Q&A, General question on stock market

ProGamerCF
post Aug 23 2009, 10:28 PM

54 posts

hi all sifu sifu,

can i have some guide line on share market on below questions.

1) can i know how to calculate EPS for past few years?
i found EPS on P&L but wasnt sure how they calculate EPS.
as i know EPS = Net Profit / Outstanding shares (NOSH), i tried to calculate and see how EPS coming from but i couldnt find where is NOSH.

2) and if i have year 2008 Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4 EPS, does it means that i add all (Q1,Q2,Q3,Q4) and i get the last year EPS?
and how do i get the current EPS? eg: now is Q2, does the current EPS means Q1+Q2 or (YEAR 2008:Q3+Q4)+(YEAR 2009:Q1+Q2) ?

3) last question, how to estimate average PE for an industry?

thank you so much for the time of yours reading this.

looking forward for some replies.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
CF.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ProGamerCF
post Aug 25 2009, 07:48 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Aug 24 2009, 01:49 AM)
hihi progamerCF,

I'm also new in stock trading, let's learn together...  smile.gif

1)If you read the interim reports and annual reports, you can find a section where they calculate EPS for you..
for example TM's 2nd quarter report page 26 u can see:
Profit: 266M
Number of shares: 3,519.1M
EPS: 0.76
you can get past results either from KLSE or the respective company's website (if they update)

2)Yes, Just sum up 4quarters EPS to get the annual EPS.
If you just want Q2 EPS, then just use Q2-earning/Q2-number of shares.
Please refer to annual reports/interim reports, you can understand better from there.

3)By PE are u referring to Price-Earning ? If you are then i think it is based on each Public Listed Company and not the whole Industry...
I dont know that there is PE for the whole industry. If im not wrong usually they take past 4quarters earnings and divide by latest share price.. then u will get PER. Again, lets take TM as an example,

last years annual (4 quarters) EPS was 23.00cents
last traded at 3.05
PER: 3.05/0.23 = 13.26
hi Mopster,

thx for ur reply.
much much clearer now.
i shall study more on the annual reports and interim reports.
thanks agian..

good day..

0.0262sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:58 PM