open casing not good?, true or false

TSben_ang
post Jan 20 2008, 11:18 AM, updated 18y ago

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

ok guys, i remembered there is a poll asking if you guys leave ur pc naked, which mean u opened the casing, 4 better cooling purposes & easy access i suppose.

but there is one article i read in the newspaper stating that opening your pc's casing doesnt actually help much on the cooling part, says its broken the way the ventilation or watever it means.. tongue.gif and cooling effect will be worst than adding fans inside.

and the casing cover actually is the last line of defense for blocking all those radiation frm those component inside.

so wat do u guys thnk? true or false? or "h*ll, smoke is bad 4 health but i still live by it..so wat should i care?" biggrin.gif
maranello55
post Jan 20 2008, 11:21 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

Depends on what casing u have....if u have a casing that have a proper fan and ventilation path, opening it can disrupt the cooling. But if u have a cap ayam mini-atx casing and an OC GC and proc...u better have it opened and put a table fan to it...
Skylinestar
post Jan 20 2008, 11:33 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

if u open it and put a big fan blowing to it..it's good ...but the dust..
tomatos
post Jan 20 2008, 11:35 AM

563 posts

It's noisy.
diggnation
post Jan 20 2008, 11:54 AM

50 posts

lizard and other bigger insects might crawl inside and reproduce!

Then one fine day after a long weekend, you have problem starting your pc~

real experience~
TSben_ang
post Jan 20 2008, 11:57 AM

2,013 posts

wah, so terrible ah? well, lucky my pc is not on the floor, its actually on my table..
tomatos
post Jan 20 2008, 11:59 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 11:57 AM)
wah, so terrible ah? well, lucky my pc is not on the floor, its actually on my table..
Next thing you will see is spider webs.
diggnation
post Jan 20 2008, 12:01 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 11:57 AM)
still ... lizards can crawl...

sometimes, they do nasty things in your casing... sigh~ those were the days.

by the way, also look out for the dust...

Added on January 20, 2008, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 20 2008, 11:59 AM)
Next thing you will see is spider webs.
i think spider web also got last time.... but it's so dusty until i cant recognize which one is dust, which one is spider web. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by diggnation: Jan 20 2008, 12:02 PM
silentnitez
post Jan 20 2008, 12:07 PM

Silentz
1,051 posts

if u hardworking...then good lor,put a big fan..if u lazy then dust...
lehteck
post Jan 20 2008, 12:16 PM

+=--=+
2,408 posts

I always open my case lo..Haha...

So far dust ok lo..be rajin..clean everyday:P

I put my hdd outside so need take out the s.panel...
omara86
post Jan 20 2008, 12:27 PM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

i;ve experienced when i try to test my old pc.. running or not.. suddenly the pc *boom* at PSU area when i try to switch on.. then i check at the PSU, ants r nesting there~ damn..
blessedvillain
post Jan 20 2008, 12:50 PM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

actually, it doesnt matter if u open up your side panel or close it. if the insects are attracted to your casing, there's not much you can do about it.

you can however constantly keep your workstation and your casing clean. That's very important if you plan to keep your casing opened.
TSben_ang
post Jan 20 2008, 01:02 PM

2,013 posts

ok, i'm a lazy fella, so my pc lying there collecting dust with d case open..d*mn.. maybe 1 day need open it all n giv it a clean..but so far lucky nothngy go/nest/breed/watever they do inside la..
LExus65
post Jan 20 2008, 01:14 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

well properly enclosed casing with good air flow and dust filter can prolonged the life of the components and keeps the part look new even after years of service.

TSben_ang
post Jan 20 2008, 04:18 PM

2,013 posts

adding some fans and grill might help the air flow, but wat u mean by dust filter? thought cleaning is the only way 2 get rid of dust...
Bigblock
post Jan 20 2008, 04:23 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

Well i keep my sidepanel open eventhough i have a fan for my sidepanel...constant cleaning is required tho..

This post has been edited by Bigblock: Jan 20 2008, 04:23 PM
mizivincible
post Jan 20 2008, 04:26 PM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

Yes I have to agree, open casing is giving better airflow but dusty. I cleaned my pc every two days with vacuum, just suck out all the dust.

And, open casing is providing fresh air while smoking is providing nicotine and tar =P

This post has been edited by mizivincible: Jan 20 2008, 04:29 PM
TSben_ang
post Jan 20 2008, 07:18 PM

2,013 posts

but newspaper article i saw saying tat open side panel is not gud 4 air flow?
amd_hardcore
post Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM

Pening
848 posts

dun trust newspaper article...

newspaper article is for newbie , correct me if im wrong..

i am oredi experience this thing... my hardware is assemble without use any casing... the tmpreatrure is excellent...

but now i use casing ler bcoz my mother mad at me... hahhaa

This post has been edited by amd_hardcore: Jan 20 2008, 07:28 PM
afosz
post Jan 20 2008, 07:29 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

last time i tried, not so much diff in terms of airflow and temperature. of course, no stand fan beside the case. just open the side panel for several days, and monitor the temperature. no diff in my case

but turns out some cases at my college, open case will result in stealing RAM!
sniper69
post Jan 20 2008, 07:32 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

you don't want to be like fella don't you?

doh.gif shakehead.gif tongue.gif
rainingzero
post Jan 20 2008, 07:34 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Jan 20 2008, 07:29 PM)
last time i tried, not so much diff in terms of airflow and temperature. of course, no stand fan beside the case. just open the side panel for several days, and monitor the temperature. no diff in my case

but turns out some cases at my college, open case will result in stealing RAM!
stealing hardwares from inside opened case are really common in my campus last time. but now, no such case happened anymore so far.
must be really hurt if ur performance rams got steal moreover by some noob~!!! doh.gif
afosz
post Jan 20 2008, 07:36 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 20 2008, 07:32 PM)

aiyo, so greyish and brownish doh.gif

close case is a bit soothing to the eyes when looking at your CPU. open case, especially both side panels, looks like rangka already
akachester
post Jan 20 2008, 07:38 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

LOL sniper69, is that even yours?
afosz
post Jan 20 2008, 07:42 PM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jan 20 2008, 07:34 PM)
stealing hardwares from inside opened case are really common in my campus last time. but now, no such case happened anymore so far.
must be really hurt if ur performance rams got steal moreover by some noob~!!!  doh.gif
as for me, stealing internal hardwares may be a bit problem coz i never off my pc while in college. so if my side panel is open, they need to switch off the pc 1st then only take out those stuff. that will take some time, or risk getting shock (and later damage my mobo also lorr)
sniper69
post Jan 20 2008, 07:45 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jan 20 2008, 07:38 PM)
LOL sniper69, is that even yours?
doh.gif, no le... one of our friend here... brows.gif whistling.gif

anyway...
mine to... but he cleverer... he actually swapping his 128MB with my 512MB module doh.gif..., actually at first glance, nothing really happen because both module same double sided until i think something about my system... really damn slow doh.gif... damn, my friend's a backstabber vmad.gif
akachester
post Jan 20 2008, 07:48 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 20 2008, 07:45 PM)
doh.gif, no le... one of our friend here... brows.gif whistling.gif

anyway...
mine to... but he cleverer... he actually swapping his 128MB with my 512MB module doh.gif..., actually at first glance, nothing really happen because both module same double sided until i think something about my system... really damn slow doh.gif... damn, my friend's a backstabber vmad.gif
LOL..and i thought thats urs cause i thought you are running everything solely on the mobo tray tongue.gif

Well, thats the bad thing about running a naked/without side panel rig. Especially when you are running on expensive stuff...
TSben_ang
post Jan 20 2008, 08:30 PM

2,013 posts

wow.. my case not tat worse la.. its like dust a few inches already..haha.. time 2 do ur CNY cleaning
liao la bro! sweat.gif
but ur fren clever also, he "swap"instead of "steal" shakehead.gif , did u got ur RAM back afterwards?
mizivincible
post Jan 20 2008, 08:50 PM

1,633 posts

Mengaku ajelah its yours hahaha. Anyway is that really happend ? How did you know it was him ? From his ram ?
lichyetan
post Jan 20 2008, 09:12 PM

2,295 posts

with casing will improve temp with proper air flow and fan... but not for health, i think with or without casing wont make us healthy or not...
sniper69
post Jan 20 2008, 09:45 PM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 08:30 PM)
but ur fren clever also, he "swap"instead of "steal"  shakehead.gif , did u got ur RAM back afterwards?
yes, got it back...

