My Fav MONSTROUS MOvies

TShackwire
post Jan 21 2008, 01:34 AM, updated 18y ago

4,256 posts

I started liking monster movies when i watch Jason and the Astronauts , a scene when a One Eyed Cyclop attacked human.

my fav Monster Movie list

1. The Cloverfield (All time Best. One of the Best Ant View from human pOV
2. The Host (\i love this aalot.
3. Jurassic park
4. King kong classic ok not the new one.
5. War of The World by Steven Spielberg ,starring Tom Cruise. Alien Ship is monstrous ,
6. independence day. not so good in the end though.

All these have shock effect so please dont suggest movies that is not impactful like Dragon Wars

This post has been edited by hackwire: Jan 21 2008, 01:35 AM
SUSFlizzardo
post Jan 21 2008, 02:21 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

dragon ward cgi is pretty good to me just lack of better storyline?

but of course the no.1 best CLOVER FIELD!!!11oneone
ubhm
post Jan 21 2008, 05:09 AM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

barney....
chibi_tenko
post Jan 21 2008, 07:47 AM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 21 2008, 01:34 AM)
I started liking monster movies when i watch Jason and the Astronauts , a scene when a One Eyed Cyclop attacked human.

my fav Monster Movie list

1. The Cloverfield (All time Best. One of the Best Ant View from human pOV
2. The Host (\i love this aalot.
3. Jurassic park 
4. King kong classic ok not the new one.
5. War of The World by Steven Spielberg ,starring Tom Cruise. Alien Ship is monstrous ,
6. independence day. not so good in the end though.

All these have shock effect so please dont suggest movies that is  not impactful like Dragon Wars
It's Jason and the Argonauts. laugh.gif Anyway, since you add in War of the World and Independence Day (aka aliens)....

My favourite big/kinda big monster movies
Jurassic Park
Jaws
Tremors <-- it's not scary or even very good but it's terribly funny. Graboid anyone?
SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 21 2008, 08:13 AM

259 posts

Clash of the Titans.
hairyLGS
post Jan 21 2008, 08:46 AM

209 posts

Graboids!!!! I watch Tremors 1 to 4 all the way!!! A$$blasters!!!

Chuckle... I don't know what is good in my list of favorite monsters... which there isn't... but Cloverfield has cover it's first person perspective view monster type...
BurgaFlippinMan
post Jan 21 2008, 09:05 AM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

Jaws by far
Jasonist
post Jan 21 2008, 11:17 AM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

god-jilla... god-jilla!!!
hairyLGS
post Jan 21 2008, 11:19 AM

209 posts

Gamera... funniest looking turtle monster!!!
kamkamparadise
post Jan 21 2008, 02:26 PM

36 posts

1. Godzilla
2. Aliens
3. Predator
4. Monster Inc ---->awesome
5. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles ----> look monster enough to me
6. Jaws 1 and 2 only
7. Critters -----> all time classic
8. Body Snatcher -----> Oldies
9. King Kong ------> Terribly sad
10. Jurassic Park

and the list goes on and on

Are u sure cloverfield is a good movie? haven't watch it yet.
UNDICI
post Jan 21 2008, 02:30 PM

here's 1 for a good laugh.. also 1 of ma fave 1

"Tremors"

oi.. Jurassic park not monsters la.. lol
wiNd
post Jan 21 2008, 02:37 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

Deep Rising ..... tongue.gif
UNDICI
post Jan 21 2008, 02:40 PM

ahahaha.. yea.. i like dat 1 . too.. really believeable monster.. sucking tentacles

graboid.. like predator mandibles in a glimpse XD.. and yea.. lotsa ooze's too.. and bloods everywhere! shocking.gif

This post has been edited by UNDICI: Jan 21 2008, 02:43 PM
sickx
post Jan 21 2008, 03:45 PM

:)
1,232 posts

ahakx...ts is one of those cloverfield lovers...
TShackwire
post Jan 21 2008, 06:08 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ Jan 21 2008, 02:26 PM)
1. Godzilla
2. Aliens
3. Predator
4. Monster Inc ---->awesome
5. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles ----> look monster enough to me
6. Jaws 1 and 2 only
7. Critters -----> all time classic
8. Body Snatcher -----> Oldies
9. King Kong ------> Terribly sad
10. Jurassic Park

and the list goes on and on

Are u sure cloverfield is a good movie? haven't watch it yet.
[size=7]
Yes Cloverfiled is my all time favourite. im good at analyzing impactful movies.
some of your selcdtion like TMNT ,Monster Inc is family and godzilla as well. Im talking about LOUD and Something that worth watching in a GOOD home theater System. Sub Woofer is very crucial in movies like this.

