Monash or UNSW for medic?

TSevilhomura89
post Jan 23 2008, 01:16 PM, updated 18y ago

5,886 posts

I"m asking this upon a friend.
Now she has received offer from both monash uni and uni of new south wales...but couldn't decide where to go...she doin medic
Any suggestion or comment??

imr4n
post Jan 23 2008, 01:29 PM

283 posts

i would say monash... they've produced many good msian consultants... NSW less
St.Daring
post Jan 23 2008, 01:32 PM

339 posts

Monash Uni...
onelove89
post Jan 23 2008, 02:02 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

monash, good and its 5 years compared to 6 years in unsw.
feynman
post Jan 23 2008, 02:25 PM

4,781 posts

Unless one is thoroughly involved in the academic processes of both universities, one wouldn't be able to give any valuable insights.

That said, one should choose according to affordability.
TSevilhomura89
post Jan 23 2008, 09:27 PM

5,886 posts

well, hopefully there's some ex-student or senior who can comment more on this subject
chris_c28
post Jan 23 2008, 09:47 PM

882 posts

Hmm this is a tough one because medicine programs are in such a high demand that we have seldom seen comparisons between the top universities' medicine programs. On top of that, both Monash and UNSW are excellent universities. UNSW's medicine program is very popular in Sydney because it offers an undergraduate entry into medicine, whereas Sydney Uni offers it as a graduate program, like Melbourne. I believe Monash also follows the UNSW system.
There are some UNSW and Monash Med students here, so I think they should be able to provide greater insight into their courses.

Added on January 23, 2008, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(imr4n @ Jan 23 2008, 01:29 PM)
i would say monash... they've produced many good msian consultants... NSW less
That's not entirely true. I've seen a lot of Malaysian UNSW Med graduates who end up working here, not back in Malaysia though.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jan 23 2008, 09:49 PM
subpar
post Jan 24 2008, 12:21 AM

I would totally turn lez for Effy...
827 posts

monash australia, u mean?

monash malaysia is pretty new in medicine, so if i were your friend, monash malaysia is defo a better choice.
WillHung
post Jan 24 2008, 01:08 AM

really meh?
1,211 posts

congrats on the offers. for her that is.

i'd go for unsw if only for the name. luls.
onelove89
post Jan 24 2008, 09:52 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(subpar @ Jan 24 2008, 12:21 AM)
monash australia, u mean?

monash malaysia is pretty new in medicine, so if i were your friend, monash malaysia is defo a better choice.
um u mean monash aus is definitely better ^^

anyway, depends where u wanna go actually, I think if u got offered by major uni in aus for medicine, its already good enough, choose where u wanna go is really a minor thing. It's all australia xD monash and UNSW are top quality unis =) so i think, *I think* it comes down to u whether u wanna study in melbourne or in sydney.

monash U offers 5 years undergrad course so it'll be cheaper oso. =) if your friend wanna save some, i think monash should be good. Saves up 1 year and 1 year costs like 42k aus in tuition fee itself.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Jan 24 2008, 09:53 AM
TSevilhomura89
post Jan 24 2008, 12:33 PM

5,886 posts

actually the monash one is offered by the sunway campus
but they'll hav a chance to transfer to melbourne at their last semester
chris_c28
post Jan 24 2008, 01:14 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jan 24 2008, 12:33 PM)
Then definitely UNSW if you can afford it.
limeuu
post Jan 24 2008, 06:05 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jan 24 2008, 12:33 PM)
i was wondering how you friend got into monash clayton, as the places are usually given out very early, usually mid year the preceding year, to eligible candidates, especially a-levels/stpm graduates.........so that explains it....

please note, monash malaysia mbbs is NOT an oz degree, but a malaysian degree, but recognised by the amc.........it does not give you the automatic right to work in oz.........and there is NO chance to 'transfer' to clayton, all students need a compulsory 3 months attachment there as part of the amc requirements, and there may be opportunity for a 1 or 2 semester exchange with the clayton campus in the last 2 years.........but you will graduate with mbbs from malaysia, and will NOT satisfy oz immigration rules for post-graduation work in oz (2 full years study on shore)...........

p/s what was you friend's ter score?

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jan 24 2008, 06:06 PM
TSevilhomura89
post Jan 24 2008, 10:12 PM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 24 2008, 06:05 PM)
i was wondering how you friend got into monash clayton, as the places are usually given out very early, usually mid year the preceding year, to eligible candidates, especially a-levels/stpm graduates.........so that explains it....

please note, monash malaysia mbbs is NOT an oz degree, but a malaysian degree, but recognised by the amc.........it does not give you the automatic right to work in oz.........and there is NO chance to 'transfer' to clayton, all students need a compulsory 3 months attachment there as part of the amc requirements, and there may be opportunity for a 1 or 2 semester exchange with the clayton campus in the last 2 years.........but you will graduate with mbbs from malaysia, and will NOT satisfy oz immigration rules for post-graduation work in oz (2 full years study on shore)...........

p/s what was you friend's ter score?
it's known as UAI for us cause v taking NSW HSC
hers is 92.65 i think
limeuu
post Jan 25 2008, 12:05 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Jan 24 2008, 10:12 PM)
it's known as UAI for us cause v taking NSW HSC
hers is 92.65 i think
it is called different names in different states, ter, uai, enter, op......

92 is very low for acceptance into medicine.....the cut off for consideration into unsw for international students is 97.....you are either mistaken, or there is special considerations, like using the unsw foundation, where the cut off is lower.......
timjim
post Jan 25 2008, 06:06 PM

183 posts

I know some few friends studying in monash australia. They said it is pretty good cause it is only 5 years course.

Checking the ranking as well for medicine course. I believe monash is doing better. Back to Monash Malaysia. It is still new, so give more time for it to be a better established school. tongue.gif

0.0174sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:48 PM