ICE Setup Recommendation - Newbie, Persona ICE Project

TSfelix83
post Jan 20 2008, 07:00 PM, updated 18y ago

46 posts

hi bros/sifus/pro-ICERs !

i am planning to upgrade my ICE setup on my Persona slowly a.k.a stage by stage coz not much moolah ($$) to spend one shot ... wub.gif

my music preference is mostly pop, RnB, and light to mid rock (eg Linkin Park, Greenday, Nickelback)...
i'm not into hip-hop or heavy metal (now old liao... rclxub.gif ) so i don't really need a sub with those really kick ass bass loud enough for 1 whole kampung to hear ...
in fact, i prefer a more "airy" bass like a thump rather than boom boom!

just as long the SQ is good enough for myself to enjoy during my 2 hour drive back hometown on weekends - i'm happy..

the current setup:
Stock Persona Blaupunkt HU
4 speakers setup

i'm looking into setting up my ICE like the following diagram from mattchin's thread

based from reading thru some of the other threads - i understand that for SQ a setup of 2 front component speakers + 1 woofer is recommended.
so, i'm planning my upgrade like this:
Stage 1: upgrade front component speakers + 2 channel amp
Stage 2: get monoblock + subwoofer
Stage 3: upgrade HU

sifus - got any recommendations ? is my setup choice ok ?

but i got a few Qs..
currently, i've got 4 speakers - would it be a waste not to have any speakers at the back? if i go for 2 front speakers setup...what do i do with the 2 lubang at the back ?
for HU - what does 2-DIN mean? sorry...still newbie (but hoping to improve fast! whistling.gif )

thanks in advance for any reply ... appreciate it...

This post has been edited by felix83: Jan 20 2008, 07:01 PM
tzywen
post Jan 20 2008, 07:18 PM

149 posts

I'm now using 2 front speakers only with a 2ch amp. Sound quality is good with adequate bass. I don't really need a woofer because I don't need bass so strong that you can shake your car with it tongue.gif

Leave the 2 rear speakers if you're not using them. I've been thinking of installing rear speakers but since most of the time i'm driving alone, 2 front speakers are enough.

2 din means the bigger head units. example:

go with the 2 front speaker setup with a 2 ch amp first. if you're not satisfied with the bass, then get a woofer.
kevyeoh
post Jan 20 2008, 09:53 PM

4,721 posts

your plan is correct...get a good component speaker first and if you think the sound is not good enough or juice lacking, then get a 2ch amp...

alternatively, you can spend a bit more to get a 4-ch amp so in case you want a subwoofer...you don't have to pay more to get another amp...

my input is... a basic system should always consist of a comp set + subwoofer + amp...
the sound is not complete without subbass sound... try to attend more ICE tt and you can easily demo a setup with and without subwoofer....
it's very noticeable and then u can decide if you want to add a sub or not...

alternatively, some ppl pasang rear 6x9 speaker as replacement for subwoofer...but of course, it won't be as good as having a subwoofer...
TSfelix83
post Jan 22 2008, 07:14 AM

46 posts

thanks bros for all the reply...

so far, looks like my plan is ok - will try to look for a good set of component speakers
so far looking soundstream offers are quite alot ...

how is this brand for comp speakers ?

btw, any sifu here knows if we change the stock HU ... can we still use the steering remote control function for the new HU ?
bafukie
post Jan 22 2008, 10:35 AM

1,406 posts

depending on ur budget.
Ultima
post Jan 23 2008, 11:05 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

QUOTE(felix83 @ Jan 22 2008, 07:14 AM)

so far, looks like my plan is ok - will try to look for a good set of component speakers

btw, any sifu here knows if we change the stock HU ... can we still use the steering remote control function for the new HU ?
im using soundstream comp speaker for my persona, so far the sound is good biggrin.gif

u hav to change the panel first if u wanna change the HU.. acc shop got sell those panel to fit aftermarket HU...

for the steering remote control function, i dun think can use it on new HU, or maybe can, tr ask sifoos here notworthy.gif

persona rear speaker is good for me, as it hv good bass sound biggrin.gif
zombie
post Jan 24 2008, 02:55 AM

Died
685 posts

How is the Persona stock speakers and HU?

