Complaints Serious tag abused?

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 12:31 PM, updated 18y ago

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/611449/+40

Take a look at the title and the TS written content.

What is the 1st instinct tells u about that thread?
For me, TS is purposely creating flame baiting thread..

And TS abused the "serious talk" tag.

But look at wat out good goldfries did.

Added on January 14, 2008, 12:32 pmOK nvm...goldfries just gave TS a holiday

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jan 14 2008, 12:32 PM
sonic_cd
post Jan 14 2008, 12:34 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

The pedo culture is this forum and /b/ disgust me.Never knew you people were so sick.You guys suck,go get a life.
Serious Talk On.

somehow , this does not seem to form a valid question for a discussion ...
goldfries
post Jan 14 2008, 12:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

1. i did not give TS a holiday.
2. you guys jumped to conclusion that the SERIOUS TALK was abused without giving in chance to progres.
3. it's good that you guys reported, however the fact that the thread has SERIOUS TALK tagged on it also means that YOU MUST understand what i means!

Threads tagged [SERIOUS TALK] are threads where you may only post constructive and helpful comments.

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jan 14 2008, 12:34 PM)
The pedo culture is this forum and /b/ disgust me.Never knew you people were so sick.You guys suck,go get a life.
Serious Talk On.

somehow , this does not seem to form a valid question for a discussion ...
and did you guys give the TS a chance to amend? no you guys didn't.

did you guys give the thread a chance to progress? no you guys didn't either.

all everyone did was jumped in and spam. you guys couldn't even respect the SERIOUS TALK tag to begin with. sweat.gif still got the cheek to start a topic about others abusing it?

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 14 2008, 12:41 PM
sonic_cd
post Jan 14 2008, 12:56 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2008, 12:40 PM)
2. you guys jumped to conclusion that the SERIOUS TALK was abused without giving in chance to progres.
3. it's good that you guys reported, however the fact that the thread has SERIOUS TALK tagged on it also means that YOU MUST understand what i means!

Threads tagged [SERIOUS TALK] are threads where you may only post constructive and helpful comments.

all everyone did was jumped in and spam. you guys couldn't even respect the SERIOUS TALK tag to begin with.  sweat.gif still got the cheek to start a topic about others abusing it?
i know serious tag means have to post contructiv replies.. but it seems the ts post the topic and left it there without wanting to change it , if he wanted to , he could have changed it by now right ?
and from what ive seen, anytype of topic which starts like that usually get spammed till closure .lol

This post has been edited by sonic_cd: Jan 14 2008, 12:56 PM
tZZ
post Jan 14 2008, 01:07 PM

466 posts

all everyone did was jumped in and spam. you guys couldn't even respect the SERIOUS TALK tag to begin with.  sweat.gif still got the cheek to start a topic about others abusing it?
This topic is obviously a flame bait and of no constructive purpose. Just because the TS placed a SERIOUS TALK tag doesn't construe it as a serious topic. How the hell can a topic with "The pedo culture is this forum and /b/ disgust me.Never knew you people were so sick.You guys suck,go get a life." be serious?
If so anyone could make a thread saying Badawi is gay and put a serious tag and get away with it ?
goldfries
post Jan 14 2008, 01:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jan 14 2008, 12:56 PM)
i know serious  tag means have to post contructiv replies.. but it seems the ts post the topic and left it there without wanting to change it , if he wanted to , he could have changed it  by now right ?
and from what ive seen, anytype of topic which starts like that  usually get spammed till closure .lol
that's why lor. you guys still donno how to respect the tag.

if you see or think that someone is abusing the tag or tagged wrongly, please use report button and ignore the thread.

don't go spamming around.

QUOTE(tZZ @ Jan 14 2008, 01:07 PM)
This topic is obviously a flame bait and of no constructive purpose. Just because the TS placed a SERIOUS TALK tag doesn't construe it as a serious topic. How the hell can a topic with "The pedo culture is this forum and /b/ disgust me.Never knew you people were so sick.You guys suck,go get a life." be serious?
If so anyone could make a thread saying Badawi is gay and put a serious tag and get away with it ?
ok. put it this way

respect the serious tag first. simple as that.

if you think the post is nonsense useless or a flame bait, you can just ignore it instead of spamming on it or else you're just taking up a bait.

as for that thread, i personally do think that even though the 1st post is badly phrased, there is something to discuss about. unfortunately i see 101 others who fail to understand the SERIOUS TALK tag.
fly
post Jan 14 2008, 01:45 PM

¯\(°_o)/¯
1,119 posts

The tone of the first post could have been improved, but I think it's still a worthy topic of discussion, tone notwithstanding.

