Car shuts down while opening aircon

TSviqq
post Jan 14 2008, 12:24 AM, updated 18y ago

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

Hi guys .. I own a Satria 1.3 2002. After bring the car to service, my clock died and reappeared but always reset to 1:00 everytime i start the engine. Besides that, my car always shut down automatically when I open the aircon. The RPM shifts down below 1000 R.P.M sometimes and the CHECK ENGINE and CAR DOOR signal is gone from my meter panel. Is this wiring problem or what ? The workshop said my wiring got problem blablabla but I never had the problem before I send my car to the workshop !! The reason i bring to workshop to repair is because of my engine throttle body broke (Idle Control Motor) already and needs to be changed.

What should i check ? My car's wiring?

BTW, seems like my headunit is eating my battery because sometimes cannot start my car properly if I didn't turn the headunit off. What caused this?
Beach_Boy
post Jan 14 2008, 12:49 AM

:D
8,456 posts

im not sure about your electronics problem
but i faced such problem before whereby the engine will stall if i switch on the aircon(i need to keep the gas pedal depressed to avoid it from happening)

something to do with the idling thingy is broken, i replace that and now its fine, i spent RM20 for that IIRC, 5bucks more to install it, it was a small thing situated near the wiper washer's tank
sakaic
post Jan 14 2008, 12:55 PM

936 posts

your battery condition ok ?
maranello55
post Jan 14 2008, 01:00 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

check the battery head if its tight enuff or got cracks there....the white residue collecting there also can sometimes interrupt power.

It battery not the prob, check maybe its the alternator...

Have u replace the throttle body?
keii-kun
post Jan 14 2008, 09:40 PM

1,120 posts

either battery connection loose or your earth cable loose/tercabut. try check. got similar problem with kancil previously, lights/meter die when turn on aircond/signal/brake (wtf?)... check check, earth cable loose.
tplcaik
post Jan 15 2008, 08:27 AM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

That workshop can trust or not? May be exchange a Kong batt into ur car alr sad.gif Just my 2cent la cos u said b4 send in is ok wat.
kancilprodua
post Jan 15 2008, 04:35 PM

53 posts

i guess mayb ur engine timing 2 low..
TSviqq
post Jan 16 2008, 10:49 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

QUOTE(Beach_Boy(R) @ Jan 14 2008, 12:49 AM)
im not sure about your electronics problem
but i faced such problem before whereby the engine will stall if i switch on the aircon(i need to keep the gas pedal depressed to avoid it from happening)

something to do with the idling thingy is broken, i replace that and now its fine, i spent RM20 for that IIRC, 5bucks more to install it, it was a small thing situated near the wiper washer's tank
eh wat is IIRC? Idling thingy? Do mean mean the throttle body gear?

QUOTE(sakaic @ Jan 14 2008, 12:55 PM)
your battery condition ok ?
Battery is new ..

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Jan 14 2008, 01:00 PM)
check the battery head if its tight enuff or got cracks there....the white residue collecting there also can sometimes interrupt power.

It battery not the prob, check maybe its the alternator...

Have u replace the throttle body?
No i don't think it's battery problem ler.. I already replaced throttle body. Yes.

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Jan 14 2008, 09:40 PM)
either battery connection loose or your earth cable loose/tercabut. try check. got similar problem with kancil previously, lights/meter die when turn on aircond/signal/brake (wtf?)... check check, earth cable loose.
Earth cable? Where is it located bro?

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Jan 15 2008, 08:27 AM)
That workshop can trust or not? May be exchange a Kong batt into ur car alr sad.gif Just my 2cent la cos u said b4 send in is ok wat.
No lar .. The battery i just bought new de .. Somemore the stupid workshop is owned by father's buddy.. But I really doubt their skills..

QUOTE(CandleJack @ Jan 15 2008, 03:44 PM)
I suggest u take it to a more reliable workshop
In my place duno where got workshop liaw wor.. See how first ler .. I think that they caused it because before i bring to service, everything okay de...

QUOTE(kancilprodua @ Jan 15 2008, 04:35 PM)
i guess mayb ur engine timing 2 low..
Engine timing low then how to fix it ? Change timing belt? BTW it's been 4-5 years already my timing belt. Should i change it and see?

One more thing. Last time before this problem happen, my car only will like wanna shut down but never shut down after i installed ICE. Now it really shuts down when i playing ICE + Aircon. I think my amplifier or my headunit is sucking some power because another problem is that sometimes i cannot start my car at all sometimes after the car shuts down. Need to turn few times to start the engine.

Added on January 16, 2008, 10:54 pmBTW .. one more thing .. All these happened after i changed

SPARK PLUG

THROTTLE BODY

PIONEER HEADUNIT 6950IB

This post has been edited by viqq: Jan 16 2008, 10:54 PM
post Jan 17 2008, 12:10 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Maybe the workshop man set the wrong idle for your car.Ask if he can increase the idling RPM by adjusting the throttle body needle during idle.

