Why choose Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8?, and not Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5?

TSxavierchan
post Jan 22 2008, 02:54 PM, updated 18y ago

Ultraman has turned to the DarkSide™
1,266 posts

Guys, wondering why most of the people will choose Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 instead of Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5?

Which one will you choose? and what is the reason behind?

Both lenses overview...

This post has been edited by xavierchan: Nov 25 2008, 09:17 AM
aero99
post Jan 22 2008, 03:04 PM

581 posts

i like tamron f2.8 fix aperture myself~mean it can be f2.8 from 17mm to 50mm while sigma not able to do so ...
ixiel
post Jan 22 2008, 03:07 PM

152 posts

good post..
vladimir
post Jan 22 2008, 03:10 PM

MYHYPERSTORE ONLINE TRADER
639 posts

aiyo...no need create wan biggrin.gif

answer already listed.

CONSTANT 2.8 and NON CONSTANT 2.8 APEATURE!

Tamron zoom until 50mm still f2.8

whereas Sigma nope. Zoom until 50-70mm its F4.5. No large apeature.
Mavik
post Jan 22 2008, 03:16 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Tamron, why? For the F/2.8 constant aperture which is extremely useful during low light.
aero99
post Jan 22 2008, 03:16 PM

581 posts

but then ppl who like macro will get sigma as it come with a macro mode~
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 22 2008, 03:22 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

sigma also have a f2.8 constant aperture lens smile.gif I'd go for that over the tammy smile.gif and its the same zoom range as the 18-50mm, except for the extra 1mm on the wider end the tammy have
derek87
post Jan 22 2008, 03:33 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

I think i'll go for tammy, can easily replace the 50mm 1.8 II when u wanna shoot bokeh. but... i wont buy this tammy. =) coz i have another lens in mind. hahaha...
R a D ! c 4 L
post Jan 22 2008, 03:37 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

^17-40L? 16-35 f2.8 II L? brows.gif
mrmerell
post Jan 22 2008, 03:41 PM

36 posts

wow! now i know tke tamron fix 2.8 even 50mm ... thanks guys ... i thought i want to buy sigma 17-70 ...
TSxavierchan
post Jan 22 2008, 03:51 PM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 22 2008, 03:33 PM)
I think i'll go for tammy, can easily replace the 50mm 1.8 II when u wanna shoot bokeh. but... i wont buy this tammy. =) coz i have another lens in mind. hahaha...
what other lens in your mind? brows.gif

QUOTE(mrmerell @ Jan 22 2008, 03:41 PM)
wow! now i know tke tamron fix 2.8 even 50mm ... thanks guys ... i thought i want to buy sigma 17-70 ...
lol... so now you know... actually same to me as well... because I was asking this to vladimir, but I don't want to hear his words... whistling.gif you know la, taukeh sure tell you apa pun good one ma, right?
harrychoo
post Jan 22 2008, 04:26 PM

3,589 posts

Sickma build turn me off
nairud
post Jan 22 2008, 04:37 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Sigma's coating on the lens is a big turn off for me when it starts to peel
vincent_audio
post Jan 22 2008, 04:53 PM

1,161 posts

tamron, because of constant aperture

price wise, i think the tamron is cheaper.
clemong_888
post Jan 22 2008, 05:30 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

d tammy is cheaper than sigma's offerings but no hsm. so i guess i depends on your usage.
mindkiller6610
post Jan 22 2008, 05:39 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

how about the nikkor vs sigma vs tamron ?

and canon vs sigma vs tamron ?

i heard for canon / nikkor still the best, just the price is higher for the same features
izzit true ?

