PBBANK, All about PBBANK (1295)

htt
post Oct 14 2008, 01:19 PM

4,305 posts

Another solid quarter for PBB. Hopefully that's good indication for banking industry of Malaysia. tongue.gif
htt
post Oct 31 2008, 08:42 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Oct 31 2008, 07:57 AM)
Lol got to see the balance sheet and the cash flow first before you make an assumption that it is severely cheap....Giant? How about lehmans brother? AIG? Maybank is small ant only ....RM30.00? Sure or not? sweat.gif
Under the 'competent' management, nothing is impossible. Also notice EPF & PNB non-stop supporting MBB, maybe it won't go down much (as matter of fact, already gone down much cry.gif ).
htt
post Oct 31 2008, 09:43 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 31 2008, 08:48 AM)
MAYBANK IS FACING A BIG RISK TO WRITE OFF IMPAIRMENT COST ON INDON BANK.

COULD BE IN THE REGION OF FEW HUNDRED MILLIONS. JUST GUESSING.
Too optimist I think, I think need to write down a few bs for Indonesia + Pakistan + Vietnam. vmad.gif
htt
post Oct 31 2008, 01:16 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 31 2008, 12:51 PM)
Malaysia likes  to choose the colors of the cats, than the cats catch mouses. We are talking World Globalisation in abstract.

If profit/dividend  is not a major concern, who wants to come and invest.
That's why nowadays I pay more attention to SGX than KLSE. Should we start discussing SGX share here? hmm.gif
htt
post Nov 6 2008, 11:34 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Nov 6 2008, 10:46 AM)
1) Whenever they give bonus shares.... will it change the par value of the shares? or they give out the existing shares they have?
2) Only when they issue new shares, the price + the par value of the shares will drop?
3) what's the highest & lowest par value of a share? RM1 & RM0.01?
1. PAR value remain same for bonus issue; reduce by proportion in the case of split.
2. If issue new Right issue, price will adjust down base on the discount (drop a bit); if private placement no change etc. Par value remain unchanged.
3. No limit for the highest. I heard some share have par value of 0.5 cent. Some countries e.g. Singapore abolished the PAR value, they only mention number of share.

Correct me if I am wrong.
htt
post Dec 30 2008, 10:03 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(exia5733 @ Dec 30 2008, 09:09 PM)
I'm usually VERY cautious of these so called 'analysts'. They can say one thing today and then make a complete 180 the very next. Their so-called professional 'statements' more often than not have the element of self interest in them.

For instance only less than a year ago, analysts were actively speculating fuel prices to skyrocket to absurd levels. The very same people are now singing a very different tune as if they were saying like it is all along.

Now it seems now that the 'in' thing is to deem PBB and Malaysian Finance shares to be overpriced. I'm not saying they are 100% wrong but as an investor one should never ever rely fully on their 'services'.

What I am trying to convey is that one should not refuse information but take everything with a pinch of salt. To justify one's buy or sell decision based solely on analysts' reports is pure folly. They are not reliable at all and I doubt most of them are even that well aware of the Malaysian Financial situation aside from the crap BS ratios their respective company employ.
That's street smart, in our world we have more than one kind of smart, book smart can be wrong too. rclxms.gif
But I still wait tongue.gif Not comfortable to go in now... blush.gif
Just my 2 cents. blush.gif
htt
post Jan 8 2009, 12:26 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 8 2009, 12:09 PM)
Never see banks buying  back their own shares ( treasury shares )  ?  hmm.gif

PBB did stock buy back, but 50 shares for every 1000 shares? Don't think they had bought back that much share to distribute. hmm.gif
htt
post Jan 8 2009, 01:11 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 8 2009, 12:32 PM)
assuming now the price is 8.70 (RM8,700)

50 shares would be about RM435

RM435 + RM450 dividend = RM885

like the forum stated, if that's real, PBBANK share price would be adjusted to around 7.80 after the ex date hmm.gif
Total cumulative net outstanding treasury shares as at 4 August 2008 comprise the following:

163,839,950 Local Shares (Stock Code: 1295)
12,456,850 Foreign Shares (Stock Code: 1295F)
------------------
===========
Total share = 3,355,633,000 as per 30/09/08.
if 50 share/ 1000 share then need 167,781,650 shares to distribute.
Sorry to correct my previous post, they have enough share for distribution. blush.gif
htt
post Jan 19 2009, 02:44 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Jan 19 2009, 02:35 PM)
no announcement yet.... what happen to the dividend????

anynews ???? is it going to be a 80 cents or 1.00 or more????
Normally after market close, bro...
htt
post Jan 19 2009, 07:20 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(DJWC @ Jan 19 2009, 06:10 PM)
Hi

