6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Is spaying / neutering your pet cruel?, Please read the first post before voting

TSwon
post Jan 14 2008, 01:15 AM, updated 18y ago

shushu & kero
837 posts

Based on some recent post, it seems that a lot of the pet owners still think that spaying/ neutering their pet is a cruel thing to do.
Are they aware of the spaying / neutering procedure? hmm.gif What are the concerns?

Here are some information regarding spaying / neutering. Please go through this post (sorry for the long post) before voting and feel free to comment. notworthy.gif

What Do "Spay" and "Neuter" Really Mean?
Female dogs and cats are spayed by removing their reproductive organs, and male dogs and cats are neutered by removing their testicles.
In both cases the operation is performed while the pet is under anesthesia. Depending on your pet's age, size, and health, he or she will stay at your veterinarian's office for a few hours or a few days.
Depending upon the procedure, your pet may need stitches removed after a few days. Your veterinarian can fully explain spay and neuter procedures to you and discuss with you the best age at which to sterilize your pet.
Benefits of spaying / neutering:

Why is spaying / neutering good for your pets?   smile.gif
1) Spaying and neutering helps dogs and cats live longer, healthier lives.
2) Spaying and neutering can eliminate or reduce the incidence of a number of health problems that can be very difficult or expensive to treat.
3) Spaying eliminates the possibility of uterine or ovarian cancer and greatly reduces the incidence of breast cancer, particularly when your pet is spayed before her first estrous cycle.
4) Neutering eliminates testicular cancer and decreases the incidence of prostate disease.

Why is spaying / neutering good for you?   nod.gif
1) Spaying and neutering makes pets better, more affectionate companions.
2) Neutering dogs/cats makes them less likely to spray and mark territory.
3) Spaying a dog or cat eliminates her heat cycle. Estrus lasts an average of six to 12 days, often twice a year, in dogs and an average of six to seven days, three or more times a year, in cats. Females in heat can cry incessantly, show nervous behavior, and attract unwanted male animals.
4) Unsterilized animals often exhibit more behavior and temperament problems than do those who have been spayed or neutered.
5) Spaying and neutering can make pets less likely to bite.
6) Neutering makes pets less likely to roam the neighborhood, run away, or get into fights.

Why is spaying / neutering good for the community?   thumbup.gif
1) Communities spend millions of dollars to control unwanted animals.
2) Irresponsible breeding contributes to the problem of dog bites and attacks.
3) Animal shelters are overburdened with surplus animals.
4) Stray pets and homeless animals get into trash containers, defecate in public areas or on private lawns, and frighten or anger people who have no understanding of their misery or needs.
5) Some stray animals also scare away or kill birds and wildlife

source
Some Myths surrounding Spaying / Neutering:

I love my pet so much, I want another one just like her.   wub.gif
Chances are, your pet's offspring won't be just like their mother or father. Even breeders who follow generations of bloodlines can't guarantee they will get just what they want out of a particular litter. A pet owner's chances are even slimmer. In fact, it is possible that the puppies or kittens will inherit their parents' worst traits rather than the great ones you are trying to duplicate. Each animal is an individual with lovable quirks and habits of its own.

A female cat or dog should have a litter before she is spayed.   sweat.gif
The sooner you spay your female, the better her health will be in the future. The likelihood of developing mammary tumors or uterine infections increases the longer a female goes unspayed. In fact, a female spayed before sexual maturity (six to nine months of age) only has one-seventh the risk of developing mammary cancer, compared to an intact female.
Neutering reduces a dog's ability as a watchdog.
Don't confuse aggressiveness with protectiveness; a sterilized dog protects his/her home and family just as well as an unneutered dog, and many unwanted aggression problems can be avoided by early neutering.

My pet will become fat and lazy.   doh.gif
Lack of exercise and overfeeding make pets fat and lazy - not neutering. It is true that altered animals require fewer calories. There's an easy way to keep them fit and healthy: cut down on their meals and treats, provide toys to keep them busy, and make time for walks or playtime every day.

My children will not have the chance to witness "the miracle of birth."
Countless books and videos are available to teach your children about birth in a responsible manner, without endangering your family pet's health (did you know that your cat or dog may get sick and even die during pregnancy and birth? Also, it is not uncommon for one or several of the babies to die within the first few weeks after birth).

Even if children are able to see a pet give birth -- which is unlikely, since it usually occurs at night and in seclusion -- the lesson they will really learn is that animals can be created and discarded as it suits us. Instead, explain to your children that the real miracle is life and that preventing the birth of some pets can save the lives of others.

