[WTA] NEW HONDA CITY?, this year??? 2008 CITY

dstl1128
post Jan 25 2008, 03:51 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 25 2008, 03:43 PM)
i predict also
but hmm... HM have too many models to launch this year
new accord, new city, new jazz and new odyssey (maybe)
i don't think they can make it though
From the info I see, the new Jazz CVT is fitted with torque converter already. I'm guessing they no longer use start-up clutch? If that really so, how much will affect the FC, will it poorer than current City?

However, it is also said to come with 1.3L iVTEC (and hopefully 1.5L iVTEC). And there is hybrid (IMA).

dstl1128
post Jan 25 2008, 04:48 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 25 2008, 04:31 PM)
one of our friend here said he went to ask TOYOTA about honda city, they say after CNY
LOL

btw, that vios only have GT wing, sammi cheng techno remix, 17" rim and VVTI +100cc
hehe
Come on, keep repeating boring joke is lame.

Well, I asked my Toyota SA and he said around Oct2008.
While I ask another Honda SA, she said no news on City, but Accord definitely got.

If one is not in rush for car, it is definitely more beneficial to wait for the car and decide later.

dstl1128
post Jan 26 2008, 10:51 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Jan 25 2008, 05:51 PM)
i surfed to some India forum....
and according to some1 who claimed he is work inside honda india
they will debut new City in India mid this year....not sure how true it is...

so far read around...only thing can guess about the city....
1) i-vtec, 1.3 or 1.5 unknown
2) CVT 2.0 (new CVT or CVT with better logic?)
all is rumour everywhere la....dunno wat will come out too....
i m not in rush...so i m waiting for it too tongue.gif
The CVT no longer come with start-up clutch, but rather a torque converter as in normal auto... info from the news guy paultan.

Ya lor! How Toyota people know Honda is coming out with new City ?

Nowadays car salesman sell more than one brand of cars. My Toyota SA sell Honda, Proton car too.

dstl1128
post Jan 29 2008, 09:41 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Jan 29 2008, 03:39 AM)
yea...the exhaust is damn cool... the overrall dimension is bigger than the current model rite?
I'm not sure the overral dimension, but by following the trend, cars are getting larger and larger. Maybe when new City launches - "OMG larger than new Vios and Latio".

I believe a lockup torque converter is much suited in our hot weather here.

QUOTE(sojurn @ Jan 29 2008, 09:26 AM)
CVT doesn't mean 7 speed auto, although a lot of people associate CVT with 7 speed auto due to the steermatic design...
Yes... 110kmph on 1.9krpm! 7 is the magic number. tongue.gif I imagine they programmed 100 gears for the steermatic. LOL.

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Jan 29 2008, 01:04 AM)
statement 1 on city better: in term of technology, there is no deny, as you can see honda is putting more effort to improve the car, whereas you basically see nothing much change in vios

statement 2 on spec: retire iDSI, replace with L13A, possibly remove startup clutch, replace with torque convertor(this one really unexpected), belt tensioner, etc. can check in temple of vtec for the i-vtec feature in fit/jazz which possibly in up-coming fit aria/city too. there is no 5-speed auto, its CVT biggrin.gif

statement 3 on Toyota work harder: its a funny thing, despite Honda tries to improve in terms of technology, toyota still sells better, this is the taste of local ppl, cant blame...but every type of car has its targeted group. So no comment.
statement 1: There should be a balance on simplicity and 'technology'. Just the Vios don't have someone like WongKN doing the write up, doesn't mean there isn't any changes. Dig deeper if you are interested.

statement 2: The new City should be more power and still fuel efficient. The torque converter part isn't unexpected - even Honda Japan (yes, they sent engineers here to check) cracked their head on why there are quite a number of failure on the startup clutch in here... ... I don't know the actual total number but even less than handful of failure for them is consider serious case. Considering Mitsubishi Lancer CVT are also mated with the torque converter, there's no reason to consider using it for lesser complain and a longer lasting gearbox.

statement 3: This round of battle Honda might win... who knows.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jan 29 2008, 09:43 AM
dstl1128
post Jan 29 2008, 10:54 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(Vanquish @ Jan 29 2008, 10:33 AM)
The M'sia version will be built in Thailand, and we'll be getting the 1.5L i-VTEC version only... As for the transmission, we'll most probably get the 5-speed auto instead of the CVT...
Hmm... 5-speed auto... where the CVT?
dstl1128
post Jan 29 2008, 01:24 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(Vanquish @ Jan 29 2008, 12:35 PM)
CVT may not make it to ASEAN countries... Personally, I hope to get the CVT gearbox...
Well, according to a survey done by Honda, people in ASEAN prefers conventional autobox rather than CVT... sad.gif
Actually the CVT is the unique feature and also one of the selling point for City.