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 20 2008, 08:50 PM)
Mengaku ajelah its yours hahaha. Anyway is that really happend  ? How did you know it was him ? From his ram ?
nah, it's not mine... doh.gif shakehead.gif - not mine

yeap, happened... how? because on the other day (before it was actually happened), this guy asked me about RAM, why he wanted to upgrade and so on, but no money..., he's not a very close friend though, but still a friend aight, same campus, same hostel doh.gif, lucky for me... he too running on naked (not naked as mine, but opened side panel)...
ocz
post Jan 22 2008, 12:07 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Not using any casing is better for me. smile.gif

-Dust???? It can be cleaned.
-Air intake?? there's always air running.
-Messy?? Try to reduce all those unwanted wires,sleeve,or use cable tie.

PeowYong
post Jan 22 2008, 01:24 AM

PeowYong
2,263 posts

talking about dust.....

my fren's pc..

edit: the case is closed.... but havent clean for years...

This post has been edited by PeowYong: Jan 22 2008, 01:25 AM
ocz
post Jan 22 2008, 01:33 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

The dust depends on the place.If the PC is placed in the room full of dust,there you go.Take it. wink.gif

ryudox
post Jan 22 2008, 01:51 AM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

Good...coz max air flow can hit your casing...hoho..
ocz
post Jan 22 2008, 01:57 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Jan 22 2008, 01:51 AM)
Good...coz max air flow can hit your casing...hoho..
Plus it will be more better for those who uses air-conditioner inside their room.
Liuteva
post Jan 24 2008, 05:58 AM

Empty.
2,991 posts

Not good man. Noisy + collecting dust smile.gif
emilz
post Jan 24 2008, 06:27 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(Liuteva @ Jan 24 2008, 05:58 AM)
Not good man. Noisy + collecting dust smile.gif
like tat better not use casing bro

am i rite or not laugh.gif
alexandros_18th
post Jan 24 2008, 11:21 AM

484 posts

just to share my experience.
few years ago I use an open casing pc.
then on the weekend went to the beach then after coming back, about 7pm, there's a snake hanging on the wall. we tried to jolok it, then it fell on the computer table. straight away it went into the pc.

I was like..whaaa!!! dont!!! xD
luckily no volt shock happened. He sat at the 5.25" Bay. sweat.gif
temptation1314
post Jan 24 2008, 11:52 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(alexandros_18th @ Jan 24 2008, 11:21 AM)
just to share my experience.
few years ago I use an open casing pc.
then on the weekend went to the beach then after coming back, about 7pm, there's a snake hanging on the wall. we tried to jolok it, then it fell on the computer table. straight away it went into the pc.

I was like..whaaa!!! dont!!! xD
luckily no volt shock happened. He sat at the 5.25" Bay. sweat.gif
Thank god it doesn't grab on you when you jolok it...... Thanks to your open PC to provide protection to the snake.. laugh.gif
TSben_ang
post Jan 24 2008, 11:29 PM

2,013 posts

then how u get rid of d snake anyway...
rarapu
post Jan 25 2008, 04:09 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 24 2008, 11:29 PM)
then how u get rid of d snake anyway...
my guess will be, he close the casing, throw it all together. safer that way whistling.gif
Shawnzz
post Jan 25 2008, 05:52 PM

1,911 posts

trow, hahahahha
jedi_dc
post Jan 25 2008, 07:05 PM

2,273 posts

he threw away the whole set, im guessing he use shieldtox + lighter burn it . laugh.gif .. no laaa.. impossible.! im guessing he just left it there as his pet tongue.gif .btw. im using open-casing now , No problem whatsoever. my temeperature is cooler by a few degrees if i open it , .
littleman
post Jan 25 2008, 08:38 PM

834 posts

Is it appropriate to drill alot of holes on your casing?
I mean A LOT...
ocz
post Jan 25 2008, 09:29 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(littleman @ Jan 25 2008, 08:38 PM)
Is it appropriate to drill alot of holes on your casing?
I mean A LOT...
It will not costs a problem.
But what for drilling a lot of holes?
SUSN's
post Jan 25 2008, 09:41 PM

1,091 posts

I got a cap ayam brand, the design is like cap unta brand. I didnt open the casing because can easily collect dust and also noisy. Bad for ears.
ocz
post Jan 25 2008, 09:47 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(N's @ Jan 25 2008, 09:41 PM)
I got a cap ayam brand, the design is like cap unta brand. I didnt open the casing because can easily collect dust and also noisy. Bad for ears.
Why is it noisy?? i think you uses a lots of fans,chipset cooler with fans,gpu cooler with fans.
deric88
post Jan 25 2008, 11:22 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

open or closed?
my CM C5 is always closed, there's once , i found a dead grasshopper* inside .....
my intake front has a filter my back is exhaust.....

*my house has no grass areas

This post has been edited by deric88: Jan 25 2008, 11:36 PM
frankieNrosie
post Jan 25 2008, 11:50 PM

b||ooDY b|u3s
786 posts

QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 20 2008, 11:35 AM)
It's noisy.
it depend on ur fans la..
buy silent fans will help the sound more silent
goldfries
post Jan 26 2008, 01:23 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 11:18 AM)
but there is one article i read in the newspaper stating that opening your pc's casing doesnt actually help much on the cooling part, says its broken the way the ventilation or watever it means.. tongue.gif and cooling effect will be worst than adding fans inside.

and the casing cover actually is the last line of defense for blocking all those radiation frm those component inside.

the article is not wrong.

but btw, we don't have radioactive elements in our PC. smile.gif

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Jan 20 2008, 11:21 AM)
Depends on what casing u have....if u have a casing that have a proper fan and ventilation path, opening it can disrupt the cooling. But if u have a cap ayam mini-atx casing and an OC GC and proc...u better have it opened and put a table fan to it...
not necessarily. even cheap mATX casing and OC GC, with proper placement of fan you can have good ventilation. it's not about casing size or quality. it's the science of cooling.

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 20 2008, 04:26 PM)
Yes I have to agree, open casing is giving better airflow but dusty. I cleaned my pc every two days with vacuum, just suck out all the dust.

open casing DOES NOT give better airflow. you have to put a table fan to get the max out of it.

if you use stuff like Artic Cooling Accelero S1, you wouldn't want to use open casing unless you run the Turbo Module. same goes to running fanless.

FYI my system ran fanless. once i open casing, the system will hang sooner or later. this already proves open casing DOES NOT mean better air flow.

*if anyone wants to argue with me. i run a silent PC that runs fanless on the processor and relies heavily on casing air-flow. it was done by spending hours observing fan speed + temperature to have an optimal setup that works with low-noise and acceptable temperature.

QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM)
dun trust newspaper article...

newspaper article is for newbie , correct me if im wrong..

if article for newbie. how can you not trust it? again it depends on the article. i find forummers and people who lack knowledge are more damaging that newspaper articles.

QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM)
i am oredi experience this thing... my hardware is assemble without use any casing... the tmpreatrure is excellent...

i did both. side-panel open doesn't bring better air-flow or make it more cooling.

if you open side-panel and the temperature is better, then it's clear that your casing doesn't have good air-flow in the first place but that doesn't mean open side-panel always bring you better air-flow.

------------

so yeah. that's about it.

oh and about dust. when your casing have good air-flow, it's not surprising to have dust collection. as long as there's moving air, there will be dust collection. even if you put dust filter (which hurst the air flow) there will still be dust collection some where, with filter on means it'll be on the filter la so either way you still have some thing to clean.

mizivincible
post Jan 26 2008, 01:46 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 26 2008, 01:23 AM)

not necessarily. even cheap mATX casing and OC GC, with proper placement of fan you can have good ventilation. it's not about casing size or quality. it's the science of cooling.
open casing DOES NOT give better airflow. you have to put a table fan to get the max out of it.

if you use stuff like Artic Cooling Accelero S1, you wouldn't want to use open casing unless you run the Turbo Module. same goes to running fanless.

FYI my system ran fanless. once i open casing, the system will hang sooner or later. this already proves open casing DOES NOT mean better air flow.

*if anyone wants to argue with me. i run a silent PC that runs fanless on the processor and relies heavily on casing air-flow. it was done by spending hours observing fan speed + temperature to have an optimal setup that works with low-noise and acceptable temperature.
if article for newbie. how can you not trust it? again it depends on the article. i find forummers and people who lack knowledge are more damaging that newspaper articles.
i did both. side-panel open doesn't bring better air-flow or make it more cooling.

if you open side-panel and the temperature is better, then it's clear that your casing doesn't have good air-flow in the first place but that doesn't mean open side-panel always bring you better air-flow.

------------

oh and about dust. when your casing have good air-flow, it's not surprising to have dust collection. as long as there's moving air, there will be dust collection. even if you put dust filter (which hurst the air flow) there will still be dust collection some where, with filter on means it'll be on the filter la so either way you still have some thing to clean.
Sorry, by stating open casing gives better airflow is actually wrong, my bad doh.gif . I was meant by open casing gives more air, more fresh air to the hardware thus making it cooler.

Err, abang goldfries, is that wrong or correct ? Please correct me again if Im wrong sweat.gif

Added on January 26, 2008, 1:50 am
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 26 2008, 01:23 AM)

Question ! This is relying on ambient temperature ? U state that u didnt use any fan in ur pc right, so you were actually observing which fan speed ?

And second question, this is completely relying on fanless rig, how about open casing with fans rig ? Would the result be same ?

Edited : After reading few times I realized u were saying was your processor doesnt have any fan, while how about case fan ?

This post has been edited by mizivincible: Jan 26 2008, 01:55 AM
goldfries
post Jan 26 2008, 02:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 26 2008, 01:46 AM)
Sorry, by stating open casing gives better airflow is actually wrong, my bad  doh.gif . I was meant by open casing gives more air, more fresh air to the hardware thus making it cooler.

Err, abang goldfries, is that wrong or correct ? Please correct me again if Im wrong  sweat.gif

ok. see, if you're in a hot room and no other flow of air pointing to the casing. then the air-flow isn't that great.

on the other hand if your casing itself has little to no air-flow, then of course opening side panel would result in better ventilation but that doesn't mean it will always be better. smile.gif

open casing works best when you have table fan blowing, or at least have moving air around.

btw my 2nd unit is now open cased........ haha. well that's because i forgot to close and didn't bother to close. smile.gif

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 26 2008, 01:46 AM)
Question ! This is relying on ambient temperature ? U state that u didnt use any fan in ur pc right, so you were actually observing which fan speed ?

And second question, this is completely relying on fanless rig, how about open casing with fans rig ? Would the result be same ?

Edited : After reading few times I realized u were saying was your processor doesnt have any fan, while how about case fan ?

yes. your cooling always relies on ambient temp.

your casing should have the ambient air going into the casing. cool the components then pushed out via exhaust.

my system relied on 3x 120mm fan. you can see ianho's services, my casing side panel is there. my CM C2 ventilation sucked. i spend quite a bit to modify it to the way it wan. good airflow + low noise.

yes. i observe fan speed. not exactly monitoring the RPM la but i monitor adjust the speed and observe noise level + temperature. to me RPM is not important, more important is the air-pushed vs noise vs temperature. to strike a balance.

my current setup using fan la. the one not using fan was my X2 3600+ on OC 2.5ghz running scythe ninja fanless. smile.gif side panel off - sooner or later will hang. side panel on, no problem at all.

on my case, it was specially made for air-flow cos i want a silent setup.

even my current rig is silent setup, all fans are controlled by Vantec Nexus.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 26 2008, 02:12 AM
TSben_ang
post Jan 26 2008, 07:39 PM

2,013 posts

[goldfries]
wow..open side panel will hang, n didnt open will not...hmm.. quite interesting..which mean even u open the side panel, doesnt mean tat definetly u will get better air flow huh..
NewbieBetta
post Jan 26 2008, 07:48 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

good with a table fan direct blowing on it thumbup.gif
wodenus
post Jan 26 2008, 07:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Open case here.. cos am too lazy to put case back on.
f_tech25
post Jan 26 2008, 11:06 PM

for open casing,u'r mother board will eat dust tongue.gif
better not to open it's casing
emilz
post Jan 27 2008, 12:04 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(f_tech25 @ Jan 26 2008, 11:06 PM)
for open casing,u'r mother board will eat dust  tongue.gif
better not to open it's casing
not only mobo lar
all the hardware will covered wif dust lar
TSben_ang
post Jan 27 2008, 12:05 AM

2,013 posts

guess most of the ppl here lazy 2 put it back after remove/add somethngy? or its easier 2 remove/add if its open all d time..? i'm 1 of them..
emilz
post Jan 27 2008, 01:12 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 27 2008, 12:05 AM)
guess most of the ppl here lazy 2 put it back after remove/add somethngy? or its easier 2 remove/add if its open all d time..? i'm 1 of them..
these ppl donno how to appreciate their precious
JackelSinister
post Jan 27 2008, 07:05 PM

hahaha.. i hav to agree somehow that removing a case is not a good idea.. first of all ur rig will be vulnerable to 'outside' intrusion and second.. walla wei.. on the 'look' department, its just damn not nice laa.. yes, technically the fanned one will get more air but can get the damn cicak and lipas oso.. then u see it is 'cool' or not.. dont trust me arr? see my rig lor..

i'm not sure this fall for the cable management thread or extreme case mod thread.. neway.. enjoy loughing.. sweat.gif

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/7543/2701081826ob7.jpg
http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/4153/2701081825ue6.jpg
http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/3606/2701081824ui6.jpg

actually i just remove it from my previous case. its a custom modded case. the 2nd one actually. (yes i do modding) poor thing at that time i never kno malaysia got mod site.. but its not cool anyway so what the heck.. i'm stripping it down bare naked for my next mod.. thinking of a cube case much like the apple GCube n thinking of attaching a 6" LCD straight to the case aside of the AGP out for monitor.. but oni in dream lor.. I will post here when i start the project (hopefully)
general_odin
post Jan 27 2008, 08:49 PM

no work, no money
904 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Jan 26 2008, 12:22 AM)
open or closed?
my CM C5 is always closed, there's once , i found a dead grasshopper* inside .....
my intake front has a filter  my back is exhaust.....
*my house has no grass areas
Grass Hopper... wow

QUOTE(frankieNrosie @ Jan 26 2008, 12:50 AM)
it depend on ur fans la..
buy silent fans will help the sound more silent
mostly it depends on your fan's RPM, if you think your fan is running on a very high speed and producing lots of noise,
just change your fan's positive voltage from +12V(yellow) to +5V(red)
in other hand, this means under powering your fan la
it only works with 4-pin Peripheral power connectors (connects your HDD and CD-ROM) and 4-pin mini connectors (connects your FDDrive)

Click here for more info

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 26 2008, 02:23 AM)

------------

nice system, btw my new system also going to be like this...
as for my E8200, i will use a super long heat sink(used in Core 2 Quad) but fanless...
My GPU i might get a Gigabyte 8600GT with passive heatsink.
and add a 120mm "cheap" fan at my side panel and underpower it. (haven't determine left or right yet, need to mod)
silent... and cool....
hehehe

QUOTE(emilz @ Jan 27 2008, 02:12 AM)
these ppl donno how to appreciate their precious
yaya, agreed...