Instead of showing your children the "miracle of birth," why not foster a litter of kittens or puppies for a shelter or rescue group? You will make a great difference for orphaned animals, your kids will love it just as much, and you will be teaching them to treat animals responsibly.
It is not safe to spay a female before her first heat. Early spay or neuter is risky.
As long as a kitten or puppy is healthy, weighs more than two pounds, and is two months old, he or she can be neutered or spayed. Male rabbits can be neutered as soon as their testicles become visible (at 3 to 4 months of age). Female rabbits can be spayed at 4 to 5 months old. Veterinary medicine has made great strides in the last years and many veterinarians now practise perfectly safe early sterilization.

Neutering is cruel and painful to the pet.   shakehead.gif
Every surgery carries certain risks, but sterilization is the most common surgery performed on animals today. Spays and neuters are performed with the same general anesthesia used in human medicine, and pain medication is available for animals.

The surgery usually requires minimal hospitalization -- many pets can go home the same day. And with a minimal amount of home care, your pet will resume normal behavior in a couple of days. In fact, many males act perfectly normal the day after surgery so don't be surprised if your dog tries to play ball with you the morning after his neuter (do restrict your pet's activity for 7-14 days after surgery depending on your vet's recommendations).
Kittens and puppies are so adorable that it will be easy to find homes for them.
In six years, one female dog and her offspring can be the source of 67,000 puppies, and in seven years one cat can be the source of 420,000 kittens! But even if your pet does have "just one " litter, it won't be easy finding good homes for all of them. Every year hundreds of kittens and puppies die in shelters right here in San Diego County. Most of them are perfectly healthy and cute, but there simply aren't enough homes for them. It's not a question of age or cuteness... it's pure math.

We don't need to neuter males because they aren't the ones having the litters.
Every litter is sired by a male. A single male can impregnate many females in just one day! Also, neutering isn't just about preventing litters. Keep in mind that neutering your male animal before sexual maturity dramatically reduces diseases of the prostate and testicles. It also reduces aggression and territorial behaviors, making your male pet so much more pleasant to live with.

I don't want my male animal to feel like less of a male.   doh.gif
Pets don't have any concept of sexual identity or ego. Your dog, cat, or rabbit won't suffer any kind of emotional reaction or identity crisis when neutered.

My animal is a purebred so breeding her won't contribute to the problem.
A large number of animals killed at shelters and pounds are purebreds. Remember, pet overpopulation is a problem of numbers, not "what kinds" of pets.

It's too expensive to get my pet(s) spayed or neutered. moneyflies.gif
The cost of spay or neuter surgery is a one-time cost; and, if we do say so ourselves, it's a relatively small cost when compared to all the benefits. It certainly is a bargain compared to the cost of having a litter and ensuring the health of the mother and babies. Your pet's pregnancy and the time until the litter is weaned can add up to significant veterinary bills and food costs if complications develop (which is not uncommon). Then there's the heartache if things go wrong and you lose a baby or the mother

source

Spay or neuter surgery carries a one-time cost that is relatively small when one considers its benefits. It's a small price to pay for the health of your pet and the prevention of more unwanted animals. Hopefully the above post also helps to answer the question about spaying / neutering. smile.gif
QiQio
post Jan 14 2008, 02:35 AM

.::Event Freak::.
1,110 posts

Somehow same issues on my thread... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/610993

I'll be the first to say nono to neuter...say "TakNak to Neuter!!!"

just imagine urself being neuter ok? urghhh...so cruel!
Pennywise
post Jan 14 2008, 08:34 AM

5,796 posts

I know its good for them but somehow, I just cannot bring myself to do it when I only had Casper. In the end, I got him a partner, Moonie and decided to take care of them for life.

I always think - your mom thinks it's good for you, send you to the chop board - how would you feel? Unfair la. I'm not letting my dog make the decision, I'm making the better decision for him as a good owner. If we talk about the amount of stray dogs on the road, then that's a different case.

In the end, I feel spaying and neutering is for SPCA, not for home owners. That's just my humble thought. Thanks for reading.
TSwon
post Jan 14 2008, 09:33 AM

shushu & kero
837 posts

QUOTE(QiQio @ Jan 14 2008, 02:35 AM)
Somehow same issues on my thread... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/610993

I'll be the first to say nono to neuter...say "TakNak to Neuter!!!"

just imagine urself being neuter ok? urghhh...so cruel!
Why do you think neutering/spaying is cruel? I am curious, care to share your opinion?
Do you think it is painful for the pet? Do you think your male animal will feel less of a male after he is neuter? Both question has been answered above. Animal is not like human, they do not have sexual urges - they do it as natural instinct only.