Just a few weeks ago I perma-banned an account that posted a picture that was borderline child-porn. And I'm not talking about some anime-style pedobear fodder. I hope it's the last time that I'll see something like that again.

The regular /b/tards are harmless and know which line not to cross (plus they're generally smarter about not breaking the rules). Unfortunately, there have been a lot of newbies hopping on the bandwagon so that they can look like one of the cool kids and end up spoiling it for everybody.
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 01:49 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Did u give the "+warned" to amend their post then?

QUOTE(fly @ Jan 14 2008, 01:45 PM)
The tone of the first post could have been improved, but I think it's still a worthy topic of discussion, tone notwithstanding.

Just a few weeks ago I perma-banned an account that posted a picture that was borderline child-porn. And I'm not talking about some anime-style pedobear fodder. I hope it's the last time that I'll see something like that again.

The regular /b/tards are harmless and know which line not to cross (plus they're generally smarter about not breaking the rules). Unfortunately,  there have been a lot of newbies hopping on the bandwagon so that they can look like one of the cool kids and end up spoiling it for everybody.
So any action taken against TS?
goldfries
post Jan 14 2008, 01:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 14 2008, 01:49 PM)

sorry? it was tagged serious. you spammed. that's it.

what action are you expecting?

on what grounds?
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 02:01 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2008, 01:54 PM)
sorry? it was tagged serious. you spammed. that's it.
what action are you expecting?

on what grounds?
On the ground that TS intentionally flame baiting and abusing the serious tag.

Who here says TS did not did it for the lulz or spamming or flame baiting or watever u call it?

Unless, its OK to abuse the "serious tag"?

Added on January 14, 2008, 2:07 pmNah getting bored already...

30% warning wont kill me....

And i gotta lulzz in my dream now...a "serious tag" thread turned into a "kopitiam material" now....
In deed a "serious tag"...

And internet is teh seriouz business, do is LYN Kopitiam's "serious tag" is teh seriouz business.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jan 14 2008, 02:07 PM
fly
post Jan 14 2008, 02:12 PM

¯\(°_o)/¯
1,119 posts

Why? The serious talk tag has already been removed anyway and your knee-jerk reply to his thread wasn't exactly Masterpiece Theater material. Stop playing the victim.
goldfries
post Jan 14 2008, 02:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

looks like you're not happy you were warned. if you were not warned, i doubt you'll start a topic here.

anyone could start a topic with any tag. you think it's abused or wrongly put, you can click report. the moderating crew will observe and decide what's best.

using the tag inapproriately does not infringe any forum rules. if it was wrongly used, the action is just to remove it. simple as that. can't warn someone for using bad English or improper phrasing.

but it is clear that the ones infringing the rules are those who spammed when a thread is titled SERIOUS TALK.

do you understand yet?

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 14 2008, 02:01 PM)
And i gotta lulzz in my dream now...a "serious tag" thread turned into a "kopitiam material" now....
In deed a "serious tag"...

FYI the SERIOUS TALK thread that you were referring to certainly has potential.

it only turned into "KOPITIAM MATERIAL" simply because people fail to abide to the forum rules.

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 02:21 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(fly @ Jan 14 2008, 02:12 PM)
Why? The serious talk tag has already been removed anyway and your knee-jerk reply to his thread wasn't exactly Masterpiece Theater material. Stop playing the victim.
Why i had the 1st reply...thats a master piece thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2008, 02:13 PM)
looks like you're not happy you were warned. if you were not warned, i doubt you'll start a topic here.

anyone could start a topic with any tag. you think it's abused or wrongly put, you can click report. the moderating crew will observe and decide what's best.

using the tag inapproriately does not infringe any forum rules. if it was wrongly used, the action is just to remove it. simple as that. can't warn someone for using bad English or improper phrasing.

but it is clear that the ones infringing the rules are those who spammed when a thread is titled SERIOUS TALK.

do you understand yet?
FYI the SERIOUS TALK thread that you were referring to certainly has potential.

it only turned into "KOPITIAM MATERIAL" simply because people fail to abide to the forum rules.
wokey donkey then....
I understand mod do have to backup mod...im a mod too.