This post has been edited by general_odin: Jan 27 2008, 08:50 PM
JackelSinister
post Jan 27 2008, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(JackelSinister @ Jan 27 2008, 07:05 PM)
... its a custom modded case. the 2nd one actually. (yes i do modding) poor thing at that time i never kno malaysia got mod site.. but its not cool anyway so what the heck.. i'm stripping it down....
the 'not cool' part refer to my case mod. not this mod site.. hope nobody got offended by this mistake..
mizivincible
post Jan 28 2008, 12:54 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 26 2008, 02:10 AM)
ok. see, if you're in a hot room and no other flow of air pointing to the casing. then the air-flow isn't that great.

on the other hand if your casing itself has little to no air-flow, then of course opening side panel would result in better ventilation but that doesn't mean it will always be better. smile.gif

open casing works best when you have table fan blowing, or at least have moving air around.

btw my 2nd unit is now open cased........ haha. well that's because i forgot to close and didn't bother to close. smile.gif
yes. your cooling always relies on ambient temp.

your casing should have the ambient air going into the casing. cool the components then pushed out via exhaust.

my system relied on 3x 120mm fan. you can see ianho's services, my casing side panel is there. my CM C2 ventilation sucked. i spend quite a bit to modify it to the way it wan. good airflow + low noise.

yes. i observe fan speed. not exactly monitoring the RPM la but i monitor adjust the speed and observe noise level + temperature. to me RPM is not important, more important is the air-pushed vs noise vs temperature. to strike a balance.

my current setup using fan la. the one not using fan was my X2 3600+ on OC 2.5ghz running scythe ninja fanless. smile.gif side panel off - sooner or later will hang. side panel on, no problem at all.

on my case, it was specially made for air-flow cos i want a silent setup.

even my current rig is silent setup, all fans are controlled by Vantec Nexus.
Thanks bro. Understood. Another question please, my setup in college, I place my system beside the balcony entrance, which means the wind and air from outside is blowing towards my system, I thought by closing my panel, the wind or air couldnt penetrate my sytem, how do you look at this matter ?

khai84siong
post Jan 29 2008, 09:41 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(PeowYong @ Jan 22 2008, 01:24 AM)
talking about dust.....

my fren's pc..

edit: the case is closed.... but havent clean for years...

waaaaa, berapa puluh tahun tidak bersihkan itu 'casing'?
like a construction site, full of dust
sorry if im so rude tongue.gif
just my comment though

ps: better be aware that dust 'might' cause electro static (correct me if im wrong icon_rolleyes.gif )
Samanoske Akechi
post Jan 30 2008, 06:14 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

Definitely a bad idea. Dust + non-contained airflow means inefficient cooling and dust bunny BIG TIME. sad.gif In fact, I'd recommend a casing with a minimum of 1 intake and 2 exhaust, 120mm at least. I read that it's recommended so in order to have stronger vacuum of air outwards instead of instead, getting rid of more heated air in the process....
sakurakinomoto
post Jan 30 2008, 09:12 PM

This was a triumph.
1,164 posts

I voted True.

Because My Desktops are workstations, they actually use the big intake hole in front to really push the air to the back.

HP Workstation XW4100 & XW8000

If you open the case, the temperature gets really hot.

However, If you have the case closed, the air from the front is really strong XD

but still, If talking about dust, these 2 workstations don't make any difference with open/close case because the dust really gets thicken and there's spider web O_O
tech_frix
post Jan 31 2008, 01:43 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(diggnation @ Jan 20 2008, 11:54 AM)
lizard and other bigger insects might crawl inside and reproduce!

Then one fine day after a long weekend, you have problem starting your pc~

real experience~
my friends pc oredy got semut bermastautin kat situ...
so better close ur casing lor...
and make sure ur casing has a good airflow n no need to open d side panel.. cool.gif
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 01:55 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 26 2008, 07:39 PM)
wow..open side panel will hang, n didnt open will not...hmm.. quite interesting..which mean even u open the side panel, doesnt mean tat definetly u will get better air flow huh..

yup. cos you see, i was running fanless even for the processor.

if not air-movement then the heat doesn't leave the heatsink and all goes down.

casing close, i could do folding on both cores at 100% and still survive warm day. smile.gif

it's a science of moving air. hot air goes up. when hot air goes up. there's vacuum, thus pressure leads to cooler air moving in to take the place.

in my case, cool air come in from the side. warm air goes out via PSU and exhaust.

when side panel taken away

1. no more cool air, even though the panel is open that doesn't mean cool air goes in.
2. warm air not properly pushed out, since pressure created by the panel is not there already so the exhausts will only pull top layer air while those at the mid / bottom move far slower.

Added on January 31, 2008, 1:58 am
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 28 2008, 12:54 AM)
Thanks bro. Understood. Another question please, my setup in college, I place my system beside the balcony entrance, which means the wind and air from outside is blowing towards my system, I thought by closing my panel, the wind or air couldnt penetrate my sytem, how do you look at this matter ?
so can you guarantee the air will enter the casing? and whether the air will be cooler?

for me, my system placed on the floor. logic? air is coolest at the bottom.

anyway for better AIR entrance to the casing, use a fan or 2. most casings have front panel that allows you a 120mm / 80mm fan. put one that, it also helps cooling the hard disk.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 31 2008, 01:58 AM
ocz
post Jan 31 2008, 05:20 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

By the way,not using a case is always good. thumbup.gif
Grand Inquisitor
post Jan 31 2008, 08:44 PM

403 posts

Yeah. You rite. The regret later after someone accidentally splitting water at your naked PC. lolz
ocz
post Jan 31 2008, 08:48 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(Grand Inquisitor @ Jan 31 2008, 08:44 PM)
Yeah. You rite. The regret later after someone accidentally splitting water at your naked PC. lolz
Owh,i've been thru that.I accidentally split warm water into my PSU. laugh.gif
The psu,hdd,dvd and mobo kong. laugh.gif
But its ok,i will never regret using naked rig. thumbup.gif
easyzuddin
post Jan 31 2008, 10:10 PM

Nadi Ikhwani Safaa
539 posts

if got children at home better close the cassing...for me I've never open the casing even the climate is warm. If I think its warm I close the computer for a while then do back what am I doing before. Take more Hazard and Safety prequation in life...anyway its only a machine.. if die always can get new one or let it be like that and enjoy other activities.
TSben_ang
post Feb 1 2008, 12:16 AM

2,013 posts

QUOTE(ocz @ Jan 31 2008, 08:48 PM)
Owh,i've been thru that.I accidentally split warm water into my PSU. laugh.gif
The psu,hdd,dvd and mobo kong. laugh.gif
But its ok,i will never regret using naked rig. thumbup.gif
wah, where u put ur pc? split water lo..sure all kong.. shakehead.gif

ocz
post Feb 1 2008, 01:05 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Feb 1 2008, 12:16 AM)
wah, where u put ur pc? split water lo..sure all kong.. shakehead.gif
Its naked and placed left lower down the table. biggrin.gif
While playing games,i accidentally knocked the cup containing plain water using the mouse. wink.gif
Yup,all hardware gone.But now new rig. thumbup.gif
skynet_V2
post Feb 1 2008, 03:09 AM