This post has been edited by mindkiller6610: Jan 22 2008, 05:40 PM
clemong_888
post Jan 22 2008, 05:41 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

nikon has the better build, maybe better optics(subjective) and a higher price.
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 05:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Sigma coating is damn nice to hold but not nice when peel. mine not yet peel. hehe. Let's see how long it takes to peel.

anyway should compare the Tam 17-50 f2.8 with http://www.sigmaphoto.com/lenses/lenses_al...320&navigator=6

AFAIK the Sigma is more costly.
timothyy
post Jan 22 2008, 05:59 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 22 2008, 04:37 PM)
Sigma's coating on the lens is a big turn off for me when it starts to peel
I used to have a sigma lens before on my E500 Olympus (55-200).
Not good one. The rubberish feel is yucky as it feels like sticky but powedery.

But I still choose Sigma here as I am looking for Macro lens... thatsall...
TSxavierchan
post Jan 22 2008, 06:00 PM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 22 2008, 05:48 PM)
Sigma coating is damn nice to hold but not nice when peel. mine not yet peel. hehe. Let's see how long it takes to peel.

anyway should compare the Tam 17-50 f2.8 with http://www.sigmaphoto.com/lenses/lenses_al...320&navigator=6

AFAIK the Sigma is more costly.
how much difference between 17mm and 18mm? unsure.gif
goldfries
post Jan 22 2008, 06:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

preference la. i like the Sigma's feel. hehe. of course i don't buy because of the feel la but it's still nice.
vincent_audio
post Jan 22 2008, 06:13 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Jan 22 2008, 05:39 PM)
how about the nikkor vs sigma vs tamron ?

and canon vs sigma vs tamron ?

i heard for canon / nikkor still the best, just the price is higher for the same features
izzit true ?
nikkor 17-50 f2.8 sharp... but cost around RM 3K... almost double the price of the tammy
TSxavierchan
post Jan 22 2008, 06:17 PM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Jan 22 2008, 06:13 PM)
nikkor 17-50 f2.8 sharp... but cost around RM 3K... almost double the price of the tammy
that is why some people will prefer to get a 3rd party lens instead of that...

but if stick to the topic, is it only because Tamron has constant f/2.8 in between 17-50mm? anything else?
dx_myrddraal
post Jan 22 2008, 06:29 PM

578 posts

how much does the Tammy cost?
clemong_888
post Jan 22 2008, 06:54 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

rm1.5k or less.

a constant 2.8 is one hell of an advantage d and it's prolly sharper than the mentioned sigma lens
vladimir
post Jan 22 2008, 08:16 PM

MYHYPERSTORE ONLINE TRADER
639 posts

1 mm makes alot of differences biggrin.gif for men of course brows.gif
Mavik
post Jan 22 2008, 08:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Jan 22 2008, 06:13 PM)
Dude where do you get the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 lens for RM3k man? So cheap! shocking.gif

Most of them I see brand new even at YL Camera is around RM5k while the 2nd hand ones are around RM4.2k
timothyy
post Jan 22 2008, 08:46 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 22 2008, 08:24 PM)
Dude where do you get the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 lens for RM3k man? So cheap!  shocking.gif

Most of them I see brand new even at YL Camera is around RM5k while the 2nd hand ones are around RM4.2k
We ask him Bulk la... then we all buy... come come...
vincent_audio
post Jan 23 2008, 02:01 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 22 2008, 08:24 PM)
Dude where do you get the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 lens for RM3k man? So cheap!  shocking.gif

i think i have mistaken that with the canon 17-55 f2.8 IS sorry smile.gif this one second hand RM3K - RM3.5K
derek87
post Jan 23 2008, 06:59 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(xavierchan @ Jan 22 2008, 03:51 PM)
what other lens in your mind? brows.gif
as for me ah... two lenses in mind. one is 17~85mm F4~5.6 IS, and maybe 17~40mm f4 L gua.. cause both lens also not bad and is around the my price range.

17~85mm
pros: wider range of focal length, IS, Build of lens is good. permanent lense length(when zooming lense's length is still the same), solid touch.

cons: no hood comes along when purchase, 17mm have barrel distortion, very sharp but not super sharp like L lens. LOL.

