QUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Oct 3 2008, 12:01 AM)
Some owner did try the RCA female and removal of the capacitor situated beside the RCA female The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!
The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!
Oct 3 2008, 12:14 AM
1,359 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Oct 3 2008, 12:01 AM) Some owner did try the RCA female and removal of the capacitor situated beside the RCA female |
Oct 3 2008, 12:16 AM
143 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Johor, Malaysia |
If i get adventurous enough I might try the whole mod after my A levels
Oct 3 2008, 08:46 AM
571 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: 221B Baker Street |
QUOTE(eddylws @ Sep 29 2008, 06:14 PM) I am not sure cause i have no change to try on teh ZERO DAC, but i believe the ZERO DAC still can improve a lot by changing the some of the caps. This the front of the PCB i not yet complete the mod waiting the parts to arrived one thing i dun like about the ZERO DAC is because of the ZERO DAC it using a single unit OPA output. If it can make it 2 OPA output that is much better. This is all my opinion. Eddy Lim Added on September 29, 2008, 6:18 pm can you take back and front of the PCB. i have the PCB drill but not dare to do hehehe ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by abel: Oct 3 2008, 08:57 AM |
Oct 3 2008, 07:45 PM
1,630 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Oct 3 2008, 12:16 AM) If i get adventurous enough I might try the whole mod after my A levels Yes. Mod is fun. After Mod, the ZERO DAC can surprise. it is very interesting about ZERO mod. even small mod can bring quite some improvement. |
Oct 4 2008, 08:50 AM
33 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(abel @ Oct 3 2008, 08:46 AM) This the front of the PCB i not yet complete the mod waiting the parts to arrived That is another matter to connect the OPA. you need to find out the 8 pin connected to which resistors and Caps, then you connect the OPA extend cable to the resistor and caps.i have the PCB drill but not dare to do hehehe +12v should be connected to one of the Elna caps and another 6 pin is connected toresistor another 1 is GND Eddy Lim This post has been edited by eddylws: Oct 4 2008, 09:00 AM |
Oct 4 2008, 09:49 AM
526 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Oct 4 2008, 11:26 AM
Yup, i plan to mod as a hobby after my exams. Never really soldered before, but it looks fun. Haha. I plan to ultimately build a beta22. Kinda ambitious but not impossible. Just need to source for the parts.
Oct 4 2008, 02:45 PM
Dont think solder is difficult. It is simple. google the net for some basics of soldering.
On ZERO board, it is sensitive. Dont touch the board for too long. |
Oct 4 2008, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(eddylws @ Oct 4 2008, 08:50 AM) That is another matter to connect the OPA. you need to find out the 8 pin connected to which resistors and Caps, then you connect the OPA extend cable to the resistor and caps. thanks eddy i try to trace the opamp see connect to which cap and resistor+12v should be connected to one of the Elna caps and another 6 pin is connected toresistor another 1 is GND Eddy Lim that part of cap i change because i saw is near the opamp soo change the cap will improve the sound modified i still noobie This post has been edited by abel: Oct 4 2008, 03:36 PM |
Oct 4 2008, 04:40 PM
yeah i went to check the basics of soldering. Got myself a capalang 6 ringgit soldering iron + 6 ringgit solder sucker. Lol. I'll go play with some old spoilt electronics.
Oct 4 2008, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Oct 4 2008, 04:40 PM) yeah i went to check the basics of soldering. Got myself a capalang 6 ringgit soldering iron + 6 ringgit solder sucker. Lol. I'll go play with some old spoilt electronics. Hi,My advise better get a good soldering station & de-soldering gun, if not will easly spoil the PCB board. If you affordable get Hackor Sucker (de-soldering tools) is around RM60, Waller soldering station RM240. Eddy Lim |
Oct 4 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(eddylws @ Oct 4 2008, 06:00 PM) Hi, wah this one 'noh meng'. u need to have deep pocket.My advise better get a good soldering station & de-soldering gun, if not will easly spoil the PCB board. If you affordable get Hackor Sucker (de-soldering tools) is around RM60, Waller soldering station RM240. Eddy Lim |
Oct 4 2008, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Oct 4 2008, 03:35 PM) thanks eddy i try to trace the opamp see connect to which cap and resistor Yes, you did good choice. reading on Burson webpage If you palning to install the HDMA put in Elna/Blackgatge for the OPA powering caps that can kill up those current noise from the +12v.that part of cap i change because i saw is near the opamp soo change the cap will improve the sound modified i still noobie Eddy Lim Added on October 4, 2008, 8:32 pm QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 4 2008, 06:05 PM) This post has been edited by eddylws: Oct 4 2008, 08:47 PM |
Oct 4 2008, 08:39 PM
QUOTE("eddylws") Added on October 4, 2008, 8:32 pm Don't you think your DAC is much important then your soldering station. Don't think that soldering job is very easy man, not only will spoilt PCB, sound quality also can be diffferent. If you really want to mod it, mod it in a proper way. Eddy Lim This post has been edited by abel: Oct 4 2008, 08:46 PM |
Oct 4 2008, 08:44 PM
Lucky I dindt kill my board. they are many ways to mod. I am using the proton saga way first. (of course proton saga dont have air bag like mercedez)
Oct 4 2008, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 4 2008, 08:44 PM) Lucky I dindt kill my board. they are many ways to mod. I am using the proton saga way first. (of course proton saga dont have air bag like mercedez) good think never got cheap.... Added on October 4, 2008, 9:02 pm QUOTE(abel @ Oct 4 2008, 08:39 PM) i think now Willer cant get for that price i check farnell all above RM 500 ++ octave still got stock or not the Waller 921z nvm my fren have it can borrow from him hehehe Yes, octave still got. I got it from octave also.This post has been edited by eddylws: Oct 4 2008, 09:02 PM |
Oct 4 2008, 09:09 PM
Oct 5 2008, 12:55 AM
My bad, when i asked earlier if anyone had done "this mod" before, i posted the wrong link. The link is here. LINK
Now has anyone done THIS mod before? |
Oct 5 2008, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Oct 5 2008, 12:55 AM) My bad, when i asked earlier if anyone had done "this mod" before, i posted the wrong link. The link is here. LINK That is a different mod than what we had been doing. it deals with output stage, bypassing the opamp and directly couple to the tube. Now has anyone done THIS mod before? What we had been doing is to change different OPA such as Earth, Sun and Moon (coming) to give different sound quality. By putting in Earth and snipping the output decoupling cap, ZERO DAC give a big jump in the transparency and detailing and accuracy, rivalled the sound of expensive cdp. |
Oct 5 2008, 05:44 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
23,851 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Zero Dac with Earth does give value to my old timer CDPs that have good built ( but lacking in DAC capability ) a big boost, thus saving me the money to hunt for a new and more expensive CDP.
Moreover, in my opinion the quality of new entry level CDPs are no match than those old timers. Coupled with Zero Dac, my old timer CDPs are given a new lease of life, at acceptable low cost investment ( Proton Saga level ? ). What am I saying is there is no regret for me to buy a Zero Dac. The only problem is how to keep tracks of so many moddings going on , for a person with ZERO tech background ( sorry, i am from financial school ) . People here are taking 5 steps a time, I am just happy to take only one step at a time. What is Output Decoupling ( snipping ) ? can google the term ? P/S > THANKS TO THOSE WHO HAVE DONE SO MUCH R & D ON ZERO DAC. This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 5 2008, 06:14 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0308sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:43 PM |