4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Penang Property Talk, Property talk on Penang

oe_kintaro
post Jun 22 2013, 06:11 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 8 2013, 02:14 PM)
A brief review on Setia Peal Island

Setia Pearl Island
SPI nice place to live right now. Weather is mild and cool and traffic not too bad. I suspect the place might boom once Setia Triangle and the other nearby projects start to complete. Unfortunately it will bring much more traffic. The internet coverage sucks though: SP Setia and Telekom Malaysia are in some kind of wrangle and it's affecting Streamyx/Unifi coverage in the area tongue.gif
oe_kintaro
post Jun 24 2013, 11:48 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(xyyap @ Jun 24 2013, 11:08 AM)
Setia Pinnacle @ Sungai Ara or Setia Sky 8 @ Pearl Island better?
In terms of livability, I think Sg Ara is getting too congested already. With Pearl Island, the population density is currently less due to the large number of gated developments and you have easier access to the TLCE Expressway and Sg Nibong expressway (IMHO). However, eventually I think it will catch up...

oe_kintaro
post Jun 24 2013, 05:18 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(ProperTYcoon @ Jun 24 2013, 03:10 PM)
seems like it's going to be another 4-5k of houses coming up in sg ara in these few years
We need more forward looking town planning for the Bayan Lepas area to avoid the mistakes we have seen in the northern part of the island. Otherwise the pressures of population growth will overwhelm the road network and public transportation system eventually, making the place unlivable. Right now it's still somewhat manageable, but I can feel the pressures already. More and more cars and longer queues. It's good to invest in property in Bayan Lepas and Sungai Ara, but also a double edge sword. Also, this area is highly dependent on the highly globalized manufacturing economy due to the proximity of the factories, If there is a serious downturn in the global economy, especially electronics, it may affect employment which will in turn affect rental and local property values.
oe_kintaro
post Jan 2 2014, 01:58 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Jan 2 2014, 01:18 PM)
The well off in penang are already staying in landed property. You think they would be interested in Vincent Tan's shitty bungalows?

1.) If you live in Penang, you will know that this area is one of the worst places to live. Every workday jam, every weekend jam. Right next to cemetery so when it's cheng beng it's even more jam.

2.) For 3.6 million, you can get better landed property elsewhere.

3.) Berjaya is famous for lousy quality.
There are some nice landed developments in the Batu Ferringhi area. Last I checked around Oct, was around RM490-500psf... nice deal I think, but above my pay grade sad.gif
oe_kintaro
post Jan 11 2014, 03:33 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 11 2014, 03:25 PM)
Guys may i ask you experts here any chance Property in Penang will have a huge drop this year??? Bcs over the weekend i followed relative to look around for houses in the Tanjong Tokong area like Straits Quay, the property price there are almost 2 million. The prices are impossible for any family to buy.
Not very likely to have a drop, barring a major disaster or economic downturn in my opinion. Even then prices are more likely to stay stagnant rather than drop
oe_kintaro
post Jan 11 2014, 03:52 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jan 11 2014, 03:36 PM)
When looking around for landed property, the prices are by millions. Even condo also by millions. Penang people can afford this. My relative if need to buy a property i think 2 families need to share to buy it, even with that it is still expensive.
There are affordable property... just maybe not in prime locations. straits quay is prime waterfront property and not targeted at us hoi polloi. That's looking at the price of a land rover evoque and concluding that cars are not affordable....
oe_kintaro
post Jan 11 2014, 07:43 PM

2,222 posts

Any opinions on the recent announcement regarding IKEA setting up shop in Batu Kawan? There's bound to be a great impact down the road.
oe_kintaro
post Apr 24 2017, 12:07 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(mattalex @ Apr 23 2017, 07:19 AM)
Hi, I am looking to buy a landed house in Penang Island for capital appreciation and also possible stay when I retire. This will need to be be in a peaceful area, but with good access to shops and medical facilities. Since I may not stay for few more years, good rental returns, at least to cover basic costs and loan interest, is also a requirement.

Property can be under construction or completed.

