Q&A, General question on stock market

Ranny
post Nov 6 2008, 03:15 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(boost868 @ Nov 6 2008, 12:56 AM)
Hi All Sifu  icon_question.gif ,

I stay in JB. How much do I need to open a Nominee or Direct CDS account? Where can I open this account? Thanks
Look for a remisier/dealer rep first. They will open the CDS account for u. It is RM10.

Keep in mind that nominee CDS cannot be used to apply IPOs. Apply for Direct CDS.
Ranny
post May 5 2009, 12:20 PM

521 posts

A share price may be quoted as EX-dividend or EX-rights.
It means the buyer will not have entitlement to the recent dividend payment or rights issue.
Ranny
post May 11 2009, 01:24 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ May 11 2009, 12:53 PM)
ic... appreciate your help.
Let's say I want to buy 1000 lots.
But there's only small time seller like 20 seller selling only 3 lot = total 60 lots (20*3)
Plus there will also be buyer, maybe 10 buyer buying at various lots.
End of day I still could not get 1000 lots.
Will I get 60 lots or none? and how long will my buy/sell queue be in the system?

Added on May 11, 2009, 12:55 pm

In that case, if someone wants to 'manipulate' the price, he/she can sell at a lower price, maybe just 100 shares to bring the price down?

Repeat the steps at a lower price than the previous. Keep doing it (selling small amount 100 shares at lower price) until the price falls down???

Added on May 11, 2009, 12:57 pmbtw, i hope it's not illegal to ask this question. smile.gif
if the seller's price matched your price, then 60 lots will be transacted. If both the prices different, means no transaction done, unwilling buyer & unwilling seller..

And let's say if it is done, then you only get 60 lots since there are no no sellers wanting to sell the remaining 940 lots to u..
The buy/sell queue is clear at the end of each trading day. If your 940 lots are not done, it wont carry forward to the next trading day..

It is very hard to manipulate the price bcoz the share market is very,very big..unless he has a lot of funds.
When the price gets lower and lower, soon it will attract buyers..
Have you study Economics b4?

This post has been edited by Ranny: May 11 2009, 01:25 PM
Ranny
post Jun 13 2009, 02:31 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jun 13 2009, 12:31 AM)
Oic, so that's what it meant by contract basis.

Anyways, what about different shares ?
I mean I sell share A and share B in the same day, is that considered as 1 contract as well ?
yes, considered as 1 contract.
Ranny
post Jun 22 2009, 05:43 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(wyyew @ Jun 22 2009, 04:57 PM)
hi , i m interested to open acct in kenanga usj . Does it necessary to bring some cash to deposit  upfront ?? please advices also pm me if have good re miser for me
Dont you have a fren working as a remisier or having a fren tat can recommend you one? Usually a remisier wont accept stranger. If you want to give cash as deposit upfront, then i would advise you open an online trading account. The brokerage is way lower than those charged by remisiers(0.6% per trade).
Ranny
post Jun 22 2009, 10:41 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(Malefic @ Jun 22 2009, 09:33 PM)
Where do you get the info  hmm.gif  If a person don't know any remisier, he just have to visit the stockbroking firm or call their hotline and the customer service officer will find one for the customer. Sure, a few remisers might decline to accept the customer (especially if the new customer is newbie, student etc) ... but there's always other remisers eager to accept new business.
those remisiers that are going to accept new business must be those who will ask u to put a deposit certain money with them and giving you 3x trading amount. That's not much difference than opening an online trading account where you can get much lower brokerage fee(eg HLeB 0.38% only). I have never came across any remisier willing to accept a stranger without any conditions in the name of accepting new business. If you're without any recommendation, you are not likely going to get a remisier. If you dun believe me, you can try walk into any stockbroking firm asking any remisier whether they need new clients and letting u play contra as you like..

I am telling you from both perspective. I nearly became a remisier in 1998, and when you're in my position, you will understand the importance of the deposit money put in by a remisier into the stockbroking company.
Ranny
post Aug 2 2009, 02:16 PM

521 posts

hmm..the Neon case is a very good learning experience until i m interested to share my opinions too..

Technically speaking, Neon should cancel his order in the noon. If the cutoff date is T+3 (430pm), he can still choose a price until T+4 (1230pm). Your online queue will have to cancel b4 the T+4 noon session start.

lklatmy was right tat he could have covered his oversold position on the same day. This was wat some of my frens were doing last time. Cover it b4 the end of the same session; as you can see sometimes why the index surge towards the closing.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 30 2009, 02:46 PM)
I don't think online system has the ability to prevent people from short sell. Generally their system won't link with CDS one nor the system will check the CDS account first before allow you to sell.
For online trading, if i am not mistaken, the selling by the client and the force-sell by the dealer are different case..i mean they dont interfere with each other. That's why some brokerage firms have told their clients in the rules & regulations to refrain from selling on T+4. If selling is done in the morning by the client, then the client will have to inform his dealer rep.. this was wat i understood..

Feedback welcome.
Ranny
post Aug 24 2009, 03:10 PM

521 posts

majority of people go to AGMs to get gifts & souvenirs la + makan. How many of them really have a say in resolution woh.. some dun even understand what is inside the resolution oso le..
Ranny
post Sep 23 2009, 08:18 AM

521 posts

This is a must read article for newbies or inexperienced stock traders..

How to analyse an annual report

0.0510sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:52 AM