288 posts

it's useless for changing new rig just because that accident....
do u still put ur new rig outside without casing?
i prefer not to open ue casing if u love ur rig hehe
TSben_ang
post Feb 1 2008, 11:58 AM

2,013 posts

n if u love ur wallet.. new rig is gonna cost u money leh..
mars
post Feb 3 2008, 12:22 AM

294 posts

"split" ?..............................
ocz
post Feb 6 2008, 09:14 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(skynet_V2 @ Feb 1 2008, 03:09 AM)
it's useless for changing new rig just because that accident....
do u still put ur new rig outside without casing?
i prefer not to open ue casing if u love ur rig hehe
Nah,all the hadwares gone.Its useless.No point for me to keep it. smile.gif
Right now i am still using a naked RIG. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Feb 1 2008, 11:58 AM)
n if u love ur wallet.. new rig is gonna cost u money leh..
No lah,i built an old pc only. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mars @ Feb 3 2008, 12:22 AM)
"split" ?..............................
I mean "tumpah"..................... tongue.gif
skyliner
post Feb 7 2008, 06:11 PM

aku orang
627 posts

IMHO, open casing with nicely maintained is better than others (provided in air conditioned environment) but without casing is fragile as the components exposed to danger (water, humidity other)...
valensi
post Feb 8 2008, 01:24 AM

166 posts

After i closed my sidepanels, my HDD temperature drop by 2-3 degrees
noobianz
post Feb 8 2008, 01:39 AM

479 posts

same goes to me,hdd temp drop around 3 degrees but gpu n cpu temp rise around 2 degrees...

btw,is it neccesssary for the exhaust fan having higher CFM compared to intake fan?

This post has been edited by noobianz: Feb 8 2008, 01:41 AM
anep
post Feb 8 2008, 01:43 AM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

i open my drive bay cover..
meaj
post Feb 8 2008, 01:43 AM

Superstar
618 posts

I like my computer naked cool2.gif
lov3too4ll
post Feb 8 2008, 08:16 AM

43 posts

do like mine..half open half close tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lov3too4ll: Feb 8 2008, 08:18 AM
TSben_ang
post Feb 8 2008, 02:54 PM

2,013 posts

i wonder how u manage 2 get such a status?
Taman Linkin
post Feb 8 2008, 08:43 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

Invisible case FTW.

TSben_ang
post Feb 8 2008, 10:31 PM

2,013 posts

d*mn, u r a overclocker or somethngy? anyway.. is tat 8800?
minghao
post Feb 8 2008, 10:36 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ Feb 8 2008, 08:43 PM)
Invisible case FTW.

No scare of dusts? blink.gif

TSben_ang
post Feb 8 2008, 11:25 PM

2,013 posts

well, in his case.. i thnk got dust he can easily clean it? no blind spot, hard 2 reach places/corners..
vixxiee
post Feb 9 2008, 01:30 AM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

your liberty is modular..but seems like to much cacing
TSben_ang
post Feb 11 2008, 11:36 AM

2,013 posts

i wonder wat tat means...
sniper69
post Feb 11 2008, 11:46 AM

7,173 posts

i'm running naked... brows.gif

rainingzero
post Feb 11 2008, 02:36 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 11 2008, 11:46 AM)
i'm running naked... brows.gif

yeah, i know. u like to "running naked" right?? laugh.gif
this one is better if wanna clean up ur hardwares. no need to disassemble everything outside the casing 1st...
TSben_ang
post Feb 11 2008, 04:06 PM

2,013 posts

haha, running naked..but tat would be quite a hard job doing cable management? coz can c all those cables here n there..
king99
post Feb 11 2008, 10:24 PM

1,188 posts

DO NOT PUT TABLE FAN NEAR YOUR PC !

I tell you why.....table Fans create A lot of static.....

Learn it the hard way..........Fried a few Vodoo FX
Aquariusdenz
post Feb 11 2008, 11:04 PM

1,533 posts

im using table fan to blow my monitor not cpu.. haha.. coz am still using big crt... i leave the side panel open when want to test or fix hardware.. close when no problem.. smile.gif
ocz
post Feb 11 2008, 11:46 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Open case is good for those who always change hardwares. smile.gif

TSben_ang
post Feb 12 2008, 12:47 AM

2,013 posts

4 testing? i wish i can hav tat much of hardware 2 change all d time.. hehe..
ocz
post Feb 12 2008, 02:01 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Feb 12 2008, 12:47 AM)
4 testing? i wish i can hav tat much of hardware 2 change all d time.. hehe..
Yeah,me too.I wish i can always change hardwares like i change my boxer. tongue.gif
So let my other hardwares collect dust. laugh.gif
But too bad i don't have that kind of money.
chyu89
post Feb 12 2008, 02:19 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

QUOTE(diggnation @ Jan 20 2008, 12:01 PM)
still ... lizards can crawl...

sometimes, they do nasty things in your casing... sigh~ those were the days.

by the way, also look out for the dust...

Added on January 20, 2008, 12:02 pm

i think spider web also got last time.... but it's so dusty until i cant recognize which one is dust, which one is spider web.  rclxub.gif
The next next thing is u will see spiderman and cicakman LOL
ocz
post Feb 12 2008, 02:27 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Feb 12 2008, 02:19 AM)
The next next thing is u will see spiderman and cicakman LOL
laugh.gif laugh.gif
Aquariusdenz
post Feb 12 2008, 05:14 AM

1,533 posts

haha.. then its important that you need to close your side panel if not the insect build kingdom in your cpu.. haha
chyu89
post Feb 12 2008, 05:46 AM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

I'll put some lego soldiers to protect my pc XD
David900924
post Feb 15 2008, 11:25 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

after reading this thread, I will close my casing
TSben_ang
post Feb 15 2008, 02:12 PM

2,013 posts

well, maybe i will do it with my new rig.. since d old rig hav been like tat 4 ages.. thnk cant even find d cover already...
Bad Cyborg
post Feb 15 2008, 02:43 PM

828 posts

If spiders and geckos crawl inside your PC and set up camp, it simply means you are massively underutilizing your computer and your CPU core is less than the temp outside. If that is a cause for concern, then you should sell off your oversized "bug zapper" and buy something much smaller, and perhaps more energy efficient, such as the Apple Mac Mini.
qedx
post Feb 15 2008, 03:48 PM

712 posts

dudes, i just leave the components on the table and hook them up. no casing involved!

j/k

how awesome would that be, though?
acopy
post Feb 15 2008, 11:50 PM

140 posts

i heard from friend of mine told me a friend of his friend let his side panel opened and once a kumbang try to take a ride on the heatsink fan and the pc suddenly shut down, and i dont know what happened next.
ocz
post Feb 16 2008, 12:25 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(acopy @ Feb 15 2008, 11:50 PM)
i heard from friend of mine told me a friend of his friend let his side panel opened and once a kumbang try to take a ride on the heatsink fan and the pc suddenly shut down, and i dont know what happened next.
Confirm the kumbang become history.RIP. laugh.gif
skyleng
post Feb 16 2008, 12:49 PM

160 posts

i vote yes
but my casing is still open casing

if u open casing must need to know clean up the dust lol
fesick
post Feb 17 2008, 12:30 AM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

better close the case,keep clean dust
frankieNrosie
post Feb 17 2008, 12:55 AM

b||ooDY b|u3s
786 posts

for me, open the casing have the advantage and disadvantage..
the advantage is it can help the airflow to be more good than before..
the disadvantage is the casing will dirty
Aquariusdenz
post Feb 17 2008, 09:55 PM

