arj
post Feb 12 2008, 12:42 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 12 2008, 12:33 PM)
My wife was with me when I bought my PS3, and I was already holding the remote in my hand. But, you know, my was more budget conscious than me.
That looks sexy. But it uses IR, not bluetooth?
Yup, not Bluetooth. Summore the base station needs to be connected to the PS3. Looks damn cool though laugh.gif
sunauto
post Feb 12 2008, 12:45 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 12 2008, 12:02 PM)
I have to hire a hitman and assasinate everyone of you. So much poison here. tongue.gif

I already placed my order for the remote!!! wink.gif
You won't regret getting the remote even though it's a little pricey. Sony should have bundled it free with their PS3 to make it a more complete blu-ray player.

Right now, I'm praying hard that the next firmware update can allow the PS3 to decode DTS-HD tracks internally and output it via PCM. Hopefully, it is possible.
BeastX
post Feb 12 2008, 12:50 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 12 2008, 11:54 AM)
if only our RM is much more stronger....
Against USD.. RM is highest now... in more than 10 years... but it ismore on USD actually dropping....
bose00
post Feb 12 2008, 12:53 PM

214 posts

With the existance of BDs, i am looking for a AV receiver.. as the existing LCD loudspk sound is practically blur & lack of bass.
i ended up with two(2) models of Yamaha AV receiver which is RX-V1800 / RX-V861. anyone here using the above models ?

rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 12:57 PM

11,808 posts

get the 1800 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

beast against US no point lar... value still kecik... one bluray rm 150 sad.gif
megatron007
post Feb 12 2008, 01:02 PM

4,000 posts

tis one anjua?? tongue.gif

aiman04
post Feb 12 2008, 01:02 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 12 2008, 12:45 PM)
You won't regret getting the remote even though it's a little pricey. Sony should have bundled it free with their PS3 to make it a more complete blu-ray player.

Right now, I'm praying hard that the next firmware update can allow the PS3 to decode DTS-HD tracks internally and output it via PCM. Hopefully, it is possible.
OK. Now I'm relieved.

It is possible to allow the PS3 to decode DTS-HD MA internally, just by a firmware update. Only question is when, I also want it so bad.

Firmware update can't fix the high-bitrate bitstream incapability though, that's hardware. But if PS3 can decode internally, that wouldn't be a problem.

QUOTE(bose00 @ Feb 12 2008, 12:53 PM)
With the existance of BDs, i am looking for a AV receiver.. as the existing LCD loudspk sound is practically blur & lack of bass.
i ended up with two(2) models of Yamaha  AV receiver which is RX-V1800 / RX-V861. anyone here using the above models ?
I'm using RX-V1800, love it. Together with the PS3, they are my proudest purchase ever. My speakers have never sounded better.

I recommend it as it is future proof.

megatron007
post Feb 12 2008, 01:21 PM

4,000 posts

so fast ordered online oledi??

waliao !
bose00
post Feb 12 2008, 01:32 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 12 2008, 01:02 PM)
OK. Now I'm relieved.

It is possible to allow the PS3 to decode DTS-HD MA internally, just by a firmware update. Only question is when, I also want it so bad.

Firmware update can't fix the high-bitrate bitstream incapability though, that's hardware. But if PS3 can decode internally, that wouldn't be a problem.
I'm using RX-V1800, love it. Together with the PS3, they are my proudest purchase ever. My speakers have never sounded better.

I recommend it as it is future proof.
thanks for the recommendation.
v1800 is quoted 4200 while v861 is 2600. price difference is 1600 ~ one is able to support DTS-HD while the other is not. one is able to upscale to 1080p while the other 1080i only. since the current lcd which i am using support till 1080i only, most probably i'll go for v861. is there any other special feature on the v1800 ?
andy_lhc
post Feb 12 2008, 01:33 PM

542 posts

rclxub.gif i am kinda noob at this AV thingy....pls enlightened me...after getting the AV receiver we still need a set of speakers right? doesnt diff type of speakers affect the sound as well?? can i say tat diff combination of speakers + receivers create diff sound output? then how do u match n combine the best sound produced?? rclxub.gif

Added on February 12, 2008, 1:36 pm@bose - but maybe in the future if u change ur LCD and ur future LCD can support upto 1080p then how??u may as well get the high end receiver...futureproof perhaps?hmm.gif

