Q&A, General question on stock market

smooth9
post Nov 17 2008, 06:02 PM

134 posts

I have previously vested in some stock about 6 years ago, but that time I dont know much about share so I just listen to advice from some friend (not that I know much now tongue.gif ), I am glad it went alright that time. I wanted to reinvest some fund back into the share market in the coming weeks too, but this time I would really like to learn and make inform decision myself. I have been following this thread and few others in this forum recently. But I have a few questions... hope some sifus can icon_question.gif me:

1. I have an account with avenue securities 6 years ago, bought and sold all the shares. So my account is not active anymore and I do not have any information about it, I remember the remisier called me to close my account about 5 years ago, but I dont know the difference between cd and trading account that time, so I am not sure whether i close the cd, trading or both blush.gif . Do I have to open a new CD account if I were to use another security company like OSK (since I have been relocated recently). Or OSK will be able to find my old CD account and I only have to open a new trading account with them to start trading?

2. profit/divident from share is it taxable? (is it true that there is no tax for divident starting 2008?) do we nomaly declare?

3. how about mutual fund? is this taxable also?

4. which factor is important deciding whether to buy or not? P/E ratio, future of company/industry, divident, account transperancy? (I wanted to invest for the longer term, targetting about 10-15% return per year.

5. what is a suport level/resist level means?

Thanks a lot notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

smooth9
post Nov 17 2008, 06:33 PM

134 posts

Thanks a lot cherroy notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif very clear and well put, I will pay a visit to OSK soon, there is so much to learn smile.gif
smooth9
post Feb 18 2009, 10:15 PM

134 posts

I have a question for pre-market price of u.s. market, lets say if I que to sell a stock at the price of 0.90 (offline not realtime), then suddently the djia futures rise, and the pre-market price is up to 1.00 now, I cant get my remiser to ammend the price now as the office is closed now doh.gif, and once the market is open, my price will be matched,

will it be match on the price that i have que to sell for (lower), or the higher price once the market is open(pre-market price)? rclxub.gif

0.0540sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:09 PM