OT: A lot of people have vasectomy / tubal ligation surgery as a form of permanent birth control.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 14 2008, 08:34 AM)
I know its good for them but somehow, I just cannot bring myself to do it when I only had Casper. In the end, I got him a partner, Moonie and decided to take care of them for life.

I always think - your mom thinks it's good for you, send you to the chop board - how would you feel? Unfair la. I'm not letting my dog make the decision, I'm making the better decision for him as a good owner. If we talk about the amount of stray dogs on the road, then that's a different case.

In the end, I feel spaying and neutering is for SPCA, not for home owners. That's just my humble thought. Thanks for reading.
Thanks for your input. smile.gif
Actually, I made the post to clear the misconception of spaying / neutering. (as per the myth part)
A lot of people keep repeating that it is painful, cruel, etc.... while they don't really read about it properly. The same information has been repeated in various thread as well.
However, to me - at the end, the decision whether to spay / neuter the animal is still up to the owner.
As long as the owner is a responsible owner and take care of the pet properly - it is good enough for me.
xecton
post Jan 14 2008, 09:42 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 14 2008, 08:34 AM)

If the home owners do it, then SPCA wouldn't have to.

You cannot care for all of your pet's offsprings. Eventually you will need to give them away, and hopefully to good owners.
But you'll never know. Some of them might ended up as a stray. If they managed to survived, then they'll breed more. Who is to give a good home to them?
krynzpeaches
post Jan 14 2008, 09:59 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

NO, it is not cruel at all because I love my pet so much and want to be able to care for it until it's last breath, I spay/neuter my pets.

Taking into major concern on their health, it is good to have them spayed/neutered.

Also taking into account that where/who will be caring for the off springs until their last breath? That is always not a guarantee and unless I am sure I can take care of all of them, I'd prefer NOT to have any.

Pets do NOT know how to control breeding/mating thus every mating is a 99% success and will produce off springs. If they mate 2 a year, they will produce/give birth twice. And in their life time, how many times would that be? Do you think they do not endure the labour pain every time they give birth? Do you think that all of the off springs will survive? Now that is for a pet that mates only twice a year. What about those which mates more than twice?

If you choose not to spay/neuter them, can you watch your pets every move and ensure that they do not mate at all?

Please do NOT compare spaying/neutering your pets with humans. That is such a misconception. Humans can think, they have well functional brains and is able to opt for any type of contraception if they do not want any children (yet). Even a sane and healthy human being will not give birth every year, it is bad for the human body (ofcourse this applies to woman only rolleyes.gif ). Plus there is an option for human themselves to have vasectomy/tubal ligation surgery as a form of permanent birth control. A lot of married couple who is happy with the number of children they have will gladly opt for this.

Ohh and yes, like what won has said, pets/animals do NOT have sexual urges, they only mate because it's their natural instinct to do so.

Anyway, sorry if I strayed out of topic to explaining the above but I stand with spaying/neutering your pets is a good move wink.gif

notworthy.gif
KP
jaswwp
post Jan 14 2008, 10:03 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I feel its ok for the owner to decide not to spay/neuter, but only if being responsible for the pets actions. A lot of pet owners allow their pets to mate freely then post up the offspring for urgent adoption "because my house no more space" and all sorts of similar reasons. In the end the animals end up on the road, sold to a petshop, in SPCA, or neglected in a cage the whole day. I think that is more cruel compared to neuter/spay. The babies will have suffer for an entire life.

I wont point out any names here but there have been so many pet owners on this forum that said after I breed I will not dump out or sell the offspring, I will keep all myself or find an excellent home for them. In the end you will see the pets on our adoption board or garage sales, sometimes the parents, sometimes the offspring. Then the owner will MIA from lyn indefinately.

This post has been edited by jaswwp: Jan 14 2008, 10:06 AM
pasarmalam
post Jan 14 2008, 10:13 AM

276 posts

well i won't do it..let nature take its course.All my previous dogs have lived healthy lives without being spayed/neutered.
Its not the matter of sexual urges but its just not natural.This is wat MAN invented..So let it be if you can avoid it.

Only reason to do it if you have a male and a female living together.
and you don't want them to breed.But just spay the female.Leave the male.

