[WTA] Home Alarm, Who install at home ?

TSveron208
post Jan 18 2008, 11:55 AM, updated 18y ago

702 posts

Hi all,

Who installed home alarm in their house ?
Not the expensive type in those landed properties or office.

Just the normal one that connected to your house phone line with motion detector and alarm.

Pls feedback about the effectiveness.

THank you
airline
post Jan 20 2008, 10:44 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

if u have dogs will be a problem. Ha
scorgio
post Jan 20 2008, 10:48 AM

4,694 posts

Motion detector?
Forget it. It'll give u more headache than peace of mind due to many sleepless nights.
A cat walk by, a bat flew by, a rat ran by would trigger the alarm & put you in a state of shock.

airline
post Jan 20 2008, 10:52 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

Wah. rat also can. What about lizard. Haha
TSveron208
post Jan 21 2008, 10:49 AM

702 posts

Depends on how high u put it ... All negative feedback ?
aaronpang
post Jan 21 2008, 11:05 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

If you're interested in a home alarm I have a friend who sells Home Alarm... my aunt has a unit installed in her home and I'm thinking of getting one later in the year!

Our properties got broken into several times... see here Damn It Pecah Rumah Again!

Basically its an alarm with wireless sensors so there is very little hacking and drilling involved during installation and in the long term it's also very easy to add additional sensors.

It comes complete with a set of sensors more than enough for all the doors and windows in your average double storey house and you can add more... if needed.

The alarm can also call your phone or mobile if it's triggered... thumbup.gif

I've very reliable and we haven't had any issues with false alarms except when we open doors or windows and forgot to deactivate the alarm.

PM me if you need his contact or to arrange a demo!

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Jan 21 2008, 11:09 AM
TSveron208
post Jan 31 2008, 11:46 PM

702 posts

I bought the wireless alarm system last week from Ebay.
Thanks for information.

All I can say .. it is worth the money spent.
am_eniey
post Feb 1 2008, 11:05 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

is rm1400 expensice for an alarm system?
TSveron208
post Feb 2 2008, 12:13 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Feb 1 2008, 11:05 AM)
is rm1400 expensice for an alarm system?
Way too expensive for me .... Landed property or apartment ?
If landed property, then it is worth it.
I guess the RM1400 system came with the vibration sensor and robust system.

Where else, my <RM300 package came with 1 magnetic sensor, 1 motion detector, 2 remote, 1 main unit. (wireless set)
Cable free rclxm9.gif
n73me
post Feb 2 2008, 06:12 PM

315 posts

yup, forget about motion sensor, give you sleepless nights if you got pet.
if not should be ok
TSveron208
post Feb 3 2008, 09:17 AM

702 posts

QUOTE(n73me @ Feb 2 2008, 06:12 PM)
yup, forget about motion sensor, give you sleepless nights if you got pet.
if not should be ok
Ya .. that's true. You can tweak the angle to 45 degrees shooting up.
Just my 2 cents
sky_lor
post Mar 7 2008, 12:55 PM

203 posts

for the wireless alarm system, please bear in mind that there is some issue like batt life, not stable and so on...

I am all the while in this security and automation field. based on my experience is that even the landed luxury house we will still recommend for the wired alarm system. the reason why is simple because for wired sensor, it will be more reliable and maintanance free. for e.g: you don't know when the batt for the wireless sensor is dead. if you nvr change it and ppl break in, the sysm will not trigger.

the reason why they come up with the wireless DIY alarm system is target on budget user and want to save the cost on the installation charge. yes you can use it if you have the limited budget but please do test the system every month to see if it is still in working condition.

now a day alot of alarm system is coming up and it is not only working as alarm, but also integrated with other system like can control your light.for e.g: when the alarm trigger in the night, the sport light or the lights in the house will on.

aaronpang
post Mar 7 2008, 04:47 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ Mar 7 2008, 12:55 PM)
for the wireless alarm system, please bear in mind that there is some issue like batt life, not stable and so on...

I am all the while in this security and automation field. based on my experience is that even the landed luxury house we will still recommend for the wired alarm system. the reason why is simple because for wired sensor, it will be more reliable and maintanance free. for e.g: you don't know when the batt for the wireless sensor is dead. if you nvr change it and ppl break in, the sysm will not trigger.

the reason why they come up with the wireless DIY alarm system is target on budget user and want to save the cost on the installation charge. yes you can use it if you have the limited budget but please do test the system every month to see if it is still in working condition.

now a day alot of alarm system is coming up and it is not only working as alarm, but also integrated with other system like can control your light.for e.g: when the alarm trigger in the night, the sport light or the lights in the house will on.
Wireless has its advantages:-

Mainly home owners don't have to spend extra moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif hacking the walls to lay cables esp if the owners decided to install the alarm after renovating or have already moved in...

For the battery life span read the product manual, replace it once yearly.

The plus side if you decide to move you can take everything with you tongue.gif

Not to mention if you need to add extra sensors etc its also much easier... that my opinion anyway.

I still haven't decided to buy a home alarm yet hmm.gif
sky_lor
post Mar 8 2008, 01:27 AM

203 posts

yea true...there is advantage for wireless alarm...i agree with that...for normal home user, want easy and budget limited, the simple wireless alarm definately will be the choice. but for luxury house require high security and so on...then the wired alarm system will be recommended. there are both pros and cons lar...smile.gif
dreamer101
post Mar 8 2008, 02:08 AM

15,855 posts

All,

How well does the Wireless sensor in Malaysia work since we have a lot of lightning?

Dreamer
sky_lor
post Mar 8 2008, 10:42 PM

203 posts

based on my experience, the lightning will not strike on the sensor...maybe i should say this seldom happen, at least i nvr heard of any case. normally the lightning will only spoil the CCTV camera, CCTV DVR and so on. the reason why is because the sensor is wireless and not connect by any wire/cable hence the lightning is unable to spoil it unless it really strike on the sensor.

the issue with wireless alarm will be the battery and also interference...and also the range for the signal...
nj922
post Mar 24 2008, 07:06 PM

191 posts

Is RM1800 alarm system for a double storey corner unit expensive? anyone can recommend cheaper alarm system package?
aaronpang
post Mar 25 2008, 01:28 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(nj922 @ Mar 24 2008, 07:06 PM)

Is RM1800 alarm system for a double storey corner unit expensive? anyone can recommend cheaper alarm system package?
You should mention what comes in the package... how to advice if don't even know whats included... shakehead.gif
nj922
post Mar 25 2008, 09:19 PM

191 posts

I am not sure what is included in the package.
Can you advice me what should be in the package?
justin_nys
post Mar 27 2008, 03:53 PM

1,192 posts

I bought a Wireless Security set for my dad
www.hanter.com.my

The battery lasted more than 1 year. But not sure can last how long more since we decided to change it anyway just incase suddenly run out of battery biggrin.gif

He didn't put the motion sensor but just added a few more door magnet sensor.
sky_lor
post Apr 2 2008, 10:47 AM

203 posts

for a double storey corner unit, normally will use 16 zones alarm but depend on how many doors, windows and opening that u have. for the door and windows you can use magnectic contact, and for some glass window you might use the vibration shock sensor....

ok let do the math, a reliable alarm controller for 16 zones might cost you about 2-2.5k...depend how much the installer want to markup. and then for the installation, have to depend on how u want to run the wire...either by casing or conceal. by casing will be cheaper, mayb they charge u just about 1k+- for the double storey. but if u want it to be conceal, then the installation charge alone might go up to 3k+....

alot of installer can give a very low price like let say RM1,999.00...or some RM2,500 for the whole system. the reason why is because they using a not so realiable china product, and then they are "hit & run". meaning to say that after you installed the system, then anything goes wrong, u call for 1st time, they take 1 day to come....u call again another few months, they might take few weeks for them to come over and check for u. after that if you call again...they dare not even pick up ur phone...

so a realiable product and trustable installer is very important when come to alarm, cctv and so on...because we are not using it for 1-2 years...of coz u hope it will last for more than that.
ekestima
post Apr 17 2008, 05:25 PM

930 posts

Nowadays got China made alarm too if u want cheap type one.

The more zone u have the more xpensive it is. I think 8 zones is sufficient enuf for Sgl SD / Int DS.