do spent more money in GSC GOLD Cinema to experience the Monster Sound and Thunderous Echoes like this one
I watch in Cineleisure and the Sound System Sucks. i cannot feel the VIBRATION.
[/color]

exerience the sound here http://mobile.paramount.com/preview?price_id=13660

This post has been edited by hackwire: Jan 21 2008, 06:12 PM
abubin
post Jan 21 2008, 06:12 PM

10,429 posts

how do you know cloverfield is good when it's not even out yet? Analyzing a movie based on trailers and it's plot outline doesn't work. Eg, Tomb Raider, Day After Tomorrow, Tomb Raider 2. Or is cloverfield out in malaysia already?

edit: okay, after watching the trailer and reading some comments, I have to agree that cloverfield will most probably be good....

This post has been edited by abubin: Jan 21 2008, 06:29 PM
QuickFire
post Jan 21 2008, 06:18 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 21 2008, 06:12 PM)
how do you know cloverfield is good when it's not even out yet? Analyzing a movie based on trailers and it's plot outline doesn't work. Eg, Tomb Raider, Day After Tomorrow, Tomb Raider 2. Or is cloverfield out in malaysia already?
it's out here. laugh.gif

you in the uk?
abubin
post Jan 21 2008, 06:32 PM

10,429 posts

btw, do we actually get to see the monster in cloverfield? from the trailer it doesn't show the monster. Only shows the attack from people's point of view.
UNDICI
post Jan 21 2008, 07:07 PM

there aint no suprise element if they show d monster in d trailer...

soo.. wat else?.. go watch it now!
slickz
post Jan 21 2008, 07:09 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

Cloverfield is awesomelah.... it brings the horror factor right in your face! "one of those" cloverfield lovers? humph.
nVidiaFX
post Jan 21 2008, 07:12 PM

you can't handle the truth.
4,880 posts

Lol i gotta agree with tremors ;P

UNDICI
post Jan 21 2008, 07:19 PM

haha yea.. nvr had such a good laugh.. form watchin a monster movie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKDUVnQCSuo&feature=related

d best part eva! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by UNDICI: Jan 21 2008, 07:24 PM
littleman
post Jan 21 2008, 07:26 PM

834 posts

Transfomer considered as monster?

But I still like AVP.
Goblinsk8er
post Jan 21 2008, 08:10 PM

306 posts

MECHA BARBARA STREISAND from South Park LOL.

No just joking.

Cloverfield just top the my list currently.
Does Gremlins count as monster too? Aik..too small.
SUSb3ta
post Jan 21 2008, 09:08 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

cloverfiiieldddddd

and IT....do u guys remember IT brows.gif

This post has been edited by b3ta: Jan 21 2008, 09:09 PM
chibi_tenko
post Jan 21 2008, 09:34 PM

1,250 posts

laugh.gif Talking bout Tremors brings back nice memories. Gonna *ahem* download it. My VCD was damaged. laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Jan 22 2008, 10:06 AM

209 posts

Wow... so many fans of Tremors... for that, I am giving fans and none fans... TREMORS!!!

Tremors (Collector's Edition)

Starring Kevin Bacon and the only movie that is in the theaters. In Malaysia, it was only shown for 2 days before it put to rest. Very sad. I only manage to watch this on VHS. This DVD cover features of a lot of goody stuff (Ariana Richards stars in this film and most of us won't recognize but only one other movie - Jurassic Park. She was the young girl in the film).

Tremors 2: Aftershocks

Starring Fred Ward (from the first movie) and this is the start of first-straight-to-video franchise. The creatures have evolve... now they can have two feet! Super cool story!

Tremors 3: Back to Perfection

Starring Michael Gross (from Family Ties TV Series) and the only actor that stars all four films! Again, the creature evolves again... and this time, they can fly. Ariana Richards returns with most of the cast from the first movie (the 2nd movie did not feature any of the actors except Michael Gross).

Tremors 4: The Legend Begins

The prequel! How the town was known as Perfection (but it was called something else) and where the monsters come from. More fun and more havoc! It also stars the creepy actor Billy Drago.

Tremors: Attack Pack

Includes all the features and all four films in one pack! Economical!!!

I have the Attack Pack version and it was cheap (I paid less than RM 100 for it). Hope you like it!

