OMG! PS3 Got Yellow Lights YLOD same as Xbox 360, YLOD = Yellow light Of Death
TSbEaSt WaRs
Jan 20 2008, 10:29 PM, updated 18y ago
Xbox 360 RRoD finally meets PS3 equivalent - Yellow Light of Death (YLoD) By now, every gamer must've heard of the Xbox 360's RRoD but little has been heard of what happens when the PS3 claps out. Well one gamer has suffered the rare event of his PS3 malfunctioning, and has dubbed it as the Yellow Light of Death (YLoD). The following video below shows what happens when his PS3 failed... Click this ---------------> http://www.gametrailers.com/player/usermovies/162098.htmlSource : http://www.maxconsole.net/?mode=news&newsid=24405P/S : No console was perfect.......
XenoFr3ak
Jan 20 2008, 10:33 PM
Yea man .. 1YLOD No cosole is perferct.  Looks like trafic lights problems This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 20 2008, 10:35 PM
TSbEaSt WaRs
Jan 20 2008, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 20 2008, 11:33 PM) Yea man .. 1YLOD No cosole is perferct.  Looks like trafic lights problems  Well the almighty console is finally dead too...
nakata101
Jan 20 2008, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 20 2008, 10:33 PM) Yea man .. 1YLOD No cosole is perferct.  Looks like trafic lights problems  HOpe PS3 not going to follow the step of Xbox360....
Rewind
Jan 20 2008, 10:53 PM
lols. yeah rite no console is perfect =X
bontotalan
Jan 20 2008, 11:33 PM
after this wii...the rainbow light of death hahaha
amalost
Jan 20 2008, 11:48 PM
old news but i think maybe not that serious..IMO
slickz
Jan 20 2008, 11:53 PM
OH PLEASE. Are you guys expecting 0% failure ratefor ps3? Obviously la some units will get defects. No product is bullet proof perfect for every single unit in a production line
TSbEaSt WaRs
Jan 20 2008, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 21 2008, 12:53 AM) OH PLEASE. Are you guys expecting 0% failure ratefor ps3? Obviously la some units will get defects. No product is bullet proof perfect for every single unit in a production line Agree...
darquarma
Jan 21 2008, 12:06 AM

Wow... it took a year for this YLOD to appear, and it's just this one guy's unit.
0.0000012% failure rate?
In all seriousness though, attempting to coin a term based on 1 defective unit is pretty sad to read about. Just because the 360 has a massive defect that's so rampant it's got its own name doesn't mean that the PS3 deserves one as well.
I do not foresee a future where the term YLOD will forever be engraved onto the cortex of every PS3 owner.
This post has been edited by darquarma: Jan 21 2008, 12:55 AM
samurai20
Jan 21 2008, 12:28 AM
erkk how many unit.. kena YROD... nie... 2000... or 3000..  ... well normal electronic product got defect 1-2% but if like 3ROD.. (almost 30-50%)... that not normal already..  .... p/s: no single item/product in this world PERFECT... only god.. PERFECT...
nakata101
Jan 21 2008, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(darquarma @ Jan 21 2008, 12:06 AM) Wow... it took a year for this YLOD to appear, and it's just this one guy's unit. 0.0000012% failure rate? In all seriousness though, attempting to coin a term based on 1 defective unit is pretty sad to read about. Just because the 360 has a massive defect that's so rampant it's got its own name doesn't mean that the PS3 deserves one as well. I do not foresee a future where the term YLOD will forever be engraved onto the cortex of every PS3 owner. JUst maybe after 1 years, it will hit by Ylod with 1 by 1.... just a "maybe"..........
darquarma
Jan 21 2008, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 21 2008, 01:00 AM) JUst maybe after 1 years, it will hit by Ylod with 1 by 1.... just a "maybe"..........  Anything is possible. And a pessimist is never disappointed.