So at 7pm We can see the annoucement already. What's the link then?
Thank You.
No news yet, maybe until 8pm tongue.gif
htt
post Jan 19 2009, 07:29 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 19 2009, 07:25 PM)
That is the problem of buying dividend counter, wait and wait until durians fall. biggrin.gif
Sometime I suspect that's because bursa's staff go dinner before uploading the F.S. tongue.gif
Go bath first biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by htt: Jan 19 2009, 07:30 PM
htt
post Jan 19 2009, 08:57 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 19 2009, 08:52 PM)
PBBANK-O1 dropped 25 sens. dumped by FF huh sweat.gif
Result not out yet, is that a bad sign? hmm.gif
htt
post Jan 20 2009, 06:43 AM

4,305 posts

Btw, where is the source of date public listed company going to announce their quarterly result?
htt
post Jan 21 2009, 09:59 AM

4,305 posts

Briefly browse through the Financial Statement, I think that generally reflected a slow down in 4th Quarter. Earnings from loan are generally stagnant and growth come from other fee. NPL are reversing the downward trend and start to increase, and bank start to recoup cash (for bad time?). Think PPB is not going to be as generous as before (there are better things to do with the cash than pay back to shareholder?). Viewing at this, I think other banks are going to be worse off since PBB is having one of the best asset quality in the country, others might force to write down even more... Just my 2 cents.
htt
post Jan 21 2009, 10:32 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 21 2009, 10:22 AM)
Banking sector is one of the most vulnerable industry in poor economy situation, because most bank's asset are loan and earning come from loan paid (differentiate between BLR and FD rate). So if those loan are not paid on time and more than 3 months, it will classified into NPL already.

Sell off or not, it depends on the outcome of it. Nobody knows the severity of the economy recession impact. May be better off or worst, it is up to anyone guess, predict.
Market price or stock price is price in a moderate difficult situation already, so anything better than expected, market might be rallying, but if worst then surely some sell off will occur.
I am still waiting sideline... I like this counter but still think that's too high for me to catch tongue.gif And true, banking industry is highly volatile, with new Basel II implementation, think many banks might need to set aside extra... yawn.gif
htt
post Jan 21 2009, 07:52 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Jan 21 2009, 07:26 PM)
KUALA LUMPUR: Bank Negara has reduced the overnight policy rate (OPR) by 75 basis points to 2.5% and reduced the statutory reserve requirement (SRR) from 3.5% to 2%, effective from Feb 1.

SRR reduce means that more cash flow out to banking from BNM.... so more liquidity

and BLR gonna drop, so expect more loans application or earning reduce for bank

so we will see how banking react tomorrow or probably today already react on this news...
So drastic change? So desperate? hmm.gif
htt
post Jan 21 2009, 10:42 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jan 21 2009, 10:37 PM)
Bank will surely reduce the interest rate on FD and saving account book... So they did not making any losses.....Should be a bad news for those having millions of savings in their FD.
Bank get hit by the margin, because saving account interest how to cut another 0.75%? Current account some more. And some FD for 1~2 years one still have to honour the high interest... margin shrink, NPL hike... bad...
htt
post Jan 21 2009, 10:56 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Jan 21 2009, 10:51 PM)
in other words

a. lowest interest rate for FD => liquidity flow out from bank to other investment instruments
b. bank profit gather from the delta between loan accounts and saving/current/FD accounts will be a little bit impacted
c. with lowest BLR => mean loan is a bit cheaper and provided the loan is efficiently used for biz and pay back on time
d. SRR reduction => bank have more cash and therefore bank can utilize for other investment
I only can agree with a & d tongue.gif
htt
post Jan 22 2009, 08:18 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 22 2009, 12:15 AM)
One thing,  I notice that banks tend to recover faster bcos they could write back their NPLs when more and more people are able to settle the loans during the good time. Or selling off the securities pledged with better demands.The sum could be as high as 500m a year.  biggrin.gif

Yes, that's the case... NPL still ok in some case (even bad debt also can write back sometime), but really depends on the magnitude of damage done by recession... And bank's account is the easiest to manipulate and hardest to detect... blink.gif
htt
post Jan 22 2009, 09:36 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Jan 22 2009, 09:27 AM)
Wait a minute, isn;t that Bank has the most strict auditing and process control e.g. SOX, ISO etc....
so guess there were many banking collapse before due to flaw in the financial systems....

as reported many many years that Pbbank has the lowest NPL and if not mistaken when NPL surge during 1998 Asian financial crisis, PBbank dropped to as low as 90 cents and that was the time Pbbank gained momentum and sustain as high as 12.00 plus plus... now it dropped to 8 plus so still got margin for it to fall...

blush.gif
If SEC can't do it, how you think about BNM? Maybe Malaysia Boleh... biggrin.gif
PBB have one of the best asset quality in the country, if not the best, that's something that cannot be deny. And people are willing to pay higher premium for expectation of highly transparent operation (honors).

0.0412sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:27 AM