All Things BLU-RAY | V2, Ultimate High Definition Experience

edvpc
post Feb 25 2008, 07:30 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Feb 25 2008, 07:23 PM)
I'm with you la man, not elite enuff to join this thread sweat.gif
Aku pun tak paham apa ko cakap, tapi yg aku tau rx tu saja buat2 bodo, actually rx is the Elite Audiophile Master in JB.... and sometime Singapore laugh.gif
o yeke tak phm?nanti la aku g skolah balik... laugh.gif
pada sape2 yg tak phm tu mintak mahap la sbb aku rojak je ckp... tongue.gif

aku pun rasa mcm tu gak dgn kenyataan ko tu... whistling.gif aku pun tak brape phm masalah dia sebenanya...kohkohkoh... laugh.gif

opsss OT.sori mod... icon_rolleyes.gif
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 07:35 PM

11,808 posts

ape korang ni?

edvpc, i paham skit skit lar
hezda
post Feb 25 2008, 07:38 PM

402 posts

All this high tech amp stufff really makes me not want to come in anymore... I don't have...

*cry silently in corner*
PrinceOfPersia
post Feb 25 2008, 07:39 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Feb 25 2008, 07:23 PM)
I'm with you la man, not elite enuff to join this thread sweat.gif
Aku pun tak paham apa ko cakap, tapi yg aku tau rx tu saja buat2 bodo, actually rx is the Elite Audiophile Master in JB.... and sometime Singapore laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
samurai20
post Feb 25 2008, 07:43 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

or maybe RX is sedara/sepupu Chu Kang... laugh.gif... kaya in JB & singapore "maybe".... laugh.gif
saiga
post Feb 25 2008, 08:30 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Feb 25 2008, 07:43 PM)
or maybe RX is sedara/sepupu Chu Kang... laugh.gif... kaya in JB & singapore "maybe".... laugh.gif
some also said in BATAM laugh.gif
Ngto
post Feb 25 2008, 09:10 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Feb 25 2008, 08:30 PM)
some also said in BATAM    laugh.gif
Many also said in LOWYAT.
samurai20
post Feb 25 2008, 09:19 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

and also in Gamer Workout too... laugh.gif
megatron007
post Feb 25 2008, 10:50 PM

4,000 posts

anyone here using dual-sub setup

space constraint else i will get 1 tongue.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 10:55 pmuser posted image

Added on February 25, 2008, 10:59 pmi love bunnies biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by megatron007: Feb 25 2008, 10:59 PM
ruztynail
post Feb 25 2008, 11:06 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

i luv the chicks!!
megatron007
post Feb 25 2008, 11:07 PM

4,000 posts

LOL

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:22 pmRX.....ur new amp ...AVR-4308...lagi black kolur suit ur taste ler

tongue.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:28 pmBitstream is raw digital stream. It can contain miscellaneous data types: linear PCM, DD, DTS, DTS-HD etc. The only reason you wouldn't want to use bitstream is if you're not using the player's digital audio outputs. PCM will not send Dolby Digital or DTS to the receiver even if the DVD player is compatible with those audio formats.
You can only get a "true" 5.1 uncompressed PCM via an HDMI cable. (you would need a receiver with HDMI decoding capability at the other end also of course).
If you specify uncompressed 5.1 PCM for audio playback and you are using an optical cable, you only get 2 Channel, (stereo), since it cannot carry all the bandwidth of a full 5.1 track. HDCP prevents an optical cable from delivering multichannel high definition audio...2.0 uncompressed is the best you can get. Assuming you are connected via optical cable, 2.0 uncompressed is the best you can get, which then is utilized by the Dolby 5.1 matrix, (or whatever other sound field you select), in your receiver. That is why, with an optical cable, can get normal 5.1 Dolby digital, the core mix which is much better than the standard, but it is not "true" high definition audio.

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:33 pmRX ur problem here beneath:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=842477

Bitstream vs. Linear PCM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The title says it all..
What exactly is the difference between Bitstream vs. Linear PCM? ... the two options you have to choose from when choosing HDMI Audio Out from the settings. What exactly do I need to choose in order for the sound to come out the way it should? Does Linear PCM need to be chosen in order for PCM soundtracks from a blu-ray disc to output at its optimum?

When I play Pursuit of Happyness in 5.1 PCM (Bitstream enabled), my receiver will show that PCM is active. When I play it in 5.1 English (Bitstream enabled), my receiver will whos that Dolby Digital is active. But the 5.1 English sounds louder than the 5.1 PCM. But shouldn't that be the other way around... 5.1 PCM is uncompressed. When I play both soundtracks with Linear PCM enabled, my receiver will only show PCM active (even if I play the 5.1 English soundtrack).

Any help is appreciated.