17-40mm L
pros: it's a L lens LOLs, less barrel distortion at 17mm, EF lense can be used in full frame body in future, super sharp.

cons: short range of focal length lor, no IS.

Grr.....
valho
post Jan 23 2008, 10:33 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Jan 23 2008, 06:59 AM)
as for me ah... two lenses in mind. one is 17~85mm F4~5.6 IS, and maybe 17~40mm f4 L gua.. cause both lens also not bad and is around the my price range.

17~85mm
pros: wider range of focal length, IS, Build of lens is good. permanent lense length(when zooming lense's length is still the same), solid touch.

cons: no hood comes along when purchase, 17mm have barrel distortion, very sharp but not super sharp like L lens. LOL.

17-40mm L
pros: it's a L lens LOLs, less barrel distortion at 17mm, EF lense can be used in full frame body in future, super sharp.

cons: short range of focal length lor, no IS.

Grr.....
the 17-85 does extend when zooming, I got that lens, unless there's a another ef-s 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM lens
soulfly
post Jan 23 2008, 10:34 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(xavierchan @ Jan 22 2008, 06:17 PM)
that is why some people will prefer to get a 3rd party lens instead of that...

but if stick to the topic, is it only because Tamron has constant f/2.8 in between 17-50mm? anything else?
if you look for reviews, the Tamron above is sharp .... while the Sigma above is not sharp
TSxavierchan
post Jan 23 2008, 10:15 PM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 23 2008, 10:34 AM)
if you look for reviews, the Tamron above is sharp .... while the Sigma above is not sharp
just now tested the Tamron's one, kinda sharp as yuo mentioned... brows.gif
sooyewguan
post Jan 25 2008, 03:36 PM

427 posts

Tamron 17-50mm vs Sigma 18-50mm Macro.

Found this on a Taiwan forum, this is the english translate version:
http://209.85.135.104/translate_c?hl=en&la...tamronsigma.htm

Original source:
http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=248&t=259497
aceejay
post Nov 23 2008, 08:58 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

i've been testing this 2 lens just now and finally i bought the tamron..picture were sharp! trust me, u wont regret a thing ! haha
noprob
post Nov 23 2008, 09:02 PM

1,982 posts

tamron cheaper and constant aperture ..

QUOTE(aceejay @ Nov 23 2008, 08:58 PM)
i've been testing this 2 lens just now and finally i bought the tamron..picture were sharp! trust me, u wont regret a thing ! haha
where u got it ?
aceejay
post Nov 23 2008, 09:16 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

bought at sungei wang fotokem..near the front entrance there..sure u know one la..
Maniac
post Nov 23 2008, 09:25 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

below are my summary after playing with them for quite some while ago.

Sickma focus real fast but does not guarantee pristine image quality, tammy in the other hand, offers quality instead of focusing performances.

Nikon offers both at the cost of 3 times more expensive. Canon offers an over priced lens at this FL range.

TSxavierchan
post Nov 24 2008, 11:03 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(aceejay @ Nov 23 2008, 08:58 PM)
QUOTE(Maniac @ Nov 23 2008, 09:25 PM)

Sickma focus real fast but does not guarantee pristine image quality, tammy in the other hand, offers quality instead of focusing performances.

Nikon offers both at the cost of 3 times more expensive.  Canon offers an over priced lens at this FL range.
somehow, I only hear Nikon users said it is sharp and not Canon... Because so far I am using it as my main lens, but, I don't think it is really sharp enough like a lot of people saying how sharp it is and etc etc...

