jl audio amp problem, overheat

TSomegalau
post Jan 20 2008, 09:39 PM, updated 18y ago

Hi all sifu in here, there's some problem with my jl 300/2 amp. Hope can get some help here. icon_question.gif

The JL amp comes with 2 channel 150 RMS each and I only use it for 2 front component 55 RMS speakers. It should be more than enough to pump it. But recently the amp seems like getting easier to heat up, sometimes 5 to 6 songs in normal volume can cause the amp to be overheat (red light indicate). Strange part is: sometime I can listen music from KL till JB (3 to 4 hours) and the amp still works fine. I done the installation part in KF audio, I think it will not be their fault.

According to the manual, it will lower down the power output while over heat. But this is not what I heard in my case. I assume "lower down power output" will be something like decrease the volume or gain while listening. in my case it totally went off and come back maybe 2 or 3 sec. most of the time it sounds like signal distortion just right before it went off.

I really need some advise, please help. It will be much appreciate. Thanks.

craziechild
post Jan 21 2008, 07:48 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

try to check your
1. speaker wires for any chasis ground shorts...
2. your speaker still working properly? mayb the VC burnt?

cheers...
TSomegalau
post Jan 21 2008, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jan 21 2008, 07:48 AM)
try to check your
1. speaker wires for any chasis ground shorts...
2. your speaker still working properly? mayb the VC burnt?

cheers...
There's no ground shorts in my wire, by the way how do I check for VC burnt? thanks. tongue.gif
craziechild
post Jan 21 2008, 01:14 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

resistance test? i usually smell it... haha...
TSomegalau
post Jan 21 2008, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jan 21 2008, 01:14 PM)
resistance test? i usually smell it... haha...
i didn't smell anything so far le.... but the speaker sounds clear as new. tongue.gif

By the way is there any JL audio service center in malaysia? thanks.

This post has been edited by omegalau: Jan 21 2008, 02:08 PM
bafukie
post Jan 21 2008, 05:24 PM

1,406 posts

go back to ur installer la....
TSomegalau
post Jan 21 2008, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(bafukie @ Jan 21 2008, 05:24 PM)
go back to ur installer la....
My installer is in KL, I am living in JB. install in there because of the craftsmanship. Even with those professional, a confirm solve problem will not be guarantee under this situation since my amp is not getting from the installer as well. I bought this amp from US. but didn't find any service center over here.

I suspect there's something wrong with the thermal detector or there's some connection loose inside the amp. That's why need all sifu help in here. If there's anyone in here have experience with fixing car amp please help. Thanks.
bafukie
post Jan 21 2008, 09:01 PM

1,406 posts

u might as well head down to 'famous audio' near southern college. thats one of the very good installer in jb.
TSomegalau
post Jan 22 2008, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(bafukie @ Jan 21 2008, 09:01 PM)
u might as well head down to 'famous audio' near southern college. thats one of the very good installer in jb.
Thanks. Went to that installer. But nothing done at last since the JL malaysia refuse to repair an US unit. Listen to the sound of their clients car, damn.... I'll do one of those when I got better.
bafukie
post Jan 22 2008, 10:19 PM

1,406 posts

since urs is not under any warranty, juz send to any technician to repair.
mnkh27
post Jan 22 2008, 11:57 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(omegalau @ Jan 20 2008, 09:39 PM)
It should be more than enough to pump it. But recently the amp seems like getting easier to heat up, sometimes 5 to 6 songs in normal volume can cause the amp to be overheat (red light indicate).
Only happened recently?
TSomegalau
post Jan 23 2008, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(bafukie @ Jan 22 2008, 10:19 PM)
since urs is not under any warranty, juz send to any technician to repair.
They can repair, but no spare parts available.

Added on January 23, 2008, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(mnkh27 @ Jan 22 2008, 11:57 PM)
Only happened recently?
Yes. By the way I installed more than half year ago. I went to Famous audio in JB, they suspect is amp internal problem as well, Any clue?

This post has been edited by omegalau: Jan 23 2008, 03:39 PM
bafukie
post Jan 23 2008, 05:41 PM

1,406 posts

aikss... no spare part ga?
TSomegalau
post Jan 23 2008, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(bafukie @ Jan 23 2008, 05:41 PM)
aikss... no spare part ga?
Because the spare parts hold in JL malaysia hand. doh.gif
craziechild
post Jan 24 2008, 08:38 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

why not send back to your installer for warranties from JL then?

i think yours is still on warranties right?
ryan_hustler
post Jan 29 2008, 05:32 AM

889 posts

Im using a cap ayam amp to power my mtx sub..always overheats so i extended the leg-air cond piping to under the seat..works for me! hehe i used the CAI rubber hose to extend and wrap the carpetting over it with double sided tape to conceal..
jzchen
post Sep 10 2008, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(omegalau @ Jan 20 2008, 09:39 PM)
Hi all sifu in here, there's some problem with my jl 300/2 amp. Hope can get some help here.  icon_question.gif

The JL amp comes with 2 channel 150 RMS each and I only use it for 2 front component 55 RMS speakers. It should be more than enough to pump it. But recently the amp seems like getting easier to heat up, sometimes 5 to 6 songs in normal volume can cause the amp to be overheat (red light indicate). Strange part is: sometime I can listen music from KL till JB (3 to 4 hours) and the amp still works fine. I done the installation part in KF audio, I think it will not be their fault.

According to the manual, it will lower down the power output while over heat. But this is not what I heard in my case. I assume "lower down power output" will be something like decrease the volume or gain while listening. in my case it totally went off and come back maybe 2 or 3 sec. most of the time it sounds like signal distortion just right before it went off.

I really need some advise, please help. It will be much appreciate. Thanks.
Hi, I have the exact same amp and owned it for 6 yrs. Have been running good as this while til recently it receives power supply but no sound produce to the speakers. Tried going to the installer for repair but to no result. Problem is all installer will send it somewhere to repair it but since you don't buy the amp from them, they are relunctant to repair it, hoping for you to buy a new set from them.

Where can i get this amp fix? Pls help....
MobyDick
post Sep 10 2008, 11:44 AM

731 posts

Try checking previous postings on this forum for some shops which do repairs.

0.0191sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:00 PM