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jan 22 2008, 10:09 AM
chibi_tenko
post Jan 22 2008, 09:19 PM

1,250 posts

Hmm.. can't find a good torrent for Part Two neh.

laugh.gif Non-fans can call it whatever but it is still a cult classic. Glad that there's fellow Tremors fans here. Ask you guys, part 3 worth watching/downloading. I was reading the AssBlaster thingie in Wikipedia, and thought of watching it for the laughs.

Actually, Deep Blue Sea's not bad. At least there's not many scenes of bikini clad girls being eaten by Mako sharks.

This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: Jan 22 2008, 09:42 PM
navilink
post Jan 22 2008, 10:40 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

Predator - nonstop kanchiong! wan go toilet also cannot!
King Kong (by Peter Jackson) - epic kingkong vs dinosaur fight!
Jurassic Park 1 - awesome see brontosaurus for first time!
Gremlins - ahh the nostalgia, still got Gizmo toy!
The Host - go see movie without know what this movie is, but its good!
Independence Day - alien p@wned big time by Will Smith!
Starship Troopers - the scene where a soldier bombed a giant bug, FTW!
kobe8byrant
post Jan 23 2008, 01:09 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

No love for the Fly? Or the Thing? Or Relic?

I liked Relic a lot. Though it was a B-grader for most of it, I really had fun watching it. Same went for The Thing and The Fly.

Hated War of the Worlds, okay with Jaws but Jurassic Park, King Kong and Cloverfield are up there.
Goblinsk8er
post Jan 23 2008, 01:23 AM

306 posts

Ahh yess. The Thing.
That movie freaked me out when i was a kid. Got phobia of dogs for a while.
The physical examination scene was crazy too.
QuickFire
post Jan 23 2008, 11:03 AM

2,867 posts

The Thing and The Fly were not B-grade movies lah... how can you say that to my fave horror movie ever?? tongue.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jan 23 2008, 12:40 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 23 2008, 11:03 AM)
The Thing and The Fly were not B-grade movies lah... how can you say that to my fave horror movie ever?? tongue.gif
I miswrotemy post. I meant I had a lot of fun watching the two films. The effects for the Fly were breathtaking for its time but Goldblum's eyes were really FLY-ish laugh.gif

But if you have not watched the Relic, go on and give it a try. I loved it and the actress was hot. Mira Sorvino I think.

So as for now: I have six to seven fav movies for Monstrous

1) Cloverfield
2) Thing
3) Fly
4) King Kong
5) Jurassic Park
6) American Werewolf in London [Paris wasn't as good]
7) * Will leave one more slot for a movie I may have forgotten tongue.gif

** Not in any particular order but ATM, Clover and Park are freshest in my mind. [Seen Park to an extent I could memorize the sequences tongue.gif]
thanezra
post Jan 23 2008, 12:46 PM

Yeah! Tremors was a good one, but I only love the first one...the others really let me down..as for my favourite monsters

Jaws
Alien (sexy yet deadly)
The Relic
The Host
Cloverfield (the movie's great but the monster aint)
Mimic
and many more that i can't recall, but my fav monster is still the Alien

fipoch
post Jan 23 2008, 01:36 PM

487 posts

How come nobody loves godzilla? It wasn't that bad
kobe8byrant
post Jan 23 2008, 01:37 PM

12,275 posts

Oh Godzilla, I missed that. Thank God for the extra spot
wiNd
post Jan 23 2008, 01:59 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

The Marshmellow Man....roar!!
Makakeke
post Jan 23 2008, 02:46 PM

310 posts

My fav monster theme movies:

Alien/Aliens, The Descent, Jaws, Jurassic Park, The Thing.

Recently saw the 1933 King Kong in Speedy but hesitated to buy it sad.gif
chibi_tenko
post Jan 23 2008, 03:35 PM

1,250 posts

laugh.gif I didn't list out Aliens and Predator because I thought you guys meant those, 'humongous monsters'. So yeah, if you guys gonna add those, here's a revised version of my list :

- Alien & Aliens
- Predator
- The Fly <-- thanks for reminding me of this. I can never forget the fingernail scene. Ugh.... uber gross.
- Jaws and Deep Blue Sea
- Tremors
- Jurassic Park
thanezra
post Jan 23 2008, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Jan 23 2008, 02:46 PM)
My fav monster theme movies:

Alien/Aliens, The Descent, Jaws, Jurassic Park, The Thing.

