4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS 300D/350D/400D/450D, Go Rebellionz - V2!, DigitalRebel XT/XTi/XSi/KISS Territory!

Shoot@M3
post Feb 26 2008, 01:00 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Wow nice!
Been asking for prices for this as well (9 days.. hmmm)
Your price is really cheap! I have a friend interested to get as well! Will pm him asap
Btw bro, I need to get the package for 4-slot quick charger with 4AA pcs eneloop batt, how much is that? Tax free price?
How soon should we let u know?

thx bro

QUOTE(myjunk @ Feb 25 2008, 11:15 PM)
Dudes all, I'm about to get some new batteries. Both AA and AAA sized and after reading forums etc, I'm think I'll be getting the Sanyo Eneloop batteries

Amazon.com prices - 9.67 4pcs (AA) 14.99 4pcs (AAA)
I'll likely get 8 AA + 4 AAA, anyone want to tumpang the shipment? (++ service charge from me lah ++ Shipping (USA/Msia)) But should be guarantee lower priced than what you can find in LY / Shashinki.

Let me know ASAP as I need to place the order fast, so that it will reach me before I head back to M'sia. (up to 9 days shipping)
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Feb 26 2008, 01:01 AM
Shoot@M3
post Feb 26 2008, 01:34 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

icic, yeah good point! actually from the site, there is 2 models to choose from, one of which supports 240V but seems that model comes with 2 slot AA charger and 2 slot AAA charger. I don't need AAA
If you can find out more on how to choose the correct model, do let me know the price

thx
QUOTE(myjunk @ Feb 26 2008, 01:13 AM)
According to Amazon, it's listed at 22.99, but I don't think you will want that. I read that since it's bought from the US, it's only 110V capable, not 240V so you will also need to get a transformer/upconverter (actually it's something which I already have ~Rm30+ from Jln Pasar) and it's also a slow charger. ~7 hours++. Up to you.

How soon? Well, ASAP. But I plan to order it latest My Wednesday(Your Thursday). Should be Tax Free I believe. (My Canon Bag was also tax free from Amazon)
Shoot@M3
post Feb 26 2008, 01:50 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Lol ok no prob
Will ask my fren tomorrow see whether he wants it too (only battery)
thx
QUOTE(myjunk @ Feb 26 2008, 01:42 AM)
It's called MQN06, and if you look closely, it's not 2 AA and 2 AAA, it's dual lah.. meaning, either you fit in 4 AAA or 4AA or 2AA, 2AAA vice versa.
But this package is only offered as 110V one, which is the MQN05. You're out of luck.

BTW, I'm buying this using _my_ own money 1st, no upfront payment from you needed. So, would prefer not to buy it w/ the charger in case you don't want it and I end up with it. (besides, it's easier for me to re-sell it as well)
Shoot@M3
post Feb 27 2008, 05:11 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

anyone knows where i can get the lens hood for different size of lens diameter size?
I thot i saw this before in photo malaysia. somehow lost the thread
sweat.gif
Shoot@M3
post Feb 27 2008, 09:42 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hehe I don't think can find DigiColor here at my place KK, Sabah
It's ok, cos someone already pm me regarding this

thx
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2008, 09:05 PM)
go DigiColor lor
Shoot@M3
post Feb 29 2008, 12:43 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Thanks! this is the kind of guide I need thumbup.gif

QUOTE(davidmak @ Feb 28 2008, 10:39 AM)
No need get the original one. Cause all of them looks the same you can't tell the difference at all. I bought my omnibounce from MITMIVEC RM50+ for a replica China made version. Used for few months and it doesn't turn brown or whatever. Maybe not enough UV/sunlight exposure. Haha! But it works effectively. So no need to waste the additional RM30 for a piece of plastic.

Yeah, flash does have a steep learning curve. I struggled also when I got my 430EX. Let me help you with this: Go to http://planetneil.com/tangents/ and learn up the articles regarding controlling flash and balancing it with ambient light. It'll give you a rough idea on how to use flash.

Take note that, all the picture modes including Av and Tv utilize the external flash as fill-in mode only. In other words, they will work the same as if there is not flash attached, but now the flash works to fill in your subject only (good for daylight). In low light situations, your shutter speed will still drop and cause motion blur. The 400D has a custom function to set the Av mode to fixed shutter speed of 1/200 (sync speed). Usable but defeats the purpose of complete control.