I'm believing that CVT in hot weather country have reliability issue, IMO Toyota & Honda using the same reason to avoid bringing in more CVT.

dstl1128
post Jan 30 2008, 01:38 PM

4,464 posts

IMO, imagine timing chain in the engine also need to replace, I'm having trouble imagining the CVT belt is invincible - as the belt face more torture than a cam timing chain.

That said, AFAIK, the reliability of the CVT rely most on the coupling device - either startup clutch or a torque converter. If they went haywire, I don't think the CVT will last long either.

Unless there's option/SC that allow maintenance of the CVT belt, i.e. replace it, I doubt it could possibly last very long.
dstl1128
post Jan 30 2008, 03:48 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(dinozilla @ Jan 30 2008, 02:10 PM)
CVT belt is a metal chain....it could last jz like the timing chain....
I know is a metal 'chain' (metal reinforced rubber belt anyway), hence I'm speculating its life span is more or less similar to timing chain. Of course being slight shorter life span due to the stress it is having.

The main point is, the matter of whether there are serviceable component available or, otherwise we have to replace the whole gearbox which is pricey.

dstl1128
post Jan 30 2008, 07:58 PM

4,464 posts

OMG so fugly?!
dstl1128
post Jan 31 2008, 02:49 PM

4,464 posts

Agreed. I'm closely eyeing iVTEC + CVT.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jan 31 2008, 02:50 PM
dstl1128
post Aug 19 2008, 06:51 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Aug 19 2008, 06:27 PM)
lust.giflust.gif I don't mind its 1300cc if pricing close to Vios J spec
If 1300cc, the pricing might be like Avanza 1.3L auto. I suppose Vios J is the lowest 1.5L foreign brand.

dstl1128
post Aug 19 2008, 11:11 PM

4,464 posts

New Vios seem pretty good, probably few inches more but never to the extend of City spaciousness.

Internal spec have comparative figures that shows new Vios is larger than current City in every direction (with 10mm accuracy) in terms of internal dimension, losing little to Latio. As for external dimension, City is definitely longer than current Vios.

However, I'm not surprise Honda will make it win Vios. All Honda need is to have reduced boot space in between 500L~475L, and a slightly larger internal dimension to win Vios in 1.5L category. Coupled with 5spd auto and good price... this will forces Toyota a facelift. tongue.gif

dstl1128
post Aug 21 2008, 11:03 AM

4,464 posts

I'm thinking in another direction that is the pricing HM did it on purpose just to reflect the worthiness of Civic 1.8? tongue.gif

dstl1128
post Oct 14 2008, 11:00 AM

4,464 posts

Heard it would be launched around Nov/Dec.

dstl1128
post Oct 30 2008, 11:35 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Oct 29 2008, 12:32 AM)
I think current city is bigger than new one.... smile.gif
Don't think. It is fact that the new City is bigger than the current one in every dimension except the height.
dstl1128
post Nov 18 2008, 01:46 PM

4,464 posts

Actually, a bigger size 1.5L car is not bad.

Promoting to Civic do promote your imaginary status, however, L15 has better than R18. Plus Civic doesn't have ultraseat nor 500L+ boot (Civic is 450L).

Added on November 18, 2008, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(gung @ Nov 18 2008, 12:42 PM)
the price if more than 90K sure many consider buy civic.better!!!!!!
Civic is 20k more.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Nov 18 2008, 01:51 PM
dstl1128
post Nov 18 2008, 04:54 PM

4,464 posts

Wah. Talking New City degenerate into Mazda? Talk more City lah.

dstl1128
post Nov 24 2008, 08:13 AM

4,464 posts

Actually the pricing is not fixed yet (or rather not published by upper mgmt). Low spec City will be under 90k. High spec around 90~95k. Most SA rough guess would be 85~88k for low spec; 91~93k for hi spec.

0.0442sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:39 PM