car additional load is added to an already underpowered engine
this will cause the fc to increase

another issue would be that the pressure and the weight that it is supporting will not tally
im sure you will stick to the recomended pressures of 31psi or mayb the newer school of thought of about 35psi
taking a constant 31psi as an example, on a larger tire (which is meant to bear a heavier load)
for the tire to grip the road properly, the thread compound has to conform to the irregularity of the road's surface
if the tires is meant to support 650kg each (assuming a larger car) where as if it is fixed onto a small car it will be subjected to maybe a mere 400kg?
it will not be under optimum performance conditions
and im sure nobody is going to inflate their tires to less than the minimum recomended....if anything,...they will increase the pressure of the tire so as to "save fuel"

i guess this is all for now
i slept at 5am this morning n got up for work...just got back a while ago so now going to bathe n den sleep
dead tired
hope you can understand where im coming from now
PureGeek
post Feb 12 2008, 10:07 PM

433 posts

there are showroom they give u free service - "only if" u service with them, but they make sure u buy thier engine oil, fuel additive etc etc which are their own brand (v-style), and there they earn back the service charges... feel like getting cheated?
singchaii
post Feb 12 2008, 10:09 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(PureGeek @ Feb 12 2008, 10:07 PM)
there are showroom they give u free service - "only if" u service with them, but they make sure u buy thier engine oil, fuel additive etc etc which are their own brand (v-style), and there they earn back the service charges... feel like getting cheated?
So far I service at Proton Edar, all is free labout charge only la.. Where got free service? Some more I done all 3 service also by my own engine oil oh... Mean, he only charge me dry oil pan and oil filter only.
wkho555
post Feb 12 2008, 10:14 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 12 2008, 10:09 PM)
So far I service at Proton Edar, all is free labout charge only la.. Where got free service? Some more I done all 3 service also by my own engine oil oh... Mean, he only charge me dry oil pan and oil filter only.
yaya. free labour charge onli. 1 week more i going 4 my 3rd service. after ur 3rd service where will u service your car?
singchaii
post Feb 12 2008, 10:16 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(wkho555 @ Feb 12 2008, 10:14 PM)
yaya. free labour charge onli. 1 week more i going 4 my 3rd service. after ur 3rd service where will u service your car?
Back to proton also.. Cause got coupon.. Proton edar give me coupon.. Not remember either is 50 or 70& off for labour charge../
dopeisgood
post Feb 12 2008, 10:17 PM

Mr. Dopeisgood
1,487 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 12 2008, 09:31 PM)
yeah.. tire I think will take cheap de like good year nct 5.. hehe.. wait until my dad friend's shop open, my dad will sponsor me other tire.. hehe,
yeah yeah.. nct5 ok ok la but noisy.. next time change to ad07 or t1-r or re001
singchaii
post Feb 12 2008, 10:20 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Feb 12 2008, 10:17 PM)
yeah yeah.. nct5 ok ok la but noisy.. next time change to ad07 or t1-r or re001
No la.. my dad friend's going to open bridgestone tire shop.. So i think will get potenza GIII in future..
dopeisgood
post Feb 12 2008, 10:58 PM

Mr. Dopeisgood
1,487 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Feb 12 2008, 10:20 PM)
No la.. my dad friend's going to open bridgestone tire shop.. So i think will get potenza GIII in future..
den betta straight get potenza adrenalin re001.. good!! thumbup.gif
kevinlim001
post Feb 12 2008, 11:47 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(PureGeek @ Feb 12 2008, 10:07 PM)
y u dun 1 had ur service at proton? Proton give u voucher for 3 free labour also.. doh.gif they may void ur warranty if u dun sent ur car for service with proton.
ESeong
post Feb 13 2008, 12:11 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(wkho555 @ Feb 12 2008, 12:00 AM)
maybe is driveshaft kua jor.
o.. then arround how much to change ah ?

Gilbert5107
post Feb 13 2008, 12:35 AM

little'potato*
1,510 posts

singchaii@
mesti ang pau banyak nie brows.gif brows.gif
lepas CNY terus tukar rims laugh.gif laugh.gif

wkho@
i go survey sin..if out time match,we go sama2.
wan done the car sticker 1st,if not give andy cucuk sweat.gif
TSandychan
post Feb 13 2008, 12:37 AM

ASTERLAVISTA BABY
2,662 posts

who dare cucuk you tongue.gif
plan to change ABS what brand recomend? kayaba RS, GAB or any other brand?
CerealKiller
post Feb 13 2008, 02:04 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(andychan @ Feb 13 2008, 12:37 AM)
who dare cucuk you tongue.gif
plan to change ABS what brand recomend? kayaba RS, GAB or any other brand?
duit banyak go for GAB adjustable, duit tak berapa banyak go for Kayaba RS, Improve Propex pun boleh tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:33 PM