Rabbit Corner V5, Binkies all the way~

teongpeng
post Jan 16 2008, 11:51 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

10:15pm

What what a day!!! i got both Pebbles and Bambam neutered today by a so called veteran vet. Expert of the experts. Cost also expert. RM200 satu ekor! what the heck just go with it la.....

End result:- Pebbles is alive and well and is eating nonstop hay...looking healthy....

Bambam...now this one's a different story. Before took him home from the vet, he seemed to have woken up. Cant move straight though...wobbly and seem to lost his balance. the doc says its ok to take them home and i did...on reaching home the fella go and collapse on the floor without moving. still breathing. called the vet but noone answered. Girlfriend start to cry. so we quickly took him to another vet. spend more money. the vet gave bout 4 injections. took him back home again and.....

as at time of writing, he's curled up like a ball....feet tensed, eyes closed, whole body stiff....

dont know wut to do.....pray he'll live thru the night.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

11:15pm

Bambam leaped uncontrollably all of a sudden from his cocooned position, banging his body against the four walls of the cage. Horrible spasm course thru the entire body, legs convulsing in scary fashion....red shot eyes almost bulging from its socket......few moments later...lie down...gave out the most horrying yelp i've ever heard in a rabbit...then....

Rest in peace Bambam.

Note: i do not blame either the vet who neutered him nor the vet who tried to save his life after that with 4 injections. I put it down to fate as all parties did their best. Though i did called the first vet to tell him of the death and get a long lecture on how not to simply take a zoo animal to a dog vet.

This post has been edited by teongpeng: Jan 16 2008, 11:57 PM
djspinnet
post Jan 17 2008, 12:17 AM

532 posts

ouch...

rest in peace, bambam sad.gif
fyire
post Jan 17 2008, 12:21 AM

9,270 posts

teongpeng: sorry to hear of your loss. Any idea what the 4 injections given by the 2nd vet were? That sounds a bit alarming to me, considering that the rabbit is such a small animal, and 4 injections does seems like overkill to me.

I remembered somebody here (Jaswwp I think) had mentioned before that her rabbit wasnt able to move abouts for a few days after getting neutered, but was fine after that.

This post has been edited by fyire: Jan 17 2008, 12:23 AM
LeonTan
post Jan 17 2008, 12:34 AM

**SHINE**
2,152 posts

Oh gosh...

RIP Bambam...
sissonne
post Jan 17 2008, 12:35 AM

155 posts

omg that sounds scary sad.gif
such a sad moment......
hope u can find out whats the cause of its death by refering to both of the vets back...share with us if u dont mind...
hizperion
post Jan 17 2008, 08:19 AM

Average Bitch
913 posts

kesiannya sad.gif
TSstalkie
post Jan 17 2008, 08:39 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

@teongpeng, sorry to hear your loss... sad.gif

@fyire, most rabbit after neutered need time to heal and rest... Kimi also not moving much and I have to bring the food near him... he rested for 4 days and then I brought him to took the stitches out...

@abang brother, you put those in the litter box for bunny to do their business there...
teongpeng
post Jan 17 2008, 09:16 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

The 4 injections if i remember correctly,

1)vitamin C
2)some rehydration thingy
3)some fluid thats supposed to increase the rabbits metabolism (this may be the killer)
4)some stuff to help the rabbit flush out the aneastasia.

Anyways the vet (a former zoo doctor i thnk) who neutered the bunny already scold us for taking him to a regular clinic saying vets untrained in handling zoo animals will not know how to help rabbits. Guess we should have waited a few more hours.

however if given the choice between waiting not knowing wut to expect and sending him to any available vet....i think anybody would have choose to do the former. Oh well Pebbles is still alive....may not want to get another rabbit so soon.

coincidently, my first rabbit, Sam, died after visiting the dog vet too. sigh....

bebee
post Jan 17 2008, 09:22 AM

My Baby Hunny Bunny
2,979 posts

may Bam Bam rest in peace.
conclusion dun simply take ur rabbits to dog vet shakehead.gif
inexsis
post Jan 17 2008, 11:36 AM

646 posts

aiyoooo....soooo scary...... cry.gif
now i'm afraid of vet cry.gif
TSstalkie
post Jan 17 2008, 11:44 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

Don't need to be afraid... try ask around see anyone been to the vet or not... I'm taking Kimi to vet this coming Saturday... smile.gif
fyire
post Jan 17 2008, 12:10 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 17 2008, 09:16 AM)
The 4 injections if i remember correctly,

1)vitamin C
2)some rehydration thingy
3)some fluid thats supposed to increase the rabbits metabolism (this may be the killer)
4)some stuff to help the rabbit flush out the aneastasia.