Since u said like that, and since "abusing serious tag" doesnt seems to be a problem with u mods, i rest my case then..

I guess i can never be a good mod, coz i will be giving TS a holiday and delete the thread, instead of +warn others who "spammed" there.

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jan 14 2008, 02:22 PM
goldfries
post Jan 14 2008, 02:30 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 14 2008, 02:21 PM)
Why i had the 1st reply...thats a master piece  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
wokey donkey then....
I understand mod do have to backup mod...im a mod too.

Since u said like that, and since "abusing serious tag" doesnt seems to be a problem with u mods, i rest my case then..

I guess i can never be a good mod, coz i will be giving TS a holiday and delete the thread, instead of +warn others who "spammed" there.
dear sir, your tone is NOT appreciated.

by the looks of your reply so far, you're just being a "sour-grape".

do you know how many people placed wrong tags all over LYN forum? holiday + delete just because of that?

tell you 1 thing - TS didn't break any rules of that section. you guys did. be responsible for your action is all i could say.

here's what the TS posted (prior to his edit)

Serious Talk On.

it was clear TS had a point. just that he might not be that tactful to phrase is properly to start a discussion but if you have a smattering understanding of English, you get the point that he was trying to express. again, no breaching of any Rules & Regulation.

so it's definitely clear that you guys aren't happy that no action was taken on him. why should there be any in the first place?

On the other hand his thread was spoiled by the rest of you spammers, definitely deserve a warn there for not respecting forums R&R.
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 02:35 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2008, 02:30 PM)
dear sir, your tone is NOT appreciated.

by the looks of your reply so far, you're just being a "sour-grape".

do you know how many people placed wrong tags all over LYN forum? holiday + delete just because of that?

tell you 1 thing - TS didn't break any rules of that section. you guys did. be responsible for your action is all i could say.

here's what the TS posted (prior to his edit)
it was clear TS had a point. just that he might not be that tactful to phrase is properly to start a discussion but if you have a smattering understanding of English, you get the point that he was trying to express. again, no breaching of any Rules & Regulation.

so it's definitely clear that you guys aren't happy that no action was taken on him. why should there be any in the first place?

On the other hand his thread was spoiled by the rest of you spammers, definitely deserve a warn there for not respecting forums R&R.
Seriously if u can look at my face, im actually calm and laughing...
I just dont get it why u are OK with "tag abusing" with intentional to flame baiting.

I really dont mind getting +warn, i actually miss the warning when the last warn of 6 months ended, feels awkward not seeing the thing.

Someone too sees that there's no "serious talk" material yet a tag was putted.
goldfries
post Jan 14 2008, 02:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 14 2008, 02:35 PM)
I just dont get it why u are OK with "tag abusing" with intentional to flame baiting.

using the wrong forum tag does not infringe any forum R&R!

report and we'll change it. simple as that.

there's no reason for you guys to spam, flame-bait or not.
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 02:56 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 14 2008, 02:39 PM)
using the wrong forum tag does not infringe any forum R&R!

report and we'll change it. simple as that.

there's no reason for you guys to spam, flame-bait or not.
Is it time to amend the R&R then?
nickisthemost
post Jan 14 2008, 03:00 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jan 14 2008, 02:35 PM)
Seriously if u can look at my face, im actually calm and laughing...

I really dont mind getting +warn, i actually miss the warning when the last warn of 6 months ended, feels awkward not seeing the thing.

Someone too sees that there's no "serious talk" material yet a tag was putted.
well wacky after so long seeing you in this forum, there is only two word that can describe you right now "attention whoring" yes that is what it all about rite ? no offense but proof me wrong, cheers
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jan 14 2008, 03:14 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Jan 14 2008, 03:00 PM)
well wacky after so long seeing you in this forum, there is only two word that can describe you right now "attention whoring" yes that is what it all about rite ? no offense but proof me wrong, cheers
U are wrong...but if u think i am, its up to u.

So tag abusing is not a problem to u too huh?
ed0gawa
post Jan 14 2008, 03:15 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Jan 14 2008, 03:00 PM)
2nd that

Is that topic not worthy of serious tag? Who are you to judge?

0.0197sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:32 AM