Any suggestions? Thanks.
Are you a native Penangite? Typically Penangites will flock to middle to upper-class areas like Tanjung Bungah / Tanjung Tokong / Gelugor. Penang is about capital appreciation if you are into landed. Forget rental yields. It's a buy and hold mindset here. If you want to think out of the box, Balik Pulau is a good place to retire but it's long term play. If you buy there the typical native Penangite will say you are out of your mind.
After staying 17 years in on the island, based on personal experience, here's what telling a stranger where you stay subtly implies: laugh.gif

1) Pulau Tikus / Tg Tokong / Tg Bungah: middle class/rich people.
2) Western Gardens / Jalan Bell / Solok Bell: old money
3) Air Itam / Jelutong / Jalan Perak: hoi polloi / working class native
4) Gelugor / Greenlane: middle class / civil servant
5) Bayan Lepas / Sg Ara / Bayan Baru / Batu Maung: outsider / Factory worker
6) Balik Pulau: Backwater....

oe_kintaro
post Apr 24 2017, 12:37 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(shioks @ Apr 24 2017, 12:29 PM)
I have been surveying Balik Pulau area.  Good place for retirement but  Tsunami is a concern.
don't stay so near the sea la laugh.gif
oe_kintaro
post Apr 24 2017, 06:01 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(shioks @ Apr 24 2017, 12:42 PM)
Actually, exactly which part of Balik Pulau was affected by Tsunami?

Also, I'm not living in Penang at the moment.  It's not suitable to buy a landed property around Balik Pulau now.  I have a few friends bought landed properties around Balik Pulau for investment.  Every few months they travelled to take a look and every trip they find break in.  So finally they decided to sell.  Conclusion, buy Balik Pulau when you are actually staying there.
Nowhere near I think. At least not Balik Pulau town. No native Penangite would buy there for investment, but for own stay or sentimental reasons maybe.
oe_kintaro
post Aug 10 2017, 01:40 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Aug 4 2017, 01:37 PM)
what is hoi polloi and backwater ???  unsure.gif
hoi polloi = rakyat marhaen / working class / blue collar

backwater = ulu / inaka / kampung / underdeveloped
oe_kintaro
post Aug 10 2017, 01:48 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(guybrush @ Jun 30 2017, 08:39 AM)
Hi everyone. I will soon be commencing my 2 years working life at Penang Island and Bayan Baru area. What will be the area that suitable and stiill within my budget reach? Any condo project/unit in Bayan Baru/Bukit Jambul/Sungai Ara that could likely be within the following criterias?

1. Can easily accessible. Best with area plenty of Grab/Uber drivers.
2. Rental within range of 1200 - 1400
3. Easy access to amenities like hawker food
4. Less African occupants

I heard Tree Sparina\Fiera Vista could be very prone to noise from flights going in/out from Penang airport. Anyone owned a unit, or has been staying around the same area able to comment on this?

I'm not racist, the above is just preference if possible.
I visited my friend's place there the other day. It had a nice view of the airport. I think it's a misconception that just because a property is near the airport, it would be noisy. Actually, it's only places directly under the path of the planes that would be really noisy. Personally, I stay quite close at Setia Pearl Island by and I can't hear a thing either
oe_kintaro
post Sep 8 2017, 06:49 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(ltpg @ Sep 7 2017, 03:31 PM)
Thanks for your feedback.

Tree sparina accessibility is easier to ftz area. But biggest unit only 1300sqft. This is the only letdown.

Fiera Vista has larger units at much better pricing. Hard to decide.

What about bayan baru area? Arena looks tempting but there is a college hostel there. The second best is olive tree residence but too low density (about 90 plus units) -could be an issue for maintenance. Dpiazza is  the worst. Leaking everywhere. Elite seems to be overcrowded. The new promanade is leasehold...
Have you considered Meridien or Reflections? Nearby there
oe_kintaro
post Sep 11 2017, 12:22 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(ltpg @ Sep 10 2017, 07:29 PM)
viewed meridian long time ago. owner asking too high price.... ... but now price dropped over rm50-80k.
but not interested anymore due to location a bit inside. lmc is beside it rite?

reflection is good too but a bit in too compared to FV or TS.
Will now need to survey bayan baru area, probably Arena is a good buy too
Too far in is a bit relative la. Actually that area is only 25 to 30 minutes walking distance from airport. Plus Setia Triangle is up already so there are some shops nearby. That area in general ok to buy for own stay.
oe_kintaro
post Sep 12 2017, 06:44 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(ltpg @ Sep 11 2017, 09:08 AM)
yup, but i have tried driving during jam/morning rush hour/after office hours and the extra distance can really take some time.

