Help Machines Warranty Repair

MissMoo
post Jan 23 2008, 04:12 PM

32 posts

Dear Knuxed,

If your machine is under warranty, they are not supposed not charge you for service, that is if it is a hardware problem. However, if it is a software problem, it is possible to incur a charge as the warranty is only for the computer's hardware.

Dust and hair in the screen is not covered by Applecare as that is not a hardware defect.

I apologize for any inconvenience you have faced when coming to our outlet and I sincerely hope this experience does not cause you to think lowly of our outlet. If there are any complaints, please send an e-mail to info@machines.com.my. Please be assured that your feedback is taken seriously.

If you have any other enquiries, please do not hesitate to PM me.

Regards,
Nadia
MissMoo
post Jan 23 2008, 09:26 PM

32 posts

Neekun,

I am actually a new sales staff as well, and sadly.. I too must admit that sine if the sales staff here are not native Apple users and their knowledge of the products is lacking, however I assure you that they are learning and the Midvalley outlet especially has been trying very hard to improve customer service. There is a team of us who are working with management to give customers a better experience when they come to our stores.

It may not be an immediate improvement, but we truly are working on it. I do encourage you all, however, to e-mail in your feedback to info@machines.com.my. This is the best way to ensure that your concerns are heard.

I sincerely apologize for the bad experiences you all have had at any of the Machines stores and we are working very hard to ensure you get the best out of your visit to Machines.

Again, I do urge you to forward any feedback you have to info@machines.com.my. This is one of the ways that you can help us serve you better.

To add on, I am sorry for the wrong information that the sales staff has given you, I am sure that it was not intentional and I hope you understand that. We are working to make sure the staff pay more attention to our promotions as well as to the customers.

Regards,
Nadia

Added on January 23, 2008, 9:31 pmKnuxed,

Please be assured that we are definitely working to try to improve our service at our stores, especially at the Midvalley outlet. It is a process and will take time. Sincere change does not happen overnight and I hope that you understand that. There are a few of us sales staff who are very passionate Mac evangelists, but not all are. Don't worry, for we are definitely, definitely working on it.

If you have any more feedback, please do forward it to info@machines.com.my.

Regards,

Nadia

Added on January 23, 2008, 9:33 pmDear Voxe,

You do not need to present a receipt. Once the technical staff has checked your serial number and ensured you are covered under the limited warranty/AppleCare warranty period, you will be able to make a warranty claim, no questions asked.

Regards,
Nadia.

Added on January 23, 2008, 9:36 pmYung Ming,

We only service on the spot if it is possible to be serviced on the spot. Other than that, you will have to leave the machine at the service center and they will call you once the machine has been serviced.

Added on January 23, 2008, 9:44 pm
QUOTE(Jokersson @ Jan 23 2008, 07:16 PM)
Just to add to knuxed's post, I too share the same experience. Sometimes the sales people hound you once you step in and browse, making you feel you uncomfortable. Other times they just congregate on one corner and chat among themselves while you try to get their attention.

And please get the sales people informed of new developments, new products and their features inside-out. It's a shame when the customers know more than people manning an Apple store.
Jokersson,

We are making sure that the staff are reading up sites like TUAW, AppleInsider and MacNN to make sure they are up to date with Apple's new developments . Sadly, it is also hard for management to find staff that are well-versed with Apple products as there are very few people who work retail that are Apple users. However, we are all still learning. Although the salesperson might not know the product that well, if he takes the initiative to find out for you and help you, that is the best he will be able to do. But rest assured that we are making sure our staff know what they are selling as we do product training at every meeting we have. I certainly hope that your next visit will be better.

Regards,

Nadia.

This post has been edited by MissMoo: Jan 23 2008, 09:44 PM
MissMoo
post Jan 23 2008, 10:55 PM

32 posts

This is correct.
However, the receipt is only really needed if there is a dispute in the date of purchase.
Other than that, if they find your product is still under warranty,
You will not need the receipt.
It is recommended that you keep it, though.
MissMoo
post Jan 24 2008, 01:20 PM

32 posts

I have just double checked with the technical staff and one said is covered, the other said it isn't.
So.. that wasn't much help.

But after thinking about it, I think Crusader is definitely right. Hair and dust shouldn't be able to have gotten into the screen unless it was during manufacturing, hence that would be a manufacturing defect thus it is covered by warranty. If hair and dust got into the screen AFTER manufacturing, then there must have been something wrong with the LCD display itself because it's not supposed to allow dust in.

I will bring this up with the service and tech manager.

MissMoo
post Jan 24 2008, 11:19 PM

32 posts

I wouldn't say that there is a best,
But Machines Midvalley outlet has the most knowledgeable senior staff.
If you want to know the good people to look for when at an outlet,
Do PM me and I will let you know.
MissMoo
post Jan 25 2008, 12:26 AM

32 posts

Sure.
You can also give me your service report number and I can check the status for you.
MissMoo
post Jan 27 2008, 12:49 AM

32 posts

Hi Xandman,

I actually work at the store itself, but it's rather easy to find out repair status as everyone is very close knit. Technicians in hq as well as the people at the store. smile.gif

Arif indeed is a very good technician. Do look for him if ever in the store and if you ever have any trouble with your machine.
MissMoo
post Feb 1 2008, 11:31 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Samanoske Akechi @ Jan 30 2008, 11:05 PM)
Question is.... Are the staff in Machines as bad as this too? I mean, they treated me fine with my brother's iPod purchase there, quite helpful, in fact. I wouldn't know as well as you guys though, perhaps they aren't as 'friendly' with warranty cases...
Well, we really are trying to improve the customer service at the store.
Hence, vigorous internal customer service training.

Guys, please do understand that any sort of "look" conveyed by the staff may not necessarily mean anything.
I can really assure you that at our outlet, we don't intend to ignore the more casually dressed customers.

No offense to anyone, but if you go into a store with "they're ignoring me because I'm dressed like this" mentality,
That is what you will feel.

I know some of the staff have the lan si look, but they really do have good intentions. smile.gif
I did ask my colleague once why he looked so lan si when serving the customer,
He didn't even realize it.

He just merely responded.. "Ngo ma sang dou ngo lan si yong.. mm guai tak ngo ge maaaa. sad.gif "
Translation: My mom gave birth to a son with this lan si face, so you really can't blame me maaaa. sad.gif

MissMoo
post Feb 18 2008, 07:35 PM

32 posts

hahaha. well.
"adore el-cheapo looking guys" is a bit exaggerated. smile.gif

0.0190sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:56 PM