Anyways the vet (a former zoo doctor i thnk) who neutered the bunny already scold us for taking him to a regular clinic saying vets untrained in handling zoo animals will not know how to help rabbits. Guess we should have waited a few more hours.

however if given the choice between waiting not knowing wut to expect and sending him to any available vet....i think anybody would have choose to do the former. Oh well Pebbles is still alive....may not want to get another rabbit so soon.

coincidently, my first rabbit, Sam, died after visiting the dog vet too. sigh....
yeah, number 3) looks pretty bad, and 4) too, should the anesthesia be flushed out while the rabbit is still in pain. combination of 3) and 4) would likely result in the spasms and the blood shot eyes that was observed

Added on January 17, 2008, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(inexsis @ Jan 17 2008, 11:36 AM)
aiyoooo....soooo scary...... cry.gif
now i'm afraid of vet cry.gif
well, knowing more about the background and specialization of the vet that you're going to may help if you feel uneasy about it all. Just ask if he's familiar with small animals, rabbits in particular.

the major problem with any form of surgery for rabbits is the same as for all small animals, which is their small size making it difficult to properly measure the right dosage of anesthetic to be used.

This post has been edited by fyire: Jan 17 2008, 12:13 PM
bukanmain
post Jan 17 2008, 12:14 PM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

RIP bambam..sorry for ur lost..
sissonne
post Jan 17 2008, 12:39 PM

155 posts

is there a list of trusted vets that know how to handle rabbits/small animals rather than the general ones??

i think that will come in handy during emergency sad.gif
TSstalkie
post Jan 17 2008, 01:12 PM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

we already have listed vets that the forummer visited before and came back with good feedback in the first page and one of them deal with emergency but for KL (in Cheras area)...

if any of you went to any vet which you think is good, let us know then we will update the list... smile.gif

This post has been edited by stalkie: Jan 17 2008, 01:13 PM
nicoty_yne
post Jan 17 2008, 01:15 PM

482 posts

any rabbit for adoption, guys? i' desperately looking for lionhead rabbit that's almost look like mine? i lost mine last week.. where can i find them in penang area? i looked everywhere (all pet shop i know in penang).. but cudnt find lionhead..
jaswwp
post Jan 17 2008, 02:40 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 16 2008, 11:51 PM)

What what a day!!! i got both Pebbles and Bambam neutered today by a so called veteran vet. Expert of the experts. Cost also expert. RM200 satu ekor! what the heck just go with it la.....

End result:- Pebbles is alive and well and is eating nonstop hay...looking healthy....

Bambam...now this one's a different story. Before took him home from the vet, he seemed to have woken up. Cant move straight though...wobbly and seem to lost his balance. the doc says its ok to take them home and i did...on reaching home the fella go and collapse on the floor without moving. still breathing. called the vet but noone answered. Girlfriend start to cry. so we quickly took him to another vet. spend more money. the vet gave bout 4 injections. took him back home again and.....

as at time of writing, he's curled up like a ball....feet tensed, eyes closed, whole body stiff....

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bambam leaped uncontrollably all of a sudden from his cocooned position, banging his body against the four walls of the cage. Horrible spasm course thru the entire body, legs convulsing in scary fashion....red shot eyes almost bulging from its socket......few moments later...lie down...gave out the most horrying yelp i've ever heard in a rabbit...then....

Rest in peace Bambam.

Note: i do not blame either the vet who neutered him nor the vet who tried to save his life after that with 4 injections. I put it down to fate as all parties did their best. Though i did called the first vet to tell him of the death and get a long lecture on how not to simply take a zoo animal to a dog vet.
Sorry to hear of your loss. I seldom hear male rabbits dying of neutering, usually females are the ones who have complications. I spayed both of mine but they were fine though. Which vet did you go to? I brought mine to be spayed seperately. Don't want the doctots to be too tired while performing a delication operation and all.
fyire
post Jan 17 2008, 03:04 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ Jan 17 2008, 01:15 PM)
any rabbit for adoption, guys? i' desperately looking for lionhead rabbit that's almost look like mine? i lost mine last week.. where can i find them in penang area? i looked everywhere (all pet shop i know in penang).. but cudnt find lionhead..
It would help if u can elaborate on what had happened to your previous rabbit, as most ppl will be rather apprehensive on letting somebody who had just 'lost' a rabbit adopt one of theirs just like that..
teongpeng
post Jan 17 2008, 05:00 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Jan 17 2008, 02:40 PM)
Sorry to hear of your loss. I seldom hear male rabbits dying of neutering, usually females are the ones who have complications. I spayed both of mine but they were fine though. Which vet did you go to? I brought mine to be spayed seperately. Don't want the doctots to be too tired while performing a delication operation and all.
I dont think he die due to the neutering process...its what happened after. Probably from the injections or....a reaction to the aneatasia or car sickness or a combination/series of all 3 reasons which the tiny little thing finds it hard to take.

Oh and guys, c'mon aint no reason to be afraid of the vets!!! especially inexsis. accidents happen and just cause i've some pretty bad experience with my visits (thats right my first rabbit died after visiting the vet 2 months ago. Same vet that gave bambam 4 jabs). The doctors would still know more than us (hopefully), and any form of advice from them is still apreciated. Shit happens i guess. Maybe its just my luck.
mypetisabunny
post Jan 17 2008, 11:08 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Jan 16 2008, 11:51 PM)

Rest in peace Bambam.

teong....
i cry too when i read abt bambam cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
huh..i know & understand how do u feel abt da late of bambam
maybe u'll feel a lil bit regret of sending 'em to neuter with $400
but jz one alive......but...what to do kan my friend

dun be sad yeah
may Bambam rest in peace

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled