My own Home Theatre room setup, Finally, CHT-12R is here

aiman04
post Aug 5 2008, 07:20 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I don't think it has anything to do with the surround channels, looks like it's a codec decoding or bitstreaming error.

It's either the BD player or the AVR is faulty. One way to know, maybe you can borrow another BD player from someone. If the problem disappears, then it's your player. But if it's still there, most probably it''s the AVR. sweat.gif

Never tested to bitstream HD codecs with my 1800 yet, doesn't have a standalone player. Only my beloved PS3. sad.gif
aiman04
post Aug 9 2008, 09:44 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 9 2008, 02:27 PM)
I think all Yamaha amp do not have this "Save the last setting for external surr" memory.
It's same for my RX-V861...everytime have to do it manually  doh.gif

unless you use a universal remote control with macro programming to get it right...
Not really bro. My extended surrounds is always the way I set it. Even after I switched off the main power (though you can't disconnect the main power for more than 7 days, or the memory will reset).

Do you have 7.1 setup? You'll need to have 7.1 in order for the extended surround to work. nod.gif
aiman04
post Aug 10 2008, 08:21 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(moviebuff @ Aug 9 2008, 10:35 PM)
Yeah! I do have a 7.1 setup. nod.gif
Really ar? 6.1/7.1 setup should do it.

Strange, I never have this problem. Whenever I play DVDs with DTS/Dolby Digital, my AVR automatically set to DTS-ES Matrix/Dolby Digital EX, and I can hear sound from the surround back speakers.

And when I use my PS3, the multi-channel PCM input always show PCM+Dolby EX on the AVR, and again the surround back channels are active.
aiman04
post Aug 10 2008, 09:05 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

The most important timbre matching is the front/center. The surrounds are still OK to use other brands.
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 11:06 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 11 2008, 11:01 AM)
for me dtshd ma sounds better than ddthd.. also if u look at the bandwidth, its higher for dtshd.. my usual volume for bluray is -0.0db.. (omg pearl harbor perfect smile.gif)
0dB ? The loudest I can go is -17dB now. Even that only when I ahve crazy mood. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 11:47 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Not necessarily lah. Sometimes PCM and TrueHD can be quite good. Have you listened to Clovefiled's TrueHD? brows.gif
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 12:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 11:54 AM)
Based on experience...not true smile.gif

That's because sometimes the re-encode from a double-layer DVD to fit a single layer one. I've done this myself. whistling.gif

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 11:54 AM)

Added on August 11, 2008, 11:55 am
That true aiman but we are comparing DTS and DD. So....DTS higher bitrate than DD is a fact biggrin.gif
DTS can reach higher bitrate than other codecs, no argument there. But if that's always the case?

One example, my Short Circuit BD, the DTS-HD MA track's bitrate just around 2Mbps. But my Celine Dion BD, the Dolby TrueHD maintains at 7Mbps, and sometimes reach 10Mbps.

My Live Free or Die Hard's DTS-HD MA track's bitrate is around 6Mbps. That's why I said not always. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 11 2008, 12:03 PM
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 12:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 12:09 PM)
You Jack Sparrow... laugh.gif

and again you are right but... brows.gif
You should compare DD and DTS on a single disc. You can't compare with different title because they have different mastering smile.gif
Ok, you're right too. tongue.gif

What I meant was the bitrate doesn't always reach peak. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 13 2008, 08:39 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Me usually now -21dB. Crazy time -17dB. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 02:33 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Aug 14 2008, 01:32 PM)
High end DVDP? I thought only BD players have this chip?
Not necessarily. The chip is for upscaling purpose, a DVDP uses upscaling chip much more than a BD player. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 09:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 14 2008, 09:15 PM)
he won cry, he happy, get new onky 875
Htkaki was talking about the Onky lar... Yammy no overheating issue. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 07:29 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

The 1800 really is a great AVR itself. If I can't find a buyer I don't mind keeping mine. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Aug 18 2008, 06:48 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(elmer @ Aug 18 2008, 05:28 PM)
Hey htkaki,

Was looking at buying the 3800 then I came across this statement below

For those of you who had the foresight NOT to invest in a doomed technology, it's a little tougher to take advantage of True HD. My Playstation 3 can process Dolby True HD internally, but it cannot output bitstream audio in quantity sufficient for the Yamaha to use it's own processing power to output in True HD. Instead, the PS3 outputs linear PCM to the Yamaha which can amplify the processed True HD audio. Unfortunately, the Yamaha can only perform this function in its "Pure Direct" audio mode. Even more unfortunately, the RX-V3800 cannot output video through HDMI when in Pure Direct mode. So, in order to watch BluRay with True HD audio, you have to output the video (through the PS3's component video output) directly to your tv while the Yamaha is set to Pure Direct.
Is this true for the Yamaha 3800? If it is then I can't really use it for my setup.
Pure rubbish. This guy don't even have an Yamaha. doh.gif

And all AV receivers will turn off almost everything while in Pure Direct/Audio or whatever they call it. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Oct 16 2008, 09:43 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Congrats bro! rclxms.gif

Now let me go find the last list of Velodyne owners. blush.gif
aiman04
post Oct 16 2008, 12:46 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 16 2008, 12:41 PM)
I wrote to the Velodyne support once and their reply said their sub do not need any run in period wor.....sweat.gif
That could be true, not all subwoofers or speakers need to be run-in.

Usually if it needs running in, it will be mentioned in the manual, like my Monitor Audio. KEF support also confirmed that their Q Series speakers need to be run-in first.

So it's possible that the Velodyne subwoofers doesn't need to be run-in after all. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Oct 17 2008, 11:27 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 17 2008, 10:41 AM)
By tomorrow, my CHT-12R can be run in 'full swing'. Finally, I can watch my Iron Man BD
Bro, test it with the THX intro on Indy 4 BD. My 10R worked hard for that intro alone, almost sound distorted already. That was only -27dB. sweat.gif

0.0209sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:45 AM