Your car maybe idling at too low RPM and your engine will jerk and dies off.

This post has been edited by 779364: Jan 17 2008, 12:11 AM
yewwing
post Jan 17 2008, 02:10 PM

392 posts

Your air cond compressor jam bro...thats why your engine go off when u switch on the air cond...
MangKoK^ayon
post Jan 17 2008, 09:28 PM

look at my stars
859 posts

check ur timing too
GoldenHawk
post Jan 18 2008, 04:30 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

It's a wiring or power issue.
The hint is that the clock resets whenever the car is started. This is due to the high drain at some part of your car. Check all the fuses and as a final resort, try disconnecting the player for a while. If you don't make it a habit to turn your player off before turning your car off, try doing that 1st.

If you hadn't stated that your clock resets on start, I would've looked at your throttle body too tongue.gif

My alternator over-volted once and I've been stuck with the 'clock-reset' symptom ever since. Mine occurs when the high beam goes on.
TSviqq
post Jan 21 2008, 12:34 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

QUOTE(779364 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:10 AM)
Maybe the workshop man set the wrong idle for your car.Ask if he can increase the idling RPM by adjusting the throttle body needle during idle.

Your car maybe idling at too low RPM and your engine will jerk and dies off.
No wor.. If idling it's at 1000 R.P.M... When i press my clutch only it shuts down. If increase idling RPM means more FC ka? hehe

QUOTE(yewwing @ Jan 17 2008, 02:10 PM)
Your air cond compressor jam bro...thats why your engine go off when u switch on the air cond...
Really.. I will look into that

QUOTE(MangKoK^ayon @ Jan 17 2008, 09:28 PM)
check ur timing too
I'll look into that.. Bring to workshop to check or what?

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Jan 18 2008, 04:30 PM)
It's a wiring or power issue.
The hint is that the clock resets whenever the car is started. This is due to the high drain at some part of your car. Check all the fuses and as a final resort, try disconnecting the player for a while. If you don't make it a habit to turn your player off before turning your car off, try doing that 1st.

If you hadn't stated that your clock resets on start, I would've looked at your throttle body too tongue.gif

My alternator over-volted once and I've been stuck with the 'clock-reset' symptom ever since. Mine occurs when the high beam goes on.
yaya bro... correct !!! clock resets whenever the car is started! Check fuse and wiring? how much does it cost? As my friend told me it costs RM700++ .. I was like WTF.. Because the car had no problems at all before i brought the car to service except that i changed the throttle body because the car was pressing the oil itself.. But hey I had this problem right after the service and before I installed my player.. The mechanic also said that wat fuse broken and whenever he try to plug in a new fuse, it doesn't accept.
contreasjun27
post Jan 22 2008, 12:16 PM

542 posts

check your throttle body...i have some similar experience like u before...
GoldenHawk
post Jan 22 2008, 12:50 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Jan 21 2008, 12:34 PM)
yaya bro... correct !!! clock resets whenever the car is started! Check fuse and wiring? how much does it cost? As my friend told me it costs RM700++ .. I was like WTF.. Because the car had no problems at all before i brought the car to service except that i changed the throttle body because the car was pressing the oil itself.. But hey I had this problem right after the service and before I installed my player.. The mechanic also said that wat fuse broken and whenever he try to plug in a new fuse, it doesn't accept.
What do you mean by "whenever he try to plug in a new fuse, it doesn't accept"? You mean your car doesn't start whenever you plug a new fuse in?
Try checking the main fuse located somewhere near the battery.

Best thing is to find a reliable wireman that won't con you, 95% of them will.
The RM700 quote would be for partial re-wiring of the car, a Class A re-wiring would cost RM1000 or more, depending on complexity.
TSviqq
post Jan 26 2008, 06:21 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Jan 22 2008, 12:50 PM)
What do you mean by "whenever he try to plug in a new fuse, it doesn't accept"? You mean your car doesn't start whenever you plug a new fuse in?
Try checking the main fuse located somewhere near the battery.

Best thing is to find a reliable wireman that won't con you, 95% of them will.
The RM700 quote would be for partial re-wiring of the car, a Class A re-wiring would cost RM1000 or more, depending on complexity.
At first he said my clock not working it's because of the fuse broken ma.. then he tried to put in a new one, but everytime he plugs in a new fuse, the fuse breaks.

Re-wiring ar?? Is it really necessary ? because it had no problems at all before i went on to change my throttle body.

My throttle body is new wor still got problem??..But 1.5 one .. It's compatible with 1.3 right? I hope it is compatible? If not already kena con ??

I thinking of raising the idle R.P.M just a bit higher than 1... But i doubt it'll do any help because my car only shuts down once in awhile while i change gear or pressing the clutch.