Basically, we use the external flash in Manual (M) or P mode. This is where you can play around with shutter speeds, aperture and ISO, etc and the TTL flash will compensate. This is where it will act as the main source of light. Good for bouncing and stuffs. This is how I used mine:

1. Examine the subject and determine an appropriate aperture so that everything will be in focus and sharp. Identify ISO too.
2. Set to Av with the desired aperture and meter a few spots to check the shutter speed readings. If too low, you calculate the next best shutter speed where you can prevent camera shake (this is better if you got IS).
3. Set to M and dial in your A, T, ISO, etc.
4. Set camera metering to Average and set flash to Average TTL (from within 400D custom function)
5. Set external flash compensation to +1/3 to +2/3. (depending on your preference)
6. Identify for best bounce angle. Look at walls, or use diffusers, etc (depending on your preference)
7. Shoot away.
8. You can change any of the settings on the fly and the flash will always compensate. Watch the meter on the viewfinder closely to see how far you have deviate from standard exposure. Use it as a guide.

Mr. Neil (from his website) uses the following to control flash with ambient.

T = Use to expose the ambient and background (determines motion too)
A = Use to expose the subject and depth of field (sometimes flash is too hot on subjects, reducing aperture will expose it properly)
ISO = Use to expose the ambient and background (determines noise too)
FEV = Flash compensation
Flash = Use to artificially 'freeze' the subject

I know this sounds like a bunch of bull. I can't understand it either at first. But as I got around with experience, it kinda works together now.

Hope it helps.

P/S: Don't worry about noise or shy to go ISO1600. You can do noise reduction later. A good program to try is Noise Ninja. PM me for details. Others are welcome also.
Shoot@M3
post Mar 7 2008, 03:35 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

My OEM canon bag is now too small to fit my lenses and body.. sigh
Really would like to try the tammy 17-55 f2.8
Poisoned!

Added on March 7, 2008, 3:37 pmWhere the fungus at? Inside the lens body ah? sweat.gif

QUOTE(HKNP @ Mar 7 2008, 02:39 PM)
Fungus alert..zzz
bad luck falls on my 50mm..zzzz i spotted fungus...
ah... (all the bad words, cursing words)....
If still in warraty.. can bring back to service centre a
Wah, really can open up? need special tools?
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 7 2008, 03:23 PM)
Dare to open yourself? 50-50 mixture of hydrogen peroxide and ammonia to remove the fungus. tongue.gif
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 7 2008, 03:37 PM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 7 2008, 09:22 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

eh paiseh paiseh type too fast without thinking lol
yep 17-50 poison!!
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 7 2008, 05:47 PM)
Tammy is 17-50mm f2.8 la. 17-55mm f2.8 is for Canon smile.gif
Why not 70-200mm f2.8 L?
sweat.gif My lens are low budget but still scare to open, but so far so good, hope it stays that way
thx for the tip
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 7 2008, 06:02 PM)
Requirements:
1) Small philips screwdriver
2) Hydrogen peroxide and ammonia
3) Not a faint-hearted person
4) Must be ready to accept a dead lens

Lol.. Basically, just send it back to Canon unless it's a invaluable lens, just open it and have some fun. For cheap lens, the repair cost may exceed the value of the lens. Moreover, there is no guarantee that the lens can be repaired; depends whether the fungus has eaten into the element and glass.

To avoid fungus,
1) use drybox
2) use silica gel
3) bring your camera and lens out frequently

Fungus usually occur when the lens is seldom used. biggrin.gif

Added on March 7, 2008, 6:04 pm
Not cheap enough. tongue.gif
Shoot@M3
post Mar 9 2008, 10:51 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Crap! Took lots of picture for our Line Dancing today....
plugged the mem card into card reader and noticed I lost kinda a lot pictures!!!
What happened??? Have you guys experienced this before on 400D?

Someone mentioned before, file format used when format in your camera and also format in PC is different. Could this be the cause to lose of data?
Shoot@M3
post Mar 9 2008, 11:34 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Well, my card is CF 2GB, I really dunno what happen, and this is not the first time for me
Really bad lah. arghhhhhhhhhhhhh
I did noticed during the problematic ones... after snap, it says "busy"... for quite some time, next thing I know I lost 1hour and half of my picturesss!!!!
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 12:02 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