Maybe we should get birth control pills for pets.At least let them shag tongue.gif

jaswwp
post Jan 14 2008, 10:16 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Its not nature to have 2 animals of different gender stay together and "shag" as you put it. In the wild they mate then they go their seperate ways. Putting them together and letting the male harrass the female all day can be stressful for the female especially if the male is really high libido. I'd rather neuter the male and leave the female as she is rather than the other way round.
krynzpeaches
post Jan 14 2008, 10:28 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(pasarmalam @ Jan 14 2008, 10:13 AM)
well i won't do it..let nature take its course.All my previous dogs have lived healthy lives without being spayed/neutered.
Its not the matter of sexual urges but its just not natural.This is wat MAN invented..So let it be if you can avoid it.

Only reason to do it if you have a male and a female living together.
and you don't want them to breed.But just spay the female.Leave the male.

Maybe we should get birth control pills for pets.At least let them shag tongue.gif

Neutering males are easier and less complicated than spaying females thus the cost is always higher to spay.

Spaying needs a minor surgery, but neutering is much-much less.

Do you know that if you neuter/spay your pet they can still "shag" all they like?

Even if you have a vasectomy, you can still "shag" all you like.

Spaying/neutering is not removing the sexual organ itself, it just removes the part that produces the "thing" to create off springs.

doh.gif
KP

jaunty_niel
post Jan 14 2008, 10:35 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

if its to save their lives, i would do it. i've already neutered my previos shihtzu, spayed my mom's rottie, and a mix breed.
sometimes, it really saves problems just by neutering/spaying the dog.
QiQio
post Jan 14 2008, 10:57 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(won @ Jan 14 2008, 10:33 AM)
Why do you think neutering/spaying is cruel? I am curious, care to share your opinion?
Do you think it is painful for the pet? Do you think your male animal will feel less of a male after he is neuter? Both question has been answered above. Animal is not like human, they do not have sexual urges - they do it as natural instinct only.

OT: A lot of people have vasectomy / tubal ligation surgery as a form of permanent birth control.
AS I mention, pls imagine ur next life as a dog and being neuter by ur master...how does it feel? huh? huh?

U say for their health sake which i tin is a pure rubbish...den y dun u neuter urself now? Den it will reduce the risk of AIDS, penyakit kelamin....and also no poor kids on street...lesser crime cases..like Nurin...tin again ok? Dun act like u r the only one flowing with warm blooded ok? vmad.gif
krynzpeaches
post Jan 14 2008, 11:00 AM

2,047 posts

I'm sorry QiQio, I need to understand your point of view.

How old are you?

Honestly.

KP

Added on January 14, 2008, 11:07 am
QUOTE(QiQio @ Jan 14 2008, 10:57 AM)
U say for their health sake which i tin is a pure rubbish...den y dun u neuter urself now? Den it will reduce the risk of AIDS, penyakit kelamin....and also no poor kids on street...lesser crime cases..like Nurin...tin again ok? Dun act like u r the only one flowing with warm blooded ok?  vmad.gif

It is true that it is good for their health.

You can consult any vet/doctor if you want and see what they say if think you cannot trust us.

As I have mentioned earlier, even for human, it is not good to give birth every single year.

You got your facts wrong, if you do actually "neuter" a human (which is called vasectomy) it does not help to control AIDS/HIV because the virus remains in the fluid and a person who has under gone vasectomy can still produce discharges when having sex.

"Neutering" human (vasectomy) will only help curb unwanted/illigitimate children not help to curb sex offenders at all.

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jan 14 2008, 11:07 AM
QiQio
post Jan 14 2008, 11:28 AM

1,110 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jan 14 2008, 12:00 PM)

How old are you?

Honestly.

KP

You can consult any vet/doctor if you want and see what they say if think you cannot trust us.

As I have mentioned earlier, even for human, it is not good to give birth every single year.

You got your facts wrong, if you do actually "neuter" a human (which is called vasectomy) it does not help to control AIDS/HIV because the virus remains in the fluid and a person who has under gone vasectomy can still produce discharges when having sex.

"Neutering" human (vasectomy) will only help curb unwanted/illigitimate children not help to curb sex offenders at all.

KP
IS there any concern my age with neuter issue?