Can any Canon user clarify this? For me, it is not sharp, but soft...
darthbaboon
post Nov 24 2008, 11:17 AM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

Reading the topic's title my first thought was.... "When in the world did Sigma release a 17-70mm f2.8 constant aperture lens"

The second thought was "How come I haven't heard of it" tongue.gif

The answer is plain for me at least : Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 for the constant aperture.
vikingw2k
post Nov 24 2008, 11:23 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Nikon offers both at the cost of 3 times more expensive.  Canon offers an over priced lens at this FL range.
You forgot something. Canon offers both and on top of that the only 17-55 which comes with IS smile.gif

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Nov 24 2008, 11:24 AM
Maniac
post Nov 24 2008, 12:03 PM

5,938 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Nov 24 2008, 11:23 AM)
You forgot something. Canon offers both and on top of that the only 17-55 which comes with IS smile.gif
yeap, its still an overpriced lens tongue.gif

the IS at this FL is not necessary and the for the price, the image quality is nothing to boast about. If tamron can make it so cheap and yet still kicking ass in the image quality why can't them at least come close.

somehow, I only hear Nikon users said it is sharp and not Canon

i tested with D70 & D200, on D70 it is pristine sharp while at D200, the lens obviously does not have as good resolved power compare to my N17-55. On canon, I tested it with 400D & 40D, and I notice the edge sharpness is not as distinctive as nikon variant, the Canon jpeg need a minor sharpening, but then it still obviously sharper than the C17-55IS. You might wan to test whether ur C Body having mis focus issue with the lens as usual.

p/s: i personally own some of the lenses or have access to it anytime to came to the conclusion. Not sit at home reading from INTERNET biggrin.gif

Vincent Pang
post Nov 24 2008, 12:09 PM

1,764 posts

i wouldn't agree on tammy offering good quality. I'm using one, and I would say if budget allows I will take the 17-40 f4L or the 17-55 f2.8 IS anytime. The tammy is sharp, but the colour is abit bluish (can easily be fixed in photoshop) and the bokeh is not smooth and edgy.

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Nov 24 2008, 11:17 AM)
Reading the topic's title my first thought was.... "When in the world did Sigma release a 17-70mm f2.8 constant aperture lens"

The second thought was "How come I haven't heard of it"  tongue.gif

The answer is plain for me at least : Tammy 17-50mm f2.8 for the constant aperture.
Sigma has release the 18-50 f2.8, but i will take the Tammy because it's slightly sharper smile.gif
Maniac
post Nov 24 2008, 12:14 PM

5,938 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Nov 24 2008, 12:09 PM)
i wouldn't agree on tammy offering good quality. I'm using one, and I would say if budget allows I will take the 17-40 f4L or the 17-55 f2.8 IS anytime. The tammy is sharp, but the colour is abit bluish (can easily be fixed in photoshop) and the bokeh is not smooth and  edgy.
Sigma has release the 18-50 f2.8, but i will take the Tammy because it's slightly sharper smile.gif

I agreed on the 1740L offering much better value but not the 17-55IS, as for the bokeh, very subjective loh. majority of my clients are not die hard creamy bokeh lovers. As for the bluish, can easily fixed by WB adjustment or Hue adjustment lah.

the Sigma 18-50 is an very old lens, much pricier and not anything worth to boast about. I wouldnot mind using the 18-70 as a travel lens. still the only option that has a reasonably wide FL and offer 2.8-4.

Vincent Pang
post Nov 24 2008, 12:42 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Nov 24 2008, 12:03 PM)
i tested with D70 & D200, on D70 it is pristine sharp while at D200, the lens obviously does not have as good resolved power compare to my N17-55.  On canon, I tested it with 400D & 40D, and I notice the edge sharpness is not as distinctive as nikon variant, the Canon jpeg need a minor sharpening, but then it still obviously sharper than the C17-55IS.  You might wan to test whether ur C Body having mis focus issue with the lens as usual.
p/s: i personally own some of the lenses or have access to it anytime to came to the conclusion.  Not sit at home reading from INTERNET biggrin.gif
given the over killing price of almost double the nikon cost over tamron, i don't think the nikon has double the sharpness of tamron or perform anywhere twice the better than the tamron.