haihh really terrible, first event shoot for me turned out like this
Really wan to understand the problem so can prevent this from happening in the future.
The last time I got my first card reader... it turned out to be defect! Went back and exchanged... dunno if it is the card reader prob
My card is still new but not sure about compatibility prob? Really sux when you prepared so long and took so many pictures (so far this is my most pic taken in a session) and just to find out.. gone!
QUOTE(valho @ Mar 9 2008, 11:37 PM)
might be something wrong with ur CF card already, or reader got problem. I been using my 2GB since i got my cam till now nvr have this problem.
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 12:06 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hmmm good suggestion, i got my cam 2nd hand and no cables and drivers but i think cable can find easily
now will try find the drivers
thx for the suggestions
oh let me check if i can still view them...
QUOTE(valho @ Mar 10 2008, 12:04 AM)
try your fren reader, or transfer direct from camera using canon software see how it goes, that can help u isolate the problem
btw can u view all the photos in the camera ?
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 10 2008, 12:12 AM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 12:26 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

@valho
seems like I can't view those pic that I can't retrieve from my card. I searched for the drivers.. i think canon site dun have the original files.. only updates for download.. sweat.gif

@mengsuan
The last time I used the card, I did format it using the camera format option itself but can't really remember whether i did delete by using the card reader. I noticed, it's best to format using the camera, cos otherwise, when you put into the cam again, some files will appear corrupted of you can still see some of the images even after you have formatted from the PC. This is really weird.
Eg. if you have downloaded your pic into the PC, you format from the PC, put back into the cam.. it WILL NOT show the correct amount of pictures that you CAN take.. then when u plug the card into the card reader, you still see images left from the PC.. even though you have not taken pictures at all!

arghhhhhhhhhhh (yeah im frustrated cos I lost my pic!!!) vmad.gif
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 10 2008, 12:16 AM)
Certain batches of CF card tend to have such problem. RMA the current card, if warranty still available or buy a new card.
Oh ya, before that, just give it a format. I wonder if your 400D has low level format option. It may work.

Added on March 10, 2008, 12:18 am
Maybe you can play around with the metering option. And maybe you could have locked the exposure towards the background and apply a tiny amount of flash instead.
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 10 2008, 12:27 AM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 12:39 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hmm suspecting it's the card or card reader prob here, really freak case
kinda hard to pinpoint the prob, well hopefully I can solve it before it gives me prob again!
thx for the advices
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 10 2008, 12:34 AM)
I don't remember seeing such problem when using the camera's SD interchangeably with my computer.
I believe that all those problem are due to crippled file allocation table. You really need to format the CF card. If it still doesn't help, that means your card is faulty.
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 04:59 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Ok thx for the link, downloaded and i will give it a try again tonite. Last resort...
I may take back my card and change with another see how first, really a waste of my shots! What to do lah

I was really playing with the 50mm f1.8 first time yesterday, liked it very much. The DOF is really nicely done, of course after few times shot and review on my pc, now i understand when to use the big opening f1.8 together with the background object distances.. and set the blurriness to the right DOF
I hope what i just said makes sense... lol .. still beginner here and hope if I made mistake, pls do correct me so i can learn more

Btw, something silly but new for me..
even if the lens says f1.8 you can adjust to smaller aperture ie.. higher value so it will fit nicely for your DOF effects
QUOTE(valho @ Mar 10 2008, 09:34 AM)
since you can't view the photos from the camera as well, most probably the CF card is faulty, if it's new just go back to the shop to claim warranty for it. or get another card to test out.

you can get the canon zoombrowser ex here, but I am not sure which version is that though, but should be good enough. coz the software comes together with the cam in a CD, i think that's why cannot download from the website, only have the updates.
Yep, will give it a try and try change the card.. arghh all the fusses... hope it will fix the prob
QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 10 2008, 09:41 AM)
Hmm... I am sorry to hear about your problem. Maybe you can try valho's suggestion of using a 'emergency card reader' software to read out the native data from the card. Last time I accidentally erased some important pictures, but I was still able to extract the deleted pictures. Some of them were destroyed beyond repair due to 'rewriting' over the physical sectors. At least I get to restore some pictures. Better than nothing.

