--==Official Volvo Thread==--, lets talk VOLVO

lamir_loco
post Sep 2 2012, 02:38 PM

75 posts

Volvo owner here, currently own XC90 2.5, overall it's a good car and so far don't have big problem, but always got little "STUPID" problem, like alarm module battery spoilt, but you cant just change the "NiMh" battery, you need to change the whole module. So far I still haven't change it because, not worth the money. but every time i start the engine, there will be error message and it's kind of annoying.

The car parts can be bit expensive, but if you go Independent workshop that know VOLVO you can get cheaper compare to SC. Another thing I don't like Volvo SC, they tend to replace rather than repair. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Though I like the XC90, But the biggest turn off to me, is that the engine use timing belt instead of timing chain. (even my 18 year old w124 use timing chain, double summore)

Other than that it's a good car, the interior reminds me of an IKEA furniture tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
lamir_loco
post Dec 2 2014, 02:26 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Iamsellingstuff @ Dec 1 2014, 11:31 AM)
Hi Volvo fans,

Im a 2013 S60 owner and I'm looking for spare parts suppliers.  Anyone knows where I can get a windscreen Wiper for my S60?

I could always go to Federal Auto, but they are charging a bomb for a pair of wipers!

Hi bro, I normally go and buy volvo stuff (but never bought wiper) at V Super Auto, near pandan jaya. since it's near to mrr2, and also they usually reserve 1 or two parking bay in front of their kedai for their customer, so it's easier. No need to pusing2 looking for parking. Do call them first, to check the price and stock.

since you just buying a wiper, why not just search at car parts shop near your house, save time and petrol biggrin.gif

lamir_loco
post Jan 8 2015, 09:55 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(JV88 @ Jan 8 2015, 09:21 PM)
A very useful info indeed. Thanks for the experience sharing bro. Currently secondhand price for 3.0 & 2.0 is not much difference. Of coz in term of power the 3.0 is better. I'm just worried on the maintenance parts. Any other issues that I should concerns when shop for one?
Thanks a lot.
Hi bro,

Do you require AWD ? IINM in Malaysia only the 3.0 T6 have AWD. The 2.0 are FWD, I discover this when surveying to buy new volvo. I'm Quite dissapointed and endup not buying it. Dont think currently Volvo Malaysia are selling any new AWD XC60. Only pre-owned 3.0 t6 have AWD.

Again IINM, the only AWD Volvo car that Volvo Malaysia selling are XC90. Others like V40 or V40 cross country, V60 and XC60 all FWD. It SAD sad.gif

however do correct me if any of my post are incorrect.
lamir_loco
post Jan 9 2015, 03:08 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(JV88 @ Jan 9 2015, 09:44 AM)
Is 2.0 RWD T5 engine sufficient enough for normal city driving? Will it be underpower to carry a 2300++kg body weight? I'm a bit confuse as all these while my experience only driving sedan. Any 2.0 XC60 owners care to share their experience?
I believe it's sufficient(but I did not test drive it), The engine are 2.0 turbocharge 4 inline (not T5) and it's front wheeled drive. Still produced 200hp. They are using engine based on ford ecoboost 2.0 . Some volvo tend to share parts with ford. For my volvo s40 water expansion tank literally got "Ford Motor Corp" written under it. but not sure with my XC90 though (never change it).

If you want to be sure, why not go for a test drive.
lamir_loco
post Jan 14 2015, 03:52 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Iamsellingstuff @ Jan 13 2015, 05:00 PM)
@lamir_loco, I think you are right.  I understand that all current local models in Volvo are all FWD... Ive not seen AWD?

But with FWD, my volvo tend to have back sway, especially when taking corners and the sway is much more obvious when going on any roundabouts with small bumps.  When hitting these small bumps, Me and my passengers can feel the behind of the car floating and swaying sideways at around 50kmh.  I dunno if its a defect in design or something's wrong with my S60. 

Any Sifu's can advice?
I suggest check the undercarriage, might be something wrong, my s40 (also fwd) don't have that problem.
lamir_loco
post Sep 19 2015, 08:32 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tan5317 @ Sep 19 2015, 07:09 AM)
Hi to all sifu. I plan to get a new XC60 T5 2.0. Any sifu has feedback/comment on this model?
Just remember xc60 t5 are fwd. Not awd. If you dont care about the transmission type. It's a ok suv.

0.0234sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:25 PM