the sigma 18-50 f2.8 is not that old, launch July 2004. The nikon 17-55 f2.8 is even older, launch July 2003.
Maniac
post Nov 24 2008, 12:50 PM

5,938 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Nov 24 2008, 12:42 PM)
given the over killing price of almost double the nikon cost over tamron, i don't think the nikon has double the sharpness of tamron or perform anywhere twice the better than the tamron.

the sigma 18-50 f2.8 is not that old, launch July 2004. The nikon 17-55 f2.8 is even older, launch July 2003.
cheers i dint say the N is cheap tongue.gif my 1st post already say the N is expensive. I also dint say N17-55 is newer than S1850.

My points is, for budget usage the T is worth the price while if u got the money to burn, go for the N if u use F mount lah of coz.
For canon, budget is still the T, but better options would be the C1740 rather than the C1755.
Vincent Pang
post Nov 24 2008, 01:01 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Nov 24 2008, 12:50 PM)
cheers i dint say the N is cheap tongue.gif  my 1st post already say the N is expensive.  I also dint say N17-55 is newer than S1850. 
My points is, for budget usage the T is worth the price while if u got the money to burn, go for the N if u use F mount lah of coz.
For canon, budget is still the T, but better options would be the C1740 rather than the C1755.
cheers smile.gif

i'm just looking at every single aspect, be it Canon, Nikon, Sigma or Tamron. Sharing with others what I know and don't hide the truth from others the brand being 'whoreship'. That is just so immature and fanboy. I'm sure you are not smile.gif

This post has been edited by Vincent Pang: Nov 24 2008, 01:01 PM
Maniac
post Nov 24 2008, 01:16 PM

5,938 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Nov 24 2008, 01:01 PM)
cheers smile.gif

i'm just looking at every single aspect, be it Canon, Nikon, Sigma or Tamron. Sharing with others what I know and don't hide the truth from others the brand being 'whoreship'. That is just so immature and fanboy. I'm sure you are not smile.gif
Worshiping rocks! At least it made a lot of persons felt great after paying luxury for gears tongue.gif

Don't worry I am not fanboy, i uses both C & N day in and day out. I find that most of the time, my C have problem on the focusing accuracy rather then the lens fault. If time permit, MF can get much better sharpness from the C lenses.

wub.gif
mindkiller6610
post Nov 24 2008, 01:33 PM

IT-Motion : Your Digital Solutions
2,477 posts

some users told me the tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 's AF is slow on D40..

i havent got a chance to try it out.

This lens is in my wishlist as well.. so many lenses to buy.. lol..
ALaInM
post Nov 24 2008, 04:59 PM

430 posts

no need to argue....

i owned 17-40 f4L, tamron 17-50mm f2.8 ( previously ), both lens are sharp!

18-50 mm ... i have no idea..

17-70mm i also no idea..

but any lens can take good picture with smart skill.. :-)
Vincent Pang
post Nov 24 2008, 05:11 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(ALaInM @ Nov 24 2008, 04:59 PM)
no need to argue....

i owned 17-40 f4L, tamron 17-50mm  f2.8 ( previously ), both lens are sharp!

18-50 mm ... i have no idea..

17-70mm i also no idea..

but any lens can take good picture with smart skill.. :-)
if both lens are sharp, no need to buy 17-40 f4 L, but buy 17-50 f2.8, cheaper, longer, faster (f2.8), slightly slower focus (no USM)... why spend the extra bucks on 17-40 f4 L
nairud
post Nov 24 2008, 05:24 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Tammy 17-50 focusing speed is a no go when compared to C and N's of the same range.