Some say also my battery can't support my Sound System.. They asked my to put in a Capacitor or known as "Bomb". Some also ask me to change the alternator. But these r quite unreasonable lor because i never had such problem before de..
Malvine
post Jan 28 2008, 10:44 AM

First you should try adjust the air conditioning idle timing. If unsuccessful, then you can try installed a FICD. You can get it at chop shop which cost around RM30-RM50. It will stabilized the engine timing when the air conditioning compressor is on.
TSviqq
post Jan 28 2008, 03:17 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

QUOTE(Malvine @ Jan 28 2008, 10:44 AM)
First you should try adjust the air conditioning idle timing. If unsuccessful, then you can try installed a FICD. You can get it at chop shop which cost around RM30-RM50. It will stabilized the engine timing when the air conditioning compressor is on.
Where to adjust the air con idle timing? And what's a FICD in full ? If i just tell the mechanic FICD he understand kar?
Malvine
post Jan 28 2008, 05:31 PM

Viqq, you can ask the foreman to adjust the valve of the air con idle timing. Just said that the idle timing is too low when the air con compressor is on. Maybe you should ask several foremen to get second opinion.

FICD is a vacum valve that can stabilize the idle timing when the air con compressor is on. It will suck more air into the crankcase when the compressor is on, so the idle timing is stabilized. Just ask at the chop shop, I want a FICD that can stabilize the car idle timing when the air con compressor is on. But first, you can ask the foreman to adjust the valve of the air con idle timing for you. I hope this will help you. But sorry if I'm wrong.
terrysoh
post Jan 28 2008, 11:49 PM

1,145 posts

You described a lot of problems of your car after sevicing... maybe best solution is seek another new foreman service rather than going back to the old one which causes the problem
TSviqq
post Jan 30 2008, 07:20 PM

From the Eastside
1,836 posts

QUOTE(Malvine @ Jan 28 2008, 05:31 PM)
Viqq, you can ask the foreman to adjust the valve of the air con idle timing. Just said that the idle timing is too low when the air con compressor is on. Maybe you should ask several foremen to get second opinion.

FICD is a vacum valve that can stabilize the idle timing when the air con compressor is on. It will suck more air into the crankcase when the compressor is on, so the idle timing is stabilized. Just ask at the chop shop, I want a FICD that can stabilize the car idle timing when the air con compressor is on. But first, you can ask the foreman to adjust the valve of the air con idle timing for you. I hope this will help you. But sorry if I'm wrong.
eh not that it is low (R.P.M) at all times .. It is only low when i shift gear or something u know .. When i switch on the aircon, the idle R.P.M is still at 1000 R.P.M but then when sometimes i press the clutch to shift gear or something, the car like wanna shut down like tat.. FICD can get a first hand one kar? i don't want any second hand parts oh..

QUOTE(terrysoh @ Jan 28 2008, 11:49 PM)
You described a lot of problems of your car after sevicing... maybe best solution is seek another new foreman service rather than going back to the old one which causes the problem
hmm.. but the thing is .. not much mechanic shop here in my hometown that has a computer to check the engine u know .. It'll be kinda hard to find one .. but i'll try ask later..

No more opinions or experiences already? One more thing, sometimes when I corner, break and put on the signal light, the chances of my car to shut down is very high.
eraserwke
post Apr 9 2008, 11:58 PM

Dude I have the exact same problem as you. My idling is normal at just below 1k when air con on. The car is still smooth. Just that when I want to change gear (eg braking before bump), then there's a possibility of the revs dropping till the engine dies.

Have u managed to fix it? Its very irritating X(
GodsLove
post Apr 10 2008, 08:27 AM

663 posts

i'm having similiar issue here but mine dies with or without aircond on..but once the engine has been started for a while, it will be fine...
GoldenHawk
post Apr 10 2008, 10:12 AM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

Guys, ever tried swapping batteries? unsure.gif
GodsLove
post Apr 10 2008, 01:45 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Apr 10 2008, 10:12 AM)
Guys, ever tried swapping batteries? unsure.gif
my battery is new...but even if its the battery problem, the car won't vibrate so much right?
eraserwke
post Apr 10 2008, 05:28 PM

My battery is new as well. I don't think its the battery. Car starts up with no problem even on cold days.

My mech suggested I get the FICD thing. But after I researched, it seems to be for cars with idling problems when air-con on.

My car idle rpm at 1000 even when aircon on. Its just that sometimes, when I press the clutch to change gear it will drop and the engine may die.

Any one knows how to solve this?
ryan_hustler
post Apr 10 2008, 08:03 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Jan 26 2008, 06:21 PM)
At first he said my clock not working it's because of the fuse broken ma.. then he tried to put in a new one, but everytime he plugs in a new fuse, the fuse breaks.
if the fuse breaks everytime u put in a new one theres a short in your circuit..check what wirirng is shorting by referring to the fuse eg: player,headlamp fuse..once u know which part of the electrical sys is shorting,check the wiring for that specific part..a short circuit is dangerous and needs to be rectified asap

0.0207sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:39 AM