Recently saw the 1933 King Kong in Speedy but hesitated to buy it sad.gif
ouuuuuuuu! yeah The Descent is one of the great recent horror/monster flick..I sooo agree with you
Jasonist
post Jan 23 2008, 06:23 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Jan 21 2008, 11:17 AM)
god-jilla... god-jilla!!!
change my mind...
cloverfield!!! cloverfield!!! oh shit... wats tat???
bartbarb
post Jan 23 2008, 08:46 PM

393 posts

My favourite will be the old-skool classic Godzilla & The western Tremors !!!

Langoliers also not bad, the world eater.
Goblinsk8er
post Jan 23 2008, 08:52 PM

306 posts

Lol, with so many "horny" ppl in lowyat forums, im suprised that no one mention Species
SowYau
post Jan 23 2008, 10:12 PM

I try to be a movie reviewer
604 posts

i remember watching The Relic accompanied by really good sound system in cinema, it make a huge difference, needless to say, it was a one hell of a ride for me.
UNDICI
post Jan 23 2008, 10:12 PM

wahahahhaa.. XD.. anyway.. true.. d thing.. d fly.. also my.. and d only movie .. dat make me nearly throw up lol
navilink
post Jan 27 2008, 08:02 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jan 23 2008, 01:09 AM)
No love for the Fly? Or the Thing? Or Relic?

I liked Relic a lot. Though it was a B-grader for most of it, I really had fun watching it. Same went for The Thing and The Fly.

Hated War of the Worlds, okay with Jaws but Jurassic Park, King Kong and Cloverfield are up there.
i just rewatched War of the Worlds today...and wow i still like it!!! although ending not so good (i thought the book ending also like that?) but many things are done excellently:
- monsters appear in full glory very early in the movie, no play hide and seek until last 15 min of the movie....comprarable to the brontosaurus first appearance in jurassic park
- all the basement scenes are done with great monstrosity feel...no black cat suddenly appear out that thing, especially the tense moment when the tentacle comes down the basement
- shows human desperation and ignorance at its best, robbie the rebel, dakota the screamer tom cruise acting a cool father figure
- artistic scenes in the movie, e.g. tiny flowers fly when dakota go beside the river, countered by the floating dead ppl...
- excellent use of lighting, especially during the war at the hill, looks epic....and sound, the tripod and the laser sounds good!

This post has been edited by navilink: Jan 27 2008, 08:05 PM
QuickFire
post Jan 27 2008, 08:12 PM

2,867 posts

I've watched Spielberg's War of the Worlds four times, twice in the cinema. Firts two times in the cinema I was very pleased with it. Then I watched it on dvd two years later and found it disappointing. Saw it again a few weeks ago and this time I found it very entertaining again.

I think most people hated it for the ending. I thought the ending was okay since that was how it ended in the book... but I didnt appreciate the fact that they didn't kill robbie off! That sucked.

Everything before that was damn entertaining. Many 'spielberg' moments, though I did wish for once that he would show a bit more of the battles rather than having the camera rotate around the family all the while. Also, some of the best CGI and explosions ever.
SUSb3rnard7
post Jan 27 2008, 08:26 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

has any1 still remember a movie called "The Thing"?
wiNd
post Jan 27 2008, 08:56 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 27 2008, 08:12 PM)
I've watched Spielberg's War of the Worlds four times, twice in the cinema. Firts two times in the cinema I was very pleased with it. Then I watched it on dvd two years later and found it disappointing. Saw it again a few weeks ago and this time I found it very entertaining again.

I think most people hated it for the ending. I thought the ending was okay since that was how it ended in the book... but I didnt appreciate the fact that they didn't kill robbie off! That sucked.

Everything before that was damn entertaining. Many 'spielberg' moments, though I did wish for once that he would show a bit more of the battles rather than having the camera rotate around the family all the while. Also, some of the best CGI and explosions ever.
for me, twice at cinema...countless times at home

just love the "intersection" scene... thumbup.gif and the sound of the tripods...

and yeah...hate Robbie wink.gif

This post has been edited by wiNd: Jan 27 2008, 08:57 PM
navilink
post Jan 27 2008, 10:11 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Jan 27 2008, 08:56 PM)
for me, twice at cinema...countless times at home

just love the "intersection" scene... thumbup.gif and the sound of the tripods...

and yeah...hate Robbie  wink.gif
if u hate robbie, then spielberg has successfully created a full-flesh character worth hating! notworthy.gif

anyway, a trivia of WoTW....the word "alien" were not spoken throughout the movie! how cool is that! if for other director/screenwriter, sure like alien alien hundreds of times tongue.gif
EroS
post Jan 27 2008, 10:18 PM

2,902 posts

godzilla
deep blue sea

hairyLGS
post Jan 28 2008, 01:38 AM

209 posts

Wow... so many love the nostalgic monsters:-

1). John Carpenter's The Thing
- Based upon a story, John Carpenter's The Thing was a whole remake of the original movie The Thing From Another World (1951). I love this movie for the sheer of unique, horror and gore. One of the most original ever of imitation monsters.

2). Alien
- In space, no one can hear you scream. I love H.R. Giger's design. An alien that don't look humanoid. The first was the best. James Cameron Aliens is a much gung-ho and better than the original (maybe because of the action and the introduction of the Queen). Sadly, Alien 3 and Alien Resurrection suffers a lot. Still, I love Alien the best and even though the 3rd and 4th film is sucky, I still own the entire Quadrilogy set.

3). Predator
- You are one ugly mother f**ker! One of Arnold's best. It's no monster, but a creature that is very ugly like a monster. I love the action, Stan Winstan design of Predator and the whole ding dang of it. The sequel sucked but it gives us the glimpse of Aliens Versus Predator at the climatic scene.

4). The Fly
- Based on a story published in Playboy magazine and the original movie of the same name starring Vincent Price (1958), this 1986 starring Jeff Goldblum seriously is one of the scariest and most gross monster movies ever made. Of course, reason being is directed by David Cronenberg. The sequel is nothing much to desire but one heart-wrenching scene of a dog mutated left me very sad.

5). Tremors
- What can I say but this sandworm monster is even better than the sandworm monster of Dune. It's cheesy, it's cliche but yet entertaining. Hill billies meets ugly sandworms. Fun to watch and fun to enjoy.

6). Deep Rising
- It's B-Graded but it's directed by Stephen Sommers (The Mummy). I love this movie a lot, I dunno how the monster looks like but it has a hell-of-a-lot of tentacles everywhere! The most fun monster movie I have ever had!

7). Mimic
- It wasn't well received but this bug like cockroach monster is a good watch. I'm not sure anyone remembers this movie or not but it was one of those that like Pitch Black you'll enjoy. Too bad the sequels are straight to video and are not known.

8). Starship Troopers
- I feel it's a ripoff from somewhere but these monster aliens are formidable. Like Aliens, these bugs are everywhere and in sheer numbers! Different forms and all, I kinda like more on the story but these alien monsters (especially the Brain, that looks like a women's *bleep*) do share it's stage of being monstrous. The sequel I am not sure if it's good or not but I think I will not watch it.

9). Pitch Black
- A complete ripoff of Alien but the concept would be on crash land on an alien planet. Yes, I like the theme of the film but the monster is nothing but! Still, it has a cool design with an Alien face but it does sound like Alien. A good watch for the story, but you will say ripoff all the way for the monster. The Chronicles of Riddick got no monster at all... guess that one is put behind.

10). Godzilla
- King of Monsters (that's whats it's called). Better known as Gojira (in Japanese), this 1954 movie started it all, spawn 20 over sequels (yes 20), one American remake and many introduction of other monsters, why is this guy still popular nobody knows. Still, it's fun to see this monstrous lizard doing it's thing.

I would like to add some other noteworthy monsters... but the list is too long and to explain it's going to take some time to finish. But I feel these are the 10 we most remember of... in the movies that is.
chibi_tenko
post Jan 28 2008, 06:53 AM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jan 27 2008, 08:12 PM)

The movie's not bad actually, but the ending... ugh. Very very anti-climax. I have to agree that one of the most suspence(sp?) scenes were the basement scenes. The whole suck-em-human-dry 'eating' concept's kinda gory but hey, not all aliens use probes on humans, eh? laugh.gif
demio121
post Jan 28 2008, 01:17 PM

2,084 posts

how can i not mention this one.

Tremors

This is one good fun movie.
chibi_tenko
post Jan 28 2008, 08:34 PM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Jan 28 2008, 01:17 PM)
how can i not mention this one.

Tremors

This is one good fun movie.
Hahaha we reminisced Tremors in pg 2. laugh.gif It's a corny but fun movie. Graboids...
demio121
post Jan 28 2008, 09:03 PM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Jan 28 2008, 08:34 PM)
Hahaha we reminisced Tremors in pg 2. laugh.gif It's a corny but fun movie. Graboids...
its the kind of movie that knows where its heading and don't try otherwise. somehow movies like Tremors, The Blob, The Things will always stay fresh in my mind.

0.0346sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:01 PM