Shooting weddings is one hell of a job with the T17-50 when there are shots you want to shoot but it just doesnt focus in time when the moment has passed. the built-in motor and non motorized version also has some diff in focusing speed. screw drived focusing is slightly faster than the built in motor
peterscm
post Nov 24 2008, 05:51 PM

388 posts

I choose Tammy for it f2.8 from back to front and sharpness.

and it is true the auto focus is not fast enough.
ALaInM
post Nov 24 2008, 06:05 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Nov 24 2008, 05:11 PM)
if both lens are sharp, no need to buy 17-40 f4 L, but buy 17-50 f2.8, cheaper, longer, faster (f2.8), slightly slower focus (no USM)... why spend the extra bucks on 17-40 f4 L
Because i find out that i mostly use F4 and above to shot my picture. besides that, i want the USM and better built lens. So i went for 17-40L.

Vincent Pang
post Nov 24 2008, 06:32 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(ALaInM @ Nov 24 2008, 06:05 PM)
Because i find out that i mostly use F4 and above to shot my picture. besides that, i want the USM and better built lens. So i went for 17-40L.

that's why ler smile.gif now u understand we were not arguing, but merely discussing and sharing the pro and con of the lenses smile.gif sure got some reason why you buy that lens over the other.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Nov 24 2008, 10:38 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

there's the sigma 18-50 f2.8 what.
Andy0625
post Nov 24 2008, 10:42 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

I really wonder why Tokina never popular in Malaysia.
Their built quality are top-notch and yet it's wider than T1750mm aswell.

If I have the budget for sure I'll go for Tokina as the built is compareable to Nikkor ones.
gigigatgat
post Nov 24 2008, 10:53 PM

30 posts

i find having a large aperture will certainly beat focal length anyday. onw good example of such cameras would be the lx 3 with a aperture of 2.0 but this comes with a sacrifece that is 2.5x zoom. its again the same thing here as i woult opt for a larger aperture over focal length
TSxavierchan
post Nov 25 2008, 09:15 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Nov 24 2008, 12:03 PM)
yeap, its still an overpriced lens tongue.gif

the IS at this FL is not necessary and the for the price, the image quality is nothing to boast about.  If tamron can make it so cheap and yet still kicking ass in the image quality why can't them at least come close.
i tested with D70 & D200, on D70 it is pristine sharp while at D200, the lens obviously does not have as good resolved power compare to my N17-55.  On canon, I tested it with 400D & 40D, and I notice the edge sharpness is not as distinctive as nikon variant, the Canon jpeg need a minor sharpening, but then it still obviously sharper than the C17-55IS.  You might wan to test whether ur C Body having mis focus issue with the lens as usual.
p/s: i personally own some of the lenses or have access to it anytime to came to the conclusion.  Not sit at home reading from INTERNET biggrin.gif
Bro, actually I have tested on a few Canon's bodies... 350D, 400D, 30D and 40D... the image quality seems about the same... ya, on 30D and 40D, it is slightly better, but still, I don't see it is really sharp at all... ya, maybe I am too particular? lol!

At 1st, I thought I got a bad copy of Tamron lens, so I tested my friend's 17-50, it seems the same...

Actually my question is, on Canon's body, is Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 is really sharper than any other Canon lenses? wink.gif sigh...
vikingw2k
post Nov 25 2008, 09:18 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Nov 24 2008, 10:42 PM)
I really wonder why Tokina never popular in Malaysia.
Their built quality are top-notch and yet it's wider than T1750mm aswell.

If I have the budget for sure I'll go for Tokina as the built is compareable to Nikkor ones.
If you have the budget might as well go for Nikkor 17-55mm f2.8 or the 24-70mm f2.8 biggrin.gif

nairud
post Nov 25 2008, 09:25 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Nov 25 2008, 09:18 AM)
If you have the budget might as well go for Nikkor 17-55mm f2.8 or the 24-70mm f2.8 biggrin.gif
which is why i'm looking for one since i helped my friend cover his wedding and the outcome is not so favourable with T17-50. SWM ftw thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nairud: Nov 25 2008, 09:25 AM
vikingw2k
post Nov 25 2008, 09:30 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Nov 25 2008, 09:25 AM)
which is why i'm looking for one since i helped my friend cover his wedding and the outcome is not so favourable with T17-50. SWM ftw thumbup.gif
Means you are hunting for 17-55mm or the 24-70? brows.gif

