9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V5), FTW...

dblooi
post Feb 8 2008, 01:24 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 8 2008, 01:19 AM)
hi, my current setup is as follows:

AMD Athlon64 X2 3600+ AM2 Brisbane with stock cooler.
Biostar T-Force TA690G AM2 (bios is 06/05/08)
2GB Kingston Value RAM DDRII 667 (Dual Channel) both hynix HP-Y5
CoolerMaster eXtreme Power 430W

cpu-z with my systemps

im trying to overclock my cpu to 2.5-2.7 level from 1.9. Previously i was using the V12 setting on the Auto Overclock System giving me 240x9.5 = 2280 and it also increases my cpu voltage to 1.312.
now with my own manual overclock using stock cpu voltage (1.280 or something), erm...all the other ht, mem, nb voltage all default la (din play with any voltage). memory i changed to 533, the timings CAS and etc all i left default (auto) the npt fid (divider) i also left default.

basically i din change anything much except the bus (do u call it that for amd) and memory. i cant seem to get it over 245 and duno what the problem is. i dont think its the voltage as it doesnt do much after increase as well. i din manage to get it around 250 but not stable and sometimes didnt POST.

i think it should have something to do with the divider, ht frequency, etc right?

can anyone share some tips on how to get my system higher? (2.5 will do, coz i just wanna beat my friend with a x2 4000+, yea, im kiasu). if can, i dont wanna up the vcore higher than 1.35.

thanks a lot for reading (and helping out if u choose to)  notworthy.gif
hi there,
i couldn't zoom in the screenshot that you uploaded
Mind to upload again? You may use the attachments function when you post reply icon_rolleyes.gif
dblooi
post Feb 8 2008, 02:07 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 8 2008, 01:47 AM)
ok. i see. here u go. thanks

[attachmentid=395194]
hmm...something wrong with the cpu-z reading.
impossible can get /7 divider for 9.5 multiplier hmm.gif
i realized that you are using a very old version cpu-z
try to use cpu-z 1.43 icon_rolleyes.gif
link: http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-143.zip

From the SS, i think you can try this
1) change command rate to 2T
2) ram timings change to 5-5-5-15 instead of using 4-4-4-12

btw, you bought your ram recently?
can check the ram chipset ?
issit hynix FP-Y5 ? brows.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Feb 8 2008, 02:13 AM
dblooi
post Feb 8 2008, 02:18 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 8 2008, 02:13 AM)
indeed there is something wrong with the cpu-z reading. its /8 divider. here is the updated mem tab for cpu-z

the first stick of ram is bought quite long ago and the 2nd stick i got it recently, erm. 2 months ago maybe. both are fp-y5, just now i type wrong to hp-y5 instead.

now i try ur settings and get back to u. thanks a lot.  notworthy.gif

edit - forgot to attach ss

[attachmentid=395198]
hmm ic... hmm.gif
dont forget to change the trfc to 195nS and Maximum Asynchronous Latency to 9ns when you oc your ram icon_rolleyes.gif
you can find both of them in sub timings option notworthy.gif

edited: trc can be tighten to 11 for better memory performance icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s: these settings not applicable to D9GMH/ D9GKX users laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Feb 8 2008, 02:24 AM
dblooi
post Feb 8 2008, 02:53 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 8 2008, 02:46 AM)
hi. i have changed the following as told

cl - 5
trcd -5
trp - 5
tras - 15
trc - 11
cr - 2t

Maximum Asynchronous Latency - 9ns

but for the trfc, there are trfc0, trfc1, tfc2, and trfc3. which one do i change to 195? all?

[attachmentid=395207]

latest mem tab for cpu-z

btw, i didnt change the trfc to 195 ns and tried to boot with 247 bus but it wouldnt post. change back to 245 ok, can.

btw, dont i need to increase my memory voltage if i wanna oc? as of now, all my voltages are stock. thanks.
ya trfc change all. icon_rolleyes.gif
you don't have to add memory voltage for now because your ram speed still under its default speed
now you wanna oc your proc higher 1st right?
for safety, try this

1) drop the memory divider to 400
2) change the HT multiplier to 4x ( in TA690G bios, it's define as 800MHz)

try to push again icon_rolleyes.gif
btw, wanna ask something about your 3600+
issit it made in malaysia? or china?
you can find it out on the IHS of the proc notworthy.gif
dblooi
post Feb 8 2008, 03:33 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 8 2008, 03:01 AM)
ok will try that now.

cant really remember and dun wanna go thru the trouble of taking of the hsf but if i remember correctly, i think its made in malaysia (not confirm). brisbane chips oc-ability got limit depending on china/msia batch? hope can do around 2.6 lo. thanks ya  notworthy.gif
ya, malaysia chips are known to be more ocable most of the time. brows.gif
especially come to brisby icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Najmods @ Feb 8 2008, 03:11 AM)
That's the setting I been looking for! Now it rock stable at 800MHz. Thanks bro thumbup.gif
haha welcome. Glad that i can help you laugh.gif

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 8 2008, 03:29 AM)
i dropped the mem divider to 400 and the ht multi to 4x and rebooted. couldnt post, no beeb, press everything/anything also kenot.

so i reset the bios with the jumper. i think ill continue my quest anther day. today too tired and gotta balik kampung tomorrow, thanks a lot anyway dblooi.