1,533 posts

ya thats rite.. most of the time i open the casing so that it will be cool but always need to clean up the dust.. but i will close the casing when bring my pc to LAN party.. haha
temptation1314
post Feb 18 2008, 07:28 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(frankieNrosie @ Feb 17 2008, 12:55 AM)
for me, open the casing have the advantage and disadvantage..
the advantage is it can help the airflow to be more good than before..
the disadvantage is the casing will dirty
wink.gif Open casing doesn't mean it will help the airflow.
If for bad airflow casing type, then yes.
But if for good airflow casing type, opening the sidepanel will only disrupt the entire airflow and the temp will even rise.
SUSKinitos
post Feb 18 2008, 07:40 AM

572 posts

he article mention "radiation" from pc components! what kind of radiation? from where? if like tah u better block yr monitor with a piece of wood!

rainingzero
post Feb 20 2008, 07:25 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 18 2008, 07:28 AM)
wink.gif Open casing doesn't mean it will help the airflow.
If for bad airflow casing type, then yes.
But if for good airflow casing type, opening the sidepanel will only disrupt the entire airflow and the temp will even rise.
second that..for casing with worse airflow, maybe u need to open the sidepanel. but for my case, when i'm closing my sidepanel, the overall temperature (for proc, gc and chipset) will reduced around 2-3'c compared with opened sidepanel...means the airflow for closed sidepanel does really help a lot.. smile.gif
minghao
post Feb 20 2008, 09:02 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Feb 12 2008, 05:46 AM)
I'll put some lego soldiers to protect my pc XD

Got pic?Can show...hehe brows.gif

Added on February 20, 2008, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(Kinitos @ Feb 18 2008, 07:40 AM)
he article mention "radiation" from pc components! what kind of radiation? from where? if like tah u better block yr monitor with a piece of wood!

Can u try find a piece of transparent wood?haha.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by minghao: Feb 20 2008, 09:02 PM
unrealweapon
post Feb 21 2008, 03:04 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

from the first time i buy my pc to the first time i actually open my casing, there was not much dust.
after i open my casing due to heat problem, dust starts buidling up..

until on start up , my old p4 2.4 reaches 50C. just bit of w3 , it goes up to 60C. in the end, i remove the heat sink, remove the fan from heat sink, clean it with water , clean the fan with tissue, attach back, clean the contact area, put new termal paste, attached back the stuff, let it run.. temp goes down until 37c on start up, and nver goes more than 50c..

still open till now... my p4.2.4 is history, got a p4 2.6. the casing is open and being blown by using a table fan.

one thing i notice, if using a table fan, the heat sink fan actually lowers it RPM automatically..
minghao
post Feb 21 2008, 03:30 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

Mine the first day till today..the temperature never goes up to 50 degree.AMD 754 socket version somemore.So far no probelm using it. smile.gif
ejoylovers
post Feb 24 2008, 04:28 AM

337 posts

i like to open my side panel...looking good so far..i open 4 last 6month..
nothing nesting in my pc...
overclockalbert
post Feb 24 2008, 07:13 AM

1,058 posts

i have to open my side panel in this moment so that i can using a blower fan to cool down my north bridge. still waiting the TR chipset cooler to
arrived.

Aquariusdenz
post Feb 26 2008, 12:14 AM

1,533 posts

my processor ever once rise to 56C.. but ever since i add in VIZO cooling fan in my casing then the highest temperature is only 46C... haha
ocz
post Feb 26 2008, 12:50 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Open or close case depends on the user.If your using WC in a air-conditioned room,use a casing.
If you use a air-cooling in a hot temperature room,open the case. smile.gif
hengmy
post Feb 26 2008, 09:24 PM

1,991 posts

ya.. if dont have air con, open case does decrease the temp quite alots..
emilz
post Feb 27 2008, 01:57 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Feb 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
and u can add up table fan face the rig brows.gif

it also help decrease the temp nod.gif
FuiLo
post Feb 27 2008, 02:36 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Feb 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
Agree wif bro hengmy nod.gif ..in a non-air conditioned room..opened case might lower the temp..
tcchuin
post Feb 27 2008, 06:59 PM

511 posts

well...i think it helps reducing teh temp if teh casing dont havegood intake fan..and...erm...opening saide panel of casing like Cm COSMOS S...will only affect its airflow....
goldfries
post Feb 27 2008, 09:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

put it like this la.

casing best closed. but if casing airflow really suck, then you really no choice but have to open la. smile.gif
Enigma_Angel
post Mar 7 2008, 03:58 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2008, 09:24 PM)
put it like this la.

casing best closed. but if casing airflow really suck, then you really no choice but have to open la. smile.gif
Agree with this too. If ur worried bout casing, chances are that ur not one to go for cheapo vanilla cases, right? Decent cases are usually pretty well designed for ventilation (except for some). If ur having problems with heat, then maybe u can manage ur wires a bit (with cable ties or tape for cheap fixes), add some fans (need some ventilation planning) and a better thermal solution for ur proc (heatsnk, fan, wcool, etc). That shouldnt pose a problem thumbup.gif
jerangkungliar
post Mar 11 2008, 01:15 AM

50 posts

i totally disagree
Vervain
post Mar 11 2008, 02:13 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Why? good ventilation means better heat dissipation out of the case. open case means better moderation of heat. but that doesn't mean heat will go out due to no exchange flow or wind to swap difference in atmospheric temperature. Unless you blow with a table fan.
mamba
post Mar 12 2008, 07:40 AM

338 posts

if open always make sure no spider web la tongue.gif
HughieRmX
post Mar 12 2008, 08:20 AM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Hmm.. based on your question stated for TS ..
I would prefer to use other sorts of cooling method instead of opening the CPU side cover to expose to the air ... smile.gif
Avoiding it from being exposed to risk .. and there isn't much difference with the temp. unless you turn on the aircon or maybe a few fans blowing on it ... sweat.gif

Cheers ~
Enigma_Angel
post Mar 12 2008, 11:11 AM

55 posts

On thermal performance, as usual, google for ur target case's reviews first before getting anything. If u already have a case and wanna make do with it, then ur choices other than an open case is thru modding, adding cooling components, and or rearranging ur stuff inside. Thats all i can think of anyway hmm.gif
justin78
post Mar 12 2008, 05:01 PM

179 posts

I always believe opening the casing (opening the side panel) while it's operating is the best cooling method but this will produce 2 disadvantages:

1. Fan noise generated from your cpu and power supply.
2. Collecting dust.

So to overcome these 2 problem, u can always change the cpu or power supply fan to a after market low rpm fan, and then while the PC is not operating u can temporary close the side panel to avoid dust.
ronho
post Mar 12 2008, 11:14 PM

1,356 posts

prefer to close the case---looks better mah...seriously, if you have some fans blowing in air can close the case as airflow should be enough..what I have is a 120mm fan blowing in and when I close the case can fel air coming out from front and back so means hot air should be coming out...good enoughfor me I guess..tx
rexoxo
post Mar 13 2008, 10:09 AM

426 posts

it depends on the owner and how long u are using the pc..
if u on pc 24/7 then better open for good air flow..
but if u already have good fan inside the casing no need open lar..
victor_hoh
post Mar 14 2008, 05:27 PM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

QUOTE(rexoxo @ Mar 13 2008, 10:09 AM)
it depends on the owner and how long u are using the pc..
if u on pc 24/7 then better open for good air flow..
but if u already have good fan inside the casing no need open lar..
not true. If that is the case, then you should see servers running naked in the datacenter lor
nimrod2
post Mar 14 2008, 07:02 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

well they are open because the ambient room temperature is so low with their powerful air conditioning.

not because of air flow.

even then they have good fans pulling in cool air to cool their server racks.

them high end racks are designed to dissipate heat efficiently.

wink.gif
RegentCid
post Mar 14 2008, 07:37 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

