Penang Property Talk, Property talk on Penang

harrychoo
post Mar 17 2008, 02:24 PM

3,589 posts

I'm interested to get this http://www.tambunindah.com/property.aspx?pid=40

Any comments about the locations and developers? I want to get landed in island but the cheapest i get is RM300k at Balik Pulau sweat.gif

There are few more concerns.

1) How to calculate legal fees, S&P fees, stamping fees etc? From the developer side, seems like the S&P fees is free.
2) Possible to add renovation cost into the bank loan?
harrychoo
post Apr 24 2008, 10:15 AM

3,589 posts

i'm eyeing property in penang and KL too.

went to few show houses before..

balik pulau there are 2 projects (landed) cost around RM330k and RM300k respecitvely.

plan to get a landed property at mainland but the traffic on the bridge make me sick
harrychoo
post May 12 2008, 01:37 AM

3,589 posts

anyone think that Nibong Indah apartment at Sg.Nibong worth to buy? hmm.gif
harrychoo
post May 30 2008, 11:44 PM

3,589 posts

juru height got double storey also...but the place surround with industrial area.
harrychoo
post Jun 17 2008, 11:23 PM

3,589 posts

want to ask about 2nd hand property as well.

u guys heard before Aramas apartment? It is at Sg.Ara, opposite Fisherman Grill.

The unit is top floor duplex unit which have 2 floor inside. The built up is 1400 square feet which is very large. The owner also renovated the unit until very nice, plaster ceiling, kitchen cabinet, grill, bed, aircond, etc..

Basically, there is no need for major renovation, just move in. Maybe need to do some painting again and some minor modifications.

Environment not bad and owner plan to let go around 180k-190k.

Do u guys think worth? Or u guys heard any friends or relatives living there?

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Jun 17 2008, 11:24 PM
harrychoo
post Jun 18 2008, 10:29 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Jun 18 2008, 09:35 AM)
May i know is it leased hold or freehold?? 1400sq should be very large for me...how bout he other facilites??
it is freehold.

they have swimming pool and gym (abit small), the maintenance fees is RM100.

actually 1400 square feet is quite tipu 1 coz the area that very big is the upstair balcony, it really dam big!!

unless i got $$ to extend another room out to the balcony, then it is really big, cna have 5 rooms in the house if i got $$ to extend

and what i like about there is it is a low density apartment, only 1 block with 64 units. and the unit that i want to buy facing east, so will only hot during morning but not evening

do u guys think worth?

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Jun 18 2008, 10:32 AM
harrychoo
post Jun 18 2008, 02:54 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jun 18 2008, 02:42 PM)
ooops i thought its landed....that's why i thought it as leasehold...on offence....

harrychoo: the price seems quite reasonable. morning sun is better than evening sun. Can encourage u to wake up early also tongue.gif. Most important is u feel comfortable with the apartment. whether is it worth the money or not, evaluate it if u like the apartment very much smile.gif.
ya, i had asked a lot of ppl and they said it is very cheap and worth it coz of the size and the renovation.

the downside is the smaller living hall.

most probably the extra price that i pay is for the size of the balcony and renovation sweat.gif
harrychoo
post Jun 18 2008, 05:15 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jun 18 2008, 04:20 PM)
well irregardless whether ur buying second hand or first hand, u'll renovate anyway tongue.gif.

dont worry about the small living hall...if u arrange ur furniture properly im sure it can be managed smile.gif.
actually the house oledi quite perfect, just pack my things to move can oledi...unless i wan those fancier design tongue.gif

just need to do painting on the whole unit.

dunno my decision correct or not, dam scared sweat.gif
harrychoo
post Jun 18 2008, 10:18 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 18 2008, 10:10 PM)
harry, if it's a duplex and also it's around RM180k...then i think it's a good deal... picture this, normal N-park condo around 700+ sq also cost around RM130k and above dee... and your location is still not considered very far inside... still ok... Pearl Garden selling around RM250k which is near to the apartment u wanna buy...

so i think it's quite a fair price...dun worry la... u go survey more...then u should know the market rate...then just buy if you like it...

if you think it's comfortable and everything is nice for you...just go ahead and buy it...sometimes u end up buy cheaper apartment but u don't like it...no point also...

so if you wanna buy a place for you to stay on ur own...as long as you love it...then that's what only matters... of course u must be able to pay for it also la...kekeke
hi kevyeoh, glad to know that u also know the area around there.

the owner didn't want to reduce anymore and it is sold at 195k which i think still worth it.

yeah, it was a good deal. if i would like to find a decent apartment, it will be cost 140k-160k at least for 700-800square feet and with minor renovation or even no renovation. for example the pearl garden also around 10xx square feet only.

if i would buying those, i rather buy very low end, which cost around 100k-110k but those places will be filled up by banglas and indons.

as for this unit, even though it is 195k, but to pay for that for a 1400 square feet duplex apartment and at least 50k renovation cost, i think it was ok.

even my frens and colleagues all go crazy asking me where got such a nice deal sweat.gif

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Jun 18 2008, 10:20 PM
harrychoo
post Jun 18 2008, 10:35 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jun 18 2008, 10:30 PM)
yeah...so you have finalized the deal huh...congrats!

if you need a place to stay...it's never a waste of money to buy a place of your own... afterall, you'll be paying rent...why not convert the rent to housing payment instead and then u get to own the apartment...