Sensor wise, they have pet friendly sensor. Which means it sense via height, size & temperature.
safetylance
post Apr 21 2008, 03:04 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Apr 17 2008, 05:25 PM)
Nowadays got China made alarm too if u want cheap type one.

The more zone u have the more xpensive it is. I think 8 zones is sufficient enuf for Sgl SD / Int DS.

Sensor wise, they have pet friendly sensor. Which means it sense via height, size & temperature.
ADT is offering free set of alarm system but u need to pay for installation. U also need to subscribe to their Centralised Monitoring System for RM 75 per month. They will inform u once the alarm triggered, some one try to cut ur wired alarm, fire, etc..
Jenn77
post May 4 2008, 09:19 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(safetylance @ Apr 21 2008, 03:04 PM)
ADT is offering free set of alarm system but u need to pay for installation. U also need to subscribe to their Centralised Monitoring System for RM 75 per month. They will inform u once the alarm triggered, some one try to cut ur wired alarm, fire, etc..
I was wandering do we need to installed their full package alarm system in order subscribe for their monitoring services.. anyone did any enquiries? tongue.gif
hackwire
post May 6 2008, 06:05 PM

4,256 posts

which alarm system is interface friendly and easy to use for setting up.
adrianocy
post May 14 2008, 11:43 AM

907 posts

i was wondering how reliable is ADT CMS monitoring? how fast the response team react?

This post has been edited by adrianocy: May 14 2008, 11:44 AM
sky_lor
post May 22 2008, 08:39 AM

203 posts

not so sure about ADT CMS monitoring service, but the alarm panel that they use is something cheap and normal.
what i think is why not install a better alarm system, which will not give u stupid false alarm, and when ppl break in it will react like on your house light, or on the spot light to create the scene whereby someone is around.
configure the system to call you or call the guard house in your community area is a better way, so that you can respond ASAP.
adrianocy
post May 22 2008, 11:20 AM

907 posts

u mean da LCD panel? It was GE brand as claim by them.
sky_lor
post May 22 2008, 03:32 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(adrianocy @ May 22 2008, 11:20 AM)
u mean da LCD panel? It was GE brand as claim by them.
I mean the alarm controller panel. GE? hmp...not sure about that because GE is consider branded and not as cheap as those china alarm. but there are still alot of limitation on normal alarm system if you compare to the Home Automation system like HAI and so on, where you can perform alot of things.
safetylance
post May 23 2008, 04:22 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(sky_lor @ May 22 2008, 03:32 PM)
I mean the alarm controller panel. GE? hmp...not sure about that because GE is consider branded and not as cheap as those china alarm. but there are still alot of limitation on normal alarm system if you compare to the Home Automation system like HAI and so on, where you can perform alot of things.
i think u need to recheck back ur fees for whole alarm system..

seem that u tot all alarm currently is the cheapskate one..

For ADT, all the alarm components like LCD, contact point etc are GE made...

installation fees is cheap for casing for less than RM 500 but higher for conceal one..

My sister installed Chubb alarm 6 yrs back for double storey with casing for RM 2.5k inclusive everything..

If u say CHUBB is cheap brand or using cheapskate components..ummm...really not comment since most of the bank are using CHUBB alarms system..
sky_lor
post May 24 2008, 11:12 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(safetylance @ May 23 2008, 04:22 PM)
i think u need to recheck back ur fees for whole alarm system..

seem that u tot all alarm currently is the cheapskate one..

For ADT, all the alarm components like LCD, contact point etc are GE made...

installation fees is cheap for casing for less than RM 500 but higher for conceal one..

My sister installed Chubb alarm 6 yrs back  for double storey with casing for RM 2.5k inclusive everything..

If u say CHUBB is cheap brand or using cheapskate components..ummm...really not comment since most of the bank are using CHUBB alarms system..
well...i didnt mean to say that they are cheap but there are different model and diff range even under the same brand.
the Chubb system that they use in bank is definately not the same model that your sister installed with 2.5k.

not here to argue on anything but just want to know what is the market price and what is the budget that our malaysian can afforb for a home alarm system.

0.0263sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:07 AM