This post has been edited by andy_lhc: Feb 12 2008, 01:46 PM
bose00
post Feb 12 2008, 01:46 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Feb 12 2008, 01:33 PM)
rclxub.gif i am kinda noob at this AV thingy....pls enlightened me...after getting the AV receiver we still need a set of speakers right? doesnt diff type of speakers affect the sound as well?? can i say tat diff combination of speakers + receivers create diff sound output? then how do u match n combine the best sound produced?? rclxub.gif

Added on February 12, 2008, 1:36 pm@bose - but maybe in the future if u change ur LCD and ur future LCD can suppose upto 1080p then how??u may as well get the high end receiver...futureproof perhaps?hmm.gif
i agree with the v1800 being the future proof. as the development goes, each year there is a new format~ as manufacturer like yamaha replaces their model yearly.

infact, DTS-HD is very new and one of the reason its pricey. i m thinking with the savings of 1600 i may replace the AV receiver in 3 years as i believe the AV receiver has both the feature which upscale to 1080p & DTS-HD price will decreases over time.
aiman04
post Feb 12 2008, 01:50 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(bose00 @ Feb 12 2008, 01:32 PM)
thanks for the recommendation.
v1800 is quoted 4200 while v861 is 2600. price difference is 1600 ~ one is able to support DTS-HD while the other is not. one is able to upscale to 1080p while the other 1080i only. since the current lcd which i am using support till 1080i only, most probably i'll go for v861. is there any other special feature on the v1800 ?
The keyword here is future proof. Sure in the future you could be upgrading your LCD TV right? And maybe someday buy a BD player that can bitstream DTS-HD?

If you're planning to upgrade the receiver as well, then no problem. nod.gif

And, you can get the RX-V1800 a few hundred lower than that, do little bargain. Which shop is it?

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Feb 12 2008, 01:33 PM)

Added on February 12, 2008, 1:36 pm@bose - but maybe in the future if u change ur LCD and ur future LCD can suppose upto 1080p then how??u may as well get the high end receiver...futureproof perhaps?hmm.gif
The way I see it:

Bad receiver + bad speakers = 1/2 star

Bad receiver + good speakers = 2 stars

Good receiver + bad speakers = 3 stars

Good receiver + good speakers = 5 stars

When I upgrade my receiver, I didn't chage the speakers. But I can tell you, the speakers never sounded better after the upgrade! thumbup.gif
rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 01:55 PM

11,808 posts

rm 2600 for the 861, is it worth it?
mpyw
post Feb 12 2008, 01:59 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 12 2008, 01:55 PM)
rm 2600 for the 861, is it worth it?
my system never sounded so sweet before....u say ler??? brows.gif

but your SR605 more worth it lar...cannot compare.....
ar188
post Feb 12 2008, 02:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 12 2008, 12:33 PM)

That looks sexy. But it uses IR, not bluetooth?
nice, but IR only kah? that sucks..
bose00
post Feb 12 2008, 02:00 PM

214 posts

[quote=andy_lhc,Feb 12 2008, 01:33 PM]

yes, you will need a set of speakers. you must always take note of impendance matching between the amp & speaker.. for AV receiver its normally 6/8 ohm. car audio 4 ohm and home stereo 8/16 ohm.
low impedance spker is always easier to be driven by a amp but not recommended if you're using a high power AV amplifier. there are lots to be learn in audio ~ from amp, speaker, power filter , cabling , room treatment n ...
altho you've all the expensive gears and etc, but you don't know how to position it, it will sounds like cheap gears. alot to be learnt in audio ~ i actually gave up this hobby some years ago.

This post has been edited by bose00: Feb 12 2008, 02:04 PM
rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 02:04 PM

11,808 posts

mpyw, 2600 for now might as well get the 1800 lor...
ar188

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 12 2008, 01:50 PM)
The way I see it:

Bad receiver  + bad speakers = 1/2 star
the way I see it with bad receiver/speaker combo, if use DD = 0 stars, but with LPCM/TrueHD/DTS+ = 1.5stars biggrin.gif
andy_lhc

542 posts

@aiman - icic...hmm.gif so need to invest quite alot on receiver and speakers to make a decent AV setup.......rclxub.gif
zio
post Feb 12 2008, 02:10 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Feb 12 2008, 02:04 PM)
@aiman - icic...hmm.gif so need to invest quite alot on receiver and speakers to make a decent AV setup.......rclxub.gif
No investment, no good sound tongue.gif

Then again, what do I know, I am only using a simple Sony Wireless Home Theatre System DAVSR4W. none of this DTS HD and 1080p thingy tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:17 AM