Just upgrade the HU and front component speakers. Since kickass bass is not a concern, just keep the 2 back speakers wired and they will give you some decent bass.

One more thing, you may want to rewire the audio cables with good cables.
TSfelix83
post Jan 25 2008, 07:07 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Jan 23 2008, 11:05 PM)
im using soundstream comp speaker for my persona, so far the sound is good biggrin.gif

u hav to change the panel first if u wanna change the HU.. acc shop got sell those panel to fit aftermarket HU...

for the steering remote control function, i dun think can use it on new HU, or maybe can, tr ask sifoos here notworthy.gif

persona rear speaker is good for me, as it hv good bass sound biggrin.gif
ya the rear speakers bass sound is quite ok ...
so bro - mind to share u current ICE setup? from ur thread...cant find exactly what u ended up doing la sweat.gif
u added the front comp speakers n amp? didnt change the HU ?

QUOTE(zombie @ Jan 24 2008, 02:55 AM)
How is the Persona stock speakers and HU?

Just upgrade the HU and front component speakers. Since kickass bass is not a concern, just keep the 2 back speakers wired and they will give you some decent bass.

One more thing, you may want to rewire the audio cables with good cables.
if i upgrade the front speakers and keep the rear speakers...will it "interfere" with the quality of the front comp speakers? eg the SQ difference...
good cables, eg ?
craziechild
post Jan 25 2008, 09:07 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

if i understand your question correctly... interference is always there if there is a rear speaker... but then it wouldnt "down grade" your front component set...

about the good cables... well... lets jus leave tht to the final stages of your setup... cuz i think there is no significant difference if you change now... and those wires needs matching to actually make the whole system sound good... not jus expensive...
TSfelix83
post Jan 25 2008, 06:28 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jan 25 2008, 09:07 AM)
if i understand your question correctly... interference is always there if there is a rear speaker... but then it wouldnt "down grade" your front component set...

about the good cables... well... lets jus leave tht to the final stages of your setup... cuz i think there is no significant difference if you change now... and those wires needs matching to actually make the whole system sound good... not jus expensive...
thanks bro for the reply...

yeah, actually i was more worried about the rear speakers "downgrading" the overall SQ if it's not up to par with the front component set...
i remember sitting in a friend's car with sony xplod speakers in the front but stock ones at the back (he was in the middle of upgrading) ... and the SQ from the rear kinda spoilt the overall quality...
i felt that the rear speakers were sort of less "natural" compared to the front ones...

n noted about the cables icon_rolleyes.gif
craziechild
post Jan 26 2008, 07:54 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

overall SQ yea... it might go down... but you can always fade to the front... tht way you listen more to the front component speaker while the having the rear to "support" whole SQ... but then it doesnt always work well tht way though... try out and see which one you like then stick with it...

cheers...
NelsonBoy
post Feb 26 2008, 10:55 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

get JBL GTO 607C 6.5" 2way Component Spkr (2tweeter+2midbass)
2 rear hole are used up.
get multichannel amp 2/3/4
if not satisfy for the bass, then only go for JBL GTO 250mm SUBbox

wwlai87
post Feb 27 2008, 02:06 AM

Public Enemy
1,233 posts

QUOTE(felix83 @ Jan 22 2008, 07:14 AM)

no offence, but soundstream a lot of fake product outside... sweat.gif i think u know also...

and about changing stock HU, i don think the steering's remote function will be working.. laugh.gif u gotta sacrifice them!
nycs82
post Mar 6 2008, 09:01 AM

TwinKLe TwinKLe LiTTLe StaR
776 posts

well ... knowing the right stuff for adding in is good but any recommendation on shops which offers authentic goods as well as good workmanship and service? ...

I think that has a strong role to play as well
wwlai87
post Mar 6 2008, 09:39 AM

Public Enemy
1,233 posts

workmanship i don have to worry.. thumbup.gif just buy frm shop, my fren can do the pasang job.. laugh.gif

0.0185sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:59 AM