qwen234
Jan 21 2008, 01:17 AM
only 1% itz the hard drive defect cant spin properly.. jux change it lerr
aiyish
Jan 21 2008, 01:19 AM
now i dun want 2 buy Ps3...
nakata101
Jan 21 2008, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(aiyish @ Jan 21 2008, 01:19 AM) now i dun want 2 buy Ps3... Wait more few month, then u can decide buy or not buy again.
dark lenanza
Jan 21 2008, 10:27 AM
for ps3 40G wat i heard the manufactor is the same as manufactor (for production of machine not developer) for 360 propably the component using also same
monyetbesi
Jan 21 2008, 10:38 AM
gosh mine not rosak yet... i'll let you know when it goes rosak one...
rx330
Jan 21 2008, 10:53 AM
wii no such problems rite?
KidsCode
Jan 21 2008, 11:01 AM
-----NoLimits!-----
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 21 2008, 10:53 AM) wii no such problems rite? wii already hv bad overheating problem, but no result to dead console...
snipersnake
Jan 21 2008, 11:08 AM
yelow light..is this not regarding hdd problem? maybe go away with hdd replacement? sometimes i wonder if one uses any braincell before copy pasta from another forum. ah how can i bother, one have not even SMELLED the ps3. I find it ironic, the 3RODs threads were opened buy those who actually were hit by the disaster, but this thread,..haha..
This post has been edited by snipersnake: Jan 21 2008, 11:10 AM
SUSalmattitude_v1
Jan 21 2008, 11:25 AM
LOL! one console only la... not like Xbox 360... Joystiq had all their console giving problem and sent to workshop except for 1...
dark lenanza
Jan 21 2008, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Jan 21 2008, 10:27 AM) for ps3 40G wat i heard the manufactor is the same as manufactor (for production of machine not developer) for 360 propably the component using also same now i remember foxcom is the manufactor or the supplier for parts used in 360 now they were assign to do for ps3 40G cozto reduce the cost and cut off the price
darquarma
Jan 21 2008, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Jan 21 2008, 11:39 AM) now i remember foxcom is the manufactor or the supplier for parts used in 360 now they were assign to do for ps3 40G cozto reduce the cost and cut off the price It's not the parts of the 360 that's flawed, it's the design.
dark lenanza
Jan 21 2008, 12:53 PM
yeah but can u read the part where it is saying that rrod is a part of digital backbone like thermal paste,soldering anode lead,resistor,transistor,ic..and so on??
DjiNn
Jan 21 2008, 01:03 PM
This one Small case for playstation3 la,
the first batch of playstation3 all mostly kena the dead lens remember?
this is consider the rarest case for the playstation3
unknowns
Jan 21 2008, 02:38 PM
this happened to my 40 gb PS3 just after 2 weeks of purchase. sent it back to SG and got it replaced with a new model, so everything in my HDD all hilang. so yeap, this vid is authentic in case any1 doubts it.
snipersnake
Jan 21 2008, 02:41 PM
that confirms it was a hdd issue.
rhoyo
Jan 21 2008, 02:43 PM
YLOD no big deal . this is RARE .. compare to rings rings of fire .
corez
Jan 21 2008, 02:47 PM
A bit OT about the video. How come the background sound got sound like the 'hantu' Ju'on? Damn scary wei. Is it the harddisk sound?
snipersnake
Jan 21 2008, 02:54 PM
the hantu possesed the HDD. thats why.
nakata101
Jan 21 2008, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(corez @ Jan 21 2008, 02:47 PM) A bit OT about the video. How come the background sound got sound like the 'hantu' Ju'on? Damn scary wei. Is it the harddisk sound? The sound is from his camera. The Ju'on kid gonna come out to stole his ps3???
