cherroy
post May 3 2011, 08:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nasni @ May 3 2011, 09:47 AM)
For thinking out loud, and out of curiosity.... hmm.gif

i notice many forumers here average down, to lower their ABP.

On the other hand, how about averaging up when the price is shooting-up

Need to know the rationale of averaging down  vs catching a falling knife. I know this statement might calls for lots of argument and stuff.

We keep it for the sake of discussing and can be an eye opener to some, especially me... biggrin.gif
I was averaging up since last year or so, until now. biggrin.gif

Added on May 3, 2011, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(keeplwk @ May 3 2011, 08:18 PM)
Hi sifu here, im using HLebroking system..If i apply IPO through Maybank2u and has been approved..Will the share auto show in share portfolio in the HLebroking system?thx
No, every online portal, or broker house are independent to each other, include CDS.

Aka, you cannot sell your share in A broker CDS account on B broker trading system.

This post has been edited by cherroy: May 3 2011, 08:24 PM
cherroy
post May 10 2011, 11:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ May 10 2011, 11:35 PM)
You have to check with your Broker how are they charging.
You may like them to consider multiple trade on the same counter on a day are considered as a trade.
By having that facility you will save on the Brokerage fee more so if you are trading small lots or the odd lots.

All my accounts  (CIMB, MAYBANK2U, OSK,and Jupiter ) have that facilities but what I don't understand why we we need to request for the facilities ..it should be just automatic.
Request?

So far, it is automatically done by investment banks/broker firm to consolidate the transaction into one single contract if same counter.
cherroy
post May 12 2011, 12:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(baqueen @ May 12 2011, 11:42 AM)
There's always this name : "private placement"

what does private placement really mean?

who gets the provate placement? must it be an investment bank?
Private placement is additional issue of new shares, which is sold to identified or specific investors, instead of public or shareholder (in the case of ordinary right issue)

or another way to look is
similar to ordinary right issue but not open to all shareholders but only specific identified investors by the company.
cherroy
post May 12 2011, 02:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(baqueen @ May 12 2011, 02:05 PM)
so these "specific identified investors" is the shark that we refer to?

so, if we want to be a "shark" meaning that we need to register as a participating organisation in order to get a license from SC?
Not actually, although mostly are issued to fund managers, (which is SC approved)
It can be issued to any person as well, just need approval for that.

Just, normally private placement is done in big trench like a million share or something like that (no fixed amount, can be any), so out of reach for ordinary retailers.

cherroy
post May 13 2011, 05:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 13 2011, 04:58 PM)
Question about matching trades. If i queue to sell 11k shares, does the system wait till there is a buyer wanting to buy exactly 11k shares or does it match with multiple buyers?
No, as long as price matched, quantity can be matched partially (aka min lot of 100 shares).

Yes, matched with multiple buyers.

cherroy
post May 13 2011, 11:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Lover @ May 13 2011, 06:34 PM)
den they will chose those dat place order 1st rite?
Yes, first come first served.
cherroy
post May 18 2011, 02:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(skyland87 @ May 18 2011, 01:31 PM)
what mean BONUS OF 1 FOR 5?

example:i buy 10lot share for Rm3

how much bonus extra i get?

and how to count it tongue.gif i am newbie
Your 10 lot become 12 lot.

But market price will be adjusted according as well aka (last closing price x 5/6)
cherroy
post May 22 2011, 08:10 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MaggieQ @ May 22 2011, 02:36 AM)
can someone help me how to find out the outstanding share?

give that the market cap is Rm302.6m , par value is 0.5sen , and clsoe price share is 5.3.

thank you.
302.6m /5.3 = 57.09 million shares.
cherroy
post Jun 3 2011, 12:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(t5t @ Jun 3 2011, 07:44 AM)

How can I convert a warrant to the mother share? Do it online or go through remisier?
Can a Call warrant be converted into mother share as well?

Thank you.
No, you cannot do it online, you need to submit the transfer form through your brokers.

No, most call warrant currently (99.99999%), cannot be converted to mothershare, they are cash settled.
cherroy
post Jun 9 2011, 03:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(warrants @ Jun 8 2011, 11:08 AM)
XXX is giving Renounceable rights issue of up to RMXXX nominal value 7-year 6% redeemable convertible secured loan stocks (“RCSLS”) at 100% of its nominal value...

So, what is a redeemable convertible secured loan stock?  rclxub.gif
Does that mean the company is getting loan, from us?
Can it be traded?
And how can we benifit from this?
rclxub.gif
Yes, issue a loan stock.
Yes, it can be traded.
Every year your will be paid 6%, and after 7 years, the loan stock will be converted to mothershare.

cherroy
post Jun 30 2011, 11:56 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Sakai1 @ Jun 30 2011, 10:25 PM)
Hey, I'm exploring possibility of contra trade as do not have a lot of $$$ on hand. Is contra means buy and sell within same trading day?
Contra means you sell your share before need to make a payment for it, aka T+3.
cherroy
post Jul 1 2011, 12:27 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Sakai1 @ Jul 1 2011, 12:21 AM)
Thank you so much. Looks like can make some money with no money..
You can burn money without money also in the process. biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Jul 24 2011, 11:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(blueorion @ Jul 23 2011, 11:15 PM)
If the company share price is RM 0.70,
and the WA is RM 0.30,
with exercise price of RM 1.00.