Setia triangle is nice .... i mean low density but maintenance fee i heard very high. There are some bargains at Reflection condo but wasted only 1 car park for those units..... will skip any that comes with 1 cp.

Really this area is super packed with many condos... really oversupply. Pity those whom bought solely to flip. Even rental units are all empty. Too many choices...
Btw, whats your opinion on bayan baru area? How is the Arena condo?
It's gonna get even more packed with the new Mpire shopping mall planned up the road. Long term view is that this area is a buy, but it might take a while for the excess capacity to be absorbed. Since I stay in the area, I've not really had any issues with rush hour (maybe because of my lifestyle or commuting pattern). In general, I still find this area better than the Sg Ara side which is way too jammed for my liking. The U-turn in front of Treesparina allows me to bypass Sg Ara and I can take the Sg Nibong expressway to work.
oe_kintaro
post Feb 25 2019, 05:52 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Feb 25 2019, 12:25 PM)
Hmm.. I dont know batu maung is better location than bkt gambir. 😂
But batu maung mahsing is a failed mall n commercial project. Bukit gambir is matured area beside usm. Problem with batu maung is desperate owners rent the unit to convert into hostel n rent to factory workers n foreign workers

Arte s is a piece of art. It is bonus if able to bid reserve price. Problem is many units converted into homestay or hotel..
Heard they are still trying to palm off the Mah Sing project to Hongkies and other foreigners.
oe_kintaro
post Jul 7 2020, 09:48 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(propertyowner @ Jul 5 2020, 05:09 PM)
Don't think that's correct as the median salary for malaysian working adult in 20 years back is only 1.2k-1.5k and you said the rental at that time for USM is already 900rm.  doh.gif

Somemore the target market for University Height is actually students at walking distance.
that doesn't sound right. 20 years ago, rental for an empty / unfurnished apartment around Sg Dua / USM area was probably in the 500-700 range. If renting just a room, probably just around RM150-250. sos: working adult from 20 years ago living in Sg Dua area smile.gif
oe_kintaro
post Jul 9 2020, 02:01 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Jul 7 2020, 10:06 AM)
as I know in 2011 the price range no change compare to now in 2020. Fully furnished is RM1200 for N park in 2011 and now if you check mudah you still see RM1200 for fully furnished
so just a different point of reference then. Twenty years ago is circa 2000. Year 2000 - 2010 is about a decade. And that was the decade that property prices started to climb dramatically due to the property boom. Plus fully furnished is a different price point vs unfurnished.
oe_kintaro
post Jul 9 2020, 04:45 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Jul 9 2020, 04:18 PM)
that would depends on penang government to bring that in. I would said if there is job, there will be talent. It just don't make sense if the government claims we don't have talent which why hi-tech don't come in. It should be reverse, demand boost supplies.
Not so straight forward leh. State government's main leverage is mainly just land and tax breaks. Still has to work with Federal authorities like MIDA etc for the permissions, etc. Then there's supply of talent which needs lead time to build. Qualified talents like Engineers are neither a JIT nor plug-and-play product commodity: the country needs to invest in education to organically grow quantity and quality. It's true we don't have enough talent in the right places. The other alternative is attracting foreign talent via work visas and other such incentives, but our Federal government isn't as aggressive as Singapore in that respect. Bottom line is that there are many factors to consider. Penang property market is not red-hot simply because the other growth factors are not there to drive or support it. And not everything is depending on gomen of the day to magically pull out of the hat in just 1 or 2 election cycles.

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Jul 9 2020, 04:46 PM
oe_kintaro
post Jul 14 2020, 04:17 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Jul 13 2020, 07:53 AM)
so Penang FDI is all the time waiting for MIDA action? If like that sure die, if the federal government is different from penang state government sure the investment will go other place. Still don't make sense to me.
If everything in this world made sense, there would be no wars and we wouldn't elect corrupt, evil men to office, but I diverge.
YES FDI does need federal approvals.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:02 PM