Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


78 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom
Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Slow connecting international sites (Downtime)

views
     
BeNz
post Mar 9 2008, 09:10 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 74

Joined: Jul 2006
Opposition had won
and thus my speed is back to normal after suffering for 1 week with turtle speed

user posted image
TimKen
post Mar 9 2008, 10:15 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 396

Joined: Mar 2007
From: Pulau Pinang
QUOTE(BeNz @ Mar 9 2008, 09:10 AM)
Opposition had won
and thus my speed is back to normal after suffering for 1 week with turtle speed

user posted image
*
lol....yeah, BN suffer some major defeat especially in penang.... sweat.gif
jubz
post Mar 9 2008, 06:24 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 375

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Cyberjaya
Cyberjaya; connection has been slow + frequent time outs since Friday.
MarcoYee
post Mar 9 2008, 11:17 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 163

Joined: Aug 2005
my connection is dead! DEAD!
ping to yahoo 1k+ ms...
play local online game showed delay 1.2k+ ms
freaking TMNUT!
MX510
post Mar 10 2008, 07:24 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,777

Joined: Aug 2005
From: Earth



I'm getting half of my normal speed now
eternallove
post Mar 10 2008, 09:29 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 48

Joined: Oct 2004
Is there another earthquake or what?why connection so unstable start from afternoon untill midnight?

below pic taken by using 219.95.12.172 (60.51.8x.x give same result )

user posted image
it was around 210~230ms and some lag spike before which is fine.
and it become worst and unstable since last week.



user posted image
badrouting for taiwan hinet server?...it used to be around 100~200ms last year.

All i ask is stable connection...am i asking too much with hoping connection become stable?

This post has been edited by eternallove: Mar 10 2008, 09:38 PM
rajulkabir
post Mar 10 2008, 09:51 PM

Regular
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 1,428

Joined: Oct 2004


In your second traceroute, it is going all the way to the USA before coming back to Taiwan. The problem is that you are being outsmarted by Warcraft's geo-sensing DNS, which isn't aware of how badly TMnet's routers are managed.
eternallove
post Mar 10 2008, 10:30 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 48

Joined: Oct 2004
QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 10 2008, 09:51 PM)
In your second traceroute, it is going all the way to the USA before coming back to Taiwan. The problem is that you are being outsmarted by Warcraft's geo-sensing DNS, which isn't aware of how badly TMnet's routers are managed.
*
what do you mean by "being outsmarted by warcraft's geo-sensing dns"?
And i know my second traceroute is show as going to US and then coming back to taiwan which mean bad routing by tmnet isnt it? why the hell it need to route through US 1st?

btw 1st pic is us version worldofwarcraft login server,
and 2nd pic is taiwan's version of worlfofwarcraft login server which is using hinet based isp,
both servers are on diffrent location.

This post has been edited by eternallove: Mar 10 2008, 10:34 PM
shumaky
post Mar 10 2008, 10:40 PM

PS what.?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,706

Joined: Jan 2003
From: sunway @ middle earth



MAR08037
OPEN 06th Mar 08 Customer will experience slow connection for U.S and Hong Kong Link

Work in progress
Streamyx Customer
Slow Connection CKC DSLAM 1st Level :-
Proceed with closed report

MX510
post Mar 11 2008, 11:01 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,777

Joined: Aug 2005
From: Earth



Yeah slow speed now
rajulkabir
post Mar 12 2008, 03:36 AM

Regular
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 1,428

Joined: Oct 2004


QUOTE(eternallove @ Mar 10 2008, 10:30 PM)
what do you mean by "being outsmarted by warcraft's geo-sensing dns"?

When your PC looks up the IP address for the gaming server, their DNS server looks at your IP address to figure out where you are. Then it finds a game server that is located nearby to you (in this case Taiwan).

Under normal circumstances this is a good strategy, because it gets you lower ping times without you having to do anything.

What the Warcraft people don't know, however, is that TM's routing is a disaster, with routes flapping all over the place all the time. I think they would have to get some Streamyx subscriptions and put some machines here in Malaysia to sample the routes. Or just let you manually choose a game server (maybe they do).