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:34 pmYou can think of the DD track like a .zip file on your computer and the PCM like a .wav file on your PC. The receiver can only play .wav sound (PCM) so at some point it needs to unzip (or decode) the DD track into a PCM stream in order to play it. Setting the PS3 to bitstream makes the PS3 send whatever's on the disc to the receiver, where setting to Linear PCM causes it to be converted to PCM in the player before sending to the receiver. Hence, when playing the PCM soundtrack, the receiver gets PCM regardless of the setting.

You might want to leave the setting as Bitstream so at least you know when you're accidently using the DD soundtrack because your receiver will tell you. In terms of volume, this is seperate from compression. Compression will cause the sound quality/clarity to decrease but it can still be recorded at a much higher volume to give you poor quality but very loud sound in comparison to the PCM soundtrack.

This post has been edited by megatron007: Feb 25 2008, 11:34 PM
edvpc
post Feb 25 2008, 11:35 PM

1,274 posts

Disney Announces National Treasure Films for Blu-ray

Walt Disney Pictures Buena Vista Home Entertainment has announced that they will release 'National Treasure' and its sequel 'National Treasure: Book of Secrets' for Blu-ray on May 20th. Both blockbuster films will get special two-disc treatment and features exclusive Blu-ray extras not available on the DVD releases. Video will be presented in 2.35:1 1080p AVC accompanied by 5.1 PCM audio.

Extras for 'National Treasure' includes:

* Alternate Ending
* Deleted Scenes
* National Treasure on Location Making of Featurettes
o The Knights Templar
o Treasure Hunters Revealed
o Riley's Decode This!
* Mission History - a look inside the Declaration of Independence, with more than 70 minutes of new video content (BD Exclusive)
* Audio Commentary by Director Jon Turteltaub and Actor Justin Bartha (BD Exclusive)

Extras for 'National Treasure: Book of Secrets' includes:

* Audio Commentary - Director Jon Turteltaub and Academy award winning actor Jon Voight provide exclusive commentary for the film.
* Deleted Scenes - Jon Turteltaub introduces extended and deleted scenes including âeuro Pursuit At Rushmore: The Unseen Chapter, âeuro in which the intrepid group of treasure hunters makes its way into the Black Hills of South Dakota while doing their best to avoid the FBI.
* The Treasure Reel - A collection of outtakes and bloopers from the set of National Treasure: Book of Secrets.
* Secrets of a Sequel - Filmmakers Jon Turteltaub and Jerry Bruckheimer join the cast and crew to talk about making the follow-up to the phenomenally successful National Treasure.
* The Book of Secrets: On Location - From the Black Hills and Badlands of South Dakota to Londonâeuro(tm)s historic Buckingham Palace, National Treasure: Book of Secrets was given unprecedented access to previously off limits locations. Go behind the scenes at the Library of Congress, Mount Vernon, Buckingham Palace and the Statue of Liberty in Paris.
* Street Stunts: Creating the London Chase - Take a high speed tour of Londonâeuro(tm)s most recognizable landmarks as the filmâeuro(tm)s unforgettable adrenaline-fueled chase scene is created in historic city streets.
* Inside the Library of Congress - An informative feature about the workings of the nationâeuro(tm)s most important library provides an up-close look at precious national artifacts and the conservation techniques that safeguard these priceless pieces of American history.
* Underground Action - The sets, the stunts and the action that create the filmâeuro(tm)s powerful climax as the race to reach the lost City of Gold unfolds.
* Cover Story: Crafting the Presidentsâeuro(tm) Book - A fascinating look at the propmasters and designers who created the legendary book central to National Treasure: Book of Secrets.
* Evolution of a Golden City - A look at the Hollywood sets, CGI techniques and visual effects that brought the legendary City of Gold to life.
* Knights of the Golden Circle - Who were the real Knights of the Golden Circle? A short documentary traces one of Americaâeuro(tm)s most mysterious and influential organizations to its roots, including interviews with KGC expert Warren Getler, the cast and crew.
* Easter Eggs - Including a conversation about Beverly Hills High School with fellow alums Nic Cage and Jon Turteltaub, a look at the White House lawn scene as filmed in front of a blue screen and much more.
* Book of History: The Fact and Fiction of NT2 - Is National Treasure: Book of Secrets historical fact or historical fiction? Pop Quiz that test people on the history, characters, places and events that took place in the movie. Find out which historical details in the film are true and which were invented with an exclusive popup quiz. It is a fully-interactive in-movie experience. (BD Exclusive)
* Two Additional Deleted Scenes - With introductions by director Jon Turteltaub (BD Exclusive)

source : blu-ray.com

This post has been edited by edvpc: Feb 25 2008, 11:39 PM
megatron007
post Feb 25 2008, 11:36 PM

4,000 posts

Assuming we have an receiver capable of accepting PCM audio via HDMI, which is the 'better' way?