=D
hmm.. ic
maybe is time to add some vcore
okie good night ya icon_rolleyes.gif
dblooi
post Feb 10 2008, 01:02 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 9 2008, 11:37 AM)
db tipu edi.. CNY alredi past.. no result laugh.gif
car accident, my car kena bang sad.gif
no transport to fetch the DI cry.gif
will do it next week or what brows.gif
dblooi
post Feb 10 2008, 11:12 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Feb 10 2008, 09:30 PM)
New mobo and new psu....
hehhee im back with new result later on biggrin.gif

need to learn from TA690g sifu in here biggrin.gif notworthy.gif
looking forward to see your ram unleash the true power brows.gif
dblooi
post Feb 11 2008, 12:00 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Feb 10 2008, 11:55 PM)
Thinking to buy and go back for AMD 5000 BE, have anyone use or seen  AX78.
Thinking to go for X2 5000BE OC3.2Ghz, AX78/TA770+ and 3870x2.  brows.gif  brows.gif
After testing penryn, I am still a AMD Fanboy.
Looks very promision board.

how much is the board? drool.gif
it looks promising brows.gif
dblooi
post Feb 11 2008, 12:59 AM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Feb 11 2008, 12:50 AM)
hi guys, can i know what are the requirements to join the brisby 3600+ 3GHz club? how many hours of orthos or what other programs must i run stability to be considered a successful OC, despite not being stable enough for normal usage. got it to 3GHz now but failed orthos in 1+minute lolz.

Added on February 11, 2008, 12:53 ambtw, any tips for getting a stable OC around 3GHz?
hi there,
Super Pi 32M passed or Orthos 1hr passed will do icon_rolleyes.gif
Passed results will be updated into database laugh.gif
btw, mind to show a SS of your 3GHz oc?
coz people can catch up your situation easily with a proper SS icon_rolleyes.gif
CPU-Z general+ memory tab notworthy.gif
dblooi
post Feb 11 2008, 04:18 PM

1,404 posts

@CV6149

bro how's the mobo now?
start oc adi? brows.gif
sorry ya my hp running out of credit notworthy.gif
dblooi
post Feb 11 2008, 04:36 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Feb 11 2008, 04:21 PM)
hehehhe of coz not me biggrin.gif
its the guy that runnng out of credit biggrin.gif opsss
hahaha

dblooi,
no worries...i think u shud make a worklog for your next project hehehhe
missed the golden time already due to the stupid accident sad.gif
currently working on final year project, busy rclxub.gif
looking forward to see your 10th break over 1200MHz brows.gif

dblooi
post Feb 11 2008, 10:17 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 11 2008, 09:36 PM)
ok.. let me finish my work first.. then try to copywaza n full tweak.. wanna try head to head clock 1m SPI chalengge?? haha
can i join? brows.gif
dblooi
post Feb 12 2008, 09:18 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:14 PM)
u cry,i more cry :cry cry.gif
tgal kenangan ddr1200 ku..hya skali kau timbul, sudahnya kau tenggelam
walao , puisi somemore laugh.gif
what happen to that 10th la? ahha brows.gif
btw, different model of ram but same clock speed wont give different results smile.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Feb 12 2008, 09:49 PM
dblooi
post Feb 12 2008, 09:47 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:27 PM)
that 10th pinjam from xixo..dia suda amik balik..
now back to ballistix..max is ddr 1160..xixo already tried my ram,pumped 2.4 vdimm, still cannot mad.gif
i heard ur car xciden bro..hows now?
when can i c u OC using DI?brows.gif
the car is repaired , no worries laugh.gif
no time for DI now sad.gif
doing project and presentation this week sad.gif

dblooi
post Feb 13 2008, 04:16 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Feb 13 2008, 02:30 PM)
bro dblooi!! dimanakah anda?? huhu.. need to know what to use to cover proc area if use ice.
im here, just finish my presentation laugh.gif
i don't cover proc area brows.gif
i make the mobo stand >90 degree so that condensed water won't contact with the mobo brows.gif
@Djericzzzz, is time to show that pic again brows.gif

@sempronic
can try gigabyte 790X DS3/4
it looks good, but i haven't check the bios options icon_rolleyes.gif

dblooi
post Feb 13 2008, 05:19 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Feb 13 2008, 04:56 PM)
Wowowow chill out guys. Everyone is trying to push to the limit. So hot, I came back from class and the thread already increased by 3 pages flex.gif

Added on February 13, 2008, 4:57 pm

Anyway bro dblooi and bro nadeng - Both of you using TA690G , may I know which version of bios ?
i use 605 default bios, always smile.gif
dblooi
post Feb 13 2008, 09:08 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Feb 13 2008, 05:37 PM)
Thanks. Im using that BIOS too, rock stable. Just asking incase latest bios released is better than current 605 version.

So bro, any 100% oc result to show us ? brows.gif
haih, i also dunno, sad.gif
after i settle my stuffs here 1st cry.gif
dblooi
post Feb 13 2008, 10:43 PM

1,404 posts

@sempronic

here's the modded bios that you are looking for
http://www.lejabeach.com/Biostar/TA770A2+/

this is the official webby for bios download icon_rolleyes.gif
http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en-us/t-seri...os.php?S_ID=310

hope it helps notworthy.gif
dblooi
post Feb 14 2008, 05:11 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Feb 14 2008, 05:01 PM)
maybe bcuz the review is using an intel testbed...
cz i heard tat intel platform easier to oc ram de...
correct me if i'm wrong... icon_rolleyes.gif
you're right, especially intel P35 mobo drool.gif

dblooi
post Feb 14 2008, 05:44 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Feb 14 2008, 05:21 PM)
:lapping processor mode:

Just came back from hardware shop getting sandpaper, masking tape, autosol, bla bla. Starting to lap my "new" proc brows.gif
congrats, that's one of the best chip smile.gif

This post has been edited by dblooi: Feb 14 2008, 05:44 PM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0440sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:51 PM