I'm a vr gd fren for the vet at Setapak here...an indian guy not coz i dog always sick is beacuse we chat alot bout dogs...he always tell me dogs' history and some of his philosophy on dogs...when i talk bout neutering...he abit over react somehow by asking me: "Why dis kind of question ever come to ur mind?", "IS not i dun wan to earn ur money but dats not the wise choice if u love ur dog"...maybe he feels dat i treat dog as a fren rather than a pet...
Pennywise
post Jan 14 2008, 11:32 AM

5,796 posts

Basically, I feel that human should not play as God. I will always believe that its meant to be and let mother nature takes it course. This is why I am against spaying and neutering. I know not every owner is a good owner, not everyone can be responsible. Some are careless, some just dont have the time, others have different excuses.

Simply put, I believe that "Do not do what you dont want others to do unto you."

won,
I understand your point and I know many of us will have differing views about this topic of discussion. It's good that we have topics like this to keep the board alive and going.

Like you said, it's the owners decision and responsibility to take care of the pet. When I bought my dog, I made a vow to my girl (soon to be wife) that if I failed at taking care of them, it will only reflect how poorly I would be if I am a dad. I did that because she is a pet lover and I want to be good and right now, as an owner, I would dare say I am doing the right thing.

xecton,
The home owners dont have to do it. They just have to be responsible. I know we cannot care for all our pet's offsprings. There are bound to be 'accidents' sometimes and more puppies come along the way. How I see it is,
1. Give it to your relatives where you can often visit
2. Sell it to a new home - I believe if people fork out money from their pockets, they are bound to be more responsible. If you give it to them free, they are bound to be more careless.

If they surive, it is their life. Whether the next owner wants to spay, neuter or even put them to sleep is the sins the next owner have to bear.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 14 2008, 11:33 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jan 14 2008, 11:00 AM)

How old are you?

Honestly.

KP

KP
Hahah.... when I read that AIDS can be controlled, I was laughing already. If that really happens, wouldn't all every man and women who have sex freely would like to "neuter" themselves so they don't get affected during their sex parties? LOL LOL

Humans can think. Humans can do family planning..... Animals can't.....

It is TRUE that neutering can save LIVES!!!!!!

My dog was saved because he got neutered. The vet found cancerous tissue in his testicles..... so.... if I did not neuter him, means he will go through a painful life and die from cancer.

My female dog's temperament and health improved after spaying. No phantom pregnancies, no need to worry about uterus cancer, no need to worry about her dying young.

Feeding birth control pills to a dog is much worst. It can poison them to death.....

Many people here put human emotions, alright... fine, but it is your individual preference..... just don't put it as cruel and all. This is about population control. I find it more cruel to let your pet breed without control, making more offspring.... and when that happens, they become street animals, getting run over by cars, getting hurt by other animals, starve to death.....

SPCA do it to control the population. Pet Owners do it to control breeding if they have male and female dogs/cats... pet owners do it to control dominance and behaviour problem.
There is no cruelty in it. Never put human emotions and feelings with animals, they breed from instinct, not to feel good. Humans, dolphins, bonobos, they have sex for bonding, offspring and fun..... but dogs and cats do not feel this.... Yah, you say GOD gave them what they have to breed..... but then GOD never knew humans would take animals as pets. In the wild, cats run alone, when they wanna breed, they would call out for a male from a far..... for a dog, females stay in a pack with a dominant male..... and only the dominant male and dominant females breed..... other males and driven away while the less dominant females become babysitters. This is without any humans around. The animals breedings are controlled that way, GOD made them that way. But since we humans decided to keep them as pets.... they lose their pack instincts..... kept in a male and female pair, of course they would breed non-stop. To control this, spaying and nuetering works IF you do not have the responsibility of watching over them.

I neutered my gerbil because I don't want him to breed..... and also he got a problematic testicle... IS THAT CRUEL? I neutered my cat so he would not wander off into the streets to fight other male cats and spray urine around the house.... Is it cruel to save him from the pain of fighting other cats?

If you want to keep your animals intact.... then do it responsibly.... I do know some people here who watch their animals closely when their female goes on heat.... so a Great Big Pat on the back for you for doing a good job. To others, castrating your animal is never wrong..... it is never cruel..... if you think is cruel, then you must be responsible for your pet's offspring.... do not dump them out, do not send to SPCA, do not sell out. Promise your pets that you will be their forever home.
krynzpeaches
post Jan 14 2008, 11:35 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(QiQio @ Jan 14 2008, 11:28 AM)

YES, because I need to understand your point of view and your age will tell that.