Should we have the PS3 decode or have the receiver decode?

Would there be a difference?

I have a PS3 and a Sony DG810. I will try to do some testing tonight or tomorrow to see what my results are and if I can tell a difference or if I have any difficulties.

I just set it to use PCM because I wanted to have access to the PCM tracks when available. Learning new stuff everyday.

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:37 pmYou'll get the multichannel PCM tracks over HDMI even when HDMI is set to bitstream on the PS3. However, you lose sounds mixed and overlayed by the PS3 (e.g., menu sounds seen in numerous BD titles currently available) when listening to DD or DTS on BDs.

With regards to legacy DD and DTS, there is no quality difference between the PCM and bitstream settings with my Denon AVR-4306. For me, setting the PS3 to decode DD or DTS results in the same quality as when letting my receiver directly handle the lossy codecs. I tested this by using numerous movie scenes that strongly engage all channels.

I have my PS3 set to PCM, because this way my Denon applies its AL24 processing regardless of what I'm listening to, and I always get sounds mixed by the PS3 itself.

This post has been edited by megatron007: Feb 25 2008, 11:37 PM
andy_lhc
post Feb 25 2008, 11:39 PM

542 posts

What would be great if they put both movie in a same package.....make it like Disc 1 ,2 and 3 (extras + making of + etc....)and sell it for a normal price....laugh.gif
megatron007
post Feb 25 2008, 11:40 PM

4,000 posts

The question is really about audio output modes on the PS3, not the audio formats on the disc. The audio track on the disc is either Linear PCM or a compressed format (which can be lossy, like DD/DTS, or lossless, like DD TrueHD or DTS-MA).

If you set the PS3 to output bitstream, then it will send exactly what's on the disc without modifying it at all, and it's up to your receiver to decode whatever needs decoding. If the PS3 is set to output PCM, then it will decode compressed formats into Linear PCM and send that LPCM stream to the receiver.

When you've selected a PCM soundtrack from the disc, then the PS3 will be sending PCM to the receiver regardless of the setting. However, as mentioned above, if the PS3 is set to bitstream then it won't be able to make any changes to the audio stream, such as mixing in menu sounds.

At this point, there's really no reason to select bitstream output on the PS3 unless your receiver has problems receiving multichannel PCM via HDMI. The PS3 is perfectly capable of decoding any of the available audio formats except DTS-MA (which is currently neither decoded nor passed as bitstream), and you get the ability for it to mix in additional audio.

The BD format is really designed for the player to do audio decoding anyway; the ability to pass the HD audio formats (DD TrueHD and DTS-MA) as bitstream to the receiver, which requires HDMI 1.3, is something that was demanded by the receiver manufacturers so that they could badge their receivers as "True-HD Capable" and "DTS-MA Capable". In reality, any receiver that can receive multichannel PCM over HDMI is capable of playing these formats, as long as the player does the decoding, which is what they're designed to do.
edvpc
post Feb 25 2008, 11:42 PM

1,274 posts

Shawshank Redeption Announced Again

Warner Bros. In an extremely early announcement, Warner Home Video has announced that they will bring 'Shawshank Redemption' to Blu-ray on November 4th. The film, which is currently rated the #2 movie of all time on IMDB.com, has been announced before, only to be removed from the release slate. This time, a date has been assigned, but given how far off the release is slated, expect details to change.

andy_lhc
post Feb 25 2008, 11:47 PM

542 posts

shawshank....one of the best movie ever made....period......definitely gonna get it.........rclxms.gif
tepetlah
post Feb 25 2008, 11:50 PM

349 posts

need some comment on

1)my ps3 use component out.video comp into the LCD TV (using Bravia S series 32inch)(only 1080i displayed) and sound in to dvd player(mini home theater) or..

2)using HDMI so video and audio goes into LCD TV....

the question is..which setup is better?i was thinking is no.1..since the mini home theater can decode the audio in to surround 5.1

thx...
edvpc
post Feb 25 2008, 11:52 PM

1,274 posts

Sony Announces The Devil's Own

Sony Pictures Sony Pictures Home Entertainment has announced that they will release the Harrison Ford film 'The Devil's Own' for Blu-ray on May 6th. Video will be presented in 2.40:1 1080p AVC, and be accompanied by a 5.1 Dolby TrueHD soundtrack. No extras have been announced at this time, but expect all the extras from the previous DVD release to be ported to the Blu-ray.

u must get this one too andy... thumbup.gif
andy_lhc
post Feb 26 2008, 12:01 AM

542 posts

devil's own ?? dont wan...i wan shawshank...biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled