Q&A, General question on stock market

woonsc
post Jan 22 2014, 09:16 AM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 22 2014, 09:07 AM)
Can apply through e-IPO at most banks, make sure you have direct CDS account.

IPO by balloting, you may not get it or get a portion of your amount subscribed only.
Can I like buy as low as 1 lot?
gark
post Jan 22 2014, 09:23 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Jan 22 2014, 09:16 AM)
Can I like buy as low as 1 lot?
Yes you can bid for 1 lot... but not necessary will get due to balloting...the higher the amount, the better the chances.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2014, 09:24 AM
Christopher7
post Jan 22 2014, 09:57 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

as I know the stock update shown on the web is 15 mins delay.
Does it means that the delay is the up and down of the price and the volume?

gark
post Jan 22 2014, 10:19 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 22 2014, 09:57 AM)
as I know the stock update shown on the web is 15 mins delay.
Does it means that the delay is the up and down of the price and the volume?
Delay is on bid/sell volume, bid price, sell price, last price, last volume, total volume etc etc... basically everything...

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 22 2014, 10:19 AM
Christopher7
post Jan 22 2014, 11:48 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 22 2014, 10:19 AM)
Delay is on bid/sell volume, bid price, sell price, last price, last volume, total volume etc etc... basically everything...
Then for example

the price seen (delayed) is RM1.00

the actual one is actually already RM0.80

People still bid at RM1.00?
gark
post Jan 22 2014, 12:04 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 22 2014, 11:48 AM)
Then for example

the price seen (delayed) is RM1.00

the actual one is actually already RM0.80

People still bid at RM1.00?
You are free to bid...depends if can get or not only.

Most web trading is real time....no 15 min delay except foreign shares
ohemmgee
post Jan 22 2014, 09:55 PM

144 posts

How to find the outstanding shares of a company in thier balance sheet ?
pinksapphire
post Jan 22 2014, 11:09 PM

1,264 posts

I browsed some of the topics here for leisurely read (cuz I don't know much about stocks) and I see that people are rushing to buy IPO like crazy...why is that?
gark
post Jan 23 2014, 12:18 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Jan 22 2014, 09:55 PM)
How to find the outstanding shares of a company in thier balance sheet ?
Best read from annual report under total shareholding.
gark
post Jan 23 2014, 12:19 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 22 2014, 11:09 PM)
I browsed some of the topics here for leisurely read (cuz I don't know much about stocks) and I see that people are rushing to buy IPO like crazy...why is that?
Why do people rush to buy lottery? Its the same.

But not all IPO are winners.
pinksapphire
post Jan 23 2014, 03:59 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 23 2014, 12:19 AM)
Why do people rush to buy lottery? Its the same.

But not all IPO are winners.
Lottery, at least we know chances are kinda slim. But these people going for IPOs are making it look like they're sure winners, lol...that's why I was curious, in case there's something that I don't know of.
gark
post Jan 23 2014, 04:13 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 23 2014, 03:59 PM)
Lottery, at least we know chances are kinda slim. But these people going for IPOs are making it look like they're sure winners, lol...that's why I was curious, in case there's something that I don't know of.
If you are of 'certain' racial group your chances are extremely good, almost 90%-100% sure kena one...especially if you buy through MITI. These are the people who should take full advantage of the privilege given to them, like free money. wink.gif

For others is like draw lot...depend on your luck.. chance of 'kena' the lottery is like 2%-5%...

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 23 2014, 04:14 PM
pinksapphire
post Jan 23 2014, 10:27 PM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 23 2014, 04:13 PM)
If you are of 'certain' racial group your chances are extremely good, almost 90%-100% sure kena one...especially if you buy through MITI. These are the people who should take full advantage of the privilege given to them, like free money.  wink.gif

For others is like draw lot...depend on your luck.. chance of 'kena' the lottery is like 2%-5%...
Ooo...I didn't know this at all! unsure.gif
I thought it's like...you want, you buy, you get it sweat.gif
So, normally people buy IPOs because the price will more or less rise, that's why people are going for it, or rather trying their luck to get as many as possible within their capabilities, betul?