KP
crazymouse_yyh
post Jan 14 2008, 11:37 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(QiQio @ Jan 14 2008, 11:28 AM)

I'm a vr gd fren for the vet at Setapak here...an indian guy not coz i dog always sick is beacuse we chat alot bout dogs...he always tell me dogs' history and some of his philosophy on dogs...when i talk bout neutering...he abit over react somehow by asking me: "Why dis kind of question ever come to ur mind?", "IS not i dun wan to earn ur money but dats not the wise choice if u love ur dog"...maybe he feels dat i treat dog as a fren rather than a pet...
What is not a wise choice? Neutering?

That vet has been treating my dogs for years, as young as I was 10..... he was the one who neutered my dog to save him from cancer..... he was the one who neutered my other dog for he said it could work for dominance behaviour..... he was the one who spayed my female dog because she was in a home with many male dogs.....
jaswwp
post Jan 14 2008, 11:43 AM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 14 2008, 11:32 AM)
Basically, I feel that human should not play as God. I will always believe that its meant to be and let mother nature takes it course. This is why I am against spaying and neutering. I know not every owner is a good owner, not everyone can be responsible. Some are careless, some just dont have the time, others have different excuses.

Simply put, I believe that "Do not do what you dont want others to do unto you."

won,
I understand your point and I know many of us will have differing views about this topic of discussion. It's good that we have topics like this to keep the board alive and going.

Like you said, it's the owners decision and responsibility to take care of the pet. When I bought my dog, I made a vow to my girl (soon to be wife) that if I failed at taking care of them, it will only reflect how poorly I would be if I am a dad. I did that because she is a pet lover and I want to be good and right now, as an owner, I would dare say I am doing the right thing.

xecton,
The home owners dont have to do it. They just have to be responsible. I know we cannot care for all our pet's offsprings. There are bound to be 'accidents' sometimes and more puppies come along the way. How I see it is,
1. Give it to your relatives where you can often visit
2. Sell it to a new home - I believe if people fork out money from their pockets, they are bound to be more responsible. If you give it to them free, they are bound to be more careless.

If they surive, it is their life. Whether the next owner wants to spay, neuter or even put them to sleep is the sins the next owner have to bear.
Since you have been around LYN forum for some time, you should have seen the cases that some owners bought the pure breed dogs with their own money yet were not responsible for them. Forking out money for pets does not mean they will be great owners.
Pennywise
post Jan 14 2008, 11:50 AM

5,796 posts

If you guys dont mind, here are some of my views on what was posted on the first post. I know I might make some enemies from this post but please dont mind the language and this are just some very personal views, for fun. Dont be offended and sorry if you are.

For the "Why is spaying / neutering good for your pets?" section, here is my reply:
Removing reproductive organs, testicles and stiches = UNNECESSARY OUCH!

For the "Why is spaying / neutering good for you?" section, here it is:
Spaying and neutering may bring a lot of good for them like living longer, reduce health problems, more affectionate companions, less territorial, show nervous behaviour, attract unwanted male, behaviour and temperament problems, less likely to bite, get into fights. All these are natural and these are the distinct features about them. Every breed is different, do you modify them to be more submissive? Do you slice off your breast to avoid breast cancer? Why dont we chop off our legs and put on a mechanical one so we become indestructible like Robocop?

For the "Why is spaying / neutering good for the community?" section, here:
A lot of positive for the community does not mean I am about to slice off my poor kid's balls just because of the world. We really should not have that sacrifice one to save all mentality. All we have to do is be more responsible. I know everyone cannot be like that, I will let God deal with that.

FAQs
1. I love my pet so much, I want another just like her.
Buy one.

2. A female cat or dog should have a litter before she is spayed.
Up to individual.

3. My pet will become fat and lazy.
Yea, it might be and so will the owner.

4. My children will not have the chance to witness "the miracle of birth."
Now this is bullshit because why would anyone want their children to witness such a gory scene? They will have their chance when they deliver or when they watch their wife do.

5. Neutering is cruel and painful to the pet.
This I have to agree. Would you like to be put on the cutting board just cause your mom thinks "OK, let's stop our family generation tree."

6. We don't need to neuter males because they aren't the ones having the litters.
Oh man, come to the world of animals and we still have that preference of male is more superior than female just like the traditional Chinese mentality?

7. I don't want my male animal to feel like less of a male.
A "male" isnt determined by the balls.

8. My animal is a purebred so breeding her won't contribute to the problem.
Purebreed or not is alike. In China's one child policy, being richer than others does not mean you're allowed 10 kids.

9. It's too expensive to get my pet(s) spayed or neutered.
So is owning a pet for 15 years, give it up then.

Forgive me. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Jan 14 2008, 11:54 AM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0591sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:45 PM