Share Margin Financing, borrow to play share

TSNeo18
post Jan 17 2008, 02:08 PM, updated 17y ago

1,850 posts

There is no thread on this topic and i am thinking of doing some borrowing until my money comes in to take advantage of the current financial turmoil

Let's discuss the PRO's and CON's

And experience if any.

Added on January 17, 2008, 2:11 pmCIMB is offering BLR+0.75%

This post has been edited by Neo18: Jan 17 2008, 02:11 PM
TSNeo18
post Jan 17 2008, 02:25 PM

1,850 posts

Dear Cherroy,

Yes, I know the risk involved... But i plan to take loan only for 2 month period until my CASH comes in. Then i plan to pay up immediately
TSNeo18
post Jan 17 2008, 04:01 PM

1,850 posts

actually i told myself this:-

for good fundamental counter, if the price comes down 10% from my cost, i will do Dollar Cost Averaging.

It happen yesterday and also was there this morning, until it rebounded.

That is why i was thinking about buying more!!! but unfortunately no bullet...

It has got nothing to do if in 2 month time, it will come down more.

TSNeo18
post Jan 17 2008, 04:41 PM

1,850 posts

transmile got no fundamental la.. i dispose liow!!!i bought because Robert Kuok bought!! not a good reason, i know!!!

i was thinking of buying Petra Perdana. I bought @RM5 it went down to 4.66..

this counter very strong fundamental la...
TSNeo18
post Apr 30 2009, 10:42 AM

1,850 posts

for those taking margin to play share.

I wanna share my experience with you.

Please do not max out your margin facility if you got no intention to top up monthly (injecting capital on a monthly basis)

example,

you have 100k, you can get 150k margin. Meaning you can trade 250k.

Please do not max out 250 in one go.. best is buy to a range of 66 to 75%.. for 250k, meaning 165k to 188k.. this is to safeguard against margin call..

2nd tip.. please allocate some money to inject into your margin facility every month.

3rd tip.. BLR is the lowest right now. the only way BLR is going is -- UP UP UP UP UP!!!

so plan and be prepared for that
TSNeo18
post May 7 2009, 02:50 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(ragnarokx @ May 7 2009, 04:40 AM)
i have RM10k in my CDS hlebroking account.But my trading limit is RM20k.
If i deposit RM10k into margin account...would it be like having RM40k trading limit? RM10k cash deposited in + RM10k(margin financed)=RM20k then double up=RM40k?
for most share margin facility, you get 1.5 ratio

meaning,

if u deposit RM10k, you get 15k margin.. meaning u can trade = 10 + 15 = 25k

TSNeo18
post May 19 2009, 09:30 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ May 18 2009, 09:17 PM)
Hmmm..

1. I already have HLEbroking account, do I still need to provide any information to upgrade to Share Margin Financing account?

2. How does the interest goes? For like extra 10k how many should I pay? Do I need to settle my interest every month or by just settling the interest and not the whole share price of certain stock?

3. Margin finance give me 1.5 ratio but my HLEbroking already give me 2 ratio

4. Does all the rules apply same as normal broking account? Like when I selled all share on one stock, the interest charge will gone on that particular stock that I sold?

Please guide me sifu ^^ I'm ready to sell my body to stock market.. LoL jk
1. You have to apply for this facility. I don't think you need any additional criteria

2. Interest is BLR - 1.75%, you might get lower for HLE. For extra 10k, you should have stock worth 10k, fully paid off. Yes, you settle your interest everymonth, thru deduction from your current account. You are not allow to make withdrawal from current account

3. good if they give you 2 time ratio

4. Interest charge is not gone when you sell your stock. Interest and your stock at hand got no corelattion at all...

Please becareful of SMF.. if you cannot take the heat, becareful of playing with fire

TSNeo18
post Jul 24 2009, 10:27 AM

1,850 posts

Guys,

May i know anyone out there using margin financing at a better rate then BLR - 1.75%?

PB Sharelink Margin is giving that. Plan to open another account if the margin rate is more competitive
TSNeo18
post Jul 30 2009, 11:43 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(chin20350 @ Jul 29 2009, 04:37 PM)
I am using Hlebroking, following question is quoted from HLebroking FAQ section
What is my trading limit in HLeBroking Account?

Collateral Type

Trading Limit               
Cash  2x                                                   
Share nil
Is that mean that i can buy 2 times the current cash that i hold in my share account? Eg: i have RM10k cash , then i can buy 2 times my cash which i mean i can buy RM 20k worth of stock.
And if the answer is yes, why do we still need to do share margin trading financing. Since we already can double up our current cash position.

Thank you
For HLebroking, you will only be dealing with their central office. no Hong Leong branch provide stock broking department or able to advise anything on share broking/margin.

Coming back to your question, I just enquire from HL last week.

I think their webpage is outdated.

you can only trade up to 1.5x
meaning, if you put in RM10k,
you can trade up to 25k (meaning 10k your money + 15k bank money)

I find their rate not very competitive,

they are giving BLR - 1%
If you trade more than 500k, then only you get BLR - 1.75%
however, for the first 3 month of opening account, you will get 10% on all your month end interest charges, to encourage you to open account

Hope that help.

For Share margin, so far, the best is still Public Bank and Maybank
TSNeo18
post Jul 30 2009, 12:10 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Jul 30 2009, 12:05 PM)
Our IB,Aminvestment,can offer lowest 5.5 % subject to T&C.

Can pm me for more details.
u mean BLR @ 5.5?
what about total?
can get BLR - 2 %?

0.0118sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:46 PM