I open case before..open 24/7...unfortunaly got a cicak run into my CPU and damage my cable and my Old GC then i no more open casing lu
crysis08
post Mar 14 2008, 07:40 PM

176 posts

i agree that open the casing side panel will be more collecting dust to the cpu cooler....sometimes we still need to open the side panel...
depends on the owner....if the put the uv fans or something like that...of course they need to open side case..

emilz
post Mar 14 2008, 10:42 PM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(crysis08 @ Mar 14 2008, 07:40 PM)
i agree that open the casing side panel will be more collecting dust to the cpu cooler....sometimes we still need to open the side panel...
depends on the owner....if the put the uv fans or something like that...of course they need to open side case..
y need to open case if u uses transparent side panel....
Aquariusdenz
post Mar 15 2008, 06:57 AM

1,533 posts

ya.. if you have transparent side panel then what for open the casing to see the UV..
TSben_ang
post Mar 21 2008, 11:33 AM

2,013 posts

maybe he dun hav transparent side panel n wanna put UV inside?
AMDAthlon
post Mar 21 2008, 12:05 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

I suggest for those doesnt have transparent sidepanel not to buy a UV light effect or Fan.Cos when you open the case more dust will enter.And somemore got cicak = =.
Karl5511
post Mar 21 2008, 12:09 PM

27 posts

Yes, it's true. Dust is damn enemy for electronic component.
fesick
post Mar 21 2008, 03:50 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

since using cm elite..no more dust inside my case..
of course thers bit of it..but atleast now all my hddware inside free from dust than before..every 2 week need to open sidepanel to clean dust inside..

Foxngn
post Mar 21 2008, 04:25 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

Im doing open-casing, cause i think my airflow in casing not that good..once i open game, i notice the temp. is quite different between open & close...

But usually on night, i will close back the casing to avoid those cicak
supernothing
post Mar 21 2008, 06:50 PM

super ☆
1,343 posts

i used to open the side panel of my old system. stray cat came in through the window one night and mark territory inside my casing.

lucky kena secondary hdd only. a little bit sprayed on GC. hdd died on the spot. GC managed to hold on for another year, then gave up.

T_T
snoopyguy
post Mar 21 2008, 08:49 PM

145 posts

yea.. the CM elite have filtering function, to avoid dust masuk biggrin.gif
but my housemate dog urine at my casing!!!!
so gay!
kursk
post Mar 22 2008, 02:59 AM

402 posts

even a super power pc cannot stand with dust~

it in the airborne~

the most difficult part is when its come for cleaning the hardware~

blessedvillain
post Mar 22 2008, 08:51 AM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

i hate cleaning my casing too... but i have to do it to maintain the shine for aluminium casing.

ya, open casing with a lot of UV will attract even more insects/cicak/cats/... tongue.gif First time i hear cat mark their territory....lol... i thought only dogs do that?
TSben_ang
post Mar 22 2008, 12:05 PM

2,013 posts

thnk regular cleaning is a must if u open ur side panel. but d prob is.. i thnk most of side panel open ppl dun really clean their PC..like me..
Aquariusdenz
post Mar 22 2008, 10:09 PM

1,533 posts

haha.. i do always clean the hardware when i open the casing.. must keep it clean so it wont spoil.. no $$ to buy new comp leh.. smile.gif
TSben_ang
post Mar 22 2008, 11:04 PM

2,013 posts

tats true sometimes la, but not much ppl got d heart 2 clean it la..
blessedvillain
post Mar 23 2008, 09:26 AM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

i only wipe off the dust below my casing... and dust off the dust on graphics card and soundcard.

my ac freezer pro7 fan can be easily removed for cleaning, so no problem there...

front filter... use vacuum to suck off the dust.
TSben_ang
post Mar 23 2008, 10:20 AM

2,013 posts

great 2 hear tat..but i wouldnt dare touch my hardware..since everytime i take out somethngy n put it back, sure somethngy wrong, cannot start la, this la tat la, so i just leave it like tat..haha...
blessedvillain
post Mar 23 2008, 10:41 AM

Certified LYN Hacker (C)
847 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Mar 23 2008, 10:20 AM)
great 2 hear tat..but i wouldnt dare touch my hardware..since everytime i take out somethngy n put it back, sure somethngy wrong, cannot start la, this la tat la, so i just leave it like tat..haha...
ya..if something is working...dun change it or mess around with them...

i only use brush to dust off the dust from the hardware. but make sure, the weather is humid, and the hardware is off for quite a while....if not, you will get electrostatic discharge from the brush to the hardware..then hardware will go kaputt!!
digita1tech
post Mar 23 2008, 11:42 AM

307 posts

Your PC always need a case........also like you who need house to live in........if you feel hot.......pun a/c or fan........same goes to your pc........get a good case wit good airflow.........or just properly manage your cable........

schnitzer
post Mar 23 2008, 02:08 PM

29 posts

mine casing is opening side 1 onli.....
den i gt put those kind of medicine tat prevent insect.....
n my casing is inside d cupboard....so how can i keep cooling even though i open side casing............
chchyong89
post Mar 23 2008, 07:18 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

duno if open case in area such as genting highland will got problem or not?coz the air very wet
Aquariusdenz
post Mar 23 2008, 09:45 PM

1,533 posts

wow.. its good cause its cold but its wet.. then maybe will have harm to the components.. smile.gif
emilz
post Mar 24 2008, 03:07 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Mar 23 2008, 07:18 PM)
duno if open case in area such as genting highland will got problem or not?coz the air very wet
lol if the air is wet it will reduce the life time of ur hardware cause the wetness will dioxide ur component and sure ur hardware will kaput in matter of time
Enigma_Angel
post Mar 24 2008, 12:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(emilz @ Mar 24 2008, 03:07 AM)
lol if the air is wet it will reduce the life time of ur hardware cause the wetness will dioxide ur component and sure ur hardware will kaput in matter of time
So much for using those air-cleaner/purifier/ionizer gadgets too. I wonder if those have any effects on the pc. Likewise, cable management and a roomy case is a good combination, but against pet urine? rclxub.gif
ahseng84
post Mar 24 2008, 02:39 PM

alvin gan
786 posts

ya kah?

i open more than 100 times lol
sleepybee
post Mar 25 2008, 03:05 AM

44 posts

depent on ur pc la..
frequency
post Apr 2 2008, 01:27 AM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

no choice my case too small gona put the hardisk outta the case...
so opened since last year..

Gona invest a good case end of next month...cant tahan the dust...
wiNd
post Apr 2 2008, 11:01 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

open = good airflow, cooling...but dusty...risky
close = alittle warmer but secured...safer...less dust
Kurt Cookie
post Jun 26 2008, 09:50 PM

246 posts

i had my pc all open, and still working good but a bit dusty o.
mess!
weikeat90
post Jun 27 2008, 02:57 PM

396 posts

i closed my pc all the time.. coz my hse full of dust and lizards..
scare 1 day i switch on com then BOOM.. and broken into pieces... doh.gif

a little off topic here.. biggrin.gif i aso put some wire mesh at the hole of my subwoofer..
cicakman and cicakwoman likes to make out there.. biggrin.gif
apex_ikan
post Jun 30 2008, 01:32 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(weikeat90 @ Jun 27 2008, 02:57 PM)
i closed my pc all the time.. coz my hse full of dust and lizards..
scare 1 day i switch on com then BOOM.. and broken into pieces...  doh.gif

a little off topic here.. biggrin.gif  i aso put some wire mesh at the hole of my subwoofer..
cicakman and cicakwoman likes to make out there.. biggrin.gif
agree nod.gif
ongdandy
post Jun 30 2008, 02:55 PM

911 posts

i open both casing cos my room temperature increase 30'C to 35'C in the afternoon till evening when i m not at home.
at night, i on my aircon and the room temperature decrease till 23'C. biggrin.gif
BuLaNaR
post Jul 1 2008, 02:16 AM

penyair sepi
777 posts

for cooling better especially in air conditional place but for dust not good lor,easily mess ur hardware

This post has been edited by BuLaNaR: Jul 1 2008, 02:29 AM
apex_ikan
post Jul 1 2008, 02:50 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(BuLaNaR @ Jul 1 2008, 02:16 AM)
for cooling better especially in air conditional place but for dust not good lor,easily mess ur hardware
really nice if my house ada aircond...
Aquariusdenz
post Jul 1 2008, 01:51 PM

1,533 posts

hey hey... same lah dude... my house also no aircond wat... cpu temp only around 40+ celcius..
Braynumb
post Jul 29 2008, 10:48 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

I'd have to say that It's True if you're thinking of Cooling for your PC. thumbup.gif

but, if it's you PC's health you're more concerned about, I'd have to say False.
Coz better use Casing. but use fan filters to minimize dust accumulation. unsure.gif

without casing, can see that my pc's collecting dust bit by bit. not good.. sweat.gif
bokbeng
post Sep 17 2008, 01:32 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(irmond @ Sep 17 2008, 01:26 AM)
nothing wrong wif opening da casing la.
little bit oso wan 2 ask..
got alot of time ar ,bro?!
doh.gif
wei bro
u got open casing or not??
got time? think la
open casing collect more4 more dust
i tried it myself wink.gif cool.gif
soul_screamer
post Sep 17 2008, 05:21 PM

228 posts

I prefer use casing, its more secure and clean. my home near the main road so a bit dusty. Using filter for the fan to minimize the dust nod.gif
bokbeng
post Sep 17 2008, 10:07 PM

132 posts

i have built the cube casing but didnt finish yet
already use it because doesnt have time
it collect to much dust
wen9x88
post Sep 17 2008, 10:10 PM

2,933 posts

no good.
noisy,many dust,no good looking,and i saw newspaper say open case not good for health.

safone
post Sep 17 2008, 10:41 PM

5 STAR only..huhu
976 posts

Open casing??I think no good for me lar..Surely a lot of dust will stick at ur hardware..
Somemore..potential to attractive bugs to it..plus maybe a lizard too..
will cause short circuit if u didn't aware to check it b4 ON ur pc..
wen9x88
post Sep 17 2008, 10:48 PM

2,933 posts

may b say like this.
good for old oc.
no good for new pc.
bokbeng
post Sep 19 2008, 08:34 PM

132 posts

got some question here,
it's been awhile since i'm using open pc
i want to clean all the dust that trapped on my mobo
can i use normal colour paint brush to sweep the dust?
any other suggestion are welcome
owikh84
post Sep 19 2008, 09:40 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(bokbeng @ Sep 19 2008, 08:34 PM)
got some question here,
it's been awhile since i'm using open pc
i want to clean all the dust that trapped on my mobo
can i use normal colour paint brush to sweep the dust?
any other suggestion are welcome
I dun see why u cant use the paint brush hmm.gif biggrin.gif
yuktsi14
post Sep 19 2008, 10:07 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

the dust will go in and will harm your computer
yeechuen
post Sep 19 2008, 10:12 PM

216 posts

even open or not the dust still go in 1 la....
the only thing is whn open the fan seems like cant suck the air and make the air circulate nia........
cos the fan is too small to suck in the open casing...
bokbeng
post Sep 19 2008, 10:33 PM

132 posts

scared got static electrric
xhacker
post Sep 20 2008, 12:52 AM

209 posts

good for me at least? can lowered the temp around 2c~3c.. closed case 43c~44c.. open case 38~39c..

bokbeng
post Sep 21 2008, 12:52 AM

132 posts

got electric static or not? can anyone expalin to me?
please
maxburnz
post Oct 16 2008, 10:08 AM

698 posts

i got asthma.cant stand for the risk of having a lot of dust in my room.so close pc is a good choice for me.
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 16 2008, 10:23 AM

1,533 posts

QUOTE(bokbeng @ Sep 21 2008, 12:52 AM)
got electric static or not? can anyone expalin to me?
please
i dont think got static... here is malaysia not like other country got four season.. correct me if im wrong.. smile.gif
_707027_
post Oct 16 2008, 10:37 AM

1,104 posts

i dont like open case.i hate dust.
and insects also sweat.gif

abubin
post Oct 16 2008, 11:10 AM

10,429 posts

no good. suck dust quicker than closed casing. insect and creepy crawlies will camp there. Bad airflow. Generally not healthy for your hardware.
_707027_
post Oct 16 2008, 11:27 AM

1,104 posts

and those who love to drinks beside their pc,
and also have shaky hands which resulted to spoil the water,
be careful ya tongue.gif

This post has been edited by _707027_: Oct 16 2008, 11:28 AM
zubai
post Oct 16 2008, 12:51 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(maxburnz @ Oct 16 2008, 10:08 AM)
i got asthma.cant stand for the risk of having a lot of dust in my room.so close pc is a good choice for me.
The dust that accumulated in the pc comes from the surroundings/rooms/etc., so, if ur surroundings is dust free, so is your pc. As for my self, I keep my pc closed, I have a very curious cats.
lotiman2003
post Oct 16 2008, 12:54 PM

1,367 posts

Open very dusty.
xiaoming0614
post Oct 16 2008, 01:06 PM

261 posts

Ya~ really very dusty~ try it once and never try before again~
KenDiriwan
post Oct 16 2008, 01:52 PM

2,277 posts

close case, 2x 120mm intake and 2x 120mm exhaust thumbup.gif
Aura
post Oct 16 2008, 03:09 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(xiaoming0614 @ Oct 16 2008, 01:06 PM)
Ya~ really very dusty~ try it once and never try before again~
HAHAHAHA!!! Yeah... open cases r not good for ur components... it's like opening ur mouth to wait for dust to enter.... laugh.gif
syahirax
post Oct 16 2008, 03:43 PM

anomie!
562 posts

currently i open my right sidepanel 24/7 WILL close asap after i got a replacement for 12cm exhaust fan.
_707027_
post Oct 16 2008, 06:09 PM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ Oct 16 2008, 03:43 PM)
currently i open my right sidepanel 24/7 WILL close asap after i got a replacement for 12cm exhaust fan.
u dont closed it when u dont use ur pc?
abubin
post Oct 16 2008, 06:23 PM

10,429 posts

if you need to open your side panel for your system to work then it means your system have heat problem. Cause usually, case close will be able to overcome most overclocking. Only if you are doing extreme overclocking that you will need your side panel open to function properly.

I would rather close my panel and reduce the overclocking than leaving the side panel open and causing problems.
Aquariusdenz
post Oct 16 2008, 11:34 PM

1,533 posts

im using stock clock but i open side panel.. why? becoz lousy airflow... its chapalang casing btw...
CHiNO730
post Oct 17 2008, 12:47 AM

526 posts

A good case with a proper fan setup will provide a more practical means of ventilating the interior components.

An open case with a strong fan pointed at it, might be just as good, but it won't be as practical, it will take more space, be noisier, and look silly.

At least that's my two sen.
sysh
post Oct 18 2008, 05:58 PM

265 posts

Used to open my side panel when I was studying overseas 'cos during winter, it really help with the airflow. Was so cold that my TT Volcano7 (then) was barely running at 500rpm and my cpu temp was like 30+ C.

Back in KL, I'll keep my case close and invest in fans to improve airflow and keep my cpu cool. Too much dust in the city
syahirax
post Oct 18 2008, 08:56 PM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(_707027_ @ Oct 16 2008, 06:09 PM)
u dont closed it when u dont use ur pc?
no,i dont but will do it soon

0.1233sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:10 PM