i think i tried checking penang property listing and there's a duplex unit listed for sale... and i guess that is the unit u bought...hehe
mostly yeah, too bad the owner go thru agent if not i can save the agent fees doh.gif

yeah, since i have been renting for 3 years++ in penang, i guess it is a time to convert to own house and also due to property will be increase soon and might affect 2nd hand market.

yeah, that's the 1 laugh.gif

i also wonder how long they had put and why no one buying it, i'm also quite sceptical initally (even now still a bit sceptical)

but after view the house and met the owner, i really like the house even though it is not perfect.

just that now afraid dunno got something happened before in their house made no 1 buy from them sweat.gif sweat.gif
harrychoo
post Aug 17 2009, 10:26 PM

3,589 posts

Saw few new double storey projects in Iping Garden, Bt Maung
harrychoo
post Aug 17 2009, 10:52 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Aug 17 2009, 10:47 PM)
southbay I also no money buy lah ... I asking the mainland 1 ...
penang island really not able to afford ~ unless buy apartment lah.
Got new launch at Taman Seri Arowana by Metro Jelata, price i think around 288k onwards
harrychoo
post Aug 18 2009, 10:22 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Aug 18 2009, 09:18 AM)
harrychoo : the house design not bad, but abit small loh, 40x20 only. normally 20x70 house they will build 45 x 20 one, BM utama 308K come with 42/45 x 22 build up leh. but location more far abit from the bridge.
Yes, houses in Arowana is not very big and their old phase layout is wide and short type.

But the location quite good, near to Carrefour, Tesco, Kulim Highway and not too far from bridge
harrychoo
post Sep 3 2009, 07:29 PM

3,589 posts

There are still few units left for Villa Cendana from 278k if not mistaken.
harrychoo
post Feb 9 2010, 01:08 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(chris0709 @ Feb 9 2010, 12:54 AM)
Hi everyone, I just want to make some inquiries. Does anyone know aramas apartment in sg ara? I heard that there are some problems with the developer. Is it true? If the developer was to go bankrupt, how will it effect the owners there? My source may not be true, I just want to confirm the situation. I really like the place but as always we need to be cautious, right?
Apparently I'm interested in this apartment back then when i start hunting for property. U can search for my post in this thread.
harrychoo
post May 13 2010, 07:09 PM

3,589 posts

Let assume the same size of house u can get in mainland is 300k and 600k in island.
That's 300k difference.

Travel from mainland to island to work = RM10 petrol + RM7 tol
Travel within island to work = RM4
That's RM13 difference per day.
Assume u work everyday or travel to island everyday = RM13 x 30 = RM390 per month, let's make it RM400 = RM4800 per year.
Calculate for 30yrs = around RM150k

RM150k vs RM300k !! ( i not even calculate the loan interest from the 300k yet)

Of course u need more time to travel, but u can opt to work in mainland or Kulim.
harrychoo
post May 14 2010, 01:13 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ May 13 2010, 11:36 PM)
Err.. i think u forgot to factor in capital return from the said property. At the end of the day, u may get a lot more from the island property by selling it when u retire. Any idea what's the appreciation rate in term of % comparing the 2 properties?
There is no guarantee that the return in island is higher than mainland in 30yrs. Currently yes.
I'm more worried the properties in island will collapse (physically) than it will appreciate whistling.gif

Looking on those condos nearby QBM area and the new "The Light" is really scary shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by harrychoo: May 14 2010, 01:14 AM
harrychoo
post Jul 28 2010, 02:14 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Jul 27 2010, 06:05 PM)
guys i'm a looking for 500k n below new double storey terrace house...it's for long term stay not investment...i'm considering either teluk kumbar or balik pulau as only these 2 places can find house in that price range...i'm in dilemma of which 2 choose as both have their own pros n cons...

teluk kumbar:
1. urban area, undeveloped...take more years to b developed compare to balik pulau (i think)
2. surroundings are kampung/squatter houses..mountains..empty lands...
3. 98% are malays
4. nearer to FIZ

balik pulau:
1. more developed (at faster rate somemore), more schools n amenities coming up..will b commercialized soon
2. more better houses like TST/DST/semi-d
3. more chinese
4. major issue is the road system...uphill climb...more petrol consumption n frequent car maintenance...further to both city and FIZ compare living in teluk kumbar...

do u guys have any suggestions/advices to share with me before i decide where to settle down?
teluk kumbar new house still got below 500k? sweat.gif

if can stretch until 600k, maybe can buy iping garden, batu maung
harrychoo
post Aug 10 2010, 05:29 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(surf-it @ Aug 10 2010, 02:03 PM)
one stupid question. If the price in penang is so darn "beautiful". will some of you consider buying in mainland instead? Although working in penang...

Why Yes, and why No?
Yes, me, buying in mainland working in island.

Yes
- for an equivalent house, u save 300k-500k
- the 300k-500k savings + interest is more than enough to cover ur petrol + tol to travel to island to work for ur whole life (got balance somemore maybe)

No
- u lazy to travel tongue.gif

My personal opinion.
harrychoo
post Sep 28 2010, 05:12 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(juruian @ Sep 28 2010, 01:56 PM)
may i know about housing at juru heights, taman cendana permai, taman sri cendana, taman cendana and any future housing development that area?
what u want to know?

0.0741sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:20 PM