It is common practice to do formatting once in awhile or before an important shooting. You should do the formatting from within the camera itself. I don't do formatting from the PC because of the said reasons too. It is believed that once in awhile the FAT structure will corrupt in CF cards. Anyway it also helps to buy from a reliable brand. If it is defective in the first place, this is likely the situation here. RMA it, get a new one and test it by loading it to the full and then reading it back. Just to check on information containment.
I noticed with my built-in flash, when shooting continuous in Manual mode, it can't really do a continuous shoot, I guess this is when the external flash comes in handy too...
poison!!!
QUOTE(mykomputer @ Mar 10 2008, 02:33 PM)
I tried continuous shooting with my Nissin. I shoot 10 continuous shots. It managed to cope with that.
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 05:23 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

cry.gif cry.gif
Dun poison me liao, now the flash is really tempting me lol
btw, I dun think I can join u all that soon cos I'm KK, Sabah cry.gif
Well, just need to organise my own trip! hehe icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(valho @ Mar 10 2008, 05:15 PM)
of course all lens can use wide open or smaller aperture, 50mm f/1.8 works best a f/2 above and shaperness peak at f/5.6 and above. so depending on what  you are shooting and the distance between you and the subject, you can choose the appropritae aperture smile.gif. the best way to do this is just like what you did, shoot at different aperture and see the result

yup built-in flash doesn't recycle fast enough for continous shooting, and it also use up your battery faster. An external flash will always be better than the built-in flash, join us on our next outing for flash poison hehe biggrin.gif
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 05:30 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

ic that explains a lot
now i just need... a flashgun! to try out for myself arghhh
"scratching walls, hoping got $$ comes out"

wow, now I really understand more about the DOF thingy.. thx
QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 10 2008, 05:19 PM)
Its normal because it has a safely mechanism to protect the built-in flash head. Continuous flashing will usually increase the temperature of the element. So the system will not let you flash continuously indefinitely due to these reasons. The same applies for external flash too. But external flashes will have a larger tolerances for such torture. If you shoot in the hot afternoon with direct sunlight, the external flash will cease to fire also.

Added on March 10, 2008, 5:23 pm

Yup! The EF50mm F1.8 when stopped down slightly is the best and goes all the way to F5.6. But of course you loose a little bit of DOF by going 2-5.6. Also notice that if you do 1.8 and you stand close to the subject and focus onto the eyes. At some point, the eyes would be in focus but the rest of it will be in DOF. Hahaha! Very funny one. So the point is, you need to stand further a bit so that the effective DOF is usable. But standing away effectively makes framing with the 50mm less tight. Unless you reduce aperture and go closer to prevent the DOF problem.

That is why those 85L and 135L is useful here. Hahahaha! Finally I understand why TheVOIP and D-SKY prefers such primes focal lengths. Do correct me if I was wrong though. This is strictly personal observation.
It's in my plans brows.gif
err i mean the photo outing organising, not the prime lenses! sweat.gif
QUOTE(valho @ Mar 10 2008, 05:25 PM)
for cheaper alternative to the 85mm f/1.2 and 135 f/2 get a 85mm f/1.8 hehe not bad also or like me use a 100mm f/2.8 macro lens can macro and portrait lol

aiseh so far, form your own photogs group there loh, thn can test each other gears

Added on March 10, 2008, 5:42 pmcome come more active so can open V3 cool2.gif
Keep it coming all..
QUOTE(matt2001 @ Mar 10 2008, 05:14 PM)
when is V3 coming??
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 10 2008, 05:43 PM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 10:38 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

I guess prolly RM2200 for body and RM2500 with kit lens
I have kit lens, prolly wana sell off tongue.gif

Btw @valho, mengsuan and davidmak, thx for the advices, I didn't give up and tried with a software called "On Track"...
Yesterday nite i did a scandisk and today i used that software, it saved all the *.chk files (which was not there before) and when i renamed it back to *.jpg, it's saved!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Mar 10 2008, 09:02 PM)
How much would a 400D be right now? with lense kit. smile.gif
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 10 2008, 10:39 PM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 10 2008, 11:19 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

waycome waycome hehe
keep on snapping!
QUOTE(convicted_knight @ Mar 10 2008, 11:02 PM)
400D + EF-S 18-55 kit newbie here.... Hehehe....
Hope can learn more here than from my classroom...  laugh.gif
Shoot@M3
post Mar 12 2008, 12:29 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

I got the 3rd party remote (wireless)
Very nifty gadget, but this model suits all kinds of prosumer as well as DSLR so I got it at rm50
Few weeks back I found there are other models supporting only Canon and can get it for less than RM30 where someone selling it.

Problem is I forgot where I saw the cheaper one(only support canon DSLR)

But for my version, search for a member "petunia"
He sells this and I did COD with him before cos we both same place smile.gif
QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Mar 12 2008, 12:03 PM)
Fellas, how much is a remote and where can I get it? I want to shoot something remotely *grins*

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0421sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:03 PM