Can those 'certain' racial group buy then transfer it to another person ah? tongue.gif

ohemmgee
post Jan 24 2014, 09:22 AM

144 posts

"A Fourth Interim Single Tier Dividend of 3 sen per ordinary share of RM0.50 each"

What do they mean by per ordinary share of RM0.50 each ? In the stock market, the price of this share is not RM0.50

I am confused. Anyone please help ?
gark
post Jan 24 2014, 10:10 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 23 2014, 10:27 PM)
Ooo...I didn't know this at all!  unsure.gif 
I thought it's like...you want, you buy, you get it sweat.gif
So, normally people buy IPOs because the price will more or less rise, that's why people are going for it, or rather trying their luck to get as many as possible within their capabilities, betul?

Can those 'certain' racial group buy then transfer it to another person ah? tongue.gif
No, limited number of shares are offered to the public. If there is lots of people subscribing then, not all will get or some will get only partial to their subscription. Generally the higher number of subscription the better chance you will get at least a partial because of less subscriber at the price range. But for each subscription you have pay cash first, then if any failed, the cash will be re-credited back to your bank account in a few days. You can see the results of each IPO balloting at bursa website.

However if you are eligible for MITI and of certain racial groups, you can bypass the public balloting and subscribe under institutional portion for IPO shares. These generally have very good chance to obtain and have very high percentage of getting the shares you want.

No, you can only transfer to/from parent to child only. No transfer allowed for unrelated persons. Other arrangements (like buy/sell on your behalf) are off the books and depends on your relationship with the person, but the shares and proceeds from sale are credited in the name of the applicant, so this is risky.

Not all IPO will be sure win, but so far in Malaysia, most of them do, some have less earnings and some have more. IPO players will generally get rid of their shares within 1-2 days of the opening, to rotate money for the next IPO. If some good prospect companies they may elect to keep a small portion for long term.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 24 2014, 10:23 AM
gark
post Jan 24 2014, 10:11 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(ohemmgee @ Jan 24 2014, 09:22 AM)
"A Fourth Interim Single Tier Dividend of 3 sen per ordinary share of RM0.50 each"

What do they mean by per ordinary share of RM0.50 each ? In the stock market, the price of this share is not RM0.50

I am confused. Anyone please help ?
The 0.50 is par value and can be disregarded. You get 3 sen per share no matter how much is the current share price.
elea88
post Jan 24 2014, 11:34 AM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 23 2014, 04:13 PM)
If you are of 'certain' racial group your chances are extremely good, almost 90%-100% sure kena one...especially if you buy through MITI. These are the people who should take full advantage of the privilege given to them, like free money.  wink.gif

For IPO the more money u got... the higher the chances... Its a got MONEY MAKE more MONEY game....
SKY 1809
post Jan 24 2014, 01:55 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 24 2014, 11:34 AM)
For IPO the more money u got... the higher the chances... Its a got MONEY MAKE more MONEY game....
If u do not strike , how to make the money.......... hmm.gif

Still need to pray hard to Dato Kong for assistance yawn.gif

BabyZebraCrossing
post Jan 24 2014, 05:04 PM

194 posts

Hi i want to ask

i am using maybank2u online trading , the fee is rm8 minimum or 0.1%

but my remiser never tell me about stamp fees or clealing fees. If then how much for
their charges? unsure.gif
gark
post Jan 24 2014, 07:16 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(BabyZebraCrossing @ Jan 24 2014, 05:04 PM)
Hi i want to ask

i am using maybank2u online trading , the fee is rm8 minimum or 0.1%

but my remiser never tell me about stamp fees or clealing fees. If then how much for
their charges?  unsure.gif
Stamp fees = RM 1 for every 1k increment transaction

Clearing fees = 0.03% of transation

The first one pay to government as tax, the second one pay to bursa as fee, all brokers charges the same.

189 Pages « < 174 175 176 177 178 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:52 AM