QUOTE
And i know my second traceroute is show as going to US and then coming back to taiwan which mean bad routing by tmnet isnt it? why the hell it need to route through US 1st?

Because TM engineers are out having 4-hour tea breaks instead of studying the manuals for their equipment.
axoloke
post Mar 12 2008, 10:29 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 511

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Pearl Of The Orient


QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Mar 12 2008, 03:36 AM)
When your PC looks up the IP address for the gaming server, their DNS server looks at your IP address to figure out where you are. Then it finds a game server that is located nearby to you (in this case Taiwan).

Under normal circumstances this is a good strategy, because it gets you lower ping times without you having to do anything.

What the Warcraft people don't know, however, is that TM's routing is a disaster, with routes flapping all over the place all the time. I think they would have to get some Streamyx subscriptions and put some machines here in Malaysia to sample the routes. Or just let you manually choose a game server (maybe they do).
I think he was referring to 2 different login servers, WoW has US/Oceanic regional servers and China regional servers. Those 2 regions are independent of each other, ie. you either login to the the US or the China realms. Nothing to do with automatic redirections.
eternallove
post Mar 13 2008, 05:05 AM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 48

Joined: Oct 2004
QUOTE(axoloke @ Mar 12 2008, 10:29 PM)
I think he was referring to 2 different login servers, WoW has US/Oceanic regional servers and China regional servers. Those 2 regions are independent of each other, ie. you either login to the the US or the China realms. Nothing to do with automatic redirections.
*
yeah,this is what i mean.They are both diffrent servers and its not using "geo-sensing dns".

till today,my connection is still same...slow and unstable after noon until midnight,and i cant even view a low quality youtube's short clip smoothly at night...damn

QUOTE
MAR08037
OPEN 06th Mar 08 Customer will experience slow connection for U.S and Hong Kong Link

Work in progress
Streamyx Customer
Slow Connection CKC DSLAM 1st Level :-
Proceed with closed report

I couldnt find any announce about "slow connection for U.S and Hong Kong Link" at tmnet homepage.Where did you see it from?

Anyway,this is my tracert result at around midnight 3.40am for 219.95.13.121 ip:

user posted image
user posted image
my tracert result for usual day was same like this before last thursday,connection to taiwan hinet is still bad at midnight though .

So,it seems like its some sort of bandwidth throttling?And youtube is runing smooth right now too.

Since there are only a few peoples complained about it,so no one cares about stability of thier connection now?

This post has been edited by eternallove: Mar 13 2008, 05:17 AM
hong1380
post Mar 13 2008, 11:08 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 343

Joined: Aug 2007
the streamyx is damn slow now, i tried to call the customer care....and they still giving me the lame excuses..
last week my connection dc 10+ per day...and they said my port got problem

now cant even direct connection to twow to play cuz the ping always over 1000
im using hk proxy..the ping around 200(last 2 weeks) become 500 and the lag spike oftenly happen after 8pm

When the TmNut gonna fixed the line that direct connect to taiwan
Since the earthquake, the line never FIXED pRoperly like other country!!!!!

totally screwed up!!

TMnut...You Sucks HARD!!!
v i n c
post Mar 13 2008, 03:53 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 496

Joined: Feb 2006
From: Subang Jaya


erm, international link down????
raptar_eric
post Mar 13 2008, 03:54 PM

Live life to the fullest!
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,230

Joined: Jan 2006
From: Kuala Lumpur



ya international link is down
skzisghost
post Mar 13 2008, 03:54 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 233

Joined: Dec 2006

wtf cant surf and msn cant in
biatche
post Mar 13 2008, 03:55 PM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,534

Joined: Jan 2003
ya just down 2 minutes ago. always like this
v i n c
post Mar 13 2008, 03:55 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 496

Joined: Feb 2006
From: Subang Jaya


ZZZZ totally no connection for international site... WTF
izzymaxx
post Mar 13 2008, 03:56 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 11

Joined: Nov 2005


QUOTE(biatche @ Mar 13 2008, 03:55 PM)
ya just down 2 minutes ago. always like this
*
Yeah only local sites load, International died like 2-3 minutes ago.

78 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top


Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0804sec    2.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th May 2019 - 10:42 PM