Get 24-70 la. You still can utilize it if you switch over to D700
SUSabang
post Nov 27 2008, 10:39 AM

Abang Familia
2,078 posts

how much a 17-70 sigma street price? interested... f4.5 but sharp its ok for me..
travis_ckf
post Dec 24 2008, 03:32 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

I now hunting for a F2.8 lens for next year KLIMS. Hence should i go for a Tammy 17-50 or Sigma 24-70, since both almost priced the same?

I would want some sharpness to surpass my bread and butter lens Sigma 18-200 as well as some decent bokeh. I did tried Tammy and the bokeh n colors are just nice. Not sure about 24-70.

KTCY
post Dec 24 2008, 03:47 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Dec 24 2008, 03:32 AM)
I now hunting for a F2.8 lens for next year KLIMS. Hence should i go for a Tammy 17-50 or Sigma 24-70, since both almost priced the same?

I would want some sharpness to surpass my bread and butter lens Sigma 18-200 as well as some decent bokeh. I did tried Tammy and the bokeh n colors are just nice. Not sure about 24-70.
What's your budget ? If budget allow, why not Nikkor 17-55 f/2.8 ? smile.gif
travis_ckf
post Dec 24 2008, 03:56 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 24 2008, 03:47 AM)
What's your budget ? If budget allow, why not Nikkor 17-55 f/2.8 ? smile.gif
Definery not above 2k leh sweat.gif

One thing to point that tamron 17-50 f2.8 may be the most popular F2.8 lens but it is also slow in focusing and QC issues emerged as my fren had a problemtic one.

I would need some reviews for the sigma 24-70 as well. I quit fond with sigma since i using its 18-200 now.
Sp00kY
post Dec 24 2008, 01:53 PM

3,366 posts

Im looking at 17-70 as well...!!
Radeon
post Dec 24 2008, 01:57 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

imba thread
should be compared with sigma 18-50 f2.8 only equal mah
art806
post Dec 24 2008, 09:25 PM

115 posts

Was looking for tammy 17-50 but now the price has gone up about
RM300... What's the sigma price?
mybiebie
post Dec 24 2008, 10:22 PM

1,419 posts

looks like tamron the clear winner here....maybe my next buy if have extra cash....ha..ha...
camedemac
post Dec 25 2008, 12:19 AM

954 posts

different level. should compare with sigma 18-50
and i still prefer tamron 17-50 f2.8 bcoz its cheaper and f2.8 at any focal length

yet still prefer nikkor/canon but the price?

Sp00kY
post Dec 26 2008, 07:30 AM

3,366 posts

anyone knows the price of 17-70?
mohdsh
post Dec 26 2008, 08:27 AM

56 posts

Any comment on the SIGMA LENS 70-200mm 70-200 , F2.8, EX DG HSM MACRO for my D300 and pairing with my Nikkor 17-55 F2.8??

How much selling in KL??
albnok
post Dec 26 2008, 03:58 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

The Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 can focus closer than any other lens and get 1:2.3x maximum magnification.

Do you remember how you had digicams with super macro modes? This feels like it. You can go REALLY close to something at the 17mm end! You can really touch the flowers with your lens! You can put your lens against a computer screen!

Of course, if you want F2.8 at 50mm then the Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 is cheaper. I cannot comment on the sharpness compared to the 17-50mm but the 17-70mm is sharp.

The Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 comes with a Tamron micro-motor in the Canon and Nikon versions (so it sounds like a Transformer buzzing inside.) The Sony and Pentax versions are screw-driven and they are a lot quieter, but not as quiet as a Canon USM or Nikkor SWM.

0.0600sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:54 PM