Native 1080p games

TSmypetridish
post Jan 11 2008, 06:26 AM, updated 18y ago

1,313 posts

I'm getting my 360 to output 1080p signal to my TV, but I dont see much difference between setting the system at 720p and 1080p when playing games like gears of war. Are all 360 games 720p native? Someone in MS claims that "we ccan do 1080p with just a simple syste update" bleh, what good is that if all it does is upscaling and dddall the games are natively lower res?

- my tv is a 37" with 1080p native
- using vga cable to connect (360 dash board says that it is outputting at 1080p)

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Jan 11 2008, 06:30 AM
TSmypetridish
post Jan 11 2008, 10:15 AM

1,313 posts

MGS4 will be 1080p.. im thinking of changing my platform sad.gif
TSmypetridish
post Jan 11 2008, 12:11 PM

1,313 posts

yeah it does. it tickles me knowing that im not getting the best of my money..heh

but seriously though, i CAN tell the difference between high def demo videos from my pc between 1080p and 720p.. my eyes and tv are capable of ddifferentiating between the 2. im worried that 720p might ot be too great once every ps3 games go 720p native

TSmypetridish
post Jan 11 2008, 01:52 PM

1,313 posts

yeah, what does he know. he's probably still stuck with crt monitors

/kidding

but i want to know if the 360 is 1080p native capable...
TSmypetridish
post Jan 12 2008, 03:41 PM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jan 11 2008, 03:04 AM)
Yup I'm stuck.... with this... tongue.gif

There's a list somewhere of all the native resolution for XBOX360 and PS3 games.
er.. sure. how would we know that u didnt fetch that picture off google image search?

TSmypetridish
post Jan 12 2008, 03:56 PM

1,313 posts

that was an honest question. i have a comparable setup, albeit a step lower
TSmypetridish
post Jan 14 2008, 04:59 PM

1,313 posts

meh... surela jealous. it's bigger than my 37" tv... what do u have?
TSmypetridish
post Jan 18 2008, 02:25 PM

1,313 posts

this is a good read on native 1080p/720p games

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2453&p=10

dont need to read the whole artivle, just turn to the page ive linked.
TSmypetridish
post Jan 21 2008, 05:57 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Jan 19 2008, 01:57 PM)
I am using 37" 1080p at the moment. Windows Vista never looked so good. Thing is, I can get Windows XP to run at 1920x1200 but Vista, stuck at 1360x768... dunno how to increase further  blush.gif

1080p games are rare as a liger, but they exist and that's cool. Better get a 1080p HDTV for future-proof. Also, HD content would be sweet on it... (scared to mention hd dvd/blu-ray...  sweat.gif )
have u tried a newer driver? ive never tried vista but we have the same tv setup: 37" 1080p. can get full res with xp too. now that im already using a hdtv, i find those 700mb movie files (ripped from dvd) to be in adequate to my satisfaction. i only dl hd movies now, that is when i can. been purging my old collection of SD movies, they look so blocky and ugly

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Jan 19 2008, 11:31 PM)
its not very important between 1080p and 720p....u see...even though the ps3 
game ori resolution is up to 1080p but their detail and effect still cant compare wif the 720p only xbox 360. So its no use to know the differences....
emm, well i guess that depends on the game as mentioned in the article i linked above. also it depends on the programmer to code efficiently
TSmypetridish
post Jan 21 2008, 12:00 PM

1,313 posts

what are you talking about?

0.0159sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:58 AM