corez
Jan 21 2008, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 21 2008, 02:54 PM) the hantu possesed the HDD. thats why. QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 21 2008, 02:58 PM) The sound is from his camera. The Ju'on kid gonna come out to stole his ps3???  Next time TS better do warning about the video lah, I watch this yesterday nite scary
TSbEaSt WaRs
Jan 21 2008, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(corez @ Jan 21 2008, 04:10 PM) Next time TS better do warning about the video lah, I watch this yesterday nite scary  Sorry about that i should rate that movie 18SX hahahahaha
bose00
Jan 21 2008, 03:26 PM

the led blinks is the error detection. the number of blink will tells you what is the error. then it will automatically shutdown to prevent hardware failure. this is common in electronics design. at least we know ps3 has error detection/protection circuit in it. This post has been edited by bose00: Jan 21 2008, 03:30 PM
thurtin
Jan 21 2008, 03:38 PM

i heard someone's (jaylike) ps3 kena hdmi port problem. no picture! fairly new machine!
BurgaFlippinMan
Jan 21 2008, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jan 21 2008, 11:25 AM) LOL! one console only la... not like Xbox 360... Joystiq had all their console giving problem and sent to workshop except for 1... Funniest thing about Joystiq was, iirc, the one guy whose 360 didnt conk out had his Wii die on him.
nate_nightroad
Jan 21 2008, 03:45 PM
i'm just worried tat Wii will have green light of death....GLOD.
when all of them stack up,we got a mini traffic light...
futz
Jan 21 2008, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Jan 21 2008, 03:45 PM) i'm just worried tat Wii will have green light of death....GLOD. when all of them stack up,we got a mini traffic light... hahaha...
ar188
Jan 21 2008, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(corez @ Jan 21 2008, 03:10 PM) Next time TS better do warning about the video lah, I watch this yesterday nite scary  liddat also scary, after accidently pass you GGW2 blu-ray how? will scared or not?
terencetoo
Jan 21 2008, 05:47 PM
wow yellow light....means do not change the hdd yourself
Azhar85
Jan 21 2008, 07:52 PM
Wii didn't have any failure rates because the graphic suck and so the hardware.....not to mention the controller....LOL
SUSXbox 360
Jan 21 2008, 08:24 PM

LOL... why so surprise? The likelihood of a PS3 getting YLOD is like a man trapping a unicorn whereas an Xbox 360 getting RROD is like a man getting bitten by a mosquitoe.
SUSdattebayo
Jan 23 2008, 01:05 AM
so it's just the HDD dead... it's still revive-able
shamnemesis
Jan 23 2008, 02:38 AM
i wonder why is that yellow light appears ? what is that supposed to mean ? that is normal i guess .. but not majority have face the same problem rite
samurai20
Jan 23 2008, 02:40 AM
yellow light i think HD.. prob... maybe...
bose00
Jan 23 2008, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Jan 23 2008, 02:40 AM) yellow light i think HD.. prob... maybe...  PS3 HDD spoil or no spoil... sooner or later also have to change. 60/80 gb... not enough ~ i need a 160 gb soon This post has been edited by bose00: Jan 23 2008, 10:04 PM
MR.Shiney
Jan 23 2008, 11:36 PM
wah! shocking! :yawn:
how many here got the blinking banana colour of death? BBCOD!
travis_ckf
Jan 23 2008, 11:50 PM
Aduihai, was though of getting a ps3 after sick of xbox 360's 3rod issues.
Taman Linkin
Jan 24 2008, 02:21 AM
Only 3% failure rate for PS3 which is electronics standard. XBox360 is 30%, and the new Falcon is 10%, and even the XBox engineering team not sure it is final or not since it still new. So this not an issue. Perfectly normal.
SUSdattebayo
Jan 24 2008, 02:32 AM
if it's just a freaking HDD failure, just swap with a new 2.5" HDD lah... In Xbox 360 case, that is what we call as dead console.
slickz
Jan 24 2008, 03:35 AM
QUOTE(Azhar85 @ Jan 21 2008, 07:52 PM) Wii didn't have any failure rates because the graphic suck and so the hardware.....not to mention the controller....LOL Wii failure rates are extremely low and it doesnt suck. I'd love to own one as well even the 360 falcon if I have the money
nakata101
Jan 24 2008, 04:03 AM
QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ Jan 24 2008, 02:21 AM) Only 3% failure rate for PS3 which is electronics standard. XBox360 is 30%, and the new Falcon is 10%, and even the XBox engineering team not sure it is final or not since it still new. So this not an issue. Perfectly normal. New Falcon is start manufacture from October 2007, right? Until now only 4 month, how come to said the failure rate only 10%, it should be 80% now, the rate are worst than the older one, is this shuck??? If u said is 10%, i would like to said is 80%.
darquarma
Jan 24 2008, 07:05 AM

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 24 2008, 03:35 AM) Wii failure rates are extremely low and it doesnt suck. I'd love to own one as well even the 360 falcon if I have the money Never heard of a Wii failing, to be honest. Unrelated: No More Heroes looks awesome
Ngto
Jan 24 2008, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 24 2008, 04:03 AM) New Falcon is start manufacture from October 2007, right? Until now only 4 month, how come to said the failure rate only 10%, it should be 80% now, the rate are worst than the older one, is this shuck??? If u said is 10%, i would like to said is 80%.  A bit difficult to understand what you are talking about. From what was said by the previous person, the old XBox360 (prior to falcon) got a failure rate of 30%. Which means 70% is working. The Falcon sets itself sold since 4 mths ago , so far has a failure rate of 10%, which means 90% of the Falcon sets are working well so far.
nizam80
Jan 24 2008, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(darquarma @ Jan 24 2008, 07:05 AM) Never heard of a Wii failing, to be honest. Unrelated: No More Heroes looks awesome  Sorry, OT. Yeah! No More Heroes look awesome. I'd love to get a Wii just for this game!!
nakata101
Jan 24 2008, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 24 2008, 10:37 AM) A bit difficult to understand what you are talking about. From what was said by the previous person, the old XBox360 (prior to falcon) got a failure rate of 30%. Which means 70% is working. The Falcon sets itself sold since 4 mths ago , so far has a failure rate of 10%, which means 90% of the Falcon sets are working well so far. Sry... my poor english. What i mean is compare to the older version, mostly the 3rod happen are around 1 year, if this falcon is really already hit by 3rod with 4 month only, u think the rate will be higher than 30% or lower than 30% after 1 year, actually i have ask many shop about the falcon chipset, so far they dint received any return from falcon xbox360 including GH too, and this falcon have much much better cooler than previous one. So i hope that failure rate from falcon is not over than 5% after 1 years, so everyone will happy with their xbox360.
Ngto
Jan 24 2008, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 24 2008, 11:37 AM) Sry... my poor english. What i mean is compare to the older version, mostly the 3rod happen are around 1 year, if this falcon is really already hit by 3rod with 4 month only, u think the rate will be higher than 30% or lower than 30% after 1 year, actually i have ask many shop about the falcon chipset, so far they dint received any return from falcon xbox360 including GH too, and this falcon have much much better cooler than previous one. So i hope that failure rate from falcon is not over than 5% after 1 years, so everyone will happy with their xbox360. Ok, now I get you
unknowns
Jan 24 2008, 09:01 PM
u guys sure it is a hdd prob? cuz when I had that prob and brought it over to Sg, all they did was replace it with a whole new model and not just the hdd.. hmmm.
nakata101
Jan 24 2008, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(unknowns @ Jan 24 2008, 09:01 PM) u guys sure it is a hdd prob? cuz when I had that prob and brought it over to Sg, all they did was replace it with a whole new model and not just the hdd.. hmmm. Maybe they lazy to check it n direct exchange the new one for u, if they do like that, mean u r not the only one got this problem.
small-jeff
Jan 25 2008, 06:44 PM
hmm...can directly exchange for a new one er..then when my warranty near to expire, have to make some problems to they would give me a new one too...
unknowns
Jan 25 2008, 07:03 PM
haha nola.. i think in their database they do put that u got an exchange, so warranty still stands at it is..