If the company decides to privatize now, but
the warrant has not expire yet (like few years more down the road),
and the company share has not reach the exercise price either.

So what will happen to the warrant?

Will we suffer losses?
You want to privatise, you need to buy the warrant together as well.
Normally there is still an offer price for warrant.
cherroy
post Jul 25 2011, 03:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(blueorion @ Jul 25 2011, 01:02 AM)
Hi Cherroy,

Do you mean, the company will need to offer to buy the warrant as well?
Yes.
cherroy
post Aug 17 2011, 09:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 17 2011, 09:41 AM)
Just to double confirm. If ex date is 20 august.. Am I entitle the dividend if I sell the share on 20 august morning?
Yes, you are entitled.

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 17 2011, 12:44 PM)
If ex date is 20 Aug and you sell on 20 Aug, you are NOT entitled the div. Only if you sell on 21 Aug, then you are entitled. Quickly lali after grabing the div?  brows.gif smile.gif
Wrong liao. You can sell on 20th and still get the dividend.
cherroy
post Aug 18 2011, 01:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 18 2011, 08:55 AM)
is it? oh okay, thanks for the correction  smile.gif

btw, do u know how to sell odd lots?
There is another page that you can see all the odd lot buy/sell Q.

Just buy and sell there.
or just Queue up to sell to see whether there is buyer willing to take.
cherroy
post Oct 6 2011, 01:53 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Sakai1 @ Oct 6 2011, 12:15 PM)
Newbie here. I have some -LR here. What should I do with this? Appreciate the big help.
Which -LR?

Option.
1. Sell off the LR
2. fork out the money to buy the loan stock.
3. If the LR not worth any money, aka option 1 is out, just let it ceased.

cherroy
post Nov 16 2011, 09:36 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 16 2011, 03:14 PM)
I'm new to shares so I don't really know which one to buy,
Do you have a list of Category of shares available?
I read these topics, I get how the payments works.
So now I know how to start off but before I start,
I wanted to know more about the types of shares as you says, which kind I wanted to buy,
And how many kinds of investors are there?
I'm abit like, I'm willing to spend my time on the stock. Since I'm having quite a long term holiday at the moment.

Any suggestion?
Or any guide to read...?

Thanks alot for replying!
Based on your posting,
DO NOT do anything and do not buy anything until you are clear and know what is stock market.

There are plenty of topic around that can read upon, take your time to learn.
Money is not easy to earn, you can easily get burn by blindly go into the market.
cherroy
post Dec 13 2011, 02:46 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(blackJax @ Dec 13 2011, 12:31 PM)
hi. can we short stock ? what do we call? stock futures? available for Malaysia stocks?
Only RSS is allowed on certain stocks.
RSS - Regulated short selling

or
through single stock futures (SSF), which is like dead water now.

Basically, for simple answer, no.
cherroy
post Mar 20 2012, 03:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Mar 20 2012, 02:44 PM)
What is the significance of Free Cash Flow (FCF)  icon_question.gif

I found this in Investopedia...

Some believe that Wall Street focuses myopically on earnings while ignoring the "real" cash that a firm generates. Earnings can often be clouded by accounting gimmicks, but it's tougher to fake cash flow. For this reason, some investors believe that FCF gives a much clearer view of the ability to generate cash (and thus profits).

It is important to note that negative free cash flow is not bad in itself. If free cash flow is negative, it could be a sign that a company is making large investments. If these investments earn a high return, the strategy has the potential to pay off in the long run.

So, if negative FCF is not necessarily bad, why do investors stress so much on it? How can we judge if a company is financially sound by looking at this number?
You can only judge if you take the overall picture.

Company may have huge cashflow generated, due to high depreciation.
But those depreciation means your machine is getting old, and may be needed to replaced and have big capital expenditure in the future. In other word your existing cashflow may be due for future needed as well. That's why depreciation charge is needed for profit calculation.
You can have 0 profit but got 100 millions of free cashflow.

Negative cashflow doesn't mean 100% bad, as pointed the real large investment for future profit, but company cannot operate with consistently negative cashflow years after years non-stop.
Company need cash for routine operation and fund the negative cashflow, either the company has huge cash reserves to fund the negative cashflow or raise debt for the cash.
If the company has no cash reserves to fund the negative cashflow, and need continously to raise debt, it can mean debt can spiral into problem and unmanageable if keep on doing so for long term.

Cashflow is very important for company operation, that's why many focus on this.
Without cash, even you got billions of profit also, company cannot operate without cash.
The analogy is same like you may have a house that worth millions or already make millions profit, but your pocket has no cash, you can still die in hunger due to no cash